Nissan Almera facelift with V-Motion face rendered

Almera_Silver_front

The Nissan Almera has started getting its mid-life update in regions where it is sold around the world, with the first ASEAN country to get it being Thailand in January this year.

The facelift is more of an evolution of the ‘kamishimo’ trapezoidal face that Nissan was employing on its cars when the Almera made its debut, with bigger headlamps and more chrome on the front grille. This face has since been superseded by the new V-motion grille. In fact, the Pulsar hatchback start off with the kamishimo face and got updated to the V-motion face for its European debut.

So we had this idea – what if Nissan had gone the V-motion route for the Almera facelift instead? Malaysian rendering whiz Theophilus Chin whipped up these renderings for us showing how a Nissan Almera could look like with if it was given a major facelift. Do you think it’s better than the real facelift?

Almera_Silver_side

What you can do in a facelift is quite limited, especially on a relatively low-margin B-segment car, so most of the body shape has been retained to keep the rendering’s prospects as a ‘facelift’ realistic.

The Almera was responsible for Nissan Malaysia distributor Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s sales to skyrocket from 28,318 units in 2012 to 45,780 units in 2013. The Almera revolutionised the B-segment market in Malaysia with a low automatic transmission entry price of under RM70k.

But the Almera’s competitors came fighting back with a vengeance – both the Toyota Vios and Honda City received new models and Almera sales dipped across the region in the first half of this year. Australia even decided to drop it from the country’s line-up.

Almera_Silver_rear

You can see that there seems to be stark differences in how the B-segment sedan market is carved up now – on one hand, you have cars like the Vios and the City who seem to have moved so well up the value chain that they are now bigger and more premium, with more equipment than ever before, rendering C-segment cars irrelevant to most buyers.

On the other hand, you have cars like the Nissan Almera and Mitsubishi Attrage which seem to have been planned around the Thai eco car program with 1.2 litre engines, thus end up being noticeably more low rent. Other car companies like Honda didn’t participate in the program with their sedans, instead choosing to field new models like the Honda Brio.

The Almera of course remains the most affordable 1.5 litre B-segment sedan at RM 69,827.00 – the Attrage undercuts it by offering a 1.2 litre sedan for RM 67,978.50. The most affordable automatic variants of the City and Vios are priced at RM 73,626.00 and RM 75,087.50 respectively. You can compare the mentioned entry-level B-segment sedans at CarBase.my.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Oh wow, the ugliness! it has disappeared! Hooray for our eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 14
    • Gargantia on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:26 pm

True, this look much nicer but too bad still got big But.
      Hope the interior will be update.

Nissan good job on facelift this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • Gargantia on Sep 09, 2014 at 11:31 pm

While hope it will be true.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Ugly or not, it is subjective to personal preference. Personally, I think it is sexier than the Preve/Suprima S front. The rear looked like shrunk C class.

One point is definitely objective and fact based: this Nissan is definitely more reliable than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:35 pm

pity sam lor
            try to bodek nissan n bash proton
            now tan chong , DRB tag team bash umw

malunya sam lorrr

” Nissan says:
            10/9/2014 at 11:55 am
            Nothing is uglier than Vios rear light design even much hated proton has a better design. I vote the Vios design worst design in century head to head with Proton Juara.”

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Ugly or not, it is subjective… Just like your gf/wife, you may think she is the sexiest lady in the world while we will think “so so only”…

Looks doesn’t matter, build quality does. Pity Proton never have that.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:34 pm

pity sam lor umw salesman
            nak kawan dgn tan chong n bash drb proton

tapi tan chong bash vios umw pulak

hahsha

• The front definitely huge improvement. The backside.. still feel like kena banged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Abu Sayur on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:29 am

still more reliable than a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
        • peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:45 am

yes almera, city more reliable than vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • kenny on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:57 am

This almera copied 80% of the previous two generations of vios. The other 20% that doesn’t look like vious are the nissan logo and backside, which is more ugly that old vios.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Almera, City, Attrage… sushi cars rock!

Proton? The cars sound good in the fanboys’ words, not in reality.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:28 pm

sam loor butthurt

try to friend friend with tan chong n drb

but rakyat smart oredi

umw cant friend with drb n tan chong

• Same L0rrr on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:07 pm

As long as it is kimchi cars, it will have no RV.

As long as it is Proton, it will have no build quality.

No matter I friend with whom, Proton junk build quality still the same.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:53 am

Yaka Abu Sayur? Ah Beng selalu nampak Almera skidding tepi longkang jalan. Almera poor safety and ride & handling..Hahaha

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:36 pm

no matter… drb proton honda, tan chong different class with low class umw

umw vios only comparable with proyon saga flx

hahaha

• Ah Beng (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:52 am

Are they changing the headlamp same like Latio?? The front grill similar like X-Gear..Ah Beng don’t like Latio the design aren’t attractive in Malaysia market..Nissan you can do better than this. Anyway, new buyer will look for Iriz sedan and new Saga if Nissan continue to use backward design..Sigh..

• kzm (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

the render look good but the rear light need to go..

