Ford Kuga webpage goes online, oto.my ad pops up

ford kuga website

More news about the upcoming Ford Kuga, which is set to make its local market debut sometime in June. A new webpage has opened up on the the Ford Malaysia website for the SUV, which will arrive in 1.6 litre EcoBoost form. Not much in the way of specs as yet, rather teaser elements are to be found.

The Kuga’s turbo mill will offer 180 PS and 240 Nm, mated to a six-speed SelectShift automatic transmission which has revised gear ratios and a new torque converter for improved driving feel and smoother shifts.

The sole trim variant we’ll be getting will be the Titanium, but this one will mix elements of the Trend line as found in some overseas markets. Plenty of tech on call as standard fare, from a segment-first hands-free tailgate, in which simply sweeping a foot under the rear bumper allows the opening or closing of the rear tailgate automatically, Torque Vectoring Control and AdvanceTrac with Roll Stability Control & Curve Control, among others.

Meanwhile, following the first one seen last month, another ad has appeared on our sister site, oto.my, touting the Kuga, with pricing anticipated to be in region of RM165,000 to RM168,000. Four colours are listed, these being Frozen White, Moondust Silver, Panther Black and Ginger Ale, which happens to be the colour of the example in the photos.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Great looks [absence of that Aston Martin grill FTW!] ,awesome specs [Torque-vectoring!] and if true, Exceptional pricing. Puts all other brand’s SUV in sweat mode.

• Jimmy on Apr 23, 2013 at 12:16 am

Maybe Ford Malaysia should try a more competitive pricing to enlarge their market share and to establish their brand. A good aftersales service will of course give customers more confidence.
      Ford Malaysia, CRV is only RM120k only, think about it.
      Like the anti-roll and iActivesense.
      GLA is still the best, for compact SUV, innovative. Waiting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • first_car on Apr 23, 2013 at 8:16 am

hi there, is CRV really RM120K? how is it possible?

• Abg Long on Apr 23, 2013 at 9:34 am

the new CRV is RM148,800 OTR

• jimmy- comparing the Ford kuga to the Honda crv-its not apple to apple, rather its apple (kuga) to grape(CRv). Hence the pricing is not the dominant issue but the specs list.

• Former Ford Owner on Apr 23, 2013 at 9:11 am

Only buy Ford if you are very rich and have lots of money. You must be at a level of actually being able to own a BMW or a Mercedes. I am a Fod Focus owner and I can confirm one thing, parts are super expensive. When I say super, I mean super. It is as expensive as BMW. So, don’t be fooled by the cheap price of the car.

Secondly, the car always and everytime got gearbox failure. It is the same dual clutch issue as the VW DSG cars. Your car will just stall in the middle of the highway because the gearbox has failed. Bear this in mind.

Though Ford gives 5 years warranty, don’t get too excited. Unless you have spare cars, be prepared for your car to sit in the service centre for 3 to 4 months. There is no such thing as 1 day wait even for small issues. People wait sometimes 3 to 4 months for even the smallest things, what more when the problem is big.

I say again, Ford cars are very beautiful to drive and really has that continental feel but unless you are very rich and have lots of time to entertain breakdowns and stinking after sales service, please choose another brand.

Another issue about Ford is that they are King of Falling RV. I bought my 2010 Ford Focus for about RM110,000. I just sold it last year for RM40,000. So, you Ford Kuga will be like the Ford Escape, buy it for RM168,000, in one year’s time, be prepared to sell it for RM90,000. It may sound impossible but with Ford, that is the reality.

Ford will capitalise on the high sales of the Fiesta telling people that Ford has returned to the market with a storm and all that, but please don’t believe it. People bought the Fiesta in drones because it was cheap. Today, nearly all are crying realising super high parts prices, constant breakdowns, bad after sales service with constant lies, and a RV that falls like durian falling from a tree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 18
      • Bro, you kena con lar. Im a Ranger owner and a Focus owner, rm40k for a 2010 focus, kena con kaw kaw.

I been to subaru, ford and VW, all gave me RM55-RM58k trade in value for my 09 focus. If i try to sell myself, im confident of getting at least 66-68k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
        • _xXx_ on Apr 23, 2013 at 11:28 am

u believe what he said? He plucked all his figures from the air…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • AKULA on Apr 23, 2013 at 11:39 am

Dia bukan kena con. But, he is Toyota or Honda SALESMAN!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • waters on Apr 23, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Agree. I’ve got an 09 Focus. Was offered around 55k trade in. 40K? You got scammed!

• So Many Ford Salesman on Apr 23, 2013 at 5:11 pm

aiseh, so many Ford Salesman here who are cybertroopers. Go to Mudah and check. You can get a 2009 Focus for about RM50,000. That also you know it is car trader. So, his margin must be about Rm5k. In other words, he must have offered the owner about 45k or 40k. Oh btw, Escape or Kuga will jatuh more than a Focus.
            Ford salesman all so worried cause everybody knows that after sales service teruk gila. You know, side mirror also take 3 months dei. I am a focus owner. I got 1st hand experience. And to replace and repair, it cost RM$3000. Just for a side mirror? All Ford owners, the motorbike who hantam your mirror can cause you your monthly pay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • former ford owner-i think you kena klentong. I sold my 2007 Ford Focus at Rm 40k + this year. Parts are easy to look as there are many shops selling Ford parts post-warranty.
        I would recommend the car who appreciates ‘driving’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • golf for life on Apr 23, 2013 at 12:50 pm

I was waiting for this kuga but after reading your story, I feel sorry for you but will consider getting X3 then…

• CMarkWan on Apr 23, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Ford Focus MK1 still the best..

