Ford Kuga – order books open, est price RM168k

ford kuga 01

Ford has announced that the order books have opened for the Ford Kuga, and in addition to that has also released an estimated RM168,000 price tag for the SUV, which is expected to make its Malaysian market debut sometime in June.

The announcement of the pricing doesn’t veer away from that suggested by an earlier ad on oto.my, which had it at RM163k to RM168k. This is for the only variant that will be arriving, a 1.6 litre EcoBoost Titanium version. The 180 PS and 240 Nm turbocharged lump will be paired to a six-speed SelectShift automatic transmission featuring revised gear ratios and a new torque converter.

ford kuga 02

Word is that while the arriving vehicle, while tagged as a Titanium level offering, will also incorporate some Trend level kit in a dedicated mix for the Malaysian market. What’s sure to be on are the segment-first hands-free tailgate, in which simply sweeping a foot under the rear bumper allows the opening or closing of the rear tailgate automatically, as well as Torque Vectoring Control.

Also on the kit list are seven airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESP) with ABS, Trailer Sway Control and Hill Start Assist, Brake Assist and rear parking sensors. Four exterior colours will be available, these being Frozen White, Moondust Silver, Panther Black and Ginger Ale.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• WooGoo on May 10, 2013 at 8:51 pm

This should be the best mid range SUV todate….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 16
    • Cx-5 is still the better choice. A proper drivers car. And also rv is better than ford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 96
      • frenzyaustin on May 11, 2013 at 1:42 pm

I thought Ford and Mazda are like cousin? From what I check on wikipedia, Kuga based on Ford C-1 platform, which used on Ford Focus C-Max since 2003 (10 years old platform) and also 2004 Mazda 3, 2006 Mazda 6, several Volvo (Wow! Means Volvo is a leather wrapped Mazda/Ford?) and Japan only Mazda Biante. On the other hand, CX-5 is a totally new platform developed by Mazda and named like it’s engine, SKYACTIV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • AlexK on May 12, 2013 at 6:04 pm

The old Kuga was based on the C1 platform. The current Kuga/Escape is based on the Global C platform. =)

• Both r low rv but both r good looking and excellent design! forget about d rv… style,performance and handling first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • thumps up!!! another quality product by ford!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • akula on May 10, 2013 at 9:09 pm

hmmmm…still no blue colour?
    AHHHHH…I hate FORD MALAYSIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Gynecologist on May 11, 2013 at 1:25 pm

There wont be a blue color anymore. Its either green, red, light blue or black.

• akula on May 11, 2013 at 8:13 pm

this Kuga or Escape (in U.S) got blue colour la..the colour called Deep Impact Blue..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SKXHlmT61QA

• I never seen it live, or sat in it, and I have no idea why it score terribly(6/10) when Top Gear UK compared it with the CX-5.

Anyhow, I’ll be a Ford salesman for a day and say that if specs speaks for themselves, this is an almost ideal SUV. Yes, it has 6-speed Auto instead of Dual-clutch of Focus or Fiesta, but after the DSG fiasco, and some people complaining about Ford’s Dual-shift, I am going to say this is a more reliable choice, it’s still six-speed. Awesome Safety specs aside, you get what I really want in a car, Torque Vectoring Control! and also kick-open tailgate. And all for RM160+K, all while still looking good without the new ‘Aston’ grill which I personally dislike in newer Fords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • neutral on May 10, 2013 at 10:28 pm

i drive fiesta and so far dual shift has been good…almost 30k mileage and 2 and half years no problem at all….sometimes depends on luck. If unlucky get a lemon, lucky your car will serve you well for many years. Top Gear is very much a driver focused magazine with a lot of emphasis on good handling and driving. For a driver’s car, from reviews the CX-5 is the better car. New Kuga lost a bit of the driving factor that made the previous version the SUV of choice for keen drivers

• frenzyaustin on May 10, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Ford Fiesta dual clutch perform bad is slow traffic actually. Between 20-30 km/h, it always can’t decide between gear and it’s quite a terrible experience, except that, it’s a excellent little car.

• 30k mieledge and 2 1/2 years? not what I call heavy driving. But yeah, like u said, If unlucky get a lemon, lucky your car will serve you well for many years.

• neutral on May 11, 2013 at 12:20 pm

yeap not hard driving at all until recently…as my mum was using the car previously then handed it over to me for uni for the past year…actually i feel fiesta prefers slightly harder driving as other people have mentioned sometimes in slow traffic and at slow speeds the gearbox is slow to respond.

• I experince that be4,go to ford service center and call them to help u update ur PCM and Tcm ,it feels better after that

• joker on May 10, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Top Gear show is a joke…why so serious ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
    • PauKaya on May 10, 2013 at 10:42 pm

in fact, i actually think the first version looked better and some people said it was made better when it was europe only. still, this car is probably the top two suv’s you can buy for this price in malaysia. makes the crv look stupid in comparison. wonder where the kuga is made though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • frenzyaustin on May 11, 2013 at 1:45 pm

Europe actually, just American brand. And renamed as Ford Escape in U.S. ANd actually, those who wanted German car so badly, Ford Fiesta is way to go. Designed and engineered in German, priced like a people car.

