Boon Siew Honda unveils the CRF250L dual-purpose

Boon Siew Honda has announced that the road-going enduro-style Honda CRF250L, which is powered by a liquid-cooled, four-stroke DOHC single-cylinder 250cc engine, will arrive in showrooms at the end of this month. Mention of its intended arrival on these shores was made back in February when the CBR1000RR and 2012 Gold Wing were officially unveiled.

It’s based on the legendary XL series and is equipped with a semi-double cradle steel frame chassis, and transmission consists of a new six-speed gearbox and clutch that has been designed to cope with the demands of off-road riding.

Features include disc brakes, a Pro-Link rear suspension and Showa shock absorbers as well as 21-inch front and 18-inch rear wheels. The CRF250L, which is available in Extreme Red, will go for RM22,688.

Speaking of the CBR1000RR, the 999cc inline-four superbike is available starting from today for RM96,500 (in Pearl Sunbeam White) and RM95,900 (in Victory Red and Graphite Black) for the non-ABS versions, while the C-ABS-equipped variant goes for RM107,600 in Pearl Sunbeam White and RM107,000 in Victory Red and Graphite Black. The prices look to have been revised slightly from the point of introduction in February.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Julian Lee on Aug 14, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Wow dual-purpose, the off-road bike can become super-bike? That is cool

• Any naked bike from Honda in Malaysia?

• ragers on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:45 pm

hornet & thye CB series

• Estimosis on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Hope Rafizi include SBKs in their propose vehicles tax structuring..

• bailmeout on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:10 pm

I think the tax on the bike is 300%. So that malaysians can only afford kapcai without ABS that go straight into the backs of parked lorries and die of head injuries.

• Susake on Aug 15, 2012 at 2:23 pm

The tax on all imported bikes above 800 cc is not more than 80 %. 300 % is for 3000 cc and above.

• totti on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Honda CBR250 in Thailand selling RM 13K but in Malaysia selling RM 19K due to tax.

So all those poor people only afford to get a kapcai.

Vote the Bee-end out and hope Rafizi reduce the bike Tax.

• Mr. Biggy on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Those “poor people” won’t even benefit from owning a superbike at a cheap price. Tell me do those uncle really want to use a CBR to go to pasar malam? How about the maintenance of such sport bikes? Mopeds/kapcai serve their purpose as cheap and easy method of transportation. If u blame taxes, how come other manufacturers such as Demak, Kymco, SYM, Nimota, etc could sell their bike at lower prices?
      The one keeps on complaining are a bunch of middle incomes who envies others but don’t put much effort to improve their own living standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • You are such a short minded bugger. The maintenance is currently high for SBK due to the taxes. The spare parts are all taxed tremendously. When the quantity of SBK are a few on the roads, retailers would not dare to order parts in a big volume, hence making the price further expensive.

How come you define Malaysians use moped only to go to pasar malam? Most of us are forced to ride moped to work on highway, travelling back and forth 60km a day.

SYM do not sell their bike that cheap also. It is part of business strategy to penetrate new markets by sacrificing the profit margin.

If you say our middle incomes keep complaining without putting effort to improve living standard, then you are saying that middle incomes in other countries are lazy because the SBK there are much cheaper. Maybe changing government is one of the effort to consider.

• Mr. Biggy on Aug 15, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Before you go on complaining further bugger, may I ask you do you even own a high displacement bike?

Commanding a heavy 200+kg bike everyday to pasar malam is not a good idea of fun. They’re not so manoeuvrable in heavy traffic as their moped counterparts. And the fuel consumption, albeit still cheaper than a car, is far comparable to a moped. That’s why ordinary people still use moped. It’s not even fun to ride a bike in a heavy traffic jam, that’s why most of us use them only as “weekend ride”.

Moping your work place is far? Get a car.

The spare parts are not taxed, they are being levied duty. Every country have their own duty tariffs. You expect SBK parts to be cheap when most of quality performance parts are made in America and Japan and then shipped here? Indeed, you’re not a biker.

Yes SYM bikes are cheaper because it’s their brilliant marketing model. Boon Siew and Hong Leong on the other hand are purposely selling their bike expensively because they know “smart” Malaysian consumer are too hook up on brand name. Much like the T and H argument we always have here.

Yes, other country have cheaper SBK, you are welcome to visit Singapore on that note. Oh, and do visit their car distributors and get a hold of the car price as well.

• sub_zero on Aug 16, 2012 at 4:23 pm

lol blame *poor people* for your own insecurity. blame the government, because everything else was base on high tax that government has put upon us.

Btw, you want to know those china and taiwan brand are mostly have been subsidize due to the fact some of these company *have* to built factory here to manufacture those bike so the bike price can go even lower, and even had to pay this and that so their bike price can go as low as you see now? oh don’t mention yet government also had to protect stupid modenas which doesn’t want fierces competition.

still these local knockoff also face difficulties amongst the government especially regarding big CC bike as they need to conform the market price as you may know any cheaper bike will make those well known brand *cough* honda, kawasaki, KTM etc *cough* (which is government big coffer) slowly shy away from the market.

so basically everything goes back to government and that bloody tax, not the *poor people*.

• Kokopai on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Just wondering, how much tax imposed on imported bike (super or not). Is it the same as CBU cars?

• ah seng on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:55 pm

ar……… before boon siew honda bring this CBR1000 in, there’s a lot of people selling brand new one in motorbike shop or mudah…

what’s the different?
    this one come with Honda genuine warranty?

• why the naked bike is so expensive?

• Sahipulhijaiman Sulaiman on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:36 pm

I’m still waiting for the Faze 250, please Boon Siew bring that model into Malaysia!

• totti on Aug 15, 2012 at 9:48 am

1) Those “poor people” won’t even benefit from owning a superbike at a cheap price. Tell me do those uncle really want to use a CBR to go to pasar malam? How about the maintenance of such sport bikes? Mopeds/kapcai serve their purpose as cheap and easy method of transportation.
    ——————————————
    What is the problem uncle driving CBR? Do you know how many Uncles above 40 driving big bike in Singapore?

If all the selling cost is same as Thailand and I am sure a lot of people will get a good bike rather than a kapcai which en-danger themselves. To be precise, you need to know the tax system works in Malaysia before trying to be a smart asshole to educate by putting a stupid statement for argument.

In Malaysia, the tax system trying to protect the cronies and give hand-out to those who are well connected parties like N..zA….etc. Tell me why the Blade 250 selling at RM13.5K and not others (kawa & Honda & sym & KYmCO – 19K to 22K)?

The high tax imposes is to protect the cronies at the Rakyat’s expense (only benefit the U no..p.u.ra) and at the same time prevent Investor coming into Malaysia thus loss of job opportunity for Rakyat. You should know why the car manufacturer invests in Thailand, right.

Only idiot will support & protect the Cronies at the RaKyat’s expense. Most rakyat will suffer if protection going on and paying high tax and getting all the old technology bike with caburetter that takes more petrol. Do you know kapcai in Thailand getting fuel injection technology? Who will suffer if more petrol consumption? Country and users?

2) If u blame taxes, how come other manufacturers such as Demak, Kymco, SYM, Nimota, etc could sell their bike at lower prices?
    ——————————————

What a stupid comparison done between Honda and kymco/demak/Sym/Nimota. Please don’t compare an established branded bike with the new comer. Why don’t you compare the 2.0 Peugeot 408 (RM 115K) and Honda accord and T.Camry (150K)? What is the cost different? Why these cronies company able to sell so low price? AP RM 20 per car?

3) The one keeps on complaining are a bunch of middle incomes who envies others but don’t put much effort to improve their own living standards.
    ———————-

What a third world mentality statement trying to improve their standard of living! Only stupid people will pay for high tax and reduce their disposable income for other expenditure. Improving the standard living is not mend to pay high car tax to protect and give money to the cronies or encourage corruption.

• Mr. Biggy on Aug 15, 2012 at 7:52 pm

1. I chuckle upon reading another wiseass non-biker commenting here. You guys are so sensitive when talking about the tax issue. Whenever the word CRONY, RAKYAT, CUKAI is brought up, you guys are the one to shout F*** the G! Come up with a calm and brilliant argument fool.

First of all its RIDING not driving. If you’ve read carefully my argument, it is about using a HIGH DISPLACEMENT BIKE TO GO TO PASAR MALAM. You really expect someone to go to pasar, with a 200kg CBR1000? Where would you hang all the plastics at the first place? Then there’s traffic jam. Where is the fun of riding a litre bike in a 20km/h traffic jam?? 40 years old uncle riding a CBR in Singapore? You’re referring to mid aged businessman not your typical bring-your kids-on-the-bike pasar going uncle. Have you ever twisted the throttle of a litre bike? One light twist can get you to 60kmh under 10 secs. You think an ordinary uncle would have the necessary skill to command the power of an SBK?

If you’re a biker, you would know that first production Naza Blade 250R costs around RM18.5k, not RM13.5k as it costs right now. And it is a carburator type! THANK GOD FOR CARBURATORS!! (EFI are for sissies who love the EU Emission rules and treehugging hippies) Naza Cruise 650 use to cost RM33k, not RM25k that is the current price right now. That is because NAZA have break even for the cost to build one of these Blades, and there are abundant of spare parts available now. Carburator makes bikes fun to ride, go on, compare the price of a carburatted Harley Davidsons and their EFI counterparts. They are flexible to tune and don’t cost a bomb to replace.

2. We’re talking about bikes not cars. Pull your panties up. Each company have their own marketing strategy. Shame on you Malaysians for putting brand name first ahead of everything.

Typical Malaysian Conversation:
      You own a HONDA CITY?? WOW you must be an executive, own nice car one, price later sure not drop meh.

Y U buy this PIJOT car?? Looks ugly. That car is so small leh, not value la, later 5 years price sure drop macam Protong. Maintenance expensive, spare part susah mau cari lor.

And you still wonder why Toyota and Honda like to market their car at a higher price point? There you go.

3. I pay high taxes so other needy citizens can afford good yet cheap medical attention, good infrastructure, subsidized goods(!), and importantly free education. No matter BN’s or PR’s ruling the country, if my country requires me to contribute tax, then I’ll pay it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • WORKERS PARTY on Jan 11, 2013 at 10:47 am

Bro please talk with facts and figures.. Common bike for uncles in Singapore are Super4 400cc.. Super 4 400cc is equal to ex5 in Singapore.. flooded and that bike is a common sight..Wanna bet..
        Don’t talk like you know everything .. We malaysian working in singapore knew better about singapore than you who looking at Singapore in TV3..

• _xXx_ on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:10 am

see for yourselves how much CBR1k costs in SG.

http://www.sgbikemart.com.sg/bikelist.php?type=NEW&searchkey=Brand&value1=Honda

so, it’s RM50k, 1/2 of MY price but ppl there r earning 5x more. So, to some smart Alecs here, dun ask me to migrate there, grow up n face the fact plz.

• Why do the people need to migrate, when the people can “migrate” the ruling government?

• messi on Aug 15, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Smart alex,

Why compared to SG and not Thailand.

Are we on par with them in term of standard of living?If you earn there and buy to 500cc Yamaha Tmax (SG 16K)is peanut man compared to malaysia costing more than RM 50K.

Only cronies idiot support high Tax on their competitor. Are you 1 of them?

• Cosmo Artemis on Aug 15, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Malaysian are becoming more materialistic and rude. Sigh.

• bailmeout on Aug 15, 2012 at 7:22 pm

There’s a bugger up there who thinks he’s already an aristocrat because he owns a superbike…..shows how lowly Malaysians have become due to those unworldly taxes.

• messi on Aug 16, 2012 at 9:23 am

Someone here trying to tell you the following:-

1) he has achieved high standard of living and afford to pay high tax to owned a superbike.Those middle income group is stupid and need to improve to get a CBR 125/150cc.(Thailand/indon CBR below 150cc cost less than 7.5K which is equivalent to our clutch moped LC at RM 7K)

2) he owned a superbike weighted 200kg and go pasar malam. Other talk above an affordable safe bike (below 250cc-B2 lisence)for work.

3) trying to be a english teacher but his grammer also mess up.

4) he is “smart” and got plenty money to pay high tax to encourage cronies and corruption and those stupid middle income group still struggle to pay high tax to own an affordable safe long distance bike like CBR 125/150cc. (This proved how smart he feed the cronies)

• Sonny on Sep 10, 2012 at 1:13 am

sorry he ain’t smart nor rich, just some middle class ppl with a little bit of money then showing off …. .. .. but he ain’t worth shit
      btw i do own a bike which double ur bike weight.

• …..all in the game…..;-P

• Antara honda CRF250 dengan kawasaki klx250?.mana satu yang anda pilih?saya pilih honda ni.jom menabung…sikit sikit lama lama bukit….

• Antara honda CRF250 dengan kawasaki klx250?.mana satu yang anda pilih?saya pilih honda ni.jom menabung…sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit….