Kia Optima CBU shipment sighted at Port Klang!

A CBU shipment of the Kia Optima has been spotted at a port in Port Klang by reader S. Blaze a few days ago. This is good news for Malaysians as it means the Optima should be launching soon. We’ve already seen the Optima being tested by JPJ.

There doesn’t seem to be any indications of the engine though, as we could not find any badging indicating engine size on the rear end – just a sole badge that says Optima. Anthony Lim tried out the 198hp 2.4 liter GDI model in Australia earlier this year, but it seems we won’t be getting that engine because of issues with our petrol quality.

The 2.4 liter GDI model that Anthony drove also featured dual tailpipes while this batch of Optima only sports a single tailpipe. Everything else looks decently specced though – fancy wheels, LED daytime running lights, projector headlamps, and leather seats. The protection on the roof might also be hiding a panoramic sunroof – that would be nice!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Maserati on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Its still another KIA.Another Korean car.Nice to see,but not nice to drive at all as with all KIA cars.Dont know whats all the hype about Korean cars.Hardly touch Jap sales.If they want this car to even stand a chance against the rest of the competitors,make sure they price this crap car below RM 125k.Cause thats its value.Cant ask too much for Kimchi cars.

• and how would you know its not nice to drive? stupid basher!

• Hello sir, have u even tested the new batch of Koreans cars? I can safely say that forte handles much better than vios and city. And this car is not even out in our market and yr saying its a Crap car? Hahaha funny la

• Nissan on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:44 pm

funny? couldn’t he try it before at overseas?

• That fella? Oversea? Heh..

• Heh..

• bros, dont say to this “maserati” guy like that.. he has alot of maserati model collection bought from TESCO and GIANT supermarket.. because his level is maserati , that why he looks down at others car manufacture

• Myvi_1.5 on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:33 am

Sean bro, have you reli tested Forte/Vios or City? Forte is a very nice car (engine/specs) but the NVH is nowhere near the City/Vios. When u drive the car it feels like the car is commenting you instead you commenting the car (very sluggish & hard feeling). Try to listen the wind noise at 110km/h or higher. And also Forte drink fuel like mad, it’s even worst than a Persona (together 1.6L). Specs vs price really thumb up to Forte though. I owned a myvi only but test drove all the above vehicle, and also heard comments from my colleague of their Vios/City/Forte.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 21, 2011 at 8:50 am

Serious bullshit lo. I bet you are the one who have not tried or owned a forte. I have, and with a Honda City too.

City NVH is NOT good at all. Rather crappy, and the fuel consumption is overhyped, not as good as the vios. Infact my little city comes in at around 11km/L on mix driving conditions.

The heavier and more powerful Forte returns slightly more at about 13.5km/L. And you DAMN wrong about the NVH, highway cruising on the Forte against the city is like the class of its own, more comparable to the Civic and Altis.

If you have not tested one of these, please keep your mouth shut. Or else people might realise your stupidity.

• or r u comparing myvi 1.5 to vois or city.. i own vios and my house also got forte own by my brother.. NVH is better in forte compare to vios when driving at 120 km/hr ..atleast i can says that about MY vios… i dont like forte but that was the truth… sorry la bro MYvi-.1.5

• bllshitt~~my sister vios TRD got wind noise at 120kmph…sound good when u shut the door..but not when u strt cruising…i bet u!go and test drvie one..ahahah~

• as usual lah! on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:37 pm

forte,city,vios,myvi very bad..lalalala~ 8)

• BeemerFreak on Nov 21, 2011 at 6:28 pm

too bad i wasnt comparing their NVH. We are talking about fuel consumption. Next time read nicely first before commenting…….

• LE buruk on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:56 pm

u sure whining like a 12 year old kid…

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:56 pm

What on earth are you on about? When was the last time you drove a Korean car? 10 years back?

Stop living in the past.

• AhBeng on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:05 pm

couldn’t agree you more… takkan u still wearing the same underwear as last 10 years meh?? After so many years, VW also taken over Skoda la… then would you dare to say skoda is a crap? Maserati is a good car too, but it relates me to fiat and alfa.. the longevity issue is still bothering but who the phuck cares? should we claim maserati is a piece of junk or we called it “no identity” for using ferrari’s stuff? (but don’t get me wrong, Alfa is fking aweGasome). So what’s wrong with the korean, maserati? Or you are just trying your luck to post something up here and wish kia malaysia would probably see your comment and priced it below RM125k, so you can get one? Dude, it’s not going to happen.

• ..... on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Haha..What a moron comment..typical T or H salesman..

• Korean car is one level below the Japs, they should be fighting with Chinese and Indian car.

• That’s not me :/

Korean car is nearly same as Japs d.. Maybe just that Malaysia mentality don’t want to admit that it’s on equal ground.. and losing ground..

• That’s not me either :/

Korean car sucks!

• Just me on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Why acting at a kid arguing about something without any fact. Just look at the world wide sales numbers between Korean & Jap lah. The number will not cheat, because it really translate into the level of customer acceptance between both manufacturer.

• waterman on Nov 20, 2011 at 7:23 pm

did u drove this kia before?
      if no just shut the f*ck up and wait for professional review.
      u f*cking idiot japs fans only know how to condemn others w/out using your brain.
      you had a pathetic life.

• David D on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:10 pm

Maserati, you’re here particularly early to give this car an undeserved bashing of your thoughts, didn’t you?

Wait, as how fellow Jalan54 said, WHAT THOUGHTS? I mean, you’re not even giving thoughts, instead nothing but absolute rubbish all the time, non-stop without fail. Paul Tan readers, new or old, wonder why?

This absolute trash of a commentator is always worked up, hyped-up, or so whatever you name it, whenever the Koreans, French, or any American brand releases a new car much to our satisfaction. Funny though, when Toyota, Honda, or some particular German brand launches a new product, he’ll be always singing nothing but absolute praises as if they’re some sort of car god deities, even if the cars are of below par compared to the competition. Rubbish? Bullshit? Well fellow readers, and like-minded commentators, you should know better.

Any proper facts used to fight this rubbish commentator, sadly, gets dealt with a round of retaliation, loaded with more lies, gibberish, and crap.

One catch though, any recalls related to the Japs, and he’ll be silent as a rock. So does other trash commentators in the form of Jolo and Mask Ryder. Isn’t this rather odd, people?

So what we can we determine from Maserati is that, he’s most probably some sort of miserable sod, whom based on his previous comments, a rich, arrogant bastard child who looks down on us people who can’t afford cars of his level. Mind you, it gets me all riled up to see a person like him, owning 2 Mercs and a Honda City in his driveway, to act like some boastful sod, bashing us who want to engage in good, constructive discussions.

