EXCLUSIVE: Nissan Elgrand 3.5 V6 by ETCM, RM400k

UPDATE: High-res official gallery added

I spotted something unusual at the Clio Renault Sport 200 Cup launch last week. The hot Clio’s unveiling at the upscale Bangsar Shopping Centre was part of a Tan Chong roadshow starring the Renault range and upmarket models from Nissan. Sitting quietly in a corner was this, the Nissan Elgrand MPV.

If memory serves me right, Nissan’s big MPV was shown at KLIMS 2010, but I don’t remember a launch event or any press release about the model from ETCM. It’s also not listed on Nissan’s local website, so this should be one of the upcoming CBU models ETCM is bringing in for 2012. So, while all attention was on the hot hatch in front, I slipped away for a walk around and a few shots of the big black bus.

The Elgrand is Nissan’s answer to the Alphard, so it’s a luxurious box with sharp edges. It’s not as ubiquitous as the Toyota, but there are a few units around, usually black in colour with a massive chrome grille. This one sold by ETCM is the latest E52 third-generation Elgrand, one gen newer than those on the road.

The mask-like grille is still massive, but more effort has gone into the front design. Same goes for the rest of the car, which is less slab sided than before. The Elgrand is powered by Nissan’s VQ35DE 3.5-litre V6 engine making 280 PS and 344 Nm of torque. The gearbox is of course paired to the firm’s Xtronic CVT, with manual mode.

The Elgrand comes in as a Highway Star model and is quite well equipped. Standard kit includes six airbags (front, side, curtain), Vehicle Dynamic Control, ABS, EBD, BA, adaptive xenons, keyless entry/start (intelligent key), two powered sliding doors, auto tailgate, double sunroof, Around View Monitor, 18-inch alloys and a rear entertainment system with wireless headphones and 11-inch display.

But the highlight for chauffeured bosses will be the Elgrand’s three ottoman seats – front passenger plus two second row captain chairs – enabling business-class style seating on the road.

The Elgrand is imported CBU from Japan. The selling price we saw at the roadshow is RM398,342 on the road, including insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Most comments critique the high price of RM400k for the Nissan Elgrand 3.5 V6, with many comparing it unfavorably to more stylish or cheaper alternatives like the Range Rover Evoque, Mercedes R-class, VW Sharan, or even the Alphard and Vellfire. Several commenters criticize its design, interior quality, and perceived lack of features given the price. There are also off-topic discussions about MPV classifications and pricing disparities in Malaysia. A few comments acknowledge it as a large, luxurious vehicle, but the dominant sentiment is that the price is exorbitant and not justified by the car's features or design. Some express disappointment regarding Japan's car designs and the local import taxes affecting pricing. Overall, the comments are largely negative concerning the vehicle's value and appearance.

• Vellfire kopikat., in an ugly sense.

• Vellfire wannabe ~ plus 400k is overpriced !

can get 1 of the half VW Sharan but half stuffs !

• wheeler on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:59 pm

There’s no such thing as copycat. Grow up! That’s how japanese marques operates – support each other and beat the rest. Not like us or you!

• Alpha on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:55 am

Why is it a Vellfire copycat??if u’re talking abt the twin headlights,Nissan did it with the second gen Elgrand first.

• littlefire on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:08 am

Bro, Vellfire is the one that copy Elgrand! Please check the Elgrand what they did to the headlamps during the previous generation!

http://www.cars-directory.net/specs/nissan/elgrand/2002_5/20079/
      http://www.cars-directory.net/gallery/nissan/elgrand/2002/nissan_elgrand_a1217305803b1919481_p.html

Already have it since 2002… Check the pictures itself!

• Oh good.. at least the copycat did a better a job.. Hahahahhaa…

In whatever ways, the design of the Vellfire is significantly better than this elgrando ugly.

