Mazda CX-5 brochure and price leaked – from RM159k

Thanks to reader Liffey for sending this in. What we have here is the leaked full brochure and the pricelist for the new Mazda CX-5 ahead of its launch, which confirms the info in the online ads Anthony dug up earlier. If the scan resolution isn’t all that hot, don’t fret, I’ve strained my eyes and plucked the juicy bits for your reading pleasure.

From what I can deduce from the brochure, the CX-5 is fully imported from Japan and gets the full SkyActiv components – engine, transmission, body and chassis.

Only one engine will be available at launch, and that is the SkyActiv-G 2.0 petrol engine. It features a 4-2-1 exhaust system, cavity pistons, multi-hole injectors and a 13.0:1 compression ratio. The engine is capable of generating 155 hp and 200 Nm of torque, and the mill is mated to a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission that will drive either two-wheels or four, depending on the variant.

The CX-5 also features the SkyActiv-Body that is said to be 30% more rigid and 8% lighter. The CX-5 is 4,450 mm long (without number plate holder), 1,840 mm wide (with wheel arch molding) and 1,670 mm tall (with roof rails and antenna). The wheelbase measures at 2,700 mm.

The additional rigidity and lightness of the body contributes to the SkyActiv-Chassis, which provides high levels of balance between low- to mid-speed agility and high-speed stability. The suspension setup of the CX-5 consists of MacPherson struts for the front and multilinks for the rear.

The CX-5 specified for the Malaysian market comes with bi-xenon headlamps, day-running lights, front wipers with rain sensor, auto cruise and six air bags, just to name a few, as standard. The CX-5 also included with the price is the Special Accessories Package, which is made up of a multi-information display with navigation, nine-speaker Bose sound system, 19-inch alloy wheels, electric sunroof, leather seats and a reverse camera with colour TFT.

How much does Bermaz wants for the CX-5? Well, as indicated in the price list: RM159,500 for the 2WD and RM169,760 for the 4WD.

The scans are below if you’d like to decipher more of the brochure. What do you think?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• 19” alloy wheels? That’s an overkill!
    Changing the tyres alone will put you to the poor house. 17 inch is a good compromise between looks and comfort. 18 inch for those who wish to push it but 19 inch?

Can you buy without the Special Accessories Package? Doesn’t look optional to me.

• The default 19″ tyre size for this car is 225/55/R19. Is this size even selling in Malaysia?? Looks difficult to find not to mention exorbitantly expensive!

• Mazda4ever on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Mazda CX5 should sell without the special package and 19″ rims but include leather starting from RM133,888 OTR.

• MazdaSA on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:34 pm

19″ tyres and sunroof really not practical here. Price should be reduced under RM140,000.

Mazda’s resale value is not as good as Toyota and Honda anyway.

• So the resale value force u to buy the T & H junks?! lolx good for u but some ppl don’t really care about the resale value and they’re just care about the safety,tech and the performance ! i rather drive a safety car than a old tech and low safety cars ! RM159k value for money :)

• kadajawi on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:43 pm

I agree on the rims, especially for a SUV. And the sunroof… well, it’s nice to have, but unfortunately it heats up the car even more, unless you have good tinting.

However under 140k? With those specs? Why can T&H get away with much much worse spec’ed cars, for more? This is better value. Resale value of T may go down in future, if they rip off Malaysia too much. And really they do. Who will buy a 40k Vios in 8 years with 1 or 2 airbags when a new 40k Proton will offer 6 or 7? Don’t tell me an 8 year old car will be as reliable as a new one.

• This is not CX7 or CX9. Why so expensive?

• kadajawi on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:45 pm

Yeah, I agree. But look at all the contis, all going after Ah beng too… even their MPVs.

• CX-5 SUV on Apr 14, 2012 at 3:05 pm

Mazda Malaysia should also bring in Maxx Sport package with 17″ rim, no sun roof and cloth trim seat at lower selling price. The 19″ is the Grand Touring package. See link www.cx-5.com.au

• Why so many dislikes?

