New Hyundai Sonata, Genesis, Veloster Turbo coming

hyundai-ad-genesis-veloster-turbo-new-sonata

An ad has revealed that the new Hyundai SonataGenesis and Veloster Turbo are set to enter the Malaysian market soon, although no launch dates – tentative or otherwise – are specified.

After turning up at KLIMS13, a registered Hyundai Veloster Turbo was sighted here early this year. More recently, the second-gen Hyundai Genesis full-sizer was displayed at Nu Sentral and the Hyundai Experience Car Fest 2014, albeit in left-hand drive form.

The seventh-gen LF Sonata is still quite new, having only been unveiled in Korea in March, and we haven’t seen – or heard of – it here yet, so it’s our guess that these three cars will debut in Malaysia in that order.

What about the Elantra facelift? Inokom is already producing the updated car in Kulim, Kedah for export to Thailand – we wonder when our turn will come.

Hyundai Veloster Turbo

Hyundai Genesis 3.8 GDI V6
Hyundai Sonata LF

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• James on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:32 am

Aiyoo, today is bad day for all Toyota salesman. All panic already with Elantra sales so good. Now all don’t know what to do.

Don’t worry Toyota salesman. Don’t worry my brothers. Be clam. Don’t worry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • LOL, U make my day

• Same L0rrr on Nov 03, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Good to hear Hyundai get better sales. Unfortunately Toyota sales is not affected, at least at my showroom. Proton should be crying now instead.

As long as it is kimchi, it will not have RV.
        As long as it is Proton, it will not have build quality.

As long as it is Toyota, it will have both RV and build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • Low Budget on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:53 pm

The right thing for Toyota to counter Hyundai here is to reduce the prices of Toyota, if not on the righ ‘kena’ whack by Honda and on the left ‘kena’ whack by Hyundai.

• Hopefully this year Toyota will lose their crown as non national passenger vehicle leader to Honda. Probably that will make them come to their senses and start giving better specs and safety for all their cars.

• Kelvin on Nov 03, 2014 at 10:16 pm

bottom kena whack by Kia

• Obviously (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:46 am

Oh dayum. The Veloster Turbo. It can finally be as sporty as it looks, aye? The pricing is key to its success but it almost has that market segment all to itself now since its main competitor, the Honda CR-Z, has lost its hybrid tax exemption, which should give the Veloster the edge in pricing…

And it looks like Hyundai has confirmed the entry of its big guns, the new Sonata and Genesis. I do wonder if the Genesis will be able to make a dent in the premium marques’ sales. Call me pessimistic but I have a feeling that it won’t be anything significant. Not sure what to make of the new Sonata except that it looks better than the current Sonata. It seems to have taken some of the design cues from the current Kia Optima. I guess it’ll come down to the pricing and specs.

• Blue-traveler on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:47 am

I don’t know why, the name Toyota Camry, immediately pop up in my mind upon seeing the black car in the promote AD. You have to agreed that it looks allot like the “newly” lunach one. Please don’t flame me, just my humble opinion. Maybe like some bros here have already said, a lot of the new car frontage looks very very similar. Designers have run out of generic ideas…….? Or maybe I see too many Camry in the parking lot everyday…arrrrggggh….

• gonggok on Nov 03, 2014 at 11:52 am

Unless the genesis comes with a tax friendly 2 litre turbo it going to be tough. After all E class and 5 series have small turbos on offer

• sudonano (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Veloster Turbo is long overdue. The Veloster we get is grossly underpowered, with barely any power.

The Sonata is interesting, considering the i40 is currently on sale. It would be interesting to see if Hyundai will bring in the 2.0T instead of the 2.4, cause the figures of that will definitely give the Mondeo a run for the money.

As for the Genesis, sub 230k – 250k price, good specifications, and it will sell.

• Matrix on Nov 03, 2014 at 12:20 pm

3 pieces of junk!
    My city and inspira are much better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
  • Bring in Hyundai Accent la

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 03, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Isnin, 03/11/2014.
    547 days since PRU13. Still no reduction in car price.
    KR1M – Kencing Rakyat 1Malaysia

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 03, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Sonata…pls give back Sorento’s taillights…i repeat pls return them immediately…

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Can’t wait for someone to buy and drive the big mama Genesis on the road…sure will turn heads due to its size…maybe some will think since when Aston Martin got sedan lol.

• 푸루루 on Nov 03, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Aigoo.. Why must Hyundai Malaysia bring all the expensive models to Malaysia?? Bring first laa the murah2 models like new i10, Accent, i20, ix25 to our shore first… And when we gonna get the Elantra FL?? Please laa don’t make Hyundai another expensive brand in Malaysia…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 4:30 pm

veloster turbo with manual or auto