Would any new car buyer take his comments? Seriously? Judging by the likes of us car lovers here, i’d guess not, since his comments hold extremely little water to justify those comments.

But, hey, we get to save money with our Korean, French, even German cars, since they cost less to buy, leaving us enough spare change to invest for the future!!

I for one, am not a believer in any make, since my family owns 2 Hyundais, a Toyota, and a Honda in the porch, with myself rather inclined towards a 2003/2004 Volvo S60, in my first attempt at going Conti.

Well, folks, you know better if you agree with me. Oh, and Maserati, if you were to come out with a reply, i hope you’ve got some balls to reply properly, and not just about your ‘Japs is better, Koreans is rubbish’ drivel.

• tokmoh on Nov 21, 2011 at 7:12 am

It’s called trolling. U mad bro? *trollface*

As the saying goes, “do not feed the troll”, or just troll the troll back. Y so srs? Internet is being a little loose n jst hv fun.

@maserati: Yo dawg, I herd u liek trolling, so imma troll in your comment, so u can troll when I troll.

• Jimmy on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Personality disorder.
      Comments ought to be more objective.

• Najib Razak on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:55 pm

Awak bodoh kah? Kereta Korea lah bagus, murah dan direka oleh pereka Eropah lagi tu.

• Japsfan on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:47 am

Hahaha…..never know that there is such a stupid comment. Pure idiot…..

• Ha Gnih on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:52 am

Some people are just brainless when it comes to commenting. Judging from his nick name says it all. And yes, the Forte handles and cruises SO much better than the City and Vios, because, I tested all 3 models before. THAT’S how you comment. Get into the car and actually drive it. THEN you comment. Silly basher.

• as usual lah! on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:53 pm

forte,city,vios,latio semua huduh..fiesta n inspira lg sodap bai..forte cant gymkhana…

8) 8) \m/ \m/ :) ;)

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:25 am

People buy cars are to drive them and not doing whatever stupid gymkhana shit. Unless you are a stunt driver ? Which is highly doubt so. Another moron on the block.

• Korean Car Sucks! on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Wow ! Maserati 1st comment of the articles must be “Real Damaging to Naza new car, they have to move the entire sales & mktg team to thumb down on sunday night so that the comment is hidden, no need lah ! just call paultan blog to remove the comment or u remove ur ads, i am sure paultan team will comply.

• lol at you… this car really popular in us. haven’t u seen any us tv series lately?, the car is in the series making appearance. nice huh…

• Whatever it is, this car – Kia Optima is 1000th times better than our manufactured ‘tin milo’ from Tanjung Malim.

Kudos to Malaysians who can buy other brands and imports!!!

• jerry tan on Nov 24, 2011 at 9:34 pm

actually he can’t afford it…that’s why he is asking for a lower price tag. Normally people who puts a name like Ferrari, Lambo, Porche or Maserati actually they don’t own such a car…. too desperate to have but can’t afford, so put such a name

• policeman on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:05 pm

What’s that tow eye like thing that’s sticking out below the headlamp?

• Isaac Cheah on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:12 pm

They dont want to start engine. Use it to tow the car to move around. It’s in every car. Usually the little round thing covers the thing up.

Check ur boot. It’s in the same pouch with the tyre jack

• black series on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:05 pm

this car gonna make sonata run for it money

• john die on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:51 pm

some of the journalist says that this car is better than sonata for overall review…anyhow..just wait n see..couldnt wait to test drive it myself before comment anything…

• Proxy on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Still waiting Hyundai Elentra 2011, Optima kinna ugly especially the rims look like Ah Beng

• Regina on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:25 pm

Yep agree with you – the rims need to be changed.

However, excepting the rim – the car looks gorgeous! I want one!

• Isaac Cheah on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Agree. the rims kinda suck… My fav rims still are the pre-facelift Civic 2.0 rims

• BeemerFreak on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:22 pm

Nah the best rims are Interlagos ones on the vw scirocco and passat cc.

• azlan on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:52 am

I like the rims, it looks shiny and glass like..

• westcoast on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:17 pm

blake griffin edition…

• Astroguy on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Nice car.. lots of gadgets..
    but smaller than Accord..

• jky xxxx on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:41 pm

nasib baik pakai badge kia, bukan naza :P

• Akan di tukar ke Naza bila masuk showroom.

Then bagi Kia badge ke customer sebagai Free Gift ;-)

• LE buruk on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:52 pm

please bring the veloster…but this kia look bigger than sonata…

• Masked Ryder on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Would it be KIA Optima or Naza Optima ?

Sonata sell is set to be drop.

Optima kill Sonata, Elantra kill Forte, hmm interesting2.

• And City kill Vios, Camry kill Accord.

Enough now?

• Jolly_idiot on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:24 am

Kia and hyundai under same family. Toyota and honda no. Kia kill sonata what isbthe benefit? Just like killing own brother

• bigbioss on Nov 21, 2011 at 2:07 am

persona R kill both…hehehehe

• gavin on Nov 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm

old outdated engine again as always

• As usual, another basher who has not done his homework.

Mr. Gavin, Google up Hyundai / Kia Theta II engine. Then look up GEMA World Engine. Then look up Theta II DCVVT Turbo.

Bet you’ll be shocked to see Mitsubishi 4B11/11T/12 are derived from GEMA.

So, is the Mitsu Evo’s engine outdated?

Oh, BTW, if you even dare say it’s only the block that is the common denominator, then please explain how the Evo 4B11T can handle the amount of high stress produced by a Turbo and how that same block is outdated in a Korean car.

• Gavin on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Hello Mr.Stupid, any of those engines you mentioned is coming to malaysia?

No right.

The this optima is offered with a 2.4 GDi engine overseas. we DON’T GET THIS ENGINE you IDIOT!

That’s what i mean by outdated engine you Korean lover.

Jesus malaysians are getting stupider by each passing day

• the current 2.0 KIA engine in the forte/rondo/optima/sportage is actually the same engine as in the Inspira/lancer exept for the name only (like toyota/daihatsu with its VVT/DVVT nomeculture, which is the same thing really). So Gavin, you are the one that is wrong here…

• Gavin on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Sigh, you another ignorant clueless bugger

This optima is paired with either a 2.4 GDi, or a 2.0 GDi TURBO.

So they give you a stupid 2.0 whatever rubbish engine and you are happy because “It’s the same engine as the inspira/lancer VVVTTVTTVTTVT whatever BS”

• Calling other stupid, how clever are you? Still studying or even don’t own a car and bashing like no tomorrow is considered as clever?

