General Motors, via its joint venture with SAIC and Wuling in China, will begin exporting a version of the Baojun 630 sedan to North Africa late this year. The car, which sits on the old Buick Excelle platform, will be badged as the Chevrolet Optra in the African region.
GM’s Wuling JV launched the Baojun brand in 2011 to penetrate China’s entry-level market for passenger cars. Its first product, the 630 sedan, has been designed to attract young drivers in the country’s second- and third-tier cities, primarily the middle-class crowd in its vast interior.
Baojun, which means “treasured horse”, also sells the Le Chi minicar, a localised version of the previous-gen Chevrolet Spark. An MPV and a hatchback will be added to the Baojun range next year.
Unlike many local Chinese brands, Baojun is growing. For the first nine months of 2013, Baojun sales in China rose nearly 28% to 69,187 units. The JV already exports the Wuling Rong Guang minivan and the Hong Guang MPV to various markets, and this new 630/Chevy Optra deal will further boost figures.
Even in Africa, I hear Toyota RV is the best. Infact, all safari cars now use Toyota Prado and no more Land Rover. Even safari lion scared to jump on Prado. Toyota is the best in the world!
This BaoJun 630 is selling from RM31,500 to RM48,000 in China, which it costs pretty much the same as a Proton Saga here.. But the Chinese are getting more out from their bucks ><
just look at their market size maa…
Di China, berapa peratus dari harga kereta kita boleh buat pinjaman bank?
Another fake fella
Stop arguing yourself, Mr. RV.
and I thought the Almera is one of the ugliest cars out there.
Look better than the new C class.
Go create your own blog and praise your toyota all you want……
So sorry to Sam. Been saying bad things to him all this while.
When realised that no used car dealer even wants to accept my 14 month old Elantra, realised that Sam was accepting it for 50% if its within a year.
Rats, Sam is indeed a respectable used car dealer then. At least don’t have to leave the car at the yard and hope for the best
I am the real Sam Loo. So far I have never offered anyone for their Elantra. So, its obvious, you are lying. You are probably a frustrated man who wanted an Elantra but could not afford an Elantra. And in your frustration, you come here spreading lies and using my name. Go and work hard, and you will soon be able to afford better cars and not be jealous of other people’s nice looking cars.
It’s pretty rare to find Sam Loo’s comment without mentioning Toyota, RV & Hilux.
SamLoo RV at facebook….what an uncle look fellow and really looks like a what he said the kimchi low RV face like what he is
Beautiful car, pls bring it here!
a young brand like this compares to our historical brand proton…sad…
Yes young but own n backed by 100 yrs old company