Is having a 110 km/h speed limiter the best move? There are better ways to minimise road accidents

Proton_Iriz_Drive_ 001

The proposed 110 km/h hard cap via the use of speed limiting devices that surfaced yesterday sure raised a lot of commotion among Malaysian motorists. Now this is an idea that would limit all cars – not just commercial vehicles, but passenger cars and motorcycles too – to 110 km/h.

Are we not limited to such a speed anyway? Yes and no. Right now we are not allowed to go over 110 km/h, but with such a system in place, we won’t be able to. Like explicitly can’t, not even if one chooses to do so.

The premise behind the proposal is this: “limiting the speed of all vehicles is a suitable method to reduce road accidents in the country. If this can be implemented, then we will become the first country in the world to limit vehicle speed based on speed limits in accordance with national law,” said the Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah.

Now, is this the ideal way to curb the growing number of road accidents and fatalities on Malaysian roads? We at paultan.org think there are various other ways to achieve the same goal.

Improving the road network

The road network in Malaysia is vast as it is, but its conditions can be significantly improved.

Potholes, for a start, are a major cause of accidents. Motorists, especially motorcyclists, often have to swerve about or brake hastily to avoid hitting road irregularities or damaged patches. Erratic manoeuvres such as these, against the natural flow of traffic, may lead to collisions – more so if done at speed.

On top of these, we have poorly maintained or designed roads in places, with plenty of dangerous mid-corner undulations and/or exposed, slippery expansion joints that could cause drivers to lose control of their vehicles. There’s no doubt that better road conditions will help to avoid or at least minimise such situations.

Installing traffic lights at dangerous intersections

bkk-ratchaprasong-dt

Another leading source of road accidents are dangerous intersections. You know the sort – ones that require you to take risks to drive/ride out of. Some people tend to take more extreme risks than others, while the more patient ones are likely to be honked at and be pressured to go when they’re not entirely ready to.

Why have such complications? A set of traffic lights will introduce a more organised and significantly safer traffic flow. And road users, do look first before you go on green. You never know when others may choose to ignore the lights.

Having a better enforcement of speed cameras at accident-prone locations

Assuming that speed is the main cause of accidents (arguable, but an understandable concept nonetheless), having a better enforcement of speed cameras at accident-prone locations may help in the cause too. Yes folks, speed cameras.

They may not be among our favourite things in the world, but if they act as a positive deterrent against speeding through known dangerous stretches, then we’re all for them.

Promoting the importance of active safety features in vehicles

Active safety features are not new, but yet most Malaysian motorists are oblivious to them. These are systems that actively act to avoid collisions in the first place, instead of just minimising the damage in the case of an accident (such is the way airbags are designed for).

What should be seen as the most basic of such systems is electronic stability control (ESC, ESP, VSC, etc.), which is now compulsory for all passenger cars in Europe. Malaysians should be aware of more advanced safety features such as Autonomous Emergency Braking too. EuroNCAP has recently made it a mandatory feature for a car to get a full five-star safety rating.

Meanwhile in Malaysia, ASEAN NCAP doesn’t even account for the inclusion of side airbags, while certain new models on sale lack basic safety features such as a full suite of airbags (including side and curtain airbags, not just dual front airbags) or even ABS. The earlier this changes, the better it is for all motorists.

Introducing an improved driving test syllabus

This one is tough, but as we see it, necessary. Road safety isn’t just about following the rules, which is what the current driving syllabus focuses on. Safe driving ethics is just as important on the road, and perhaps adopting a cause-and-effect way of explaining would help.

As an example, an unspoken but vital rule is to always respect other motorists. More than just keeping a safe distance between you and the car in front, you also have to anticipate the traffic flow while being more aware of your surroundings. Mirrors are there for a reason, and while we’re at it, also know to not stay in a vehicle’s blindspot, lest he/she misses you.

Playing loud music or God forbid, using head- or earphones while driving is a strict no-no too. You need to be fully aware of what’s happening around you, and being able to hear is very important.

Enforcing rules on the mandatory use of rear seat belts and child seats

We here at paultan.org have written about the importance of the use of rear seat belts and proper child seats many times over. It’s the least you can do, so buckle up. The powers that be should fine those that don’t, before it’s too late. As simple as that.

