New Kia Optima spotted being tested by JPJ officers

The new Kia Optima is currently on test with JPJ, and it seems it’s being driven quite frequently as well, as it’s been spotted twice by two different readers in the span of a week. Reader Adrian Yong snapped the Optima parked at an undisclosed location, while Khairil got his opportunity to snap photos at the Tapah R&R, north-bound. Perhaps we could see the Optima launched before the end of the year, or in the first half of next year? We’ve already driven the Kia Optima during an international press drive event in Australia, so you can read our first impression test drive review story posted earlier this year. The model we tested had a 2.4 litre GDI engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• What are they testing it for?

• theanswer on Oct 02, 2011 at 10:04 pm

documentation..formality..since they must record & know cars in our country.

• Be Gone AP on Oct 02, 2011 at 10:36 pm

and to see how much to charge for the 100% AP so that Proton and Perodua can continue to be the ‘cheapest’ cars market have to offer. Without AP, this car is only a mere RM59k, cheaper than the overpriced Inspira, then again, hot damn, this car’s gonna be my first car next year!

• theanswer on Oct 02, 2011 at 11:35 pm

i dont blame u..but i already come to a point where i dont want any of us to talk about tax bla3..it hurts but we have to accept it. damn~

• kimi_ on Oct 02, 2011 at 11:41 pm

I DONT want to buy it because it sold by NAZA -AP KING and cronies

they sully my dignity

• jgn cemburu on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:12 am

Jgn cemburu bro…berbangga dengan anak watan & juga syarikat bumiputera…kau tak beli pun owner dia tetap kaya raya…yang penting semua dapat merasa apabila ownernya membayar zakat & juga cukai…ada otak fikir…

• Naza Kia car far more high spec then hyundai sime darby motors, Those people in Hyundai bring low spec car and fit all the accessories locally. Pity those who bought Starex Royalle totally been conned. They fit airbag,leather seat,bodykit,power door, DVD monitor, Touch screen radio. GPS. Reverse Camera many more locally . Sell about Alphard price .This car they make money kaw kaw ooh.

• Ron99Vroom on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:46 pm

if u dowan to buy other people will buy oso de. So cannot fight lo

• RedBeanBun on Oct 03, 2011 at 7:12 am

what if they sell at RM130K? still ur first car?

• RM130k is good if the car which full spec..
            Since its brother, Sonata 2.0 standard already started from RM136k..

• I think the price will be from RM120K to RM130K…Usually it will not more expansive than H.Sonata.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:29 am

Whatever it is, the Koreans will always be cheaper (and much more affordable) than those from the land of the rising sun. But on board ? You will have, I dare to say 30 – 45% more gadgets to play around with.

• EVOVII on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:36 am

the purpose of the test is to make sure the car suit with our climate, road condition, etc.

• Fluid on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:49 am

JPJ will not test for that la…

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:34 pm

perhaps they only test whether a normal person could drive this car here without much problems. but JPJ need to get a standard issue car so they could determine whether the solar tint, light bulb, and any other gadget is installed as standard, and adhere to JPJ regulations. the owner won’t be fined if HID were installed by manufacturers. also, perhaps the minimum safety requirements such as rear seat belts and twin airbags.

• Wey Nauk on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:03 pm

most global brand cars already adhere to international motor vehicle safety & compliance standard ie. ECE, E-mark, TUV, EuroNcap, JNcap, NHTSA , etc.

RTD job is to make sure no sub-standard motor vehicles are dump into the market by unscrupulous motor vehicles manufacturer, franchisee, distributors…

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:22 pm

For fun I suppose. Just to ‘feel’ the car without having to afford one.

• Nice… does JPJ get to keep the car after testing? Everyone must be rushing to test it.

• Wey Nauk on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:35 pm

this is how your hard earn taxpayer money feed these civil servant dungus so they can test drive all latest arrival vehicles in the name of documentation purpose!