• Former Ford Owner is a big liar. 2010 Focus is not using Dual Clutch Gearbox. It’s the normal power shift transmission with torque converter, and is an extremely robust transmission. Just because there was an add (if there truly are) 2010 focus with rm40k price tag, doesn’t mean it’s a true value of the car. How do I know this ? … because I’m a happy ford focus 2.0s 2011, wvu6766 as well as a ford fiesta 1.6s 2011 wvu6161. Another proof that his a big liar, 2010 focus doesn’t come with 5 years warranty. Only 3 years. Asks your self have you ever seen any focus or fiesta breaking down. If there are, quite rarely, isn’t it. Be honest to your self. Parts super expensive, subjective. If you’re used to own a kancil, probably, I would say average for a continental car. Ford owners are not the same lot of people similar to those toyota & Honda owners. They have different priorities in mind.

• RV Analyser on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:12 am

My company use a fleet of Ford Focus by Hertz Rental and I can confirm with you, Ford Focus use dual clutch and are problematic to the max. Always kaput. This is direct from the mouth of the Rental company. And they base it on the hundreds of Ford Focus they maintain monthly. So what you talking about? If you are upset that your 2011 Ford Focus can only fetch RM60k, please don’t disillussion other potential buyers.

• You are really making a clown out of your self about this Dual clutch versus Powershift Gearboxes in mark ii F ocus.. emmm, why don’t you just continue your RV analysis quietly. You do have a target group. THE POOR … and besides, your good friend Sam Loo will be very happy to sell more dugongs base on your analysis

• exactly. 2010-2011 Focus is normal auto gearbox with 3 years warranty, this troll doesnt even know his facts, want to just shoot ford.

Sent my focus in today for the free 60k km service, oil, wipers,sparkplugs,battery,brakepads, all will be changed FOC today.

• Mutalib on Apr 24, 2013 at 1:55 pm

I am a used car salesman and the RV of Ford stinks. Even for us to take the car also pening kepala as it is impossible to re-sell the car. Everybody knows that the after sales service also stink and people really don’t want to wait 3 months for their car to be fixed. Ford has a really bad reputation in Malaysia for overcharging and bungling things up in their service.

• i saw this in other country and it looks really awesome, fresh design and now pair with ecoboost….the final price kinda competitive to fight the sushi and kimchi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • tan sari on Apr 22, 2013 at 11:03 pm

looks good n good spec but if over 160k, I think it is overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Petra on Apr 22, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Bro every car model that comes to malaysia is overpriced… But people still buy…vios n city which is also over priced but arent they best selling non malaysian car brand…u either take it or leave it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Been driving this SUV here for a week in US. Quite well spec and drives ok. Good trunk space. Interior space ok. If hav a choice, get the 2.0 ecob. 1.6 will fit just nice for average user. Good value for $ about 25k Usd. Not sure if its better then cx5 since its in the same price range back in Malaysia.

• Concerned on Apr 23, 2013 at 8:58 am

All these turbo charged cars are not suitable to our climate. Overheating is another issue. NA engines are still the best to have. Forget about those double clutch gearbox which are equally unreliable. peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • Concerned on Apr 23, 2013 at 9:00 am

Look at CFE engine. Constant updating of softwares. This spoilt that spoilt. Sensors problem. Jerkiness of the CVT gearbox. Oh man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Other countries like UK and US would get this with the Powershift but we are getting them with Selectshift? Reviews with the Powershift were not as good huh?

• Derrick C on Apr 23, 2013 at 9:58 am

June? I thought May….

• AKULA on Apr 23, 2013 at 11:41 am

FORD MALAYSIA…please bring in BLUE COLOUR la…PLEASEEEEEE!!!!!

• Henry on Apr 23, 2013 at 12:53 pm

SelectShift with torque converter? So it means no Powershift (DSG) in this model.

• Hi Former Ford Owner,
    About your 2010 Focus sold for RM40K, it is very interesting because i never find that level of pricing for 09/10 model. Either you are telling the actual fact or you had other personal agenda on Ford branding

• Ray Junior on Apr 23, 2013 at 10:54 pm

I’m thinking to get Subaru XV 2.0i, anybody has any experience with Motor Image after sales service.

• _xXx_ on Apr 24, 2013 at 9:17 am

I don’t buy car from from dealers selling cars in haunted showroom…

• BawaKereta on Apr 23, 2013 at 10:55 pm

I’m Ford owner . Been using Ford Lynx RS since 2005. No gear box problem untill now. only minor wear and tear problem after 8 years using it. need to change lower arm and suspension. my electric window also got problem other than that need to service aircond lah. The engine working perfectly. The biggest problem. I need to wait for the spare part 3 month and I need to send to Kuantan as the Ford mechanic in Kuala Terengganu not that very expert. All in all it is a reliable car.

• My 2010 ford fiesta broke down on Penang bridge last Sept. Ford took 5 days to replace TCM (estimated about MYR 4k+). All FOC. Ok lar… I hope the TCM will stay healthy after warranty period. Finger crossed.