• Forza on May 11, 2013 at 8:32 am

Yes is a turbocharged but at 1.6 for this size, you will never have a smooth drive. 2.0 Turbo for this car will be great. Ford, your parts are still extremely expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • farysa chan on May 10, 2013 at 9:31 pm

This is going to be crv killer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
    • Forza on May 11, 2013 at 8:39 am

It will not be a CRV killer, unfortunately. CRV is a crap car for that price with the same old single cam engine and 5 speed but Malaysians especially aunties will still buy this car. If you tell those aunties CX-5 or Kuga, they will ask you if these are sports shoes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 56
      • frenzyaustin on May 11, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Honda CR-V = For old age like 50 years old plus
        CX-5/Kuga = Young successful people, usually man for SUV
        Different market, but serve well for each other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • NihonJidosha on May 11, 2013 at 1:27 pm

And honestly, CR-V isn’t bad looking actually, especially the front, I kinda like it. Side profile is kinda good looking also. Problem is it’s not a driver’s car, it just a “car”, four wheels, carry passenger, practical… and most important is, it’s cost much lower than it’s competitor. I find no reason to love this car but I also find no reason to hate this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • I agree on your comment and Frenzyaustin’s comments. The CRV is just another reliable, trustworthy SUV ,and thats about it. I was in a cafe looking at a parked new CRV and I really do like the more aggressive front, it has lost the Aunty look of the 2nd & 3rd gen and at least attempt to returned to the 1st gen sportiness with all the black cladding around it. It has somewhat succeeded in the front but rear……oh dear. But inside, It’s easier, simpler layout of the dash and more spacious interior (compared with the CX-5 & I think, the Kuga) appeal to the older generation more? It also has the family friendly rear-aircond vents and one-pull rear seat fold.

Its not all a crap car, its just mainstream. it still has its strength even against this and the CX-5. Sad thing is this is Paultan comment section, and praise for any Honda and Toyota is a major social No-no, espacially in a Its competitors article. Either focus on their negatives or get bombarded by dislike.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • Zend3r on May 11, 2013 at 7:47 pm

honestly, the moment u said CRV isn’t bad looking i just stop reading at ur comments and dislike it

no offence bro. but how can some1 thinks CRV actually looks good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
          • Look from the front, replace Honda badge with something preferably Korean or Continental, there!, that’s better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
          • Hmm.. how about no AVH. It still looks like piece of sheet. I know your taste bud is much better than this, you don’t need to defend that ugly piece of sheet. Drive train wise is reliable but design is averaged Japanese standard, which is ugly.

• To me does the CRV looks great?, no, does it look awful? No. It’s just that, a decent SUV. It looks like a grown-up matured Kia Sportedge and that car dosent get shunned from its looks. I won’t say my taste bud is good but is personal; I like the 2013 Lexus IS( in non F-sport) while a huge majority of web comentors don’t. And I dislike the huge smilley face of the 408/308 and the Sonata while many adores it. To me Honda improved the CRV in the front from the previous model, and I absolutely dislike the front design of the previous model. But I’ll agree on the rear, its hideous.

• PauKaya on May 11, 2013 at 3:10 pm

notice the rather high dislike for anything regarding honda? heheheh

• kentji on May 11, 2013 at 4:28 pm

indeed, aunties only know crv and harrier when they talk about suv

• gavin on May 10, 2013 at 10:16 pm

nice car if you ignore the reports of much poorer fc than really claimed

• horsepower on May 10, 2013 at 10:32 pm

paultan, please convert the ps to hp as a standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • PauKaya on May 10, 2013 at 10:43 pm

since when is malaysia a country that uses the imperial measurement system =.=?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 11, 2013 at 12:15 am

horsepower,

As a rule, we tend to use the imperial measurement for mechanical horsepower, but sometimes utilise the metric equivalent Pferdestarke (PS), making sure that there is the correct numerical unit for a measurement (180 PS, or 178 hp); the identical French/Italian CV rating of chevaux vapeur or cavalli vapore I tend to change to hp outright.

If we want to be unified about it, we should be using kW to describe power output, since virtually everyone uses the SI derived newton unit instead of the imperial pound-foot (lb-ft). But we don’t, presumably because it doesn’t have quite the same effect in kilowatts (my Kuga has 132 kW isn’t as impressive as 180 PS), but also because we are very much a mixed measurement system nation.

Younger readers will be able to visualise the height of 1.76 metres better than 5ft 8in, which is what older Malaysians are more comfortable with. We use kg, metres, km/h, even Celsius, but sometimes, imperial has its moments – “she has a 38-inch chest” sounding far more impressive than “a 96.5 cm chest.” And bragging rights are surely better scoped visually with an 8-incher than a 20 cm pole, yes? :)

So, hp sometimes, PS others, but we’ll be sure to make the numbers add up correctly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
      • CARtoon on May 11, 2013 at 7:19 am

lets take a vote. who’s familiar with. bhp, ps or kw

• Kalun on May 11, 2013 at 8:46 am

I prefer PS than kW or Horsepower.
        kW is not globally known yet. PS is commonly use in Malaysia. Convert from PS to hp is easy by adding 2 to PS.
        But there is various type of hp that may confuse everyone.