• Gavin on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Clever enough to see we malaysians don’t demand enough good things for ourselves, just only know about looks

That’s why we never move forward as a high tech society, benda bodoh bodoh also cannot see.

• Masked Ryder/ Maserati/ i/ Astroboy/Name on Nov 22, 2011 at 12:34 am

lol, what you mean by benda bodoh? and what you mean by benda bijak? Please define it. If you can’t, then stfu. Optima don’t get the 2.4GDi engine, yes, so? Camry and accord and teana got the 3.0 – 3.5L engine offered here, what happened? It’s called the so so “marketing strategy” like all the t&h salesman always talked about.

• Gavin on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:53 pm

The 2.4 theta 2 engine we get is the old one launched back in 2006 which everyone has complained of extremely lousy fuel consumption.

The only reason why this engine still exists is because of Malaysia where they can dump that garbage on with no problems

• Gavin on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:31 pm

And to EVERYBODY who thinks KIA is doing the right thing, they don’t give us good engines because of “fuel quality”

What about Ford EcoBoost?

Volvo GTDi engines?

These are turbo direct injected engine of the latest newest generation technology

KIA like jaguh kampung cannot bring in their GDi engine only?>

Come on you blur sotong people,

WAKE UP LAH!!

KIA PLAYING YOU FOR FOOLS!!

• ahshuy on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:33 am

i gonna give u a thumbs down despite u’ve ur valid point here.

reason being ur bad attitude.

• lemon on Nov 20, 2011 at 7:12 pm

i hope to get low price but not low spec version.. :)

• waterman on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:00 pm

no Nav… from the interior shot… :(
      hopefully they bring in with 7″ screen Nav system~

• Tankado on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:53 am

nope, they wont bring in the 7″ nav system cos that’s on the 2.4L version, which is not coming due to the petrol quality issue we have here. However, it should be the same as the Singapore’s version, which sports an A-Pillar 3.5″ Rear View camera + Nav system!

• GrrrG on Nov 20, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Weee, it’s here. I want twin exhaust pipes and shark-fin antenna, PLEASE~~~~

• Mr.Rite!!! on Nov 20, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Gosh! Killer look with decent price (i suppose). Car should be entering with a very attractive price and lots of gadgets. push start, reverse camera, GPS, auto HID, daylight LED, auto wiper… basically you name it, they have it! great car with good price… interesting!! Typical Naza tactic!
    Just an advice, if your are planning to get the car, please do prepare yourself for long booking time for servicing and killer price for wear ad tear parts, battery, brake rotor, wiper, engine belt, suspension, etc…. and for your information majority of these items only cover with limited 1 yr warranty!
    Cheap to own, expensive to maintain…. typical NAZA, peugeot and KIA!!!

• LE buruk on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:41 pm

i owned an i10…i say the engine part is much cheaper than kelisa part…

• Ayecaramba! on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:03 am

Haiya, have to agree. Like the cars even though I don’t fancy Korean cars. They are really emerging as a real competition. Quality also now dubbed as good and durable overseas. The problem that we have now is that it is managed poorly over here. Naza, Y U NO take care of quality??

• Not bad. Haha ah Beng rim

• drMpower on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:01 pm

i thought the already change this face to more fluid design
    so kia screw u guys. again.

so much kimchi whtevers

• keenan on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:03 pm

it will be launched in January 2012 at KIA Red Cube in PJ.

• keenan on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm

It will be launched at KIA Red Cube at PJ.

• vincent on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:16 pm

on paper, both kia and hyundai are definitely looking better for a cheaper price.

• Most probably the 2.0L DCVVT Theta II option as the entry level model. Same engine as the Sportage.

If the Koreans can sort out the tuning for our Euro II fuel, then that will open up the option for 2.0L Turbo GDI and the 2.4L GDI

• Jimmy on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:30 pm

I didn’t see any sunroof.

• Tankado on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:57 am

Bro, it’s been covered up by the protective cloth, let me assure you that it has 2 sunroofs when it’s unveiled lol!

• Maserati on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:32 pm

David D,WOW,you must be a typical Korean fanboy or fan-uncle.Korean cars all have history for being lousy to drive.Even the much hyped about Forte is absolute rubbish.I have driven it countless times and the only thing that is good about that car is the NVH.The handling is bad,and the FC is utter rubbish for a NEW engine which even my previous generation TOYOTA can beat.As for all the gadgets,we all know that those are just marketing tactics.Those gadgets arent that important compared to the main critirea which is driving pleasure.Korean cars might have all the gadgets in the world,but they lack passion.Whenever you drive a Korean car,it feels like your driving a car with a engine and 4 wheels.There is no distictive factor that separates the Koreans from the rest besides all the usual list of useless gadgets.

The Japs have excellent driving dynamics,great FC and huge power from small engines.The Germans are of course fantastic all rounders.Even the French are pretty good nowadays.

I would love to say something good about Korean cars,but other than they look good,theres nothing much else I can say about them.

I have driven the Sonata.Yes it looks good,but the drive was an utter bore.Feels boring to drive.Forte,nice to see,but hopeless handling and power.Kia Sportage looks nice ,but the refinement is just not at the level which we would have been hoping for.

So there you have it,as a conclusion Koreans DESIGN great looking cars,but FAIL miserably in terms of technology and refinement.Until they get a GERMAN in their R&D department,I dont see them coming close to the Japs ,let alone the Germans.

• Expatriate VN on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:17 pm

This is the most idiot “weird” comment! How do you measure the level of “lousy driving”? Any rating like SEA gymnastic ??? score out of 10? How many star like NCAP? Or how many percentage score? or like QS world ranking for Universities with points rating base on certain criterion?

Really bodoh sombong jaguh kampong crap boy! Perhaps you better experience Lotus handling for Waja as TM claimed “BMW of Asia”, or go and drive another “Lotus handling” Sawi shitty butt-less soon to be cease production that was claimed to be personally inspected by German fat guy with TUV certification! All have German “DNA” on it! Stop your craps! Or you are being risk as the next ……… target like MooFart, JohnDick or AutoJohnDog ……..

• C’mon he’s just sharing his Korean car experience why so serious?the Korea car prices is the cheapest CBU cars in M’sia coz they cant fight with the German and Japan -> better image,resale value,technology and high performance !

• autojohndoe on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:15 pm

haha… suddenly you barking my name… eventhough i am not joining this post…

Good d**

• autojohndoe on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Five Figure taxpayer usually talk with intellect… because they have brain and ethics…

• “BMW of Asia”, really?

