New Ford Ranger in camouflage spotted, it’s coming soon!

Yours truly was in Shah Alam yesterday when this camouflaged truck came into sight. It was heading towards the Guthrie Expressway, so I stopped at a petrol station to swap seats with my passenger. Camera out and ready, I realised that the “mystery truck” in question is the new Ford Ranger.

Covered in black and white swirl patterns to confuse and distract, we can still see the outline of the Blue Oval logo on the tailgate. In any case, the three square tail lamp design is a giveaway, and looking at the large size of the thing, it can’t possibly be any of the one-tonne pick-up trucks on sale today.

On the Guthrie, we overtook the truck for the side profile and front views you see here. And the front shots confirm that it is indeed the Ranger T6.

Recently, we saw a video of a blue new Ranger towing all its rivals, and now this. Looks like the second quarter 2012 local launch of the new truck is right on track. We will be getting the new 150 hp/375 Nm 2.2-litre engine, paired to either a six-speed manual or six-speed automatic gearbox.

The range topping 3.2-litre Wildtrack model is not yet confirmed for now, but we think it’s a matter of time before the fully decked out “ultimate Ranger” hits town.

We have been previously told that the 2.2L Ranger will be competitively priced against rivals, and not far away from the outgoing Ranger. At launch, only the dual-cab XLT will be offered; other cab styles and the XL will come later. The Wildtrak model, if brought in, will be priced to match the Hilux 3.0 and Triton 3.2, despite boasting a longer kit list.

We’ve driven the new Ranger in Thailand already, and think that it’s a truck worth waiting for. Watch out for the test drive report!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• autojohndoe on Feb 03, 2012 at 3:49 pm

what did they wrap it up?

it is like no point…

• Cucibabi on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Yea what’s the point lol all these trucks look the same anyway Lol…

• Agreed…Can see the shape !

• fique d on Feb 05, 2012 at 2:45 pm

this is not camouflage actually… its more to camoadvertizing… hey we got new model.. n car paparazi shud take some snapshot of it.. for free..

• The interior is modeled after G shock!!! Great styling…

• hamsor on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:06 pm

can it beat the sales volume of Hilux?

• theanswer on Feb 04, 2012 at 12:38 am

good luck! even tho hilux is underpowered. the strongest part is the brand name.

• Abidal on Feb 05, 2012 at 3:11 pm

brader,, even oyota emblem on Juara, oso malaysian people buy…. lol

• Panda on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:35 pm

Great news!!! likely see it soon on the malaysia road!!!

• Finally cant wait to see this model as a best seller. Reminds that this all new Ford Ranger is fully designed and engineered by Ford Australia.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Ha Ha Ha ! Do they really need to disguise it :-)

Every body already know how it look, SD is really one kind. >-<

• Hadi75 on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Nice…….Navara got a challenger now..

• Abidal on Feb 05, 2012 at 3:12 pm

yaa,, only the 3.2lt can challenge navara but navara still win with roadtax.. lol

• Ranger Malaya on Feb 06, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Let’s wait for the full spec list to come AND THEN only compare the TWO ..

I originally wanted to buy the Navara, but with the new Ranger going to be launched very soon, I think I’ll wait a bit longer to get better review on the Ranger before deciding………

• Gavin on Feb 03, 2012 at 4:51 pm

More solid evidence our diesel us good enough not the best but enough .

• Kin E on Feb 06, 2012 at 10:41 am

any car can be detuned. so instead of getting euro IV efficiency and emmissions on my triton, for example, i am detuned to euro II. luckily power is the same. in other cases, engines capable of more have to be detuned to less. it’s less a case of our diesel being “enough”, then the engines being able to step down to a lower level to accommodate our crappy fuel.

• Boon King on Feb 03, 2012 at 5:09 pm

thats one helluva bird shit stain..

