Infiniti EX25 introduced here – 2.5 V6, 218 hp, RM325k

The Infiniti brand was launched in Malaysia late last year with an all “37” range – a 3.7 litre V6 engine with 320 hp and 360 Nm powers the EX, FX, M and G Coupe. But this year has seen the introduction of more variants to widen the appeal. The M sedan range welcomed the M25 and M35h hybrid in April, and we now have the “25” version of the EX crossover, EX25.

The EX is the more junior of the two crossovers Infiniti sells here, and the new EX25 is the lowest priced Infiniti sold by Inspired Motor at RM325,000 OTR excluding insurance. That’s significantly cheaper than the RM380k required for the EX37, and annual road tax is of course much lower as well.

The EX25 is powered by a new 2.5 litre version of Nissan’s VQ engine. The twin-cam 24-valve V6 produces 218 hp and 253 Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. Top speed is 210 km/h while 0-100 km/h takes 9.0 seconds. Fuel consumption over the combined cycle is 11.3 km/l. The engine is paired to a seven-speed automatic gearbox.

Power is channeled to the 18-inch wheels via the ATTESA E-TS (Advanced Total Traction Engineering System for All Electronic Torque Split) AWD system. It uses active torque distribution management with an active centre clutch for smooth starts and better grip on slippery surfaces, without compromising the vehicle’s rear-wheel drive characteristics on dry roads. The system can send anything from 50% of drive to the front, to up to 100% to the rear. ESP is present, of course.

The suspension features double wishbones up front, a multi-link arrangement at the back, and Dual Flow Path (DFP) dampers.

Standard kit includes i-key (keyless entry and start), Bluetooth connectivity, cruise control, power seats, electric folding rear seat, auto-dimming rear view mirror, front and rear parking sensors, automatic lights and wipers, six airbags, Sequential Welcome Lighting Illuminated Entry, Adaptive Front-light System (AFS), xenons and Scratch Shield paint. The latter, which works with the sun’s heat to “heal” scratches, is standard across the Infiniti range.

The EX25 and the rest of the range can be viewed at Infiniti’s sole downtown outlet at Chulan Square, Jalan Raja Chulan.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• skiborne on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:06 pm

with that money id go for diesel Freelander or Tiguan, makes more sense

• Victor Hoh on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:49 pm

I do not know about Freelander, but you cannot compare VW Tiguan with this. Infiniti is a premium/luxury brand, and VW is a brand for the masses.

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:05 pm

in germany yes for masses. but in msia nope. even vios trd become a luxury car. nway, same engine as teana 2.5..but lot more powerful.

• Lim Kopi on Jun 23, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Victor’s right…

With this amount of money, I don’t mind topping up bit more just to get an:

1) Range Rover Evoque

2) Audi Q5

3) BMW X3

• cl_qwertyuiop on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Design better than Lexus RX series In my opinion.

• Black Dog on Jun 22, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Infinity just doesn’t command the prestige that Q5 and Evoque has. In fact very very far from it

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:06 pm

agree. but maybe still ‘new’ to our market. even lexus is not as strong as audi.

• Poweeerrrrrrr on Jun 22, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Kalau takde duit tak payah nak compare dgn itu or ini la.

• Hei bro.. betul cakap ko nie.. ramai yg takde duit tapi mau berlagak macam tau kate banyak dan compare banyak.

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm

lagi baik tahu dari x tahu.

• thequestion on Jun 24, 2012 at 8:06 am

usually ‘yg tak tahu’ are mostly have the more money then the ‘tahu’ and afford to own.

• Can buy X3, evoque,

• VW is still one class lower n competes more to peugout, ford, T, H, n even korean. VW is for masses even in malaysia. But their range stretch up to luxury point as in new CC n CC r line.

• Even a CC is not classified as luxury, When you talk about luxury, it should be at least I mean at least same level with BMW and Merc.

• Yeah. But cc is at d same league as volvo n audi a4 which means its at d entry point of luxury.. Trust me. But d rest is just for the masses. Even golf gti also d same.

• finerounddclock on Jun 22, 2012 at 5:25 pm

VW cars are for masses for sure. The brand is way below Infiniti

• Anwar on Jun 22, 2012 at 5:33 pm

At that price, I would rather go for Audi Q5 anytime…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Nice looking crossover, unique as well…drive before passing judgement.

• tigerimau on Jun 22, 2012 at 6:35 pm

Beli rumah laaa

• I think the Infiniti design is probably the most appealing compared to Lexus and Acura. Nice car, nice price! :)

• kingston on Jun 22, 2012 at 7:09 pm

call it what you want but end of the day is still a RM325k Nissan,if you could afford something like that why not pay a little more for a LR Evoque,that’s much better..

• khairulx19a on Jun 22, 2012 at 10:29 pm

skyline crossover

• What is this ? why the picture shown here is the left hand drive version ? You mean Paul Tan have no access to snap the pictures ?? C’mon cannot be that lazy right ?

• 250nm at 4,800 rpm for a suv??? forget it, bttr get a diesel evoque which churned out more than 400nm at low 1,500rpm….11km/l , crazy fc, soo gas guzzling compared to an oil burner more than 15km/l suv, its modern days….low fc= greener world wt low co2

• Anon Kneemas on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Never liked the EX, its basically a G estate on stilts. The RX is more practical imho and as others have chimed for 325k there are far more appealing choices in the market.

• Aerotourer on Jun 22, 2012 at 11:50 pm

No camera and navigator?

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 23, 2012 at 12:34 am

Infiniti cars always look funny to me. The front end seems so ‘Nissan’ for a luxury car maker. I guess all Nissan cars look like the front and back were designed by two different people.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

A nissan at rm325k is a big no no. Infiniti is just a beef up nissan. Still a nissan.

I wonder how can the price tag is so high compared to nissan.

• thequestion on Jun 24, 2012 at 8:16 am

man…its like what lexus to toyota & acura to honda..this is a premium brand lah

• Got so many thumbs down even i spoken the truth.. Those thumbs down are given by VW fanboy i guess. C’mon guys. Accept the fact that VW is more the masses and even malaysian cars are expensive doesnt make their status go higher.. Even bmw or merc in malaysia is just luxury sedan. Wan an ultra luxury? Go for bentley or rolls royce.

• sputjam on Jun 24, 2012 at 11:50 am

very unique design. But not worth buying due to high taxes and AP charges.
    Compared to VW/Audi/BMW, this design stands out. Very American like.
    Pay 20% deposit, and you have to take a loan to pay taxes. After 5 years, the value of your car is 50% less and is equal in price to new cars sold elsewhere. Only make sense if its a company car where this can be accounted for as depreciation.

• Premium/Luxury brand or not, it’s still a Nissan under those metal. Besides, they’re just a copycat following Lexus when they saw how successful they were in the US.

And I don’t understand all these fighting over who is luxury and who is not. You buy what you like. VW is for the masses but they own 100% of Audi(99.55%) , Bentley, Bugatti, Ducati, Seat, Skoda and Lamborghini while they own 49.9% of Porsche and 19.9% of Suzuki. So yeah, VW is surely for the masses.

• Johnny on Jun 25, 2012 at 9:44 pm

One question, is this really worth the money?

• bdelledonne on Aug 28, 2012 at 6:28 am

I have seen this vehicle and love it …I have been driving and loving my nissan murano for 9 yrs….I no longer need such a large vehicle but sill want style and power..this has caught my attention

• Jilbaber on Jan 21, 2013 at 7:23 am

May I asked you about the running cost of the MURANO ? Being my dream car and waiting for the third gen :)