• David D on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Wow, a quick reply was in succession. No matter how much you tried to dish out towards me or any like-minded car owners out there, we can still come to a conclusion that you are one heck of a biased, arrogant man.

When you tested the Forte, or any other Korean cars, you obviously had a overtly biased mind, hence all the gibberish you keep spewing out. Look at every single comment you make on the Koreans. Nice, but rubbish. That’s all you’d say.

How about the Japs then? Well, all i see from your comments are, wah, very good, will top the sales charts. Try denying that. The fact that you just called the Japs fantastic here and there, and how rubbish the Koreans are, shows how biased and arrogant you are here. Come on, the Koreans are not THAT bad to drive, let alone other brands.

I, for one, will say that, yes, the Sportage needs more mid-range torque to go with the bulk, or at least give it GDI, but, still, we’re not looking at a tall CUV to be supercar quick. Same goes for other competitors from other makes. Mind you, i still dig the new CR-V, despite some flaws that shouldn;t have existed from the start.

Well, i need not say so much here, and yet, once again, your comments are again being dismissed as nothing but pure drivel from a person who acts as if he can lord over the average car buyer with all the crap that keeps spewing out from you.

Go ahead, you can reply as much as you want, but for every rubbish posting you make, there will be multiples of people on hand to fight your lies and gibberish.

Think twice Maserati. You reap what you sow. And you’ve just had it.

• Kantoi on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Hey David.

Stop wasting your time with this guy. He is obviously just a Toyota salesman who dream of owning a Maserati once he has enough sales hence his nick. With the emergence of the Korean, his dream look further ( not that it is near previously). He is just a sad man who cannot see light at the end of the tunnel and he just want his hope back by thrashing the Korean car here.

The miserable have no other medicine
        But only hope.
        ~William Shakespeare, Measure for Measure

• TurboMan on Nov 21, 2011 at 2:29 am

David D

U the man. Still fighting the good fight against stupidity from the likes of Jolo and Maserati.

I have given up the fight long time ago. Wasted too much time replying like an adult with proper points only to see another similar “plucked from the air” comments from them again in another post related to korean cars.

Don get me wrong. Im not saying korean cars are perfect. They are not perfect, and so is jap cars or continentals. Paultan/autoworld/zerotohundred/etc is a great place for car lovers like us to have a proper discussion abt them after/during work. But unfortunately i gave up when the arguement turned into some sort of d##k measuring contest.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Quite a stupid way to make yourself famous.

Eh Toyota sales man, go concentrate and see whether Thailand can get u stocks on time or not la. Dont go around being jealous of other people because they are better than you. F..king sore looser.

Oh did i forget to mention, Kia and Hyundai are not affected by the Flood, because unlike Japanese cars, they have brains and made their factories in USA, Europe and Korea, or should we say, just like what the Germans did.

And finally, your two year old Toyota is still a crap piece of engineering. If want to make comparison, bring something that is from the 21st century, like Mazda and Honda.

• LE buruk on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:47 pm

the fools of toy-boat-ta user…go drowned yourself in thailand flood…

• It is obvious you feel threatened, really threatened, by the new models coming from Kia or Hyundai. Otherwise why want to spent so much time & effort publishing on the ‘negatives’ about them & bench marking them against pricey cars like Mercedes or BMWs. The greatest thing about these new Korean car – they give us consumers an alternative, a real alternative, from the overpriced Japanese cars. Having seen the Forte, Sportage, Sorento & the Optima, the Vios, Rush, Fortuner & Camry look totally lame & totally uninspiring at all, spec wise & appearance wise. Talk about resale value, the current batch of toyotas & hondas on our road will suffer a big drop in value the moment their new models are upgraded to Kia’s or Hyndai’s standard on offerings.

• i_swear on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:44 am

Maserati,
      On your comment on
      “As for all the gadgets,we all know that those are just marketing tactics.Those gadgets arent that important compared to the main critirea which is driving pleasure.”

Then why don’t u ask TNH to use back the Datsun 120Y Dashboard as what you mean on marketing tactics from Korean, so Japs car no need marketing tactics, so can use back to old dashboard and no need gadgets.

If you wanna bash, try to look on your comment before start shooting as somehow you make yourself sound so silly

• Japsfan on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:01 am

There is even more stupid. Hei, you are comparing a grape with a watemelon.
      Hopeless idiot….

• Do not own a Maserati on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:15 am

Hey Maserati,

If you felt Forte is a piece of crap, why do you want to drive it countless times? I really want to know why. I do not drive a Forte but the way you belittle Forte is nauseating.

I like to know how you somehow managed to drive so many models of Korean cars and conclude they are craps. Also, if they are craps why bother to drive them?

• lance on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Korean engine are very powerful and frugal, its 2.0 churned our 390nm of torque wt only 18km/l fc while its 2.2 churned out 440nm of torque wt only 15km/l fc…….yeap, they make great r-series diesel! better than any maps oil burner

• Bongcs on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:32 pm

Here goes the comment.. !!

• Ahmed on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Sorry . The Korean don’t know how to design the front grill. Very weird and not smooth look at all. If you test drive without bias against the jap equivalent and the korean cannot come close . They improved but still miles behind the jap. Don’t cheat yourself , Korean cars are still way behind the jap at this moment . Opps you will also cry about it’s 2nd value. Besides jap cars are much more relaible……. If you r a biz man … Driving a Korean car won’t gives much good impression ……. Ok still better than whatever potong is ! Sales chart will be low …… That’s the facts kawan . Cheers

• Expatriate VN on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Another crap, by the same argument, why don’t complain on BMW and Rolls Royce front grills with “Double O” and “AC Compressor” kind of grills respectively which is not much change since their first production began “light year ago”! You have the right to dislike the design but don’t be “god-mouth” pass a final judgement by saying the Korean don’t know how to design the front grill!

• Lol.. sales chart low? You just dunno how long is the waiting list for those..

BTW, I don’t see the Japs doing a better job at designing a car.. Look at how dugong the jap cars are!!

• LE buruk on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:51 pm

their second hand value only low because of japs Worshiper like u…at europe their second value almost the same as the japs…

• as usual lah! on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:59 pm

bro..jgn riak..xbaik…korean cars very nice…
      i hate elantra & forte…but i loike optima & sportage..
      SUBHERO ckp kalau nak beli kia hyundai mesti ada kwn2 yg bpengalaman,kalau kau
      jenis noob tentang korean cars,or maybe new buyers sbb dh lama memandu keleta jepun..itu yg jadi masalah nya bro…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:43 am

The fact is, very pitiful, cause you dont know you are a fool and being stupid.