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:46 am

Every time I see a Vellfire I have to chuckle. That is one ugly mofo, it looks ridiculous with that bodykit, and I imagine it touches the ground whenever the surface is not perfectly flat. Not even the TH2RS VW Multivan T5 is this low, and that is a 800 hp monster that does 100 in 4.4s, 200 in 12s and tops out at 310,7 km/h. It doesn’t even look nearly aggressive as the Vellfire (apart from the paintjob and stickers), even though the Vellfire is a much slower car. What a poser.

http://www.speedfanshop.com/blog/automobile/th2rs-vw-multivan-t5-mit-porschemotor-im-heck-details-zum-schnellsten-vw-bus-der-welt/

The Alphard is better looking. And so is the Elgrand. I’d be driving a Sharan though. Half the price, nicer looking (Vellfire, Alphard and Elgrand look like pimped and tricked out commercial vans), more practical, not so big, better equipped. Otherwise I’d do it like Guy Ritchie. Buy a commercial van and have it modified inside, with a big plasma TV, a nice leather sofa, massage chair, …

• left.lane.driver on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:34 pm

U sure sound dumb. It’s a business. They sell cars. U can’t copy others if that means profit?? Yeah so what if Vellfire looks better than the ONE it copied? It’s called IMPROVEMENT. But its design still doesn’t suit my taste. So what? That’s just my opinion. it’s subjective. But U seem like U can’t accept the truth that Nissan did it first and U don’t care. Toyota fanboy much?? LOL.

• In which point did I said I can’t accept the truth that Nissan did it first?

Face it, it’s an ugly car. I m not really fond of Toyota either but their version is better than this, imo.

What I do like to express is, JAPS sucks in car exterior design 90% of the time. This elgrand proves it. :)

• kruffy on Apr 27, 2013 at 9:54 am

Well thats not relevent anymore now..one thing for sure u r so ignorant..

• kruffy on Apr 27, 2013 at 10:01 am

Yes u r…u r so ignorant..i think u know what i mean..

• kruffy on Apr 27, 2013 at 10:05 am

Yes u are..U r so ignorant..I think u know what i mean..don’t u?

• Bro..at this price..i rather get the T.Vellfire or VW sharan…

• Rulered on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:48 pm

Bro, do you even have any idea how much a brand new Velfire cost if UMW even decide to bring it here? Even type J Vios is already overpriced. Go figure. Don’t compare 2nd hand proteinaceous contaminated interior recon Vellfire with new out of factory vehicle please.

• Loco on the road.

• venven81 on Feb 24, 2012 at 8:56 am

with this price tag, will others still complain that VW Sharan @ RM250k is expensive? don’t tell me they are from different class bla bla bla….

• Fluid on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:54 am

THEY are of same type but different class, moron

• Arrian on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:46 pm

ha ha ha ha…agreed with you..he said something like mini bus is same class with double decker executive coach..double moron

• This thing and the VW r the same class so this thing is overpriced !

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:48 am

To be honest the Sharan is meant as a family car, while this is meant as a limo for VIPs. Still, that means the Sharan is more practical. It is safer, better equipped, probably more fun to drive too. And it costs half as much.

• Titan70 on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:47 am

nope. not same class. pls do some homework before commenting. its embarrassing.

• Yes, they were from a different class.

• I love VW Sharan and Vellfire .

1 is worth and good looking and 1 is luxury and cool looking.

• Simon Ng on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:05 pm

There is always class difference. One class is called “Can afford”. The other class is called “Cannot afford”. Regardless whether there is a decision to buy or not to buy the car, each person falls into one of those classes first.

I belong to the “Cannot afford”.

• Cicakman on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:08 am

What a good price..

/s

• carazy on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:08 am

looks cheep plastiky dashbord.. not worth for RM400K.. crappp

• OMG…i agreed, The interior r ugly…..not worth for RM400K…..

• likehondanotsomuch on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:14 am

I dont want to drive a TANK!,,,,move on.

• autobizz on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:14 am

Is more expensive than Alphard , right ?