The replacement types for the 19″ rims will cost RM5,000 in itself! All you jokers who wants 19″ rim will pay through your nose when the time comes.

Anyone who ever droves a SUV or go off-roading will know that the rims should be smaller NOT bigger. DUH.

• sonyman on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:27 pm

nice, with sky active, Mazda, the better Japanese brand to buy, at least get your money’s worth.

Toyota, Still VVti, Honda Still i Vtec Nissan nothing to say lah, CVTC loh,

Skyactive, the future is here

• sean111 on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:55 am

Yes, great new technology …but how reliable is SkyActive ??

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:06 pm

ever heard of warranty? just keep your ancient magma 12 valve and VVTI engines forever.

• sean111 on Apr 13, 2012 at 1:06 am

Why such sarcastic comments. This is public forum, show some simple manners if u were ever taught any!
          U probably never heard of problematic cars eg. VW dry clutch problem, Hyundai SantaFe jerky gear change, Peugeot 308 engine misfire problem. All have 3 -5years warranty, but how frustrating izit never ending trip to service centre with no proper solution!!!

• Just a minor improvement among those Japs makes, nothing to shout about!!

• wah.. spec much improved compared to mazda 6 2.0 although abt same price. new engine somemore. the 19 inch rims are a downer though- reduced acceleration and costly tyre replacements. i know diff segment but abt same price. wonder if it can take in RON95, cause after the imminent election petrol price surely go up.

• i’m certainly excited… mazda remains the only other JP car that is worth my consideration these days..

• LeongWK on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:30 pm

It’s abit pricey. Hope the price is cheaper when launch.

• lynas king on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:31 pm

19” alloy wheels ???!!!! serious ???

• Mazda Freak on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Trading in my Mazda 6 for this :)

• Anaconda on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:40 pm

I suggest you trade your Mazda 6 for Perve. Please get smart small boy!!

• Mazda freak on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Your biz ah OLD PUNK !!

Whats wrong going for new technology and better fuel efficiency and pay lesser? When they launch the next M6 in 1 year time, I will sell CX 5 and get that. You blow or jealous?

• Ni apa punye komen daaa

• Malaysian are not stupid on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Sticker price is just $20,000 elsewhere in the world. That means it’s should only be selling at $20,000 x RM3.1 = RM62,000

So we’re paying another extra RM100,000 just for taxes and high profit margin for the local distributor.

• Mazda4ever on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:31 pm

http://www.insideline.com/mazda/cx-5/2013/2013-mazda-cx-5-undercuts-toyota-and-honda-with-21490-base-sticker.html

Yup, starts from just a little over $20,000 undercutting even Toyota RAV4 and Honda CRV.

• Winter on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Then go live elsewhere in the world. Direct comparison of the car price shows how narrow-minded some people is. Did you consider the cost RUN and OWN teh car instead ie. gas/car park/insurance etc… There are pros and cons living in any countries. Work harder, be thankful you are malaysian or go migrate somewhere else. We don’t need you. Effing complain 24/7.. what else can you do

• Is fine for me if u alone wants to pay that extra money for taxes & APs but for the rest of us Malaysians we prefer not to pay a single cent to free loaders. That is a fact!

• Cybermaster98 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Winter, u sound like a typical kid with the kampung mentality. And we’re darn sure which side of the fence ure on. Lucky to be Malaysians? Yeah im sure ull be darn lucky when your kids get 20A’s in SPM only to be kicked out of a Singaporean uni. Do u drive around in a posh car because your father is a chairman of a company which required his special rights to get projects in Malaysia? Or maybe ure one of those losers out there who sit back and wait for normal Malaysians to work hard while u rape and plunder the EPF and LHDN to line your own pockets in lop sided contracts and huge undertable payouts? Yes i am a MAlaysian and i will fight to get rid of parasites like you so that this country is truly for all Malaysians (not Indonesian wannabees).

• kadajawi on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:52 pm

But what will the kit be? For example a Touran can cost you around 20k Euro. You can easily jack up the price to over 40k though… I doubt anyone manages to buy one for 20k, because they want at least something (except for 6 airbags or so which are usually standard) inside their car.

I assume $20k will be naked. The one we are getting isn’t anywhere near that. Expect a k or two for the BOSE sound system alone.

Of course the taxes are a huge part of the price, and so are the profits for the importer, but it is not THAT bad. Usually they never give us base spec cars in Malaysia, unless it’s P1, P2 or T (maybe H too). Why that is so… who knows. P1 and P2 need to sell over their low price, so naturally the specs are rather low too. T manages to sell cars at very high prices despite the poor specs, so they do it. Others can’t, but seem to be forced to demand their high prices (government involved?), so they spec them higher to move at least a few vehicles.

• opaixx on May 20, 2012 at 12:56 am

the one that will sell in Malaysia is 23000 usd. but then in US, dat is not d final price, they have to add VAT depending on which states, they hv to add another % to the price. (can’t remember). And of course, car loan interest there are very2 high. unless u can pay cash, the total cost to buy is almost same with here..

the only place to buy cheap car – brunei and saudi arabia.. no tax.. hahaha..

• sosbilis on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:35 pm

overpriced!

• NAP sucks on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:39 pm

This model is actually a B-segment car, a compact size class SUV with interior space that is smaller than the Honda Civic.

Price is too high. Price should start from under RM130,000 for the basic specification even with all the taxes and duties.

• Paul Tan on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:49 pm

The CX-5 is C-segment, and its 2,700mm wheelbase is longer than the CR-V, etc.

• Cybermaster98 on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:59 pm

But its wheelbase is 95mm shorter than the Kia Optima 2.0L. Also power output seems a bit low for a new Skyactiv engine. Only 155Hp and 200Nm torque. Optima has 163Hp and 198Nm torque. Overseas specs also include the Automatic Braking and Lane Departure Warning systems. Isnt our model supposed to be CBU with the same specs?

• n00bmaster98 on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:12 pm

you are so smart to compare a C-segment SUV with a D-segment sedan car, you’re really thinking out of the box, bravo!!!

• noobmaster2012 on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm

you are very intelligent and “think out of the box” to be comparing a C-segment SUV with a D-segment sedan… bravo to you ;)

• U r unbelievable …thats all i can say ..btw , nice tech and good car :)

• Anaconda on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Preve is better – value for money with the CFE technology.

• Go buy la,wait for your turbo to malfunction.then lets see wheter u still think its value for money

• Yes Preve is better……it DEVALUES faster! Next year, 2nd hand price only 35-40k.
            If you open business, fail , become a bankrupt ……. nevermind.
            But if you buy Preve, cannot pay, cannot sell,kena tarik, still cannot cover loan, become bankrupt……………. anjing pun tak mau mari dekat lu.

• kadajawi on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:54 pm

Auto breaking and lane departure warning are usually costly optional specs. Who would want lane departure warning in Malaysia anyway? It would annoy the hell out of people because they never give signal! (Can’t anyway, because if they do the guy behind speeds up to not let you in!).

• shrek on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:01 am

Hi Paul,

Any idea why the Malaysian CX-5 comes with a 155 hp / 200 nm / compression ratio
        13.0:1 while the EU version has 165 hp / 210 nm / 14.0:1 compression ratio?

http://www.mazda.com/mazdaspirit/skyactiv/engine/skyactiv-g.html

• Paul,

Do u know whether the 4 WD function of the CX-5 is real time (similar to CR-V) or full time (similar to RAV4) in nature ? If full time 4 wheel, will the fuel consumption be much higher ? And can the boot door of the CX-5 be opened using the remote unit ?

• What a joke, smaller than City… I have sat in the car while in Japan, its even more spacious than CRV!!