No,No NO i shoudl pity your mother more, cause she would be so sad that her son initially had a brain, but chose not to use it instead. Poor aunty.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Why bother driving something better than a Korean when you can’t afford the better ones ? A successful business man drives the BMW or Merc or even Bentleys and Rolls Royce. But a mid-class businessman can’t follow the rich ones. So, this is where the Koreans come in. That is why you see so-so businessmen are trading-in their bimmers and mercs because buying these brands is relatively easy but to maintain them is where the problems lie. Korean sedans are getting sexier by the way. The lines are perfectly sculpted right from the front all the way to the back. New engines are self-developed. Price is affordable. And on board goodies ? Oh! Top of the class. What more can one ask for ? Do not bash the Korean if you do not know much about it. It will only make you sound and definitely LOOK uber-stupid.

• skiborne on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:55 pm

im not sure about those rims. but others are fine to me

• john lim on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:19 am

I think Kia really put a lot of efforts in K5 (Optima), not sure when their Hybrid is ready in Boleh land? Taken this from Incheon Airport when on the way back! http://twitpic.com/7h7euq/full

• Hate Korean product. Daily many problematic to the user. Even P1 and P2 car quality is better. Example the Fxxte.. Sad to have it. Look nice…but not practical.

• David D on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Oh really? What about the Japs, Contis and our Malaysian cars? Don’t they have their fair share of problems as well? I’d suggest you own a Korean car before you come out with such gibberish, as reliability-wise, they’re already on par with the Japs, if not past them.

• waterman on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:13 pm

I drove forte,
      for 2 years (first batch CBU buyer).
      after 2 years of having my car, i don’t see any problem and my car is perfectly fine.
      ar yes my door handle button spoil, so?
      it’s wear and tear part.. and the cost to fix it? i’m under 5 years unlimited millage warranty and the price for me to fix it is just RM200.
      other than that? no complaint at all~
      when talk about handling… those who simply give comment saying this and that…
      handling is good enough for me to take over many cars in corner. (for example sprint highway corner with high speed).
      a comfort drive i would say.
      when i head back to my hometown (about 3 hours drive) all my friends was surprise that a korean car it’s so comfortable that they be able to sleep nicely in behind.

• as usual lah! on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:43 pm

forte torsion beam…how come good handling…. errr..
        satria neo cps multilink..civic ek double wishbone..malu lah wei…
        jual forte beli optima..i loike optima..

• bro…incoming new civic..torsion beam also…civic fn euro r is torsion beam also….megane is torsion beam also…why dont u mention dat?y only said about forte?biased?

• as usual lah! on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:35 pm

torsion beam suck…nuff said…lalalalalalalala.. 8)

• subhero on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:17 pm

nasihat saya:-

1) kereta kia sangat seronok dipandu.

tetapi .

1) apabila time nak jual, harga sngt terok,
    2) sparepart mahal

———————-

saya dah serik dgn kereta KIA. sebab sorento saya habis eksident disebabkan engine mati dengan sendiri ketika memandu. Diesel filter punya hal. nak claim insuran pun susah, kene tukar repot dan mcm2.

new buyer yg xde pengalaman, cari kawan2 yg pernah pakai, cari info dlm internet. KIA mmg cantik, tapi itu tidak semestinya bagus. sekian..

• ApaPunTakBoleh on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Saya setuju, dah pakai Hyundai dulu dan sekarang Kia. nak jual tak boleh.. harga jatuh teruk. Lepas nie no more korean car. Time to buy VW (pakcik Kayo)

• john die on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:09 pm

ko ingat vw tu ade value ke?????

anyway, nasihat saya..if ko da choose tok membeli kereta sejuk..such as alfa romeo,fiat,citroen,peug,kia,hyundai and other kereta sejuk..including mazda utk wakil kereta jepon…x payahla nak ngadap sangat 2nd value tu..aku dr dlu mmg pakai kereta sejuk and xde rs problem pn nak jual sbb aku rs satisfied pakai kete2 ni..even now i own audi,which consider as kereta sejuk as well..tp WHO CARES!!!!!i wont sacrifice my fun for the sake of 2nd hand value thingy…kalau nak sangat 2nd value tinggi…p bli honda,toyota,merc,bimmer…..ppeeerrrfffhhhhh….

• Ha Gnih on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Jangan nak salahkan kereta kalau service kereta sendiri tak on time. Tak tau ke, kereta Diesel tak dapat nak tangguh service ? Bila mileage dah cukup, MESTI pergi service. Itu lah kalau lambat gi service namun tetap dipandu, mestilah kereta diesel meragam.

• iphone4 on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:50 am

EN/Puan : Ha Gnih. terima kasih atas pandangan anda,

reason saya pula,

Sorento yg telah eksident itu telah pun diservis diesel filter nya, then pakai tak smpai sebulan, kene lagi sekali, dan tukar pula hose sistem ke engine dan pakai tak smpai sebulan lagi KENE lagi dan apabila disiasat didapati, TANGKI MINYAK SORENTO telah dicat bahagian dalamnya. Cat telah bersampur minyak kerana dek panas dan sejuk dan telah merosakkan sistem diesel filter dan hose dan engine hanya tunggu masa nak KONG. INI MEKANIK NAZA YANG BERITAHU. usia sorento saya hanya 5 tahun dan millage 195000k dan setiap 5000km adalah rutin utk servis. Adalah perkara ini berlaku kepada kereta diesel toyota & mitsubishi?

hari eksident : sorento hitam, plate no. WNV 9**0 ,15/11/2011 jam 16.30 puchong ke tesco, hentam kuil hindu warna kuning tepi jalan tu. ada witness tak dari paultan.org ni?

NAZA @ KIA boleh pakai, kereta sedap dibawa dan cantik, tp rasa nya tak berbaloi dgn wang ringgit yang akan dibelanjakan termasuk harga jual balik yang rendah sangat.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Triton umur 2 tahun milik kompeni saya pun pernah kena masalah macam ni. Hilux belum tahu lagi, kerana baru beli tak sampai 3 bulan. Navara pula…..errr…..biar hang beli dulu baru hang bagi komen ye ?

• iphone4 on Nov 22, 2011 at 3:28 pm

sy dah booking e90 utk replce sorento tu. alah membeli menang memakai. sape kata BMW maintenance tinggi utk continental car? muwah je.

• RedBeanBun on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:30 pm

this car suppose to be cheaper than Sonata…so RM100K range should be good..