• Pak Abu on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:29 am

Whoa…. my kind of ride…

Big and comfy, fake wood trim, leather seats, chrome everywhere… and long red reflector at the back…. :-)

But not my kind of price :mrgreen:

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:04 pm

You like fake wood trim? I prefer real wood…

• Arrian on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:49 pm

suggest you to buy old timber tipper or we call it lorry balak. so, you can have a “real wood”, very fresh some more..

• clutch basah on Feb 25, 2012 at 10:05 am

credit to u bro, those chinese coffins are real timber as well. LMAO

• skiborne on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

can whoever tell, is this 3.5 litre a guzzler? and my gosh its so expensive considering it has nothing but acres of fake wood and cheapo plastics

• Nissan on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:34 am

interior design is a let down, but the front is wellfire alike. why don’t they give LED head lamp instead of Xenon with this price tag.

• awg1031 on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:39 am

grey interior..boring~

• Sparkoeng on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:44 am

Wahh RM 400k. Can get 1 sharan and 1 jetta. Interior worst than exora….. Come on NIssan you should do much better if want to charge RM400k for the s…

• Arrian on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:57 pm

be realistic larr…you dont like so much is fine but dont say the interior is WORST than exora, you insulting the furture owner. anyway, with 400k, it is still cheaper than ferrari

• abdul123 on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:45 am

For Umno cronies.

• mister potato on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:49 am

It is about HKD$500,000. Converting from Hong Kong dollars gets you about RM195k, less than half price! Who let this happen?

Hentikan membeli kereta pada harga yang melampau lebih dari nilai kereta. Anda mampu mengubahnya.

• BadBET on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:31 am

which car had the ‘real global price’ in Malaysia?

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Ford Fiesta, almost. If you take the European price as a benchmark. It’s impossible to beat the low American prices, but that’s to be expected. They are very poor, so they need things to be affordable.

• Arrian on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:00 pm

if i not mistaken, you have to pay between 30 to 50% of downpayment, not more than 5 years loan and higher interest compare to malaysia. as a layman rakyat, still cant afford to own car..

• HeMan on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:59 am

wow bang for bucks!! my company need one!!

• seriously the instrument panel.??? they must be joke… it just like local car made

• Question: Does it really have the 11-inch rear monitor on it? Does it have a BOSE 5.1 Surround Sound System? I’m very curious though because if it does, this would be better and I hope they will turn away from the Toyota Alphard and Vellfire.

• buy starex , it’s more affordable and same design as this boxy van , though come with 2 airbags and no esp .

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:38 am

Again, mindless posts by ill-informed people. Do you know how much a used, re-con Vellfire 3.5L V6 costs? Please go check Motor Trader…

• clutch basah on Feb 24, 2012 at 10:44 am

It is super expensive, indeed the tax structure is largely to blame but I think these car companies are to blame as well. They got greedy!!

• Rulered on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:01 pm

As far as tax is concerned for recon cars brought in by grey importers, it’s really up to how much profit margin they really want to make, and I’m telling you these shops are smiling all the way to the bank.

• seancorr on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:08 am

Good alternative to the Alphard but I still prefer the looks of an Alphard. Good thing is u get Nissan’s official support for service and warranty – something no Aphard or Vellfire will ever get from UMWT.

I’m guessing it comes with rear LCD and nav as Danny took pics of the screens so entertainment is guaranteed especially with the captain row chairs!

Have you seen the top spec Vellfire price? Close to 500k but has similar stuff including auto park like the Sharan.

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:27 am

wow, a van having the same features as a van that costs half as much! What a bargain!

• afroiq on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:35 am

king of MPV..i like elgrand more than alphard..it look bigger..

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:22 pm

The King would probably be the TH2RS VW Multivan T5, at least in terms of performance and looks. So unflashy, if you change the color and remove the stickers.

Also this isn’t a MPV, is it? I’d consider it to be a van.

• Works on Feb 24, 2012 at 7:42 pm

kindly define what is mpv and what is a van…

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 9:31 pm

To me the smaller ones are MPVs (also called minivan), while the big ones are considered vans. However Wikipedia also lists cars like the Sharan as a minivan, which makes me question what a van is then… it seems those are commercial vans/really big ones (more than 7 seats).