Implementing a mandatory scheduled vehicle inspection system

puspakom-test

This one will be an unpopular one, that’s for sure. But think about it. While the proposed Vehicle End of Life policy may be too extreme, a mandatory scheduled vehicle inspection system can do more good than harm.

The UK has the annual MOT test, while Japan has its own compulsory Shaken programme every two years that serves as a simple check for vehicle safety and roadworthiness. A similar system could be good for us as well, at the very least to ensure that all cars on the road comply with the minimum safety standards that are deemed necessary.

The scheduled inspection could include simple checks of a vehicle’s remaining tyre tread, plus the condition of its wipers and exterior lights – all very important in our climate. This way, old vehicles would still be allowed on the roads, but only if they have been maintained well.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express skepticism and criticize the proposed 110 km/h speed limiter, citing concerns about road safety, driving attitude, enforcement issues, and road conditions. Many highlight that accidents are often caused by reckless behavior, poor infrastructure, and lack of discipline rather than speed alone. Several suggest focusing on better driver education, stricter enforcement, road maintenance, and vehicle safety features instead. Critics doubt the effectiveness of speed limiters, fearing they could lead to dangerous overtaking situations or inconvenience emergency responses. There are also humorous and sarcastic remarks about the policy making Malaysia a global anomaly, along with calls to address broader issues like road design and driver behavior. Overall, sentiments lean toward viewing the limit as an ineffective solution overshadowed by deeper systemic problems.

• KeNxRaCh on Mar 10, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary… That’s what gets you. – Jeremy Clarkson

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 328 Thumb down 17
    • azhar on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:09 pm

and if you speeding u wont stop in time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 93
      • This government is so desperate to divert attention away from their bigger misdeeds.

Speed does kill. But I think the more pressing issue here is dealing with reckless drivers. The only way to deal with that is better enforcement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 4
        • ProtonGSC on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Government stupidity minister have been review… IQ test to 0.001%.

Instead of adding VSC and more airbags, Govt suggest 110km/hr limit and worst it suggests all cars owner in Malaysia to buy that stupid product.

GST 6% still not enough burden for Rakyat and still finding ways to rob our monthly salary…

Hope BN supporters will wake up… and minister should learn to be a normal Rakyat and not suddenly make stupid statements or suggestions.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 17
          • Jimmy on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Many commercial vehicle drivers just drive the ways they like.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
          • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:18 pm

VSC & airbags won’t save you if you crash at high speed. For example this – a BMW crash just last week on the North South Highway.

The “rakyat” should smart up & learn that they’re not always right – especially the uneducated & those who don’t want to be educated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 69
          • blahblah on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:50 pm

Prevention is better than cure.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:41 am

VSC is there to avoid accidents. Of course not all can be avoided, but at least the number can be reduced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • hahaha on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:55 pm

I vote minimum speed…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:57 pm

So keep your distance from the front cars!!

Stick to people’s tail with your satria neo fragile front bumper doesn’t make you look good at all, only your sendiri syok feeling.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 6
        • zigzagw on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:45 pm

That’s bcoz T is rubbish cars, underpowered and alwayz hogging fast lane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • speed_test engineer on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:15 pm

“…Speed doesn’t kill, sudden stop kills…” – Mahathir Mohamad

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 7
      • Protonist on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:55 pm

You don’t have to the right to speed, it is against the law, but I do have the right to sudden stop due various road condition.

So keep your nose away from my butts, you filthy dog-alike drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 86
        • Dont like to speed and dont like people to be close to your butt, then stop hogging the fast lane, its that simple

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 7
          • Protonist on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 172
          • kangkong on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:35 am

Idiot stupid protonist. I drive 110.1km/h is still faster than you and I am not getting summon for that!
            GO TO THE LEFT! IDIOT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
          • the most right lane is for overtaking. there is no “fastest lane”. go to left lane once you finish overtaking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 3
          • Agree thats the law. But nowadays people overtake using emergency lane..

• jeremang on May 05, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Yep pls learn from autobahn rules…fastest lane only for overtaking..summon if stay in fastest lane without car on d other lanes

• Protonist on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:50 am

You drive 110.1km/h and still you can’t overtake me. Don’t act smart with your extra 0.1km/h. It only show your stupidity. GO BACK TO YOUR FARM, KangKong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
          • I bet u dont know your stupidity. Here i’m gonna tell u. U can stay on right lane only when you want to pass through other cars, go to the fcuking leftlane if dont.