• Halem on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:44 pm

My guess is that KIA/Naza Optima will come with same 2.0 & possible 2.4 Theta engine like Sonata.
    Very unlikely 2.0GDI or 2.0Turbo as these engine require Ron 97, which most consumer of this price category is unwilling to spend 2.80/ltr.
    Don’t even think of Diesel engine, not until 2015 at lease.
    The price for 2.0 should not exceed 120K or else hard to sell, at lease 10-15K cheaper than Sonata.
    That rim look like only suitable for MPV, look weird on Saloon Car.
    Hopefully Naza won’t sell it to Taxi fleet, as nobody like their car same as Taxi.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Maybe they should sell more of the old optima as remaining stocks to taxis. how nice to see optima taxis rather than the pathetic Iswara which is ugly smelly and small.

• CamryLover on Nov 21, 2011 at 6:28 am

Not true. if you check the reviews, the 2.0 Turbo engine was designed to handle Ron 87 minimum. So why didnt they bring in 2.0 Turbo version?

• Halem on Nov 21, 2011 at 10:25 am

CamryLover

U R Wrong, Please do more homework B4 comment.

U R refereing to the older version of Theta Turbo for Genesis Coupe, Ron 87 AKI will give 210 hp while Ron 93 AKI will produce 223hp.

Ron 87 AKI = Ron 91
        Ron 93 AKI = Ron 98

Sonata & Optima is using the new 2.0 GDI Turbo produce 274 hp which need Ron 93 AKI aka Ron 98 (Even our Ron 97 will not give full optimised power)

• CamryLover on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:45 pm

i think its you who didn’t do your homework properly…

here, let me help you
          http://www.insideline.com/hyundai/sonata/2011/2011-hyundai-sonata-20t-first-drive.html

The engine just require RON 87 AKI ~ RON 91 (Malaysia)

• x suter on Nov 20, 2011 at 10:58 pm

Well i can’t help myself but de front similar to an alligator smiling devilish @ u…spooky @ nite…hmm similar like accord too

• awg1031 on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:10 pm

nice looking..except the rims..

• lemon on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:16 pm

i think the reason paultan set up this comment area is because he want people to discuss car related stuff and give opinion as well as exchange information. Some ppl came in and started bashing for the sake of bashing.. i think av brand has its own problem..toyota has countless recalls, kia and hyundai has previous batch of useless cars..so what?what v r concened here is the car that v seeing now..so judge THIS car, not previous car, not other car..

• Wallstreet on Nov 21, 2011 at 8:31 am

I m not here to give any comment on this car as I know nothing about this car. But I think everyone are entitled to their own opinion. be it negative or as u call it bashing or positive. Yes, u need to talk about previous model even when u are in this new car topic. Would u buy a car that comes with full of complaints from their previous models? Would u buy a car with bad after sales? Or based on previous models positive reviews and positive comments you could decide to buy the car if u are positive about it. So, you can’t stop anyone for giving negative comments here, even Paultan never stop them. You decide it for yourself if you think what they say make sense.

• waterman on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:37 am

indeed they can give any comments here, positive or negative comments here.
        but seriously not those bashing comment without a point and base on their perspective and best of all… the way they talk, is totally no manner at all.

as the fact is, korea car is in the process of making the way up to be on par with japs of the sales globally, there must be a reason why.

they put all the effort with their passion to step up, and people are giving them chance for example, me. yes the fact that the old batch of Korean car sucks big time (i knew, that’s why internet really helps here by providing access to access the information for daring person who give it a try and share their review)

when they said the car won’t last long and so they give u 5 years warranty, when they said the FC sucks and what i can get now is average in 9l/100km i would say it’s good enough for me.

• Just me on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:20 pm

The problem here is too many car salesman start attacking each other. More on personally attack than genuine comment on car.

• rexxx on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Naza ! bring in the Soul and the new Picanto ! Saw the new Picanto and Soul (Brunei plate) in Miri !

• Hah… Picanto, Rio and Soul generate not enough profit for NAZA compare to Sportage, Sorento and Optima.

• One is watching Astroboy, One is watching Masked Ryder, One is dreaming for Maserati. hmph, sounds interesting.

• Wow. Optima. Could it become more exciting car than before??

• Kereta sorong on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Actually with the car in black, those rims dont look that bad

• Yipeee… i still won’t buy from AP King.

• Gebang on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:07 am

Biar kereta keluar dulu…pergi test drive kat highway, jalan kampung etc..etc baru kasi komen…ni baru je keluar kat blog dah gaduh2….apa benda lah….ni bukan facelift….ni new model….jgn samakan yg dulu2….test drive baru komen….

• AP King on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:42 am

Come and buy from me. I give you this half of the selling price.

• Kia Salesman on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:46 am

VW is better!

• drMpower on Nov 21, 2011 at 6:46 am

But dave

u must agree to the fact forte is the most rubbish fc in its class

and the fact although they are fast improving and getting more followers, pretty much large portion people here dont rate korean cars

sure outside they are breaking sales record but its because those cars are darn cheap. And with people are broke with minimal money, a kia is whatevers they are willing to turn to.
    And this is a fact too

and i agree to that mans point.just one.
    Whats the point getting one model with potential of killing anothers’ sales? And to make it worse, they come off under one roof!

That 4×4 what its called? Forgot and probably doesnt care about it. U got one from hyundai and because the superhype they got kia one here.and both are in the same market segment!
    Sure people got more choice but what a moronic sale decision?
    But i guess they are taking whatever chance they got since they dont really have fanbase at all in segment, compare to crv or even vitara
    and optima vs sonata? Come on?

Sure the accountants at kia haywired. Not only they have to deal with passat, accord, camry, teana/sylphy, jetta, m6, etc but a sibling of its own!

Er..these are factuals.okay?

• in msia, kia and hyundai under different group, so its fine.

in US, kia is lower class than hyundai, so its fine too.

• Derek on Nov 21, 2011 at 7:05 am

In Brunei, optima is priced cheaper than sonata. Both 2.4. So guess the pricing might be cheaper than sonata in Malaysia here.

• Maserati on Nov 21, 2011 at 7:27 am

Stay away from Korean cars! I have driven Pug before,and can safely say that they are really good to drive.Japs of course have that something special about them.Just try driving a Forte 2.0 first then jumping into a Honda Civic 2.0.You will be amazed at how good the Civic is.

And some people here are talking about the NEW engines for the Optima? Well,new doesnt mean good.In fact all New stuff to come out from Korea is pure rubbish.In fact the Japs have been having it for the past 10 years and here the Koreans come up with something “NEW” and you guys go WAHHH…Besides the Koreans have terrible fuel consumption.Just have a look at Forte 1.6 then you will understand.