• Shut the FXXX UP on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Is Kia copy Skoda or Skoda copy Kia? I think Skoda copied Kia’s grille design…

• Nice move, faster launch it.
    Please, basher or t&h fanboys, don’t come and ruin this place

• sagatron on Oct 02, 2011 at 6:55 pm

absolutely stunning!!!!!!!!

• Oh man. This looks sick. Makes the sonata in one of the pix looks dated.
    Price this right Naza & we are looking at a real winner :)

• aprilcoco on Oct 02, 2011 at 7:12 pm

I don’t really get why JPJ has to pandu UJI this car, since Kia is homologated for RHD markets like UK, Australia etc, just government servant wasting time. Also see the kia and lexus blind test at http://www.carsales.com.au/reviews/2011/medium-passenger/kia/is/lexus-is-350-and-kia-optima-blind-test-24151

Anyway, not bad for a company that was just making bicycles 30 years ago…

• malaysian on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:58 am

bro, we are malaysians. thats y..u know y?coz malaysian always like to complain..if one day this car burned or the pedal jammed, then they would say “why JPJ approved this car to be on Malaysia road coz its nor roadworthy???!!”…i think thats the reason why they test it

• jalan54 on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:22 pm

There were a lot of honda city burning case, which means that they never test the car???

• aprilcoco on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Oh, I see. Malaysia standard is higher than Australia, European Union, United Kingdom, United states, etc. Yeah right. More government servants makan pisang to me. I wonder if JPJ officers even know what structural integrity, weld points and crash tests ah.

• cam.shaft on Oct 02, 2011 at 7:15 pm

this is going to be good.

//cam.shaft

• vince on Oct 02, 2011 at 7:17 pm

finally going to sales in malaysia

• vince on Oct 02, 2011 at 7:19 pm

finally this car going to sell in malaysia

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 02, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Finally…
    This definitely looks better than Sonata..

• pg qayyum on Oct 02, 2011 at 7:23 pm

i really really love that car.

• RedBeanBun on Oct 02, 2011 at 7:25 pm

Now, this is the Kia real challenger!

See how it price…

• kwing on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:20 am

most probably same as sonata…

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:30 am

If anything, it would be less than the Sonata.

Now if Naza SKDs this thing, then it makes it really interesting.

I’ve seen a SG plated K5 about in KL. Looks very impressive.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:13 am

If anything, it would be less than Toyota and Honda. Koreans are starting with a cheaper offer which is good so people would actually reconsider in terms of price.

• transformer on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:01 pm

those wheels shun me from buying one….. pls change those wheels….

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:28 pm

don’t hate a car for it’s wheels. No stock wheels will ever satisfy a buyer. Why don’t you just buy the car and change the wheel to your heart’s desire ? Simple right ?

• azlan on Oct 04, 2011 at 7:07 pm

I really love that rim.. Because of that rim I prefer this car over Sonata

• Btw the OPTIMA should have twin tail pipe instead of the single one.
    Single one is disturbing the fantastic behind look abit. :)

• hemizan on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:40 pm

good, Kia Optima@K5 already arrive in Malaysia. I wonder what it will be price since it is popular in South Korea. Maybe after this we can see K7 enter Malaysia market.

• hmm….i think it is a 2.0L variant coz of the single exhaust

• Be Gone AP on Oct 02, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Correct, sir. It will be exactly the same as the SG version since they only brought in the 2.0L standard and sport variant. for some reason they didnt bring in 2.0 turbo and 2.4

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:23 am

The 2.0L turbo and 2.4 is GDI….so maybe they decided to wait. Kinnda odd, since VW FSI engines (as are the Mercedes and BMW mills) are working quite well.

The 2.0L turbo has been in the market for quite some time now, debuting in the Hyundai Coupe a few years ago.

• waterman on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:47 pm

i’m so want this optima in my garage!!

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Dude, I bet you are one of the growing fans here who want the same thing. I know I want it too. Haha.

• autojohndoe on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:54 pm

k7 isnt it?