• Gen2 (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Nope Protonist, you are being condescendingly ignorant and wrong. They might commit an offence going over 110km/h, you are equally wrong by hogging the right lane.

A quote from a news report:

“For example, if the speed limit on the highway is 110kph, motorists assume that driving at 110kph on the right lane is fine and that the car coming from behind at a faster speed has no right to overtake them.
          “But he is actually hogging the lane and committing an offence.”

The right lane is not meant to be occupied at all time, it is meant to be utilised under overtaking circumstances and emergency only. Of course, most Malaysian tend to ignore this basic common sense of using the right lane.

Hogging the right lane is wrong, tailgating is an equally annoying offence. Just follow the golden rule of staying at least 2 second (in relative speed) behind the front car, so that you’ll have time to react in case of an emergency brake. I short, don’t tailgate, don’t hog the right lane. Peace.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 1
          • Gen2 (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:25 pm

It seemed that Paultan.org doesn’t allow url to be insert in comment.

For those of you who is interested in the news which says about the offence of hogging the right lane on the highway, pls google: New Straits Time+Lack of awareness of traffic rules”

It was published back in 5 September 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • blahblah on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Hogging the right lane is definitely wrong.. But hogging the middle lane, when the left lane is empty is equally wrong. This scenario happens a lot more in KL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
        • Vinnesh on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:01 am

Assholes like you are what actually cause road accidents and traffic jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • If all Perodua cars have ESC, 6 airbags, traction control as standard then lagi lah kereta Proton tak laku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
    • gachaponlaa on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:52 pm

“…Speed doesn’t kill, sudden stop kills…” – Penang Char Kuey Tiow Uncle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • hahaha on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:40 pm

I always thought the expression was “Speed doesn’t kill, only the idiot behind the wheel” or in our case might very soon be the one behind the desk *wink *wink

On another note, imagine overtaking someone driving at 80. Then the c*ck of the person decides to speed up to 110 and you’re stuck with a limiter… it’ll be frustrating at best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Potong Hero on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Then you slow to 90km/h following this hen. Then the hen slow to 60km/h. And you overtake then…please repeat yourself!!

• steven on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Drive or Die with Govt?

• james on Mar 16, 2015 at 4:03 pm

look at it this way.. in a case of emergency and the ambulance is late or the place of incident is far that it will take the ambulance a long time to reach there.. HOW THE HELL would you save someones life if you cant go fast.. if it actually happen.. the govt is the one that is killing people.

• Without p1 and p2 on the road then we are safe.

• Hope it will success in one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 58
    • Compulsory IQ test for ministers. Must limit the stupidity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 251 Thumb down 3
    • GT3 (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Agree on introducing an improved driving test syllabus. Our driving test and lesson syllabus are still left behind IMO. For example: hand position on steering wheel, they told us to put at 2-10 o’clock, that’s not even correct. I went to several defensive and advanced driving course, they taught me that the optimum position is at 3-9 o’clock. Even race drivers follows the 3-9 rule.
      Maybe the institution can refer to professional instructors for improvement, we critically need good example and inputs for new drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Nice write up, all valid points to consider before even thinking of speed limiting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • spongewai on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:01 pm

why not we follow Singapore rules??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • Jingli Nona on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Singaporean are well behave only in their country but after the causeway… they made all hell break lose on the road. Enforcement is the only way. Just imagine, rather than let the police or JPJ sit under the gazebo by the highway.. yamcha. Why not start enforcing some rules? Start targetting those road hoggers and also emergency lane ‘dumbass’ driver…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 1
      • jacksonljs on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:38 am

those road hoggers and also emergency lane setan driver shouldn’t be on the road at all, it’s lot more better for the to be stay inside lockup/jail as long as possible without trial than get beaten up with golf clubs (baseball bat is useless nowadays) until their parent doesn’t recognised them (especially those road hogger creating their own rules and refuse to ‘berambus’), second target should be tailgaters (but usually people won’t tailgate without a road hog unless he/she is a plain idiot to tailgate all the way)

