Kia is no stranger to the red dot design awards; it has previously won with the Kia Optima K5 and the Sportage. Well, here are two more for the award cabinet.
The five-door versions of the Kia Picanto and the Rio have been named winners in red dot’s ‘Product Design’ category. Both cars were up against more than 4,500 products by 1,800 manufacturers of different industries across the world.
To date, Kia’s red dot awards now total six – the Soul in 2009, Venga in 2010, Sportage and Optima in 2011. The Optima was also named ‘best of the best’ in 2011 – the highest award for groundbreaking design, eligible to only the best products in each category.
Other awards for the Rio include the best ‘Exterieur’ class at the Automotive Brand Contest in 2011. As for the Picanto three-door, it took home the iF product design award 2012.
I wonder just how packed Peter Schreyer’s design trophy cabinet is now?
yes.. kimchi so yummy!
Grats Kia. Bila Proton punya turn? :D
That why Proton need to sent their designer to go for training or get new fresh designers from overseas to get new & better idea like Kia hiring Peter Schreyer..
Brace yourselves for the arrival of maserati, kiasu boy, etc.
You called ? How your Wife KIA Koup ?
2011 Red Dot Award Winner Product was a Baby Stroller name “Myotronic” so this this is a Picanto & Rio ;-)
LOL Jackhammer, key chain, table lamp, fork & spoon, washing machine, water tap, shaver, also win red dot award.
This Korean Junkyard Car really “Telor Sebijih Riuk Se Kampong” LOFL
But how come Toyota or Honda can’t even win an award that is won by “Jackhammer, key chain, table lamp, fork & spoon, washing machine, water tap, shaver, also win red dot award” as you said? Sad to hear that.
That because Toyota & Honda make practical car, not toy gadget !
Now go play your cheap korean toy with your playmate David D Boy2. LOLF
pls do understand what is red dot award first!!!
Toyota & Honda make practical car because?
they got 4 doors….kia and hyundai also have
they got airbag…..kia and hyundai also have
they can ferry 5 person……kia and hyundai also can
hmmmm…….aiya very noisy la this dog barking, which lousy owner never keep his pet nicely, so irresponsible……come come little doggy, i give you a dog bone and yoou better shut up before i put u to sleep……good doggy
Washing machine, table lamp, fork and spoon are toy gadgets to you? Wow. Your life is so full of fail.
Well, if you call them junkyard cars, they wouldn’t be running on our streets, don’t you think?
Just treat this award as a slap in the face for your arrogance. The more you keep dishing dirt on them, the more they’ll gain.
Ha Ha David D is back in business.
You mean you have never seen Garbage truck on the road ? incase you drove through some shop with reflecting glass, you sure would see a contruction site Accent or Matrix with so Dump Boy inside.
Usually Red Dot Award given to some real weird looking & not so practical gadget, Picanto & Rio fit like glove to this category.
Now Go finish you home work before you parent come home & give you spanking, Boy Boy.
why my TRD vios didn’t win any award? obviously there is some cheating / bribing going on!
Japanese imperialisme has ended, no more toyota n honda, u r so outdated man…
boring with the design already
I’m driving the new Sorento and I’ve got not much problems with it, EXCEPT…my battery died just few days before the warranty expires (1 year). Went to Kinrara NazaKia to claim but it took them ONE F**KING WEEK just to get the stock and change the battery! They expect us not to drive the car for 1 week? Of course after impatiently waiting for it, I bought myself a new battery. Finally only manage to change it today.
Kia cars are good, but NAZA SUCKS!!! When the F**K are they going to improve!
Meanwhile, anyone want to buy my extra battery?
they will never improve as they have too many projects granted to them and free AP. I drove Kia car also very solid and reliable – parts delivery time and price are killing. Don’t talk about resale value – 6 years car have to sell at car junk price.
How much fren..tq
oh come on naza management people is there any problem with you? if so sack them dont let them tarnish your reputation…do something!
Tongkat (plus free AP) has made Naza complacent.
Window dressing of a classy corporate company but in reality, a tidak apa (ala civil service) attitude company.
Satu lagi hasil Projek Barisan Nasional.
You forgot to include Rosmah. She’s also at fault somehow, I’m sure of it. Also, no mention of Bolehland, 1Malaysia, altantuya? Put in more effort, please. This is B+ at most.
They have forgotten Proton 321A that will win the award easily when it is launched. Let’s wait and see.
Haha that will be the day. Anyway, you can’t win the award if your product is not being sold in Europe… specifically, Germany.
Need I say more my Korean car haters friends? :)
This award is easy to get right? Well do you see Toyota, Honda or Nissan winning this award anytime lately??
Even if we dont talk about cars, only Samsung and LG TVs were able to win the Red Dot Design award repeatedly over the yrs.
You don’t see Panasonic and Sony winning that… LOL :)
Oh Proton…I guess the P321A will win the ‘Not Recommended’ or even the ‘Avoid’ award from US Consumer Reports if Proton somehow manage to sell the P321A over there… :D
Well SS427, from what we can see, haters gonna hate. They’ll keep denying the fact, and keep calling the cars junk, of find whatsoever lame reasons to justify their already fractured cause. That’s alrite, as we can just let them crow all day long about how much we are such blind supporters, and so on. The more they bash, the more they’ll lose people’s respect. Really childish people who cannot accept the facts, and go on to call us hypocrites, stupid names, and so on.
Like what is essentially put here, even with the awards, the Koreans are not perfect. But then, neither is the Japs and Contis.
Ha Ha Lot’s of Budak Kampong with low knowledge here i see !
Toyota IQ & Honda had won Red Dot Design Award.
Honda Euro Accord Tourer win Red Dot Award for High Design Quality.
Even Honda Portable Generator EU30i won Red Dot Award.
Now a Red Hot Slap on the face Award is presented to ttgh, SS427, TurboMan & David D.
Now i concluded my theory of driving Korean Junyard Car make people Stupid is proven without a doubt.
Reasoning doesn’t work with people like you. Sarcasm? Doubt that. Your mentality of keeping whacking the Koreans for silly, pointless reasons, then boasting about how much you’ve whacked us back, speaks volumes of your brain.
Self appointed moderator? Sounds like it is. Have a lolly mate. You need one. Look at yourself before you face our wrath again.
Err… I thought u said ” Usually Red Dot Award given to some real weird looking & not so practical gadget”… so do u mean Toyota and Honda also came out with something weird looking and not so practical gadget like the IQ and Accord Tourer? So what do u think of stuffs that won the Red Dot Award? Good? Not good?
Waa.. cun laa!… Proton buat cun camni laa…
Azlan Othman (Proton Design Head)! Look at this la…moron