So let me put things straight,this car will definately not sell well in Msia,because who the hell will buy a KIA for about RM 140k? Its like throwing your money down the drain.

Now why I hate Korean stuff so much? Well unfortunately my company deals with Korean products and I can safely say they have the worst reliability I have ever seen ever.Even CHINAMADE products have better reliability.

This KOREAN craze will last just a short while.After a while,everybody will come to realise that Koreans are just good at well plastic surgery!

• waterman on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:42 am

again stupid comment,
      u said FC sucks?
      when i drove my forte 1.6 back to my hometown (the one u mentioned sucks)
      i got 7.5l/100km.
      do some calculation.
      LMFAO~

• you seem to be really lost n confused. still lost in dreamland dreaming about your dream car maserati? It is very clear now who is the one rolling facelift again n again on their line of aging expensive junks. even my 5 year old nephew knows that.

• chitchat on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:08 am

So bias ? give credit where is due. Every country have bad and good manufacturer. Not all Korea product are bad, just think Samsung. China made are better ? given u a choice of china made car and korean, i 100% sure u wont think twice to get the kia’s or hyundai’s lol.

• chitchat on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:15 am

@maserati

So bias ? give credit where is due. Every country have good and bad manufacturer. Not all Korean product are bad, just think SAMSUNG. China made are better ? give u a choice of a China made car and Korean, i am 101% sure u wont think twice and pick the Korean.

• @maserati

Agree with you, but all these hard core korean lickers will never ever accept the fact that korean car is a junk at best.

• as usual lah! on Nov 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm

im not anti korean product..cuma benci forte je…kia hyundai xde racing development ke..

• I disagree with you.. Then what kind of car you think is the best?

• japsfan on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:03 pm

hey! You remind me about this guy called ‘Cybermaster’. But at least this guy talked logic, you are just damm foolish with your comments with no subtance at all.
      Really stupid!

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 21, 2011 at 8:05 am

RM80K?

• Ha Gnih on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:47 am

Tunggu lama lama lah dude. Kalau RM130K – 140K I still believe. Hahaha

• wonder why all these bashes, even before the car is being launched, being touched and being driven…

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:30 am

Typical haters mentality dude. We can’t stop them, just let them make a fool out of themselves with their mindless/baseless bashings

• Thumbs me up ! on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:09 am

Loving the from, hating the rear… I’ll bet u I’ll get the usual thumbs down from the kimchi lovers out there for mentioning something I don’t like on a kimchi car.

• ALAMAK!!! ANOTHER JUNK ON THE ROAD!!!

• as usual lah! on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:41 pm

piss off! optima cantik dari lu punya camry accord teana!
      kau bole kutuk forte tp optima the best… \m/ 8)

• Ha Gnih on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:15 pm

JUNK just like those who just negatively commented

• RedBeanBun on Nov 21, 2011 at 10:44 pm

so what are those cars flooded on the road from P1? :) worst than junk? :)

• adehhh on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:50 am

korean product ok what..im using samsung Galaxy s2 hehe

• Rich people use ipad, poor guy use galaxy.

• smart people use galaxy tab stupid people use ipad

• The sad thing is SOME poor people thought that they are very smart, and always think that rich people is stupid. May be that is the only consolation they can have.

• Godfather on Nov 21, 2011 at 1:32 pm

hey dude, if you wish to discriminate ppl with social status, at least use the right product to compare, Ipad is a tablet while galaxy is a phone.

• what you use? nokia? bull shi*t words.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 21, 2011 at 3:33 pm

More like iPads are for wannabes these days

• ojaykb on Nov 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm

ntah pa2…

• “I’m going to destroy Android, because it’s a stolen product. I’m willing to go thermonuclear war on this.”

• i_swear on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:23 am

Haiz….. I rather you go play your (i-)”pad pad” (please look into the meaning in cantonese also). And don’t talk about Android too.

As we talk about car here, why we terpesong to talk on phone/tablet product ?

• Optima sales has been overshadowed by it unidentical twins Sonata.

Here the position base on Jan – Oct 2011 Sales

USA
    Hyundai Sonata – 11th
    KIA Optima – 50th

China
    Hyundai Sonata – 75th
    KIA Optima – 118th

Canada
    Hyundai Sonata – 21st
    KIA Optima – 126th

South Korea
    Hyundai Sonata – 4th
    KIA Optima – 6th

Unless Naza can use it’s “Crony Magic Wand” to turn CBU into National Brand by having the Door fixed locally, the sales will not be too rossy if they can’t keep it below 130K.

• November on Nov 21, 2011 at 2:23 pm

nice car! wonder hw much will it cost hmm..

• Maserati, when are you going to buy your dream Maserati? If you don’t have the money to buy cars like that, then I can understand why you have such thinking. Haha, new doesn’t mean good? Then why should people inventing new things everyday? And why should you buy a new house? Maybe you live in a papan kayu, so you’d say that new doesn’t mean good. Think nicely before you talk or bash, please don’t waste the energy,

• Yahooo….K5 is coming!!!….

• soundsfishy on Nov 21, 2011 at 5:37 pm

can’t wait to see dis new gen of korean cars incl forte when they around 5 yrs old on our roads.

• KIA SA on Nov 21, 2011 at 8:37 pm

I got the price information. It’s around 140k. Hopefully this optima will not disappoint all the Korean fanboys. Let’s wait and test drive the car before commenting. Thanks

• Never judge the book by its cover.

test drive it, feel it. Every car owns a distinct characteristic, love what you buy, and love what you drive.

New technology always innovated to supersede the old one. I believe more and more is coming out in near future. 3-5 years ago you still can say that wira/ gen2 got higher resale value, but what about now? 6-speed/ cvt gear box, better efficiency engine are built to serve human being better.

Now, you buy a Toyota, lets say. Can you assure that the resale value still remained strong? Don’t forget Hybrid/EV will be running commonly in 5-7 years future. So, ask yourself again, is it still important to consider the second hand value of what you are driving over what you are passion for???
    I always surprised that peoples used to tell me don’t buy Korean car due to its second hand value.

Don’t forget that you can always go for aftermarket products if you are not really satisfy your ride. Believe me, unless you are paying a very high price for a car, you will never get a PERFECT car in your choosing list.

At last, I still want to say, “Love what you drive, just like you drive what you like!” Because at the end, you are going to pay the bank installment, right?