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Yeap. Fell in love with the car when a Korean friend literally FORCED me to check out the unofficial advert when it was first release in Korea. That was like early last year ? Hmmmm. Somehow the Sonata made the quicker debut.

• F.O.C on Oct 02, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Can’t for the launch date, other countries giving good reviews. I hope Paul do another review on Malaysia version, mana tau setting different!!!

• prolever on Oct 02, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Oh.. The south korea K5. Already in korea years now and already became a taxi there.
    So when the K7 will land to our shore.

• And in Germany, E class & 5 Series are also taxis.

• in malaysia we have proton saga and naza ria as taxis.. so what? each country may have their own car maker to be the taxis~ home carmaker in home soil as taxis may get cheaper price maa.. same as germany, BMW for taxis, so they(the taxis owner) can buy the car at lower price~

except for the lamborghini and ferrari and other supercar maker laa~

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:16 pm

We can’t specifically hate a model just because it has been used as taxis in other countries. This goes to show how narrow minded people can be. And what people might think of their car bothers them. Hahaha. I’ve seen RR and Bentley’s used as taxis too. SO does that mean all our royalties should get rid of their rides ? Uh uh…I don’t think so

• FINALLY!!! It’s here! =D

• looks absolutely terrific in black

• This Kia has been running on Brunei roads for months now. It was introduced before Ramadhan if Im not wrong. And it is still being tested in Malaysia. That’s soooo slowww..

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:30 am

Well, we are in Malaysia afterall. Everything is slow. Only corruption is going on at a (fast) steady speed

• Masked Ryder on Oct 02, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Problematic Sonata “New Nightmare”.
    Naza vs SD, showdown time better get ready my popcorn.

• 4545er on Oct 02, 2011 at 9:24 pm

arghhhhhhhh..why the resale value of korean car drop kaw2 if not 4 sure i’ll buy this beauty

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:39 am

Bro, why worry about resale value ? Any car prices will drop once you drive it. Even for a few months. When we buy cars, we buy them because how we feel by looking at it and how comfortable it is while driving. The interior finishing is also very important. I used to be bothered by resale value but at the end of the day, all car prices drop, just a matter of more or less. Don’t tell me people buy cars out there as a form of investment because I will be much amused. Haha

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:38 pm

problem is, the resale value will also determine the ‘insured value’. 3 years old sportage (prev gen) is now RM65k, while 3 years old CRV is RM115k now. the insured value of Sportage would drop much lower than your loan balance, so IF total lost in accident or stolen, you have to pay lots more to settle your loan compare to CRV case. that’s RM40k difference guys!
        i would like to see our car loan have the same insurance mechanism as our housing loans. which means, the insured value is tied to the loan, not the car value. less people would worry about the resale value, then you’ll see how fast Kia and Hyundai could grab better market share here.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Good point bro. But I never take a car loan for more than 2 years. I rather squeeze my pocket with a hefty downpayment and then enjoy a rather stress free 24 months instalments. Having said that, I won’t have to suffer in the event IF (touch wood) I get my car into a total wreckage mishap. But then again, different drivers and fans have a different perspective when it comes to buying cars. Some (the funnier ones) even buy new cars because their friends are driving the specifics. Hahaha

• So moral of the story is drive carefully and take care of your car and you will pay less insurance driving a 3 year old sportage.

• Halem on Oct 02, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Nice premium cab !
    Whiiss !! Taxi !

• shawal on Oct 02, 2011 at 9:45 pm

I want mine in red… but have to see the price first…

• Much prefer this Optima to the Sonata.

Wonder if Naza will bring the 2.0 Turbo Optima in?

Quote from http://cars.about.com/od/kia/fr/2011-Kia-Optima-2-0t-Test-Drive.htm

Quote “Kia assured me that they’ve done durability testing, pushing the engine and turbo for 300 hours at redline (6,500 rpm), then pushing it further by over-revving it to 6,800 rpm for an additional 20 hours to ensure the setup was bulletproof. I’m still a skeptic, but I liked the performance — and the 22 mpg city/34 highway fuel economy ratings — enough to recommend the Optima Turbo despite my anxiety.”