• why everyone call MPV that have a sliding door as a van??? altough Juara only have 2+2 seater call a van? only because it have a sliding door?? are you crazy maahh! Exora bigger than Juara why dind’t you call it as van? your answer must be ” cause the exora dind’t have sliding door ”
        what a brainless
        PII LAA LUUU….

• phahmeen on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:48 am

This is a good car…..for those bashers…u dont have money keep quiet… wanna buy affordable car, u go buy your plastic starex, wanna buy recon crap go buy your alphard. U think this elgrand copied velfire?? elgrand came out 1st…just not in our road in malaysia…. read more…talk crap less….

• ThE A TEAm on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:38 pm

It’s a van and always a van! Multiple Passenger Van!

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 5:56 pm

MPV means Multi Purpose Vehicle. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-Purpose_Vehicle

• UMNO mesti menang on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:54 am

harga yg mengarut. better beli juara convert g alphard.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:59 am

this is one big HEARSE AKA kereta mayat.

• Is that a gen 1 Myvi Meter gauge cluster?

• This baby’s hot and all that… but 400k and not even steering wheel audio control?? damn…

• carfreak on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:06 pm

I’d prefer VW sharan and vellfire to this crappy expensive nissan which is not worth buying..the design is kindda old fashin,so lame and no multfunction button steering that’s most people will look into

• nabill on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:23 pm

a motorbile hit my friends elgrand hiting the side mirror…..replace it rm4500 which has to be imported from japan….

• ah chan on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:58 pm

yeah, all these fancy car mirrors with self dipping and stuff cost about that much

• jolly_idiot on Feb 24, 2012 at 12:41 pm

I asked for Serena but they gave me this. ETCM really look good on Malaysian can afford this mammoth.

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 1:25 pm

They should bring in the Kangoo II, Grand Scenic and Espace instead. But of course financially the Elgrand will make more sense, it should sell better. What a shame.

• bro..at this price..i rather get the t.Vellfire or vw sharan..

• i remember seeing an ad around 2 yrs ago selling a brand new alphard 3.5L for 600k. So i think for 400k, this elgrand is a good deal. not to mention that its more exclusive than the common alphards n vellfire which you see everywhere n get sick n tired of it.

those that say this is overpriced better go get your brain scanned. it is brand new with warranty from tan chong. a stupid recon 2010 3.5 vellfire/alphard is asking around 400k and ppl still buy it like its free of charge.

• Looking at so many people reacting badly the pricing for this car, no wonder Toyota is not bringing in new Alphard, Vellfire, Land Cruiser, Estima to here. Many people in Malaysia won’t spend a large sum of money on japanese car because many have the mentality that high pricing is usually reserved for European cars especially German cars. This is why so many are buying grey imports or recon models because they are cheaper. There is not much demand for Japanese new cars with this kind of pricing at here. Hope the mentality of Malaysians will change. Japanese can produce good cars too, not just Germans.

• Rulered on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Well, they brought in Lexus didn’t they?

• Yes, they do brought in Lexus and recently, Infiniti too. But do you notice their sales are still far inferior compared to the sales of Mercedes Benz and BMW which both are Lexus and Infiniti’s rivals? In other countries especially in America, the sales of Lexus are actually able to compete with those German luxury car makers. In here, not really. People at here still prefers Mercedes or BMW over Lexus and Infiniti.

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Why do people then buy a Vios instead of a Fiesta? Price the same, one Japanese, the other one conti (developed in Germany, AFAIK). Better spec’ed too. But people buy Japanese.

With the Sharan they complain it’s too expensive, yet they buy ancient recons for the same price or more… Alphard and Vellfire aren’t cheap, seems like you can pay 400k for a recon one, and people do. Elgrand for 400k compared to that is a bargain, however the real bargain is the Sharan.