• Klbloke on Feb 03, 2012 at 5:29 pm

I have been waiting for you baby :)
    150ps with only 2.2 litre engine.. Translate to cheaper road tax & more environmental friendly compared to those standard 2.5 ones! But definitely not lack in power + torque.. The offerings for sure will tapao Toyota Hilux in terms of pricing and accessories! Imagine my anger when they told me that I have to pay extra for the optional navigation system plus reverse camera.. And the stainless steel rack behind too!
    Way to go Ford.. Launch it fast fast

• lonelyobserve on Feb 03, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Just bring it, kick those over-rated and under powered pickup trucks’ asses.

• Six speed manual? Great!

• Saga BeLum Masak on Feb 03, 2012 at 6:07 pm

This one surely beat Navara in it’s own class. Almost the same size. But i’ll pair them both in my garrage…. heck .. need to widen the garrage for them…

• mmealin on Feb 03, 2012 at 7:09 pm

nice exterior n more power…but i wouldn’t buy this…thanx…

• Why are they covering it up completely? It has already been shown publicly driving around Malaysia, even i’ve seen one WITH a B** (i mean Selangor) license plate…

• Tiguan on Feb 03, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Looks more like Ford Ranger with customized body skin rather than camouflaging.

• prestigious25 on Feb 03, 2012 at 9:51 pm

So ugly !

• AnakSarawak on Feb 03, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Come O Ye FORD….!!!!!!

• sagatian on Feb 03, 2012 at 11:14 pm

where can i get this camouflage sticker?

It would be nice put into my Saga BLM, and some would take picture and post into paultan.org!

• droll on Feb 04, 2012 at 7:13 pm

they will take picture to make fun of the saga blm with camouflage sticker :P

• x suter on Feb 04, 2012 at 8:05 am

Zebra crossin de road… he he

• nanashisan on Feb 04, 2012 at 10:45 am

Rim is too small. prefered the 3.2ltr wildtrack ranger rim.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 04, 2012 at 12:08 pm

Looks like a recycled Hilux chasis

• TORRES on Feb 04, 2012 at 12:52 pm

FAST FAST COME!!!!

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 04, 2012 at 3:57 pm

2.2L with 375NM torque is really powerful. Hilux 3.0L only has 343NM torque. Can’t imagine driving this baby on the road.

• nurburging on Feb 04, 2012 at 5:18 pm

More information about new ford range is available on http://www.ford.co.th/en/trucks/new-ranger.This car look great!!

• wong ah yat on Feb 04, 2012 at 7:53 pm

my baby, come to baba….

• rohde & on Feb 04, 2012 at 10:57 pm

pinjam lampu savvy :)

• I was talking to some insiders….some points that I wish to share…

1. Pricing should be about RM97,000 for the Ranger XLT 2.2L
    2. Available Colors – Blue, Silver, Grey, Black, White.
    3. Launch Date : April 1st (about there).
    4. Test Drive only on Launch Date.
    5. Go to Check the car out at Ford PJ (along Federal Highway) on March 28th.
    6. Estimated will bring in 400units per month from Thailand.
    7. Estimated Initial Booking is 1200units. (3 months to fill orders).
    (if u don’t want to wait, then PAY ASAP)
    8. Current Ranger 2.5 XLT (WLCEngine) will drop price to RM83 (Value Buy!!)
    9. Current Ranger 2.5 XL(WLCEngine) will drop price to RM73 (Value Buy!!)

• tiadaid on Feb 05, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Wow, that is a value buy if the price drops to RM83 & RM73 only :-)

• KK, did your contact say anything about the 3.2? When will that come?

• xTrucker on Feb 05, 2012 at 12:02 pm

this is going to be “father trucker”….bye2 “mother trucker”…great amount of torque and hp…sure can survived offroad easily….

• No Info was given for the Ranger 3.2 Model… Perhaps Paul can enlighten us…

• Chyan on Feb 06, 2012 at 5:50 pm

I’d take one with this paintjob. Thanks