• applegreen on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Most accident occurs by motorcycle and most of them didnt ride more than 110km/h. So to punish all drivers totally wrong and not a good idea. If speed is the point, then ministry can add up traffic summon let say RM600 or RM1000 for those speeding more than 120km/h. Thats an example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 36
  • full_throttle on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:06 pm

The only way to curb accident is by curbing the “appetite” of those top gov officers & ministers who are greedy and corrupt. We need better, cleaner and ethical people to be the policy maker and law enforcer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
    • It’s not That they are corrupt, it’s just some justifications are just plain ignorant and not well studied. They only perceive judgement based on their immediate understanding and know-how.I think they are the ones should attend for all these ‘kursus keselamatan’. Then again it’s sad to know that those in office seems to say the least on anything substantial rather than going for something less provocative.

• sam69 on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:06 pm

DONT FEED THE TROLL!

• Because of such idiots with Pea Sized brain, we have such dumb innovations…. These kind of idiots should be send to pirate schools.

Instead of researching for better ideas, these dumb asses are looking for shameful ways of being in the worlds first retard ideas!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • taboogen on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:17 pm

didn’t see any ideas from your comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Denilson on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Keyboard warriors. Kena saman sikit nanti minta duit ‘kopi’. Bila kena saman bising. Bila panggil duduk dekat MOT, suddenly become blank.

• Sang Fakir~ on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Please limit the speed for BUS first~!! they drive too fast at highway.. the old limiter for bus only beeping and always ignored by the driver / have alternative way to off it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
  • azhar on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:11 pm

plz start from government officials and ministers..leader must lead by example laaaa

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • i wonder what’s the opinion of Bugatti Veyron’s owner about this.

• speed_test engineer on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Come on…

• KaDonKz on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Change brain dead ministers problem solved. No need limit speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Mike T on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Bringing down accident rates on highways is easy. Install these limiters and enforce the “no overtaking policy” on all the damn trucks and buses. They endanger not only 4 or 5 lives, but way more thanks to their bulk and passenger carrying capacity. If these steps are applied and enforced, I don’t see why cars need to go beyond 110 frequently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Ridiculous, so few thousand taxi not run by meter also they can’t enforce, how are they going to enforce everyone on the road?

Repair the roads, have stringent test for heavy commercial vehicles. Mandatory inspection half yearly. Drug test for heavy commercial drivers yearly.

Some car drivers stop at a traffic lights can killed by a lorry beating traffics at 50kmh. How is that minister? Some police outrider stopping all cars on a busy highway as they wish, could possibly cause a big accident, how is that?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • Want a safer journey on the road? Please use your turning indicators a.k.a. signal when you intend to change lane or make a turning. They are not there for show. Besides, make sure they are working! A non-functioning unit is the same as not using it. Even if you are using the indicator, you are NOT granted the right to cut in by all means without looking.

Furthermore, instead of hiring people to talk crap in BM for 6 hours during the compulsory Kursus Teori Penunggangan Selamat (KPP 01), use that time wisely, for example teach potential driver/rider a proper driving/riding attitude. The current practice is not far away from makan gaji buta. The system is actually acceptable, but the enforcement is a disappointment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • speed on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:27 pm

“Speed doesn’t kill. Stupidity does”.
    Yes, speed effects the severity level of accidents, but its not the factor why accident happens.

Take a look at these 2 situations:-

Situation A:
    A car driver drives at 50kmh, suddenly making a turn to the left without giving signal. a 50kmh motocycle behind the car doesn’t have enough time to make a stop, thus crashing into the car. motocycle rider bump onto the car and fell on the road, with broken hand and leg.

Situation B:
    A car driver drives at 30kmh, suddenly making a turn to the left without giving signal. a 30kmh motocycle behind the car doesn’t have enough time to make a stop, thus crashing into the car. motocycle rider bump onto the car and slowly roll over until he hits the ground, minor scratches on his body.

Now, find the similar characteristic between the two and highlight one that contributes to the accident.

Not sure whether the relevant people read this post or blog, but I hope they do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • At 80kmph, the rider probably will die if riding on a kapcai without proper gear.

At 110kmph, the same rider will obviously die as well.

So if our smart minister finds out, is he going to lower the hard-speed-limit to 80kmph, to reduce the impact, or teach people how to use their turning indicators to lower the probability?

