BMW: The Fastest Christmas Card in the World!

Hope everyone’s enjoying their Christmas/year end holidays so far. In the spirit of the season, BMW made a video of an artist trying to draw a Christmas card motif, while strapped in a crazy BMW M5 going sideways. The result is a pretty much random mash of colorful lines, which they call the “Fastest Christmas Card in the World”. Enjoy the video!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• no idea wtf had he drew

• And that ladies and gentlemen, a masterpiece. Probably cost thousands of dollars. If somebody else draw like that, people would think it’s from a kindergarden who wants to wish for the christmas.

• What a piece of garbage

• Paul Tan on Dec 25, 2011 at 4:23 pm

I think they’re taking the idea of what can be considered as “art” a little too far.

• Najib R on Dec 25, 2011 at 6:13 pm

A monkey could probably do a better job.

• Malcolm Lim on Dec 25, 2011 at 9:13 pm

The fastest and dumbest xmas card ever drawn for sure :)

• Surge on Dec 26, 2011 at 6:11 am

Never thought BMW would do such a dumb thing. Stupid…

• CrabStick on Dec 26, 2011 at 12:17 pm

“Precision Driver” LOLZ!

• ben yap on Dec 26, 2011 at 12:48 pm

lotsa gaya in the ad but no substance.

• rally_fan on Dec 26, 2011 at 12:54 pm

Come on guys… its tongue in cheek.. its even not about the drawing at all.. its ALL about the M5.

Notice at the beginning.. they said they asked an illustrator to draw a “cliched” christmas motif.. thats the 1st clue!!!!

and later at the end.. where they say 560 hp, and point to all the crazy and weird lines..etc. in the picture.

too serious la you fellas. ;) merry christmas and a happy new year.

• Surge on Dec 27, 2011 at 9:58 am

Common la..of course it’s all about BMW. You think they will only talk about Christmas without mentioning anything about themselves? But the whole idea of Chrismas greeting is just tasteless and totally lack of creativity for a company like this. Maybe they should learn from our Petronas ads. Christmas is about holiday, family and friends get together. Not that stupid showing of power and mad driving on Christmas. They should instead be showing drive safely to your destination and be with your family

• rally_fan on Dec 30, 2011 at 12:11 pm

surge, thats just your point of view.. there are many other different points of view. just coz it doesn’t suit you, doesn’t mean its wrong.

if bmw customers or prospective bmw customers like it.. then it suits their corporate and business needs and the marketing people have done their job well..

they’re not out to please everyone.. just the people that count to them business wise. i see no wrong with that.. and i’m definitely not about to force my values on to others..

peace.. and happy new year.

• Seriously on Dec 26, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Wow, amazing to see how serious people are taking this. Why so serious?
    This ad is simply a pun intended.
    I thought it was hilarious! Loved it.

• apen80 on Dec 26, 2011 at 7:59 pm

most probably i will vomit instead drawing those post card…

• dk999 on Dec 29, 2011 at 11:49 am

This shows BMWs ride quality is bad … JK! lol

• wmyew on Dec 30, 2011 at 6:46 pm

stupid ad. waste of time.