The Japanese can produce good cars (also good cars that are relatively affordable), that is true, but then they should bring them here too. Even if they do it, they strip them down so much that it hardly resembles the original car anymore. Why is there no Aygo here? A cheap, cheerful, not too rubbish, safe and economic small car that is meant to be affordable. But nope, not in Malaysia. Vitz/Yaris is turned into the Vios, and into a joke (0-2 instead of 6+ airbags, no ESP, rubbish auto gearbox, outdated engines, etc.) (coincidentally Vitz in German is very close to Witz, which means joke).

And then there is the pretty nice Nissan Qashqai.

• Mr.Muffin on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:22 pm

what an ugly car. interior is crappy. my vellfire is 100X better.

• Mr.Muffin on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:24 pm

what an ugly car. the interior sucks as well. my vellfire is 100X better.

• Sean Lim on Feb 24, 2012 at 2:30 pm

RM400k is not cheap… sigh…

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:24 pm

the price….well its either this or an e-class

• skiborne on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:47 pm

yeah if im not mistaken, Merc E250 CGI also can dapat at this price

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Well, then it’s obvious, isn’t it? Unless you have a driver or a too big family the Merc should be much more fun to drive, better spec’ed, has a nicer interior, lower fuel consumption and better performance, …

• Mat Yeop on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Lebih baik import Serena JDM dari Elgrand, boleh timbang nak beli

• thunder cats on Feb 24, 2012 at 3:51 pm

WHY SO EXPENSIVE? it’s just a van with few technology in it,,,so why this price??? don’t make sense at all,,,400 k doesn’t make sense

• kadajawi on Feb 24, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Yeah. Get a NV400, 2 OSIM massage chairs and a 50-60″ plasma screen + surround system. Maybe modify the suspension to air suspension for better comfort, a bit of sound dampening here and there (there is enough space in there). That should be one hell of a comfortable ride, and who would steal a NV400?

• thunder cats on Feb 24, 2012 at 6:22 pm

cars in this country s very expensive,,,from myvi to imported cars,,,,,fed up with this,plus high fuel price for a oil producing countries n high road tax for third world quality roads

• Jap car still on huge displacement and not friendly to tax structure in most countries…

• Dr Mamak on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:46 pm

Hey ah Chong, you still don’t get it. We don’t need your mafia van.

We want our GT-R !!

• Cowboy on Feb 24, 2012 at 4:48 pm

ANOTHER GANGSTER MPV FOR THE MAFIAS…

• speed meter just 180 kmh je. aiyooo mahal gila kot. better Volkswagen Sharan atau Ford

• Jimmy on Feb 24, 2012 at 11:05 pm

Is it SIGNIFICANTLY larger than Mazda 8 ?

• Titan70 on Feb 27, 2012 at 9:44 am

yup. think of an alphard then you will know the rough size.

• Izat22 on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:37 am

At this price range,I better get a range rover evoque.a lot more stylish, a lot more cool looking Interior, and definitely more head turning exterior.no offense to Nissan coz I myself are using a teana and latio, but dat price range is too expensive

• Izat22 on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:38 am

At this price range,I better get a range rover evoque.a lot more stylish, a lot more cool looking Interior, and definitely more head turning exterior.no offense to Nissan

• Izat22 on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:40 am

At this price range,I better get a range rover evoque.a lot more stylish, a lot more cooler looking Interior, and definitely more head turning exterior. And just rm30k more and you can get a brand new Mercedes r-class

• Izat22 on Feb 25, 2012 at 3:42 am

At this price range,I better get a range rover evoque. And just add rm30k more and you can get a brand new Mercedes r-class

• firebird on Feb 25, 2012 at 5:41 am

This is a souped up North American Nissan Quest, with price range from $25K – $40K. Apasal kat Malaysia jual sampai $400K…? Hampeh la.

• CD Chua CSL on Feb 26, 2012 at 12:57 am

Thank you to the gomen u guys voted mah!! BN=Barang Naik. Even no need naik already banyak tinggi the harga. lol

• pelams on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:54 am

some of those driving this big machines have small brains. encountered 2 drivers turned left without signal!

• Tuesday on Feb 28, 2012 at 8:42 am

Nice big luxo barge!