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:40 am

That’s the thing I don’t get with the mentality of the drivers. They rather buy something they don’t actually like but with a somewhat better resale value. To me, resale value is (pardon my language) a total bullsh*t. Why worry about resale value if you know you love a car, regardless of makes and models and yes, at the end of the day, you are enjoying the feeling you get in something you truly desire and not because you are driving a resale value. Hahaha. I get the same crap from those around me when I first bought the Sonata because of resale value issues. But I brought those who condemned the Sonata for a spin. And yes, surprisingly, 1 of them is driving the kimchimobile now and another one is expecting shipment early next month.

To those new car owners or soon-to-be car owners out there. Do not let these certain close-minded people affect you in the choice of cars you make. Be it a Proton, a Perodua, A Kia, a Hyundai or even a Tata, just stick to how you truly feel when you are sitting in the car, and if budget wise permits you to, by all means, buy what/whichever car you truly love and resale values are just for those wannabes

• Constructive on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:39 pm

I know a few rich / well to do people who has a Kia or a Hyundai in their garage. To the Korean bashers, unbelievable isn’t it? At the end of the day, it is about utility of product at price level. For a car that cost relatively lower than it’s competitors but offers features of premium brands / models, what the heck…it’s a no brainer for value. When something goes wrong with the car, you won’t feel that bad because you paid a relatively low price for your car anyway… But when something goes wrong and it will go wrong with premium brands, that’s when it hurts. I am not a Korean supporter per se, but to the people who condemned a car even before it is launched, I think you are being too emotionally charged and you should walk away from your computer.

• Wayne on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:44 pm

I think you guys who condemned Kia can’t actually afford a Kia….. :) You are probably from the lower income group and drive a cheaper make….? Just my 2 cents :)

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:22 am

These are just jealous haters because they themselves are dreaming of a Kimchi mobile but can’t actually afford one. Mata merah maaaaa…….

• Alkatraz on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:47 pm

I bought a kia optima nt few mth back of cos nt in malaysia. Currentlt near 5000km without problem. BUT to me the car hab somenhanding issue during high speed ~160km/hr. It will b pulling left n right. I believe with after market strut bar n sway bars will solve the problem.
    Brunei selling BND 38,800 (2.4GDI, high spec with sport stru) i think d price is worth for d abuse. If d agent here is not going to responsible for it surely (if its factory fault n still under warranty withinnd 5yrs) i will c them in court.

• Unforgiven on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:51 pm

At the end of the day, not many people are capable of owning a Korean cars anymore… thanks to who? That’s sad but it’s true…

• Ahmed on Nov 21, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Hehe those say they like and support Korea cars actually they don’t one one or they don’t intend to go for Korean cars . Hehehe. They also Can be koreancars sales man but don’t own a Korean cars . I nampak banyak la kawan . Hehehe cakap macam hero support korean car tapi belakang semua kecut. Heheheheheh terima la hakikat pak kimchi .sekian

• 2.0LForte was just nice.
    2.0L Sportage was underpowered.

2.0L Optima. ??? Somewhere between Forte and Sportage???? ie still less power than Forte 2.0L coz Optima’s a bigger car…
    If it’s the same 2.0L engine mite as well keep to the Forte 2.0L

Really hope there’s more powerful engine options available. Else just skip it and wait for other hybrid options…..

• I own Kia FORTE and VIOS…seriusly….KIA technology more advance compare to VIOS…Love KIAand will buy OPTIMA soon…trust me..!

• as usual lah! on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:05 am

forte 1.6 or fiesta 1.6 is better?vios out of league la der..

• are you nuts? why are you comparing vios to the forte? vios outdated dugong is even lower spec than a saga FLX.

• dreaming of maserati on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:55 pm

i have drove countless models of maserati n find it extremely boring compared to ferrari. stay away from maserati.

• nighttrain on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:13 am

would be nice if they introduce an engine not from 2006. And change the logo please, so that it can be sold for RM100K.

• Shaycoat on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:31 am

I drive a 2010 accord vti-l. At first, i thought that this premium brand is good without so much problem….but after a year of owning it, you can hear awkward sound from the engine, brake and suspension….what a waste of money

• japsfan on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:58 am

Accord CKD local quality.
      Cut cost model, Honda is using hard plastics on the dash board for a car selling at RM173000. It is a total rip off from customers.
      For Kia Optima, it is a good car with decent features, however to capture the market here, Naza must priced it at max RM130K.
      Sonata do not sell well is because of the pricing is too close to the Japs.
      Forte is selling well is because of their price RM85k and full features comparable to those C, D segments Japs.
      Anyway, I think driving an Optima will attract a lot of attention which you won’t get it by owning a Jap.

• Pirate on Nov 22, 2011 at 11:55 am

The less there is of a car model on the road, the more unique and special it becomes…. That is the recipe for the “X Factor” . Honda and Toyota has no X Factor coz their everywhere…. nothing special… boring…. Be honest, when we see a Sonata YF on the road now, how many of us take a second and even a third look? I bet many… BUT how many take a second look at an Accord? Unless it was kitted… if not, *yawnnnnn*. So for Korean bashers, go ahead, keep bashing the Kia and Hyundai brand coz you are actually helping promote the X Factor. Thanks!

• japsfan on Nov 22, 2011 at 5:16 pm

The uniqueness is not because of the car is rare on the road, but it is because of its unique beautiful design.

• Ha Gnih on Nov 22, 2011 at 7:52 pm

Thus me feeling slightly stupid for driving the Sonata now that THIS is gonna be launched soon. Hmmmm….upgrading ? Perhaps. Afterall, the Optima has already captured my attention right from the start. The only question now is the price and the moolah factor. haha. Anyway, just wanna give 2 thumbs up for the Kimchi for making this a good debate. Korean rocks !!

• After driving korean car for 4 years, damn only one word LOUSY.

• Stranger on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:08 am

If it’s lousy, get rid of it. Go buy a Benz. You have a choice. Nobody forced you to buy a Kia in the first place.

• mentari-o-korea on Nov 22, 2011 at 10:25 pm

..i would love to see this car sitting beside my kia koup every morning before i go to work! Will be another joy in my life!

• Kimchi on Nov 23, 2011 at 2:45 am

I been f**cling my Korean wife for 4 years, one word Best !!!

• Stranger on Nov 23, 2011 at 10:12 am

I hope you guys get an orgasm each time you drive a Kia :)

• Ha Gnih on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:16 pm

I actually did when I 1st drove the Sonata. LoL !!!!!!!!!!

• optima2004 on Nov 27, 2011 at 7:23 pm

Did u guys see what’s behind the steering wheel? Paddle shifters!
          I’m definitely owning one.