• Ash Menon on Oct 02, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Paul, when Anthony drove the car in Australia he mentioned that the suspension setup was customized for Australia, any idea which setup we get here? Also, in that article the red Optima had two exhaust pipes, was it a trim level?

• err... on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:19 am

Malaysia market worth to spend the time to customize?any car just sell here and ppl will buy….no matter what brand…we aren’t that important….

• kuukj on Oct 02, 2011 at 10:18 pm

this car is absolutely stunning. Saw 2 in Sg, just couldn’t get my eyes of it.

• i already sat in this car,very nice one with dual sun roof,screen at back mirror,heater at seat n mny more function,u’ll sure love it..

• believe me, this will become taxi in malaysia.

• so what? the e-class is a premium taxi in singapore too

• BeemerFreak on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:42 am

My IQ just dropped 100 points out of 200 by believing you. I think i better stop before i become worse than a Chimpanzee

• PakAbu on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:47 am

I would be nice if this car is made into a taxi. Much much better than the batter-clanger-shakity-pile-of-rusty-basket that I’ve been into a few days ago. :mrgreen:

• vincent on Oct 02, 2011 at 11:01 pm

To those who talk abt resale value of Korean and conti car, it really makes me laugh. I want to ask is your life is more precious than the resale value? Go get a car with better safety features la, Halo? Jap car had taken you guys for a ride by having a milo tin (for better FC) and low safety spec with sky high price where you guys think that your car had higher ‘resale’. come on, no cars had good resale especially when you spend more than 100k on a car. Come on, think about your life and your family’s life, get a car with higher safety spec and features regardless resale and as long as you can afford it of course. To me, a Korean car is anytime better buy than a Jap car.

• “Jap car had taken you guys for a ride by having a milo tin (for better FC)”

That’s how they conned the world…

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:51 am

And they are relatively cheaper with more to offer. Yeah!!

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:10 pm

For those haters for my comment, please get yourself in a Korean to know exactly what I meant by my statement above. Haha. For those who agree, thank you for getting the point.

• can’t agree more with you mate!

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:51 pm

3 years old sportage (prev gen) is now RM65k, while 3 years old CRV is RM115k now. i’m not buying car thinking to sell it later, but what important to me is the ‘insured value’. the insured value of Sportage would drop much lower than your loan balance, so IF total lost in accident or stolen, you have to pay lots more to settle your loan compare to CRV case. that’s RM40k difference guys!
      i would like to see our car loan have the same insurance mechanism as our housing loans. which means, the insured value is tied to the loan, not the car value. less people would worry about the resale value, then you’ll see how fast Kia and Hyundai could grab better market share here.

• OMG…so much differences..But that happened to prev gen only due to ugly design of the K.Sportage, I think the new Kia Sportage after 3 year will not drop drastically bcos its design looked nicer.

• Serious Fast Donkey on Oct 02, 2011 at 11:23 pm

if not mistaken, this car has been on the Korean streets for quite a few years, why it only comes to Malaysia today?

• BeemerFreak on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:44 am

Alamak, the single tail pipe means we are not getting the 2.4GDI here. single tail pipe likely to mean 2.0L 166bhp. Hopefully it comes with the new meter cluster with colour LCD screen( the one we saw on the australia car) rather than the old one which resembles a larger version of the current forte.

• mirlme on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:20 am

How come JPJ test drive this unit? But nice whut

• kwing on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:23 am

i am no toyota or honda fans.. this car looks good at first, but it doesn’t last….something futuristc side of it look strange after a while…but it is still one of the best money for value car….

• people who envy with Kia said, another “COW” to be unleashed soon.

