If you’re interested in attending a public forum where you can ask questions and engage in discussions about things pertaining to the local auto industry, then the upcoming #MyAutoIndustry Talks is where you’ll want to be.
The forum, organised by the Malaysia Automotive Institute (MAI), will take place on July 23, from 4.30 pm to 8.30 pm at the Renaissance Hotel in Kuala Lumpur. A selection of the most popular issues will be discussed at the forum, and panelists will include MAI CEO Madani Sahari, MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad, Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid and Mercedes-Benz Malaysia CEO Roland Folger.
Entrance to it is free, and there’s the chance to indulge in an awesome Renaissance Ramadan buffet at the end of proceedings, but in order to get in, you do need to be picked, and there’s a small process to be in the consideration for that. It’s simple enough, actually.
All you need to do is take a photo of you and your car (or your dream car), go on Facebook, upload the pix, write a caption about what you would like your auto industry to be like, tag #MyAutoIndustry and @AutoMalaysia to submit your entry, and check the submissions page in a few hours to see if your name is added to the list.
Submission is the only way to get in – the MAI will select forum attendees only through this means. If you want in, you’ll have to be quick about it, because the deadline for submissions is tomorrow night (July 16). Find out more on MAI’s Facebook page.
Keyboard warriors! The day has come, to unleash all that’s cubed up within us on all matters Malaysian automotive, to show that we too can be a influential , to be the voice on for all Malaysian car owners. URA!!!!
In other words, good luck if u r thinking of giving a try to join. I am not up to it.
Dude, you can be our troops Leader.
I will surely vote you as The Chairman .
Charged and revolutionize the Malaysia automotive scene ;-)
MAI is a waste of time. It is an organisation promoting cronyism and the hand outs of APs. Nothing more and nothing else. MAI should be aggressively informing the government that the AP system only enriches about 30 or 40 bumiputera cronies whilst over 15 million bumiputeras in Malaysia suffer paying high car loans and sacrifising better food and clothing for their own children due to half their salary going to pay for the cars. I won’t be surpised if the panelist in this forum all have some relative or proxy receiving free AP handouts too. Dig deeper and you will see some kakak ipar or abang ipar or nenek of the forum members receiving hundreds of free AP. One free AP alone makes few hundred thousand clean profit when a luxury car like ALphard is sold.
MAI stop dancing to the tune of the government and do something for the rakyat. Your own bumi people are suffering paying high car loans. And these people are not buying luxury cars but mere Proton and Peroduas. Some even suffer to pay even RM500 a month. Not everyone is a an executive. You think the mak cik nasi lemak that sells nasi lemak bungkus can afford to pay for her van which she sells nasi lemak from?
MAI is a joke. It should be renamed MAICAPH for Malaysian Automotive Institute for Crony AP Holders.
This is very true. The AP system was born because the gomen wanted to encourage Bumiputera participation in the car industry. But it is an open secret that 90% of Bumiputera AP recipients sell their APs to the Chinaman the very second they receive it. Go to any importer of cars and you will hardly see any Bumiputera running the show. Yes, the Bumiputera AP Datuk will be co-owner of the company and a member of Pekema but every single employee of the the showroom and worksyop is a non Bumiputera. So, where is the logic and spirit of the whole AP system the government created?
This, MAI is keeping quiet like a mouse. Why? Pekema also now lobbying for until 2020 for them to have the AP permits. It seems gomen is scared of Pekema members or Pekema members are the gomen.
Pussy….
ehm…..tomorrow is June 16?
LOL. Too much of living in the past, that’s what it does to you. Changed. Thanks for being ze eagle-eyed.
what for? minister edi said janji ditepati, car price edi reduced with launch of saga sv and utusan report, proton is cheaper than honda in thailand, syukurlah.
waste time only, sure go there only to be brainwashed car price is cheap (ap king club chairman’s word), if reduce more, country will bankrupt, pakatan gila kuasa, blabla.
So basher(proton,myvi,korean,dugong and prevee>all etc etc) going to have a field day in this real world forum or just talk cock here oni?
What I’d like the auto industry to be:
All imported premium cars will be much cheaper so that more people can afford to own better quality and safer cars. We can no longer allow low quality and unsafe cars on our roads especially on highways. Of course safety depends on the drivers and other road users but at least less fatalities and serious injuries if the cars have high standard safety features!
Well, yes, but the Preve CFE is a reasonably safe car. So is the Prius C. All Fiesta except for Fiesta S, best pick probably the LX. The Kia Rio, Peugeot 208. Jazz Hybrid CBU.
All cars below 100k. People are still buying the less safe models from Perodua, Toyota and Honda instead. Even when Toyota offers something good and safe, people won’t buy. So you also have to blame the people who put safety last. Making cars cheaper wouldn’t change that.
Why don’t all of us here in Paultan to register and go to the forum first. Keyboard warrior or the silence majority, just be there to listen and ask questions before downplaying their effort in engaging us, the public. Here’s our chance!
Yes I want cheaper & better quality cars too.
Will sam loo be there ? i am sure everyone will be there to cheer him when he shout “No resale value”
Aiyooo. The panels are so not interesting. They are there to explain and ‘protect’ themselves rather then how to improve automotive industry and return the favor to the society as their social obligation such as better priced, etc.
Actually, the panel speakers lineup is an interesting combination. They put Dato’ Aishah (the MAA president) to represent the manufacturers/dealers which is industry player POV, Madani from MAI to represent the government & its plans and few other industry leaders representing mass market & luxury products (Perodua & Mercedes).
It is a known fact that MAA doesn’t agree on most of the plans that MAI want to do. For example, the reduction of car prices by 20-30% within the next 4 years, MAI said it can be done, MAA said it’s rubbish. Another one is MAI said can produce 1m vehicle by 2020, MAA said too optimistic.
It would be interesting to see them on the same floor edging their voices out.
i think must educate for a car safety