Honda has introduced the City CNG in Thailand, the company’s first compressed natural gas-powered car. The CNG version of the facelifted City is powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine that runs on both petrol and CNG. It complies with Euro 4 emission standards.
The City CNG’s engine makes 102 PS and 127 Nm of torque, compared to the petrol-only City’s 120 PS/145 Nm. Those interested in the City CNG are likely to see this shortfall as a fair trade for savings at the pumps.
To sooth fears of carrying a 65-litre tank of flammable gas, Honda has built in safety features that include an electronic safety control box and a solid cross bar with enhanced stability. There’s also a switching button in the cabin with gas remaining display.
Priced at 659,000 baht for the S version or 706,000 baht for the V spec, the City CNG is eligible for a tax rebate under the Thai government’s first-time car buyer scheme. The factory warranty is the usual three-year or 100,000 km deal.
how about malaysia?
definitely tax by corrupted government first.
Why are Malaysian car prices so expensive?
August 16, 2012
FMT LETTER: From Michael Kwai, via e-mail
The recent car prices issue made me curious. Having been totally unaware of such huge discrepancies between Malaysian and world prices, I surfed the Internet to see what real world car prices were. I was shocked.
These are US car prices with US duty and import tax paid, which are just like Malaysian car prices with duty and tax also paid, but here, you will see, they are much lower and less exorbitant than in Malaysia.
Bear in mind all cars are CBU (complete built up) Japan, CBU South Korea or CBU Germany.
The following cars we get here are CKD (complete knocked down) cars with more than 50% Malaysian content and “supposedly” are cheaper due to their being CKD and supporting Malaysian manufacturers.
I cannot understand, we support our own Malaysian manufacturers and beli barang buatan (buy local) Malaysia too, and yet the prices can be higher than barang buatan (made in) Japan or German, which is usually higher in quality.
And yet, to make matters worse, US people’s GDP per capita is higher than Malaysia’s and the average American earns five times more than the average Malaysian.
Mainstream car prices
Honda Accord 2.4
US$21,480 (RM64,440) RM175,000
Honda CRV
US$22,495 (RM67,485) RM150,000
Honda Civic
US$15,955 (RM47,865) RM115,000
Toyota Altis
US$16,130 (RM48,390) RM112,000
Toyota Camry
US$22,055 (RM66,165) RM180,000
Kia Sorento
US$23,150 (RM69,450) RM160,000
Hyundai Tucson
US$19,245 (RM57,735) RM140,000
Hyundai Sonata
US$20,895 (RM62,685) RM150,000
Hyundai Elantra 1.8
US$16,695 (RM50,085) RM118,000
Luxury car prices
BMW 328i
US$36,500 (RM109,500) RM300,000
BMW 528i
US$46,900 (RM149,000) RM400,000
BMW 535i
US$52,500 (RM157,000) RM600,000
BMW X5
US$47,500 (RM142,500) RM580,000
Mercedes E350
US$51,000 (RM153,000) RM400,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)
Jaguar XF
US$53,000 (RM159,000) RM500,000
Jaguar XJ
US$73,700 (RM221,000) RM1,000,000
Porsche Cayenne
US$48,850 (RM146,000) RM570,000
Every Malaysian must realise they are being cheated on car prices and have been cheated for the past 30 years.
Most Malaysians pay close to 50% of their salary for their monthly payments for their cars.
Not only do the banks get an easy ride (cause everybody is “forced” to take loans), we have to live in debt for over seven years, depriving our family of better food and clothes.
G keep enphasis how cheap the petrol price we have compare to Thailand, but just keep quite that ~90% of the Thailand vehicle using natural gas as the main fuel which is cheap and easily get from every petrol station..
no doubt, this car will sell hot in Thailand as well..
Hi, I’m a NGV/CNG car owner, Malaysian gov does have rebate for car tax which is using NGV too. But it has to be declare and verified by JPJ first, not for those illegal installation laa. :D
boot space also becomes smaller due to the NGV tank placement…don’t think it will sell well here because most people buy city for the huge boot space (apart from the brand name)…no?
Msia go to hell policy already kill the local car market.
659,000.00 Baht = RM65,464.17
hurm…
lately these few days got so many Honda City involved in death accident(s) in Malaysia: can check out these today and yesterday news (news paper/TV)..
if this version got involved; sure kabooom..
hurm….
no place for letak barang already. our govt already give tax rebates for cars using ngv/cng lah. i gave credits when it is due. tq G.
JUARA KAMPUNG STILL RULES AT THE VERY LEAST
TILL THE NEXT GENERAL ELECTION. PRAY HARD MALAYSIANS!
bodoh bangang…korang try pergi hidup kat thailand..
gaji murah..kereta 69k tu pun dah kira mahal kat situ..cakap pandai,tapi bodoh..
Betul tu TukangKayu. Ada orang… nampak kuman seberang laut tapi gajah depan mata tak nampak pulak.
sapa kata hidup kat thailand susah?? bodohnya umno totok ni.
support mugen…hehehehe.kawan aku kaya ja dok krabi..
Mu dua ekor ni kalau suka makan kueh bom marilah sini.
Nak dudok Thailand jangan-lah pilih kawasan Golok/Patani.
Those who don’t like this country can try migrate to Thailand. Cheap whore and cheap cng… That’s the only attraction they have other than suicide bombers and bomblast
I am Thai. At least we don’t have any discrimination policy like yours.
Some of your citizen wants to get out of your country, even to my country that you insulted because of your unfair society.
Adil dan aman lah sangat sebab tu ada perintah darurat dah bertahun-tahun? Hari-hari ada orang awam dan askar mati kena bom ya? Menate mano bodo nok lari dari Malaysia nok jadi rakyat Thailand?
the tank is too big, if honda wants to intro it here, should put smaller one. why city’s boot looks smaller? i think the boot dimension should be efficient enough to put stuff so should be deeper to the backseat not to the spare tyre area.
Car is equivalent to RM65K, say RM20K cheaper than Malaysia. But petrol is much cheaper here with Government subsidy. Over the life of ownership, I believe the total cost of ownership is the same.
But if rm65k in Malaysia, people will benefit more, 20k can spent on other things.. Cheaper gas,oil n car only in our dream now
The THAI Gomen subsidises all Chinese Schools and Missionary Schools like Malaysia Yes or No? that’s why everything is cheap in Thailand?
I am seeing more and more Malay Malaysians in Chinese and missionary school nowadays Yes or No?
If I work in Thailand I will not be paid like a carpenter like tukang kayu. I am here to do my national service even I can be paid more aboard. I just feel for the lowly paid Malaysians like tukang kaya having to pay through his nose for a peoples car like a VW or get killed in a JUARA KAMPUNG in an survivable accident caused by lack of ESP!
Where got so many? The one in jln k.sgor-teluk intan is the previous model maa..but the one in PLUS highway, the driver n accomplice survive..they should die coz they are ‘unlicenced pharmacist’..drug dealers..so time not wasted to prosecute them in court n hang them