• sudonano on May 11, 2013 at 10:52 am

I think I saw what you did there in the 3rd paragraph.

But yea, I still prefer hp over PS. Just too used to seeing hp for some reason.

• I think you should just add an extra rating of how many Myvis. Like this is 1.5 units of Myvi for power and 2 units of Myvi torque.. LOL..

But you can’t please everyone, just stick to what you like to put there.

• tan sari on May 10, 2013 at 10:35 pm

price below 160k will be great for this sexy suv

• unforgiven on May 10, 2013 at 10:53 pm

What is 170k for umn ppl? Usd 170k also no problem at all, berry cheap, or very

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Tik Tok on May 11, 2013 at 2:18 am

What is the price for the booking fee?

• BlackBJQ on May 11, 2013 at 9:51 am

I would prefer Subaru XV rather than this. Price cheaper, AWD and 2.0 CVT.. yes, i might have the turbocharger on this Kuga.. but, no replacement for displacement! hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • AKULA on May 11, 2013 at 10:46 am

Please look at the horsepower and torque first!!!

• BlackBJQ on May 11, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Agree with u on torque..torque is more important living in urban area.. but to mind u, horsepower isn’t ‘everything’

• Tok Tik on May 11, 2013 at 11:09 am

Isnt XV a crossover? the boot space is just plain bad… really liked the design of the XV. wasted the interior and boot space is such a letdown.

• neutral on May 11, 2013 at 12:21 pm

actually XV is nice…but the interior is too bare

• matrxe on May 11, 2013 at 10:26 am

Very nice SUV indeed. But i don’t see how ford is going to move this with that price tag. I hardly see any ford focus on the road and that is good car compare to lets say, civic. On the plus side, ppl in the market for 2nd hand ford will get decent bargain.

• SisGaga on May 11, 2013 at 11:10 am

is this a 5 or 7 seaters SUV?

• frozen white like bmw’s matte frozen paint finishes?

• Illya on May 11, 2013 at 1:31 pm

no new car sales=no 2nd hand car for sale=no spare part availability=no foreman familiarity=no RV?

• no reverse camera….?

• although this car looks fantastic for the money, one thing im worried, is how close the gear lever is towards the air con knobs and buttons, maybe the photo makes it look close, i’ll have to wait till i see one in real life.

• AlexK on May 12, 2013 at 6:18 pm

Well, we have booked both the 2.4 CR-V and Kuga. CR-V in white and Kuga in Ginger Ale. We’re not going to take both, just either one of them. We currently have a 2007 CR-V (first batch of 3rd-gen RE CR-Vs), and we’re looking at something to compliment it. We like the CR-V because well frankly, it is reliable, and the car itself is huge; lots of bootspace.

However, we were looking at other options also, such as the 3008 and Evoque. Ruled out the Evoque was a little bit too expensive and the size won’t fit us. The 3008 is a nice car, but the car is a little small and there would be an upcoming facelift. Decided to look at the Kuga instead. We like the Kuga because of the features, and the turbocharged engine. The only and I mean only letdown is that the car only has a 406litre boot vs. the CR-V’s 589litre boot. So when both cars are launched (2.4 CR-V and Kuga), we’ll make a decision as to which one to go for.

Cheers!

P.S. when I mentioned we, it is my parents, my two brothers and myself.

• Lenny on May 12, 2013 at 8:03 pm

It’s a great looking SUV and best in term of features given no doubt at all..but still I gonna buy something from Toyota and Honda coz that the way of Malaysian automotive taste that I bound to obey..

• Lenny on May 13, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Beside, 1.6 is too small for SUV doesn’t matter what hyped is claimed to have..it should be at least 2.0

• Dr Mamak on May 12, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Recent ford car body all got lots of hideous big small holes. Best wait for CRV 2.4

• I think this car is not going to make big sales, given the price.If Ford Malaysia can make it less than 150k, then I think it’s value buy.my 2cents

• valjean on May 13, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Rm168K is too much for a brand that is trying to make a comeback especially in the SUV segment. Come on SIME, you can do better. Like it or not, it got be priced below CRV.

• sub_zero on May 16, 2013 at 8:47 pm

nobody realize that the kuga has almost similar look to proton upcoming suv LOL

• human on May 19, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Some ppl like it practical and simple, some ppl like the techs stuff been throw in, some ppl like sporty design, some people need space..some ppl looking at maintenance issue and spare part,some ppl just buy because they got money ..so there is no aunty car, no youngster+professional car, no uncle cars therefore…stop this stupid jokes!

• Deera on Jun 07, 2013 at 6:42 pm

I just had Kuga test drive… Not bad but when climbing on hilly road… A bit under power at slow speed, say below 60km/hr…. Accessories excellent , only no front sensor n gps if compared with cx5, Test drive CX5 too… I dunno now which one to choose… Btw cx5 2 yrs or 60k km free service ie zero cost… Ford 3yrs or 60k km , also zero cost… Oppps ford kuga can open boot no need use hand n back seat can decline like front seat… Not sure cx5 have this for back seat..,