• Wallstreet on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:02 am

What about RM99,000 for this CX5? You must be one of those Honda salesman here worrying this car will topple the Old fellow CRV.

• demio121 on Apr 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

cool tech but not-so-cool price.

• Another car to think about. What is thr rm6 k option….. Maybe can lower the price a bit with smaller wheels like 17 or 18 inch. But still, its not to bad given its a CBU model. Any idea why the Rav4 current model not introduced in Malaysia? Just curious. I guess the next one to consider will be the Subaru XV…

• want cheap,want high spec,want high quality car.only solution….topple the G and shut down Proton

• Black Dog on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Overprice & Overkill

• thinkerr on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm

All car prices in Msia is overpriced lah…you might as well just ride a bicycle lor!!

• price will always be an issue for Malaysia no matter what brand – because of the high taxes

• _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2012 at 2:27 pm

compression of 13:1? Go find ron98 in Singapore, very cheap, $2.5+/L = RM6.2/L onli maa…

• sohai. if u live in SG, u earn in SGD and u spend in SGD,, dun be such a sohai to convert it to RM and talk cock, lol

• _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:35 pm

who dun tokkock here? btw, like everyone else, u got pulled out from someone’s ‘hai’. Pls dun insult it by calling it ‘so’…u used to live there k?

• godam on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:29 pm

in singapore where got corner like karak highway. no use buy one in singapore, better use money for party.

• Err..this car can even run on RON 91…

• U r unbelievable …thats all i can say ..btw , nice tech and good car from mazda:)

• wonder when is H going to introduce the new (hopefully!) CRV??

• ahmadfaris93 on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:17 pm

The current Honda CR-V in Malaysia is too old to compete. The price is not bad too !

• plunking on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Bastards think malaysians are stupid…..this time vincent tan…..philantropher or is it plunderer.

• Storm on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Old CKD Melaka Honda CRV selling at 150K with much lower features and specs than 160K CBU Japan CX-5, expensive? How much you want? Forget about comparing with US, compare our government first.

• plunking on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:27 pm

Angry? Which Tan are you……..Robert Tan, Danny Tan, Richard Tand, Kelvin Tan or Say Tan?

• Did he forced you to buy? There are willing buyers and willing sellers, if you think it’s bloody expensive then go buy a Exora.

• plunking on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Why you angry ?
        I want to buy, but I want pay same price the americans pay in america, why cannot ah?
        Why malaysian are so low class that they have to pay 3 times the price? You actually believe that you are so low class?

Why you speaking up for the billionaire,……. he send you cheque monthly for letting him screw you ,is it?

• With this kind of ‘low class’ respond, you really need to get your brain check or maybe no need because it probably not there anymore.

• plunking on Apr 11, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Low class means low class. It means when others treat you so niggardly , you take it lying down. People extort money from you….you just pay. Another meaning would be….No Balls.
            Low life like you won’t go anywhere, if humandkind’s forefathers behaved anything like you, the human race would have been extinct right now. Comprende?
            BTW ,better grope your groins, see whether your testicles still there.
            If you are planning to respond to my comments, better check your sentences for grammar mistakes because I have trouble understanding you. You salesman ah you?

• tunguuu on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:26 pm

better than made in msia CRV kosong spec selling at 150k??? definately!

• Yes, indeed it is priced above the others like ASX, CRV (yet to know the price of the 2012 model), Xtrail etc or whatever models thats in the similar segment but what you get is also
      a lot more and not to mention the new tech.
      Most importantly, go test drive it and you will know for yourselves if it is worth the extra ringgit.

• Mazda Freak on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:51 pm

absolutely correct!

• quottro on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:43 pm

great to know the price has been reduced from the earlier projected price,

but the skyactiv needs a 4wd test drive to know it’s worthiness…

else, on paper, the specs is sweeetttt

• Mighty Joe Rod on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Guys, you complain about the price, there’s nothing you can do, you have to live with it. Work hard and earn more rather than complaining. When I bought my BMW 320d which cost me 260K last year, I did not complain.