• cosmo on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:55 pm

If the facelift does look like this… Then here we have a good looking car for RM 70k segment… which is big contrast to the pre-facelift Almera…easily the ugliest car in the market along with Panamera… or i called it, ‘vomit-induced’ design… or some say, ‘constipated design’

• Nissan on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:55 am

Nothing is uglier than Vios rear light design even much hated proton has a better design. I vote the Vios design worst design in century head to head with Proton Juara.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

nice said nissan

sam loor malu
        tried to fried with almera.. praise almera bash proton

but tan ching nissan guy bash umw vios

hahahah

sam lor butthurt

• twwwwwwwwww on Sep 09, 2014 at 10:56 pm

looks way better than Nissan sunny facelift India. hope its coming soon to msia :D

• Vader (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 9:13 am

This is rendered by theopilius chin, so there is no change it will come to malaysia.

• The facelift (the one already launched in Thailand) is worse than the pre-facelift Almera. The renderings by Mr Teophilus looks much better in comparison. Seriously, is Nissan trying to shore up sales by making it uglier? If really can’t improve on the looks, how about improving on safety and quality of the interior instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • This is a vast improvement than the previous ugly stuff…

• The main prob of Almera design is the rear and the interior.. Can’t understand why they focus more on the front..

• hakim on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:00 am

the front look much more matured than the last ugly one. but the rear.. oh why.. why they don’t facelift the rear design.. pity. but all over, it is way better now.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:37 am

THIS IS NOT THE REAL FACELIFT. This is only a rendering by Theophilus Chin…READ the article carefully and completely…..this is the problem with majority of our readers…..

• nabill (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:02 am

current one really is hideous…just unflattering…doesnt have any interesting angle
    its like these are the words where u never mention talking about almera,nice,attractive,well propotioned,pretty,muscular,sexy….!

and from a horrible experience few months back , this car CANOT take the hills in Genting , i kid u not , if u dont rev more than 5k rpm u r not going anywhere…hillarious seeing wira’s 1.3 jus passing by….
    only the huge space inside is going for it….

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:05 am

Nice rendering. Thought it was official for a while, up to the point where I started reading. It’ll be a nice change from what’s currently available, make the Almera actually look desirable.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:41 am

good job tan chong
    tan chong tag team with drb honda…. now vios sales getting worst

umw salesman sweating

• HafizJoe Dorifuto on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:09 am

Facelift model dah lama keluar di Thailand…hampir 1 tahun…Malaysia baru nak keluar…come on Nissan Malaysia…Sama macam Honda Civic FB…model di Malaysia masih tak keluar facelift…di Thailand dah lama keluar…

• leonardo on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:23 am

Please improve the butt! It is UGLY. It is not proportionate nor balanced visually. The tires looked skinny fom the back. Change the bumper!

• lewis lee on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:37 am

nice. but interior need to improve .

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:57 am

Proton! Hire this Theopilus guy. And give that man a cookie!

• leonardo on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Ask Paul Tan what it takes to be a real car designer. Being just a Photoshop expert is not good enough, unfortunately. I have yet to see a free hand sketch/ideation from Theopilus.

• Mozilla Chrome on Sep 11, 2014 at 8:47 pm

You have thousand ways of designing car. You can even design using clay. If someone don’t really good at free hand sketching doesn’t mean he/she cannot be a “real” designer. And Photoshop can be considered as a designing tool. Heck even it is not,at least we can see realistic car designs.

• The front of the rendered facelift is not bad. But the rear, still can be improved hahaha

• NissanNotOkMaa on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:06 am

Another name of it the Nissan ALMARI.. (cupboard)
    ugly side profile

• sleman on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:07 am

and we go like “car designer! you had one job!”

• Sam Loo (ori) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:14 am

New B-Segment Sushis will send shakes and shivers up the spine of C & D Segment kimchis

Afterall, 15 month old units of C & D Segment kimchis sell in the used car market for around the same price as a 3 year old sushi B-Segment.

Trading in value is another story altogether

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Motorhead (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:58 am

Nice.. Theo.. you just gave free ideas to Nissan. . I ve tested Almeera. . Honestly. . I like it.. hit 120km with ease. .

Unfortunately. . I can’t accept the current look.. too feminine. ..

• shawal on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:02 pm

vios = dugong
    Almera = beluga whale

• the body ratio is so wrong, no matter how u change the face, it still looks ugly.

• theopilius chin is so talented. Nissan should hire him!!

• asdasdasdasdas on Sep 10, 2014 at 2:09 pm

sad part is that 85% of the readers don’t even bother reading the article, they just look at the pictures and start bashing.

THIS IS Theopilus RENDERING AND NOT EVEN AN OFFICIAL FACELIFT!

Geez you guys, i blame our education system

• pxp154 on Sep 10, 2014 at 1:16 pm

front looks better but the rear OMG almost the same…esp. that ugly tail lights…

• Krasher on Sep 10, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Ugly or not is very subjective to individual.
    However, it satisfied many families with limited budget and provided another option besides national cars.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:38 pm

almera.. good
    city.. good
    preve… good

low class segment
    umw vios
    ptoyon saga

• New Vios E still the best from the rest of its rivals with its legendary VVT-i engine and super-ect gearbox . plus good resale value .

• Car Lover on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Almera was never a cup of tea for me. Besides the design (although with a facelift), still does not capture my attention.

The main reason..safety and handling. Very poor.

• Eason Chan on Nov 05, 2014 at 9:51 pm

some of the above text is misleading. Actually B-segment car is just a small market in australia, unlike malaysia where B-segment car is majority of the cars on the road.This is why Almera stop selling in australia. Australians prefer SUV type vehicles. As a matter of fact, vios and city are both not even sold in australia. Vios market is just limited to asean countries.