New Hyundai Sonata teased by Hyundai Malaysia

hyundai-sonata-new-teaser-1

Hyundai Malaysia has officially teased the new Hyundai Sonata on its Facebook page, suggesting that we won’t have long to wait now. The seventh-gen LF sedan was recently peeking under the covers at a roadshow held in KSL City Mall, Johor Bahru.

Our pictures from the roadshow reveal projector headlamps, 14-spoke alloys and bumper-mounted LED DRLs, but little else. Engines available in other markets include a 165 hp/201 Nm 2.0 litre GDI, a 177 hp/265 Nm 1.6 litre GDI Turbo, a 185 hp/241 Nm 2.4 litre GDI and a 245 hp/352 Nm 2.0 litre GDI Turbo.

They’re all connected to a six-speed auto, except for the 1.6 litre GDI Turbo, which is mated to a new seven-speed dual-clutch gearbox in the US-market Sonata Eco.

Which begs the golden question – will our Sonata get GDI engines like our i40 Sedan and Tourer, or will we have to settle for the non-GDI 2.0 and 2.4 litre motors used by our outgoing sixth-gen YF Sonata?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jaybond on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Not exactly a Hyundai fan, but I think the new Sonata is visually more appealing than the current weird-looking Sonata..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • HyundaiKiaLaJunk on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:47 am

From a Junk to an uglier Junk.

Still a JUNK.

There go the current Sonata owners residue value.

Sonata YF 2.4 Full Specs year 2014 – RM 19,999 negotiable..kakaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • Albert on Nov 17, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Have they improve on the cheap hard plastics on the current model?
    Might as well go for Honda Accord or Toyota Camry as their resale values are better.
    Resale values are important.You dont realise until you need to change cars later and got stuck with an unpopular marque that has very low resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 50
    • Too bad your life needs to be decided by resale value. There are things you buy for the fun of it. When somebody asks me whether it’s cheaper in Bangkok that pair of shoes that I bought when it is available in Malaysia, I just laughed and said I don’t even bother how much it cost, just buy it just for the fun of it. It’s the same when I bought the SUZUKI JIMNY recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • kenny on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Sonata is RM120k,Camry is RM150k. Dude, basically you have already paid the higher RM30k resale value since day one. So when u sell it, u are happy that camry have a RM30k higher resell value than sonata?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
      • Krishna on Nov 18, 2014 at 10:07 am

What is the point of having high resale value when its difficult to sell? The car market is now very very competitive….brand new cars are getting cheaper with lots of discounts and free service. All the car brands are selling ‘pre-owned’ cars at about 30% cheaper and yet, with brand new car perks.

Bottomline is dude…learn to live life. You do not want to grow old and sick and regret that you didnt buy your dream car coz you were worried of resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Josh Ling on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:30 pm

ehm…since when Sonata only costs RM120k?? even Elantra 1.8 already costs close to RM120k already.

• Alvin on Nov 19, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Josh, looks like u are really outdated. Check out Sonata 2.0 promotion. Simply google also get the info already …

• Maserati(Official) on Nov 17, 2014 at 6:20 pm

“Impossible to drive far in it” should be their tagline

So many Korean cars breakdown on roadside, its unbelievable.

Save yourself the trouble and get a reliable Japanese or Continental car. Korean car is all show no substance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 64
    • meng meng on Nov 17, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Ya.. many break down.
      old korea car?
      Even VW, BMW., Merc- Benz.
      even toyocar, honcar, nisson..
      even P1 or P2…
      all will break down on road side IF they drive only know drive and dont know how to care it.
      You also 1 of them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • holofanboi on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Hush my darling…its alright to make your own choices.

There really is no need to conform to status and to force
      yourself to be accepted by people :3.

Embrace your inner desires. Buy a korean car and revel in the delight of a whole new world~

You know you want it. Why not just give in to your heart?… Perhaps you are afraid?

Come, let me hold your hands…

Together, to the showroom. Okay? <3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Obviously (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 12:00 am

I felt something crawling under my skin, holofanboi. lolll

• Come2 assemble here and apply for EEV and sell us cheap2.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 8:46 pm

UMW Toyota is so screwed ! The Camry looks like some Thai ladyboy in comparison to this elegant Korean fashion model ! … Eh, Honda Malaysia, you guys better not slack either, the new Accord is just ‘ok-ok only’, nothing too special. ETCM Nissan don’t need to worry as much lah, the new Teana is quite the car. Kesian the Chevrolet Malibu and Kia Optima… both caught in the crossfire. Meanwhile, Proton still menggaru kepala with the upcoming Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:03 pm

actually it does look very elegant , people keep saying the sonata doesnt give u that solid feeling that japanese cars provide , it does seem that it stil cant really compete yet apart from looks and value…
    but , i stil think that the kia optima is the best looking car in this segment , design wise looks awesome and aggressive,and it never ages….and that alone is enough to pull customers to the showroom….

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 17, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Really good looking dashboard. With some expensive looking paddles. I much prefer this design over the current fluidic sculpture Sonata. In fact, I think I prefer this dash over the new Genesis too. Though the Genesis does have better materials in there.

• Keris Jawa on Nov 17, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Fine, all style but no substance. Typical Korean stuff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • James on Nov 18, 2014 at 4:06 am

I am driving this car in United States. It looks more elegant comparing to the previous generation and i am impressed with the acceleration.

• so many button.. mau terbang ke?

• ss427 on Nov 18, 2014 at 9:18 am

Hey Sam Loo, bring out your zero resale value tagline again ley.

Your super ah pek Camry with a near 15 yrs old engine and gearbox will be the best car in the world.

Oh yeah, why don’t you say the Avanza and Innova offers the best resale value when compared to Kia Sportage, Sorento and Hyundai Santa Fe?!

I certainly didn’t know that using a van and truck chassis with super crude suspension and live axle can be more appealing than sophisticated unibody, car based chassis with 4 wheel independent suspension…

• Hyundai’s keeping up with heart-racing design. Certainly a looker this. Let’s hope they have improved in other departments also.

• Hey paultan.org – good to see that you have read and understood my complaint about you guys not censoring the rude and pugilistic comments on you website. Doesn’t matter that you decided not to post the complaint itself – just hope you’d do the same to the posts that will in the long run give your site a bad name and turn off visitors. Just trying to be civic-minded buds. No harm intended.

• Jerry Tan on Dec 20, 2014 at 2:35 pm

This SONATA definetly looks better than the outgoing model ..the door closed with a solid thud better than my current ACCORD good looking dashboard spacious interior which can compare to my current ACCORD striking tailight when it is on….overall no complain but can if compare to coming new CAMRY as the only problem with KOREAN cars is its resale value as I had done some research on used cars dealers eg my friend 2013 High Spec SONATA they only accept RM 85000 to RM 88000 as he bought it for about RM 145 K last year .so he said how to change car .