To be realistic about you’ll pathetic life – rather than moaning and foaming, get a Perve. It’s value for money and loaded with latest technology. What do you say? Agreed?

• Cybermaster98 on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Why should i accept something which is wrong? You not complaining about something doesnt make it correct. More and more ppl need to realise that we are being taken for a ride by our own Gov and made to pay extra for someone else to line their pockets. Accepting it will only allow this dictatorship to continue. Stand up and be counted.

• Mazda freak on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:07 am

You will need votes from ppl at the outskirt where these ppl are not really affected by this car policy coz they dont buy medium to expensive cars like us.

• berombon on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:51 am

you seems to know about a lot of things.. crony this, crony that..say lah for example what contract did Proton gave to crony this and crony that…if you cannot, I suggest you keep you mouth shut la and just concentrate on bashing Proton or even Perodua as that seems the only thing you know..

Or go and rave and rant at one of those political forums please, other people would like to discuss cars here…

• Couldn’t agree more. Cyber, i fully support u.

• fedorov on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:45 pm

agreed……… malaysian likes to complain, complain, complain …… everybody wants a high-end car, full of gadgets, features …. but wishes the price is within P2 or Potong range… This is Malaysia .. stop complaining & comparing all these customs, taxes, and ‘how i wish’ the car like in the US, bla bla ………… We know what we can afford or how much we value things…. It doesn’t make you less human if you buy P2, Potong, Dugong car… & it doesn’t make you more superior human being if you buy car above 100k, 200k…. At the end of the day, it’s just to move you from point A to point B … hehehehe …

• as i said…. please don’t buy car in malaysia… use public transport…… are your crazy…. spend rm160k buy compact SUV? can your really affort to pay? i don’t think so….. most of ppl are makan gaji here…. please wake up…. your sweet dream is over!! ppl who comment here, your really buy camry, GT86, BMW , Audi, X5??

• Mighty Joe Rod on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:12 pm

JT and Cybermaster 98,

You’re what I call ‘weathercocks’. I suggest you to migrate or get the hell out from Malaysia if you think you can’t afford to buy a car of your dream because of our government. There are other more reformed complains that you could address to the government – one I strongly suggest you complain about the education system, as it seems the education level you have got reflect the pathetic low life you seems to live in now, based on you 3rd world mentality comments.

The equation is simple – you can afford, you buy the car of your choice and like. If you can’t afford, NOT even a single drop of your crocodile tears, wet dreams, whining, moaning and foaming will force the government to reduce the car price. If you might have read, there’s NAP and the NAP will be reviewed soon but don,t expect drastic changes to the policy, whatnot reducing the price so that low life person like you could afford a car.

My dear boys, grow-up will you please. There are more challenges in life than buying a f**k**g overpriced car.

• Cybermaster98 on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:00 pm

Mighty Joe, u sound like a kid yorself. U think that just cuz u bought a beamer u deserve to look down on others? For your info, im not one who even bothers much about cars except when i need to change now. U may be able to afford to pay more than RM2K a month for your beamer but im darn sure u cant afford to own the kind of properties i own. And i dont need to come here and boast about what i can or cannot afford. Btw, i am more active in politics than u can ever imagine and my education level is way beyond yours. Did u start earning a 5 figure salary when u were 26? I did so go play yer mind tricks elsewhere. Btw, since u say we should focus our complaints elsewhere why are u even on Paultan anyway? Shouldnt u be busy trying to change our education system? And while ure busy trying to change 1 measely aspect of our Gov, we’ll be working hard to change the Gov itself. And by the way, i think its YOU who needs to grow up before u ever try to look down on anybody here.

• beruk33 on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:59 am

a showoff telling off a showoff…yeah you can own high-end properties and earn more than 10k monthly. so? yeah you can be happy to buy whatever you want. boasting with another boast is childish too.