Chinese has a saying, 斩草要除根, you remove the root of cause when you intend to solve the problem.

• GT3 (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Other situation:

A car driver drives at 120 hm/h, but before making a left turn, he signals, checks his mirror, slowing gradually, a motorcycle notices it, slowly slowing down, change to right lane when it’s safe, and the car managed to make the left turn safely.

Highlights here: Situational awareness, respect towards other drivers, good judgement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Vincent on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:59 pm

I am not sure which school teach the above theory.

THose with right mind will know that … at consistant speed of 30 vs 30, the behind bike won’t hit the front car…it apple the same for speed of 50 vs 50 even 150 vs 150.

So, crashing into the car, fell on the road, with broken hand and leg,minor scratches on biker body is not going to happen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • kangkong on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:51 am

You failed your physic?
        You don’t know car has break? You don’t know what is call human response time? Did people mention what was the tailing distance?

• Vincent on Mar 11, 2015 at 7:02 pm

If one would able to read, that one will know that there is nothing mentioned about brek…. it only mentioned moveconsistant speed and move to left!…Regardless distance, even object that moving at at same direction at same speed will not hit the other object.. that physic!

Pls don’t use you imagination add in frek, move vertical.. or what ever so…

• STOP *hogging the fast lane and emergency lane.

*if you are driving 60km/h on 90km/h three lanes highway, you should not hog the middle lane as well, stick to the left lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:16 pm

i find it truly hard to believe there is anyone driving 80kph on the fast lane on PLUS highway.

most likely it is someone doing 115kmh (moving 31.9 meters per second) and we approach behind at 160kmh (44.4 meters’second).

that is a difference of 12.5 meter per second (or 62 metres in 5 seconds)… of course he seems slow. besides not a single person is looking at rear view mirrors all the time while driving. the most is 5 seconds once. we all need to learn some manners.

light on indicator then give some time instead of cursing at him (or her) when he/she cant hear you.

we malaysians need to be patient and have some manners. thumb down all you like, but this is the scenario we are in today. we are getting selfish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • GT3 (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Let’s say I’m driving at 140 kmh on right lane, a car in front of me driving at 110 kmh overtaking another car in middle lane, yes, I can wait to that. But right-lane-hogger who drives at 90-110 kmh without overtaking, that’s what gets me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • YOU SHOULD NOT DRIVE A 140 KMH AT THE FIRST PLACE, STUPID SOME MORE WANT TO COMPLAIN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • GT3 (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:10 pm

So u never drive exceeding 110 kmh? Very good indeed.
            Do u even see my point? Ok let’s reduce all the speed stated.
            “Let’s say I’m driving at 110 kmh on right lane, a car in front of me driving at 90 kmh overtaking another car in middle lane, yes, I can wait to that. But right-lane-hogger who drives at 90-110 kmh without overtaking, that’s what gets me.”
            See the point now? It’s the attitude, not speed limit.
            Oh and stop using caps lock while commenting, just calm your tits down.

• azrai on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:36 pm

That’s why most Malaysian choose Myvi, Viva, Axia. they know even E-class only can go max 110kmh just like their P2s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Visitor on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Another way to reduce road fatalities is significantly improving our public transport system in our cities (especially outside Klang Valley). Pity that young generation of Malaysians (including me) have to commit our hard earn money for 9 years of car loan when that money can be used as a deposit or monthly repayments for a more important asset, our house.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • L.Raj on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:41 pm

What a Silly Idea !!!! As a very experienced driver for more than 20yrs… the best way to solve is to put full enforcement and nab sppedsters according to law without fear or favour.Limitimg Speed limit only increases the risks of accidents and will compromise road safety.
    Note: Any Civic minded malaysians do not speed and willl always maintain proper speed and safe distance.

• I think the used of the terms “speed kills” its just a party trying to earn something out of its….by implementing such law here.. its just for someone to fill their pockets…by earning a commission for each item installed….haha try to 100% enforce successfully on public vehicle first….

• Totally agree with other option first, which are:
    1. Wider road shoulder for emergency parking esp. on highways. Lots of cases where car hit stranded lorry at highway roadside.
    2. Provide motorist, pedestrian and bicyclist seