New SsangYong Stavic a.k.a. Korando Turismo revealed – ditches shocking for conventional looks

SsangYong Stavic Facelift-10

SsangYong has been trying to phase out the distinctive looks of its cars, which some might describe as ugly. The return to normal was first seen on the inoffensive Actyon SUV, beofre they facelifted away the SsangYong Actyon Sports pick-up truck’s helmet head. Now, the new SsangYong Stavic MPV gets a similar opportunity to rid itself of divisive looks.

Presented in its domestic market as the Korando Turismo (it was also called Rodius in other markets), the new Stavic is a large MPV, with the option of nine, ten or eleven seats, and can carry up to 3,240 litres of cargo. Three trim levels will be available in Korea: Luxury Touring (LT), Grand Touring (GT) and Royal Touring (RT).

The big Stavic (5,130 mm long with a three-metre wheelbase) is available with an e-XDi 200 2.0 litre turbodiesel (155 PS, 360 Nm) engine paired to either a six-speed manual gearbox or a five-speed Mercedes-Benz-sourced automatic. In Korea and Russia, the MPV can also be had with a 3.2 litre six-pot petrol engine, and all-wheel drive.

The SsangYong Stavic is much more conventional looking now, but is it better looking? You be the judge.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Fagly on Feb 07, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Probably this new Stavic and Savvy share the same designer…???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • I.ME™ on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:06 pm

SsangYong really make ugly cars. Nowadays nobody buys them. The ones you see on the road was because everyone got excited with the Mercedes engines. Now they realise, Japanese engines are far superior than Mercedes engine which ALWAYS have electrical faults. SsangYong might as well close down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 39
      • Kalun on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Why people don’t buy Ssangyong anymore becuase it looses the reliability race with Hyundai/Kia.

SsangYong is far worse than any Korean and Malaysian cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
        • King42 on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:10 pm

False. Ssangyong is more reliable than Hyundai and Kia. You may google reliability surveys done by credible sources.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Japanese engine far superior than mercedes’ engine?? Lol!!! Bro, go do more research please!! The japs are far behind the germans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • HirumaKecil on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Kahkahkah… Go and the proper mercs bro.. Don’t buy the recond one lah.. japan car nowhere near the continental cars… Not even close..

• now it looks like a … … … china made design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • PakJib on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:47 pm

well.. this is the original korean design..

• King42 on Feb 07, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Actually, the 1st gen Stavic is no longer ugly after its mid-life facelift. In any case, its main selling point was the proven Merc-Benz turbodiesel engine & gearbox, the one used in Merc E270. But this new e-xdi engine, is it korean?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Anoynimous on Feb 07, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Ssangyong is truly the Korean version of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • Will buy this MPV if I got 3 wives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • bonbon on Feb 07, 2013 at 4:20 pm

all wife share the same MPV?
      if u have money for one MPV, then better create 3 children then ask them to share space at the back while u driving.more meaningfull

• kenot on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:13 pm

side profile look like toyota unser.huh.

• Mat Global on Feb 07, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Chery J11 suv looks much better.

• Now this is really design going backwards in time… I like Rexton (good modern looking), dislike Stavic (they started to lose design direction), and hate this new Stavic (designer totally lost!).

• Anyway i was referring to the older Rexton, much better looking

• sepul on Feb 07, 2013 at 4:53 pm

somehow indian designs better looking car

good thing hyundai-kia paid european folks to do the styling now

• Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:35 pm

So this how a actual Korean car looks like. LOL… No wonder KIA need to make Peter Schreyer president to keep him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Musalmah Endut on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:37 pm

Keranda? haha i like.

• KillBox1Alpha on Feb 07, 2013 at 6:40 pm

That is so ugly even the designer wont want to be seen dead in it.

• albag on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:54 pm

a waste of earth’s precious resources in making such junks… some humans are really plain stupid and dumb… sadding…

• Katak on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:30 pm

At least this is still designed by Korean. Korean car should be designed by korean. Malaysian car should always be designed by Malaysian. So as Japanese car and US car. I respect only those that still insist of having their own identity, at least they are still proud of themselves.

• PauKaya on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:57 am

so korean fanbois y u no like this xD

• Tok Kadi on Feb 08, 2013 at 7:33 am

Why don’t Ssangyong and Proton merger up their companies? Match in heaven lah.

• darker marker on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:19 am

one word – WEIRD

• jolly_idiot on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:13 am

Korando tourismo = keranda tu ok boh?

• Wakawaka on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:26 pm

What ssangyong?

• powershot on Feb 12, 2013 at 4:21 pm

I honestly thought the new stavic is much better looking than its predecessor. thus, making it agreeable with this article’s headline: ditches shocking for conventional looks

I couldn’t agree with King42 more. Ssangyong vehicles are much more reliable than hyundai/kia, albeit tougher too

• If price and spec same as before it’s an affordable large MPV lor..

• wak renggol on Mar 06, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Better bu New Improve Stavic than Driving
    an old Ferrari with Long-term Season wife…
    Stavic Is Numero Uno!!

• toyota mpv look better ?yah ,i agree 99
    but do u knw how is it look like before cleaning , painting , servicing …
    although tis car design really nt good @ looking but at least u r buying a new car and not a recond car.
    300k buy old car n normal looking better i choose range rover evoque.

• What is the price in Malaysia otr

• sorry i mean new Stavic Turismo on the road Price.
    Thanks

• humptydumpty on Jun 26, 2013 at 11:59 am

RM118K

• kimi rekoneng on Jul 06, 2013 at 8:24 pm

This is mpv or mini bus? Rapid kl mau ka?

• Rickson Chia on Aug 09, 2013 at 9:01 am

Tis car is just an ordinary mpv
    It may have good fuel consumption, but it may seem lagging with a small engine.

• daffi on Oct 18, 2013 at 11:53 pm

i bought this car recently.it is economical. managed to clocked 751km for 70liters of diesel at average speed of 120km/hr….meaning around 18 sens per km.it is very spacious and powerful. to be honest if you guys searching for affordable mpv with large spaces don’t forget to try this behemoth…it’s fun to drive. but remember always watch your back!!!(this vehicle is longer than we commonly drives on)unless you’re professional bus or lorry driver :)

• Was laughing reading those ortodox comments. R U the user of this SS Stavic? I bought one last year due to one main reason..space! and well package with the superb realibility and power. And the best price in the market with some more-green engine. Driving KL-Cameron-Taiping-Penang fr four days with full tank and reach KL with still quater tank…amazing. Do u know they are using Mercedes engine with Daimler-Chrysler gear box? Superb combination. Ugly look? You r driving the car and what the hell about look when u cannot see while diving? Japanese engine..some more claim better than germans? hahahahaha Gila ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0