• Mighty Joe, how are you? hope you r doing well. I love malaysia because i’m malaysian. My income is very less, is about rm30k per month but i own a 5 years old civic only…. in fact…. i feel that i have overpaid the car… i just wanted to share my comment that car is really very expensive in malaysia. Most of the malaysia just like to show off, they tot car is the status can show thier education level is high, living standard is high… everything is awesone when your drive a luxury car like BMW, X5 or CX7 or CX9… most of ppl here are hire purchase…. unless you pay cash to buy car that cost rm260K or higher….. we are just sharing why should be pay extra? we are not complaining anything…..behave yourself and relax. wish you all the best…
            We are all end user…… no one really know the car technology behind how it work. read from spec…. good night…

• Cyberbiatch69 on Apr 11, 2012 at 1:09 am

If you have started earninga 5k figure salary since you were 26 years old, then why the f*** are you complaining about overpriced cars? You surely can afford them…and please please please quit being a snob, will ya,,

• Cybermaster98 on Apr 12, 2012 at 8:09 am

Cyberbiatch69, just cuz i earn doesnt mean i need to waste. I know the value of money and i choose to spend on what’s required. And just cuz i can afford something, im not gonna go around telling ppl to accept that we have to pay more for others to line their pockets. A wrong is still a wrong regardless if u can afford it or otherwise.

Btw, my comments above in relation to property ownership and income was in response to Mighty Joe Rod alone. Just cuz he bought a BMW doesnt mean other Malaysians should accept rediculously high car prices.

• 320d ? you should try the 335i, cost me half a mil thoughi….after driving the 335i, i would rather take the bus than drive anything lesser. sorry no offence to the 320d, it is just so not me.

• _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:37 pm

2L latest engine, 155hp. Nothing to shout about….

• dreaming of maserati on Apr 10, 2012 at 8:25 pm

but pretty good when you compare to camry’s lousy 2.0L 145hp, 190Nm

• Don’t only just look at figure figure figure.. It’s the overall package of driving experience. The combination of their skyactiv transmission could give a better driving experience i belive. Actual driving experience is what matter most and not just figure in Hp. I have test driven Tucson, with higher hp yes. But the engine really bothers me so much as you can really hear the rough engine sound even with slight accerelation. You can go and try it yourself. As mentioned, CX5 is 30% more rigid and 8% lighter, that itself is enough to give you more HP than a heavier car.

• Minor T-roll on Apr 10, 2012 at 4:50 pm

I would rather get the cheaper new Sportage..but generous in features

• Wallstreet on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:11 am

Yes, as you mentioned it yourself, ‘CHEAP’ product. Just look at how many cheap plastic in a Tucson. and Sportage..

• Minor T-roll on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:11 pm

I would rather get the cheaper new Sportage..generous of features too

• CarDude on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:31 pm

No “direct injection turbo” ?

Well, at least Mazda is competing well in terms of spec..
    as oppose to the “stingy” UMW… Camry anyone?

• kHaziq on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:33 pm

Lol, just got an e-mail of the brochure from the mazda dealer at Cheras. I guess she got that from this blog..

• seancorr on Apr 10, 2012 at 5:36 pm

Nice…price is good IF it also comes with Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) system and the Blind Spot Warning system. Mazda would b a class leader with those tech!

The 19″ wheels will be indeed be a killer when its time to change tyres lol.

• JeremyNg on Apr 10, 2012 at 6:24 pm

I thought all the skyactive-G engine have 14:1 compression ratio, why this only 13:1 ??

• do we really need to pay rm160k for a compact SUV? many ppl just makan gaji… if their income is rm10k, i don’t think they affort to pay this price? so, your get loan 80%? end up, what is your final price of this car? think about it…… don’t buy any car more than rm100k, unless your are really rich, unless you got extra $$$$…. otherwise, keep your $$$ and for your kids education…. business man or senior manager or director who income above rm20k, may be they can affort…… if your income is less than rm10k…. buy proton…. if income between 5k-8k also buy proton…. if income less than 5k buy myvi, if income less than 3k…. please don’t buy car… please use public transport…..

• kadajawi on Apr 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm

It’s much more interesting than the Camry though, at a similar price. Much better spec’ed… dare I say competitive and up to date spec’ed? Many buy the Camry. So obviously they could be buying this instead. Or a Cross Touran. Jetta. etc.

• in other words, just save money and don’t buy anything right. i get your point.

• well spoken!

• fadzly on Apr 10, 2012 at 10:50 pm

i like this

• RedBeanBun on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:18 am

there is NO public transport. that is the problem. Go SG, Bangkok, Taiwan, HK, Sydney, UK, and their public transport help to address people, not OUR public transport.

• EnjoyLIFE on Apr 11, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Obviously you don’t know how to enjoy life. You CAN afford to buy any car which the price is within your yearly income. It’s a international benchmark.

“business man or senior manager or director who income above rm20k, may be they can affort…” bullshit!!!

• Day raining light???
    What’s that? I thought DRL is daytime running light?
    Maybe I’m a noob :)

• DRL is Day raining light???
    What’s that? I thought DRL is daytime running light?
    Maybe I’m a noob :)

• Jimiray on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Been holding booking for a sportage for this baby to come out,
    but, looks like will go to KIA tomorrow, the 19″ really shut my
    wallet off, i’m in the east coast by the way, 18″ on the sportage is
    already too much rubber in here

• I agree. I did the same as you but I’m of the opinion that this is a much better car, despite the wheels. Plus if you go for Kia, the price for 18″ & 19″ is almost the same. Can’t believe Bermaz didn’t know 19″ would be a deal killer for many. Not very clever.

• CX-5 spec in UK is 165PS and 210 Nm, 14:1 compression ratio. else where all 13:1. ???

• TopGear on Apr 10, 2012 at 9:50 pm

i have seen a few units on the road in japan last week.. for suv, i have seen only 1 crv, a few Nissan Juke, Nissan x-trail, toyota vanguard, toyota rav4, harrier…

cx-5 is nice suv with high spec… definetely a wake up call for HM and UMW

• I like the title……”Price Leaked….from 159k” .
    What leak…….the shit only costs 20k+ in America. Take a leak.

• Meow_Meow on Apr 10, 2012 at 11:56 pm

Aiyoo 19inch with 155hp… Mazda can tahan meh?(like tarik lembu nia). 19inch put in Porsche Cayenne can lar….. 5person in CX-5 go uphill sure GG lar !

• _xXx_ on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:53 am

do u pay income tax here? ppl r paying 40-50% of their income there to the taxman my dear….

• Alabama on Apr 11, 2012 at 7:05 am

Too expensive less features, Mazda nowadays so stingy…

I rather end up buying Sportage, Mazda SUCKS!

• Ryan Y on Apr 11, 2012 at 7:05 am

I too am sad and angry to see such apathy in our nation. There isn’t any sense of justice or righteousness. The hopelessness and endlessness of this dark dark place have just put these people to grasp as much as they can for themselves, because they don’t believe anything can be changed. Mind and heart shut off, focus on squeezing Each other to see who gets most from others at the end of their lives.

They can eat well, sleep well and poo well as long as they’re doing fine themselves. Look around, zombies. People are suffering, people are struggling, people are being denied of basic human rights.

I used to be surrounded by friends who spoke of their dreams and passions. But I chose to come back to make a little difference. Should I bother to mention my cars, houses or even my income as a measure of my dignity or values? Doing so will just bring my level down to theirs. Because here people do not stand for any values or beliefs, they are merely measured by materials. But it’s not their fault. They do not know better.

When people spends a lifetime just to pay off their loans and debts. Most, while doing it will take joy in comparing the size of their cars and houses. Some will take pride in paying them off in shorter periods. This is the game here on earth.

Only when you get ahead of the game so much, will you see how pointless this all is. To be there, you do not need a fat pay cheque, you just need to have a heart.

• Malaysian on May 24, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Well said.
      This is a website about cars, and it should stick to discussing about cars.

Yes, we do have a big problem in this country particularly with the lack of transparency and crony-ism in the goverment, who has for the past half a decade mixed racial and religious issues to divide and conquer, and make off huge profits that should be channelled back into the country to improve the economy, education and infrastructure.

Looking at the many angry, hate words posted here…I see dark clouds ahead for this country and it saddens me.

• demio121 on Apr 11, 2012 at 8:48 am

i love Mazda and was looking fwd to skyactiv. Looking at the price, skyavtic model is not gonna be cheap.

• Wenqin on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:02 am

Yeah!! It might look small but the real fact is it’s more spacious than the cx7 credit to their Improved interior design.

• Maaajeeedaaa on Apr 11, 2012 at 2:19 pm

For those who haven’t drive Mazda products in recent time but just know how to condemn, please…take a test drive.. Driving a Mazda is not about smoking others on the road. It’s all about the passion to drive and being driven by its quality. Overprice??? Overkill??? Yo, the toyodas and hondas are much worse than Mazda in pricing things… For me, i cant afford a beeemer or a mercz, but by driving Mazda….i can forget about them. CX5 is nice, but my aim is Mazda 6 2014….I LIKE!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mazda Freak on Apr 12, 2012 at 1:02 am

I certainly agree with you. M6 turn heads even after 4 years from its first launched. It drives like a continental car even though it is japanese made. there is a difference when i drove camry before I drove M6. It just feels different. I will definitely trade in my current M6 for the new model, provided that the japanese can solve the steering rack problem. other than that, it is a very good car to drive.

• Total agree with you guys. I drove my M6 2.5 for more than a year now. Its more engaging than driving a camry or accord

• yippi33 on Apr 11, 2012 at 3:53 pm

the engine output might look average..but its weight is less ~100kg than the CRV..using 19″ will not hurt the performance definitely…

the 13:0:1 compression ratio is following US spec..

http://www.mazdausa.com/MusaWeb/displayPage.action?pageParameter=modelsSpecs2&vehicleCode=CX5

• TopGear on Apr 14, 2012 at 8:50 pm

heard already arrived at port klang…

• hi ppl.

225/55/19.
    Tried finding this size on the web, but to no avail. and in M’sia almost impossible?

Anybody tried?

• Guest on Apr 16, 2012 at 4:59 am

Yes prices of cars here r way over the top, but do u know da taxes, health care problems n da insane price of oil in da U.S? Hav u guys lived in da u.s? Or have actual American friends? Dnt simply compare Malaysia with other countries, every country in the world has its problems

• seancorr on Apr 26, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Saw one of them running around Glenmarie showroom. Asked the SA about it but they said its not ready for show. Coming in June so they say.

I still have to say the 19″ are killer tyres. Where’s the smart city brake and blind sport warning system?

• Booked one today!!!
    The reason I buy
    Great Looks inside-out
    High Spec (Sunroof – 6 speed – leather – Bose)
    Good quality and reliability (Jap CBU???)
    Best in-class Fuel Consumption
    Price within budget.
    How about those Sportage supporter?
    Got you car dy? Haha!

• zoom zoom on May 16, 2012 at 2:37 pm

www, i booked one also.
    but, i relly doesn`t like 19″ rim.
    i will change it to 235/55/R18 when i got the car.

• Davincci on Jul 09, 2012 at 6:45 pm

One thing we cant deny, the car in Malaysia is tagged with high price. Due to our special taxation. Think twice before you buy.

• no car on Aug 15, 2012 at 10:49 pm

has anyone got your cx5 yet hehehe…crazy 9 months wait list. not sincere.