• people envy with Kia said, another “COW” to be unleashed soon

• charles chia on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:34 am

Are you sure JPJ knows how to test cars. How come they can allow Proton poor qualities to pass its test, I doubt. Anyway, have JPJ awarded 5 STAR rating for safety for Proton cars?

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:49 am

Very funny indeed right ? When I first heard of such ratings, I was really amused. Another tactic to get rid of Proton from their stock yard ? Hmmmmmmmmm

• far more better than camry and accord.

• If Naza really serious to take on Camry-Accord and now Teana, please bring the diesel Kia Optima/K5. Buyers will have stronger reasoning to purchase this over gasoline counterpart.

Even a 2.0l will do since their torque is substantially higher than gasoline. Korean diesel seemingly better than the Japanese.

• BeemerFreak on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:59 am

It is not seemingly, is obvoiusly. Took a Sonata cab in Singapore before, the cab had great torque, and the “uncle” driving was telling me that his crdi equiped car needs routine service ever 30 000 km and has never broken down. Pretty reliable for a car that has done 600 000km.

• Simply used more polite word not discrediting the decent residual value Japanese brands.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:03 am

U r wrong Karl, Optima target is it sister car Sonata, even when target at japanese rival it would be 1 segment lower which is Altis, Civic or Selphy, as Camry, Accord & Teana price belong to higher category just like BM 5 series & MB E Class which is even higher.
      The only one wetting their pants is Sonata which already having decline in sales due to endless problem with the sun roof & engine vibration.

• David D on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:57 pm

I find it rather amusing that you keep comparing this car to smaller cars, seriously. Optimas, Sonatas, Teanas, Accords, and Camry, whether you like it or not, all belong in the same category, so beat it with all your crap claims where you don’t even have the solid proof.

Come on, they’re giving a big shot at this market, which is no bad thing, so why not you quit ranting all that anti-Korean car rhetoric and start giving more constructive comments?? All i see in your postings is nothing but hatred for anything Korean, and only positive comments about certain brands only.

And, mind you, it’s alright if you don’t want to admit it. Keep replying us with your lies and crap, we’re ready to keep your arrogant mouth shut once and for all.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Maskedryder

What have you been smoking??

The Optima is in the same size class as the other D segments like the Camry and Accord.

Its fairly clear who Kia and Hyundai is after. Hyundai’s design language and marketing demographics is aimed at Toyota (and quite the long shot – Lexus and Mercedes), while Kia own design language goes after Honda ( and again a long shot, BMW and Audi). One look at the Equus and Azera and you’d clue in where they are heading to.

Granted, there will be some cannibalization on the Sonata, but the biggest bite would be its Japanese competition.

What are the issues you speak off? care to direct us to links? A close family member has a 2.4L YF Sonata, problem free so far.

And as to your US sales, Hyundai has been for quite a while taking market share from Toyota and Honda so where is your justification for your claims? The Camry and Accords YTD market share loss is almost double digits. While the Sonata yeilds a not insignificant 20% market share gain. Yes, Honda and Toyota still sell more but its only a matter of time the market share loss will reverse the sale numbers. The Elantra yielded a whopping 47% YTD growth compared to the -10% from the Corolla while the Civic didn’t even register in the top 20 sales/month. The Elantra is the top seller in its class beating out the Corolla and Civic in Canada.

And remember, Hyundai and Kia would have even better market acceptance in time, since they have very good Diesels, GDI and GDI Turbo units, compared to non-existing developments from its Japanese counterparts.

• Is ur right to keep on compare the Optima with civic, altis..
        but the fact is different..
        mostly all the ppl will agree that the Optima is direct compete with Camry, accord, & teana as well..

• Masked Ryder on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:28 am

Wonder would 2.0 Optima carry forward the same engine vibration problem as Sonata, not forgetting sun roof & door problem as well, since it from the same mfg.
    Strangely Optima sales in US merely is 1/3 of Sonata & 1/4 of Camry, something wrong some where ?

• AutoMan on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:46 pm

I have been driving the sonata for a year and i dont get all these problems u mentioned ? Maybe i am lucky or you are just talking.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Well Automan, go n check out autoworld forum on Sonata YF problem, I am not saying it out of thin air, but that feedback from actual owner, infact 1 owner even publish the photo of the repaired sun roof with masking tape on it.
        Good luck if yours have no problem “yet”.

• tec96248 on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Even lambo do hv problems. Engineering and Manufacturing have defects too just like human. eg. you……….hahaha.

• tec96248 on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:24 pm

A car is machine which moves you around. It is engineered and manufactured, therefore will had defects. Just like us, human race and so does you, having defects. You criticized almost all cars but don’t you really understand it?? hahaha…..amateur.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:34 am

Buying cars is like choosing a wife too. You get all the good and the best when you guys are dating but when you eventually marry her, then her true colors show. e.g : Lazy, mood swings, sluggish, refuse to have sex, can’t cook, hates children, rude towards her in-laws, spends heaps of your money and so on. So yeah, a car is a car. Just like humans, with defects. If we are SO afraid of defects, then its better to just rely on public transportation. Even an S-Class comes with defects; rain sensor not working. There you go amigo.

• Ron99Vroom on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:43 pm

My wife is a good wife. So thank the pa & ma for having no manufacturing defects ? Haha

• Single pipe or not but it still look awesome!

• CoolG on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:57 am

probably the coolest car in its segment !!!

• Cucukman on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:09 am

Huhhh… JPJ pun nak test kereta jugak…
    Puspakom, MIROS, JKJR tu buat apa?

too much BIROCRACY…

Hopefully can get nice TEST DRIVE from them..haha

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:28 pm

any country have their own tests. have u ever heard that Renault’s car (which scored 5 stars crash rating from NCAP) didn’t pass safety test in China? google it for more info.
      I’ve never heard that Puspakom, MIROS, JKJR need to test every new car here. but as for JPJ, only insiders could tell us what they’s testing the car for. it’s possible that they’re checking engine capacity (for road tax), tinting (if it’s standard issue from manufacturer or Naza), light bulbs (owners wouldn’t be sued if HID is issued by manufacturers), and compulsory safety aspects like rear seat belts and airbags.. and perhaps few other things.

• cobest81 on Oct 04, 2011 at 7:51 am

but terlalu lambat…sesetengah model baru dua tahun baru masuk malaysia….

• sammo on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:15 am

finally its here…yeah!

• iskhalifah on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:32 am

Naza, please price it like the old Optima. Or maybe Naza wanted to badge it without Kia or Naza name, like the ‘Forte’. If its priced 110K-120K, then it will pose a serious challenge to Accord/Camry.

Malaysian buyers still worship Jap cars. Naza shouldn’t forget that.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:43 am

Another Korean beauty in the market ? Yeah. I gotta check it out. I’m driving the new sonata 2.4 at the moment and YES, the car rides and handles beautifully. Korean really impresses me quite a bit these days. Better than the Japanese actually. My sister’s NEW Vios of 8 months has gone through 3 workshop visits on separate faulty accounts. *sighs*

• Expatriate VN on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:16 am

“Uji Pandu” by JPJ, what a crap! JPJ suppose to test drive those who want to upgrade from Lembu to full license. What expertise and under what testing criteria do they have to verify the car is suitable for our climate condition?

• Crazy Wichita on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:41 am

yeah..u r right Expat VN….
      bye2 camry & accord…this rides is better wooo…..

• autojohndoe on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:20 pm

hey brader…

how did you know they test for climate?

it was never mentioned in the post la…

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 1:44 pm

don’t just pick your info out of thin air… where the heck u get the idea that they’s testing for our climate? don’t simply trust everything you read in Vietnamese newspapers, please get your info from more reliable sources.

• jalan54 on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Do you know what is the testing for??? I doubt they even know what they are testing for.

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:02 pm

that’s the prob with malaysian mentality… always have 2nd guesses, always doubting. and always jelous. bravo!

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:29 pm

i’ve given my opinion above. search for my post.

• jalan54 on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:40 pm

This is not second guessing, if you really look at how they do works, you are gonna “vomit blood”, damn a lot of blood coming out from throat!!!

• is it price cheaper tham camry?

• ayamxxx on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Cool car, but the interior dashboard looks very old, looks like 90-s

• Price Estimater on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:47 pm

2.4 Model will be RM138,888.00 (Estimated)

• Well if that is true, then Naza dealers sign me up. :)

• arcana on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:34 pm

sorry to blow it but that kinda of pricing is most likely for 2.0 model and hopefully the high spec one.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Well David didi, i have only one answer to u “Price”.
    It only size matter, Optima Sonata, Teana, Accord, Camry, BMW 5 series, MB E class, Audi A6, Lexus GS would all belong same category.
    But in reality people choose korean car over price factor, they feel they can get a D segment Korean car with a C segment Japanese price, offcoz same go when 1 can get a Japanese D segment with a German C segment price plus saving of 50 grands, but in reality they r never the same isn’t it ?
    Surely the Korean would not sell u at cheaper price if it car are at the same status as japanese, just like Samsung Galaxy S 2 no longer come cheap isn’t it.
    U can alway skips my comments if u found it to be unflavorable to ur taste bud,
    Unless u found my writing is “true & influential”.
    Hasta la vista pobre chico Dave !

• jalan54 on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:46 pm

1 fact, korean cars nowadays provide more features with the same of lower price compare to japanese. So, this is how we should compare. Of course we cannot compare sonata with bmw 5 series. Yes, both of them are same segment, but different class, but we definitely can compare camry with sonata as they are same segment and same class. Like it or not, Japanese has been stagnant for a very long time and korean cars is now in the same footsteps with japanese cars and I can say even better.
      That is why people start to compare sonata with camry, accord and other japanese cars.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:23 am

All I can say is that the Korean fluidic design ROCKS YO !!!

• David D on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Well, is that the only excuse you can give in justifying your opinion, which isn’t even valid at the first place. Why price? Why not technology, driving experience, first impressions, value, the lot. It’s just pathetic seeing you, lacking ammo to justify your sweeping claims, coming up with yet another baseless claim.

As how things goes in the real world, you ought to remember that just like the Koreans, the Japanese also started out cheap, and was the butt of the jokes at first. Now, their progress has been remarkable, which is absolutely agreeable. Pricing wise, remember they also used to undercut the European makes by price, and it’s something you can’t deny. After the Koreans, the Indians and the Chinese will also follow suit, just simple plain economic matters.

And, one more thing, GROW UP!! Gosh, i can’t believe such a bloody arrogant adult who keeps talking crap and sweeping statements, while bothering the actual facts could go down to this path of calling people stupid names just because we shot down your baseless comments.

Grow up, please. I can say that even the younger generation can think more rationally than that bigoted mind of yours.

• Based on the current new sportage price, I bet that they will follow the same standard i.e the highest spec 2.0 optima will be the same price as the lowest spec Sonata which is RM138,XXX price

• One thing for sure, this new Optima simply 1 million light years better than that Banana V6!

• emmm.. u cannot compare the all new optima with the Banana maah..
      u must understand that the banana was first introduced by Proton in 1995..

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 5:44 pm

what i can say; only stupid people will do stupid comparison.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:45 pm

Ha Gnih, if u don’t ever open the sun roof, put a anti vibration mat to yr seat, put a thick cover over the steering, imagine ur car door should sound like ur house gate, then there is no problemo.
    Pls don’t check out autoworld forum on Sonata YF Problem, that photo where the sun roof stick with masking tape r actually only for decoration purposes. ;-)

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 7:32 pm

Bro, I am baffled by the so-called reported problematic sonata because i actually OWN one. It’s been close to the 3rd quarter and no, I don’t sense anything amiss with this car. Instead I’m loving it every single day I’m driving it. Hahaha. I guess those reports are just to bring down the Korean, as usual.

• Bobby on Oct 04, 2011 at 11:42 am

Me too actually owned a Sonata, and I do surf Autoworld forum where my user name is Khinfai.

I does have had some problems with slight vibration and cabin noise but it is all already straighten out. I drove the car for 9 months already and I felt satisfied with it.

AND I FKING LOVE EVERY SINGLE ASPECT OF THIS CAR.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2011 at 3:33 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IecdBis0eso

Enjoy yourselves.

• Jimmy on Oct 03, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Must be at least 30K cheaper than Camry for it to sell well : RM120k low-specs to RM145k high specs. This 30K is to cancel up the resale value.

• seriously i don’t want it to be as common as a Camry …

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:18 am

You can’t beat Camry when it comes to common-ess. There’s a family that lives 3 houses away from me, has 3 Camries at home. Speaking of being a fan ya. Haha

• mentari-o-korea on Oct 03, 2011 at 6:21 pm

..another joy for malaysian, one word only SUPERB !!!

• K5 driver on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:20 am

From the rims, I say this is a k5 hybrid version. Perhaps that why JPJ is testing it. K5 is best selling car in Korea now.

• redevils on Oct 04, 2011 at 11:17 am

Do ur homework b4 comment pls….this rim definitely not for hybrid!

• cobest81 on Oct 04, 2011 at 7:45 am

..biasa paling cepat pun 6 bln selepas JPJ TEST br masuk market m’sia….that’s why model kereta terbaru lambat masuk m’sia. Sometimes 2 tahun dilancarkan baru masuk m’sia…

• I did view this kia optima in shenzhen last month. very impressive…selling price RMB190K to RMB230K. IF NOT MISTKEN with paddle shift..2.0 and 2.4 .
    HYUNDAI SONATA THERE WITH 10 AIRBAGS. OUR HERE BOLA 2BIJI.. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS SDB DOING…I HOPE NEW KIA OPTIMA WILL HAVE FULL SPEC HERE.

• maybe they took out the 8 biji and sell it as spare parts

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:05 am

Do you notice that whatever cars that come in to Malaysia, well except maybe for those German CBU marques, they always lack in somethings in some areas ? Hmmmm……….I always find this very fishy

• maliq on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:18 pm

WOW! after looking at this car last year in korea, it actually came here.. nice nice.. im currently using toyota camry.. which is a good car, but i look at the next generation camry, it does not look stunning like this.. why ah? toyota is not spending on design is it? if we look back those korean few years ago, their design were ugly, look at them now, i have to respect them even i know that the designer of the car are european people.. but it is nice.. they made an effort. lets see how the car will maintain for the second hand value now.. then if the car is well for the next few years.. toyota and honda should be worried.. people tend to shift their taste..

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:49 am

I’ve shifted mine by starting with the Sonata. But still have a few Toyotas at home la. Hahaha

• pigsy on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:56 pm

so eksyen wan…. but not that great la.. other people got a few bentleys and bmw at home but keep quite only..

• Ha Gnih on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:09 pm

Thats because they are not making a comparison with Koreans and Japanese.

• Ron99Vroom on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Come on pigsy. Ha has a point and yes, other ppl might hv bentleys and bmws at home but keeping quiet only. Thts bcos they cant even compare themselvs to asian make and model. Maybe Ha has other cars at home which he reserve the opinions for the right post, we dunno. Not to side Ha or aything. We can’t be jealous for his input on the matter.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 06, 2011 at 9:37 am

Hey bro Ron99. Thanks for the support but seriously to be jealous and to actually try to make comparisons to those who has Bentley’s and BMWs to me or others who drive asian makes and models is utterly pointless. With people like these, others do not have the right to speak up or give opinions anymore. Sad to be them right ? Hahaha. Anyway, I’m glad u find my opinion useful, hopefully in more ways than 1. Cheers !!

• Hi, any news on the launch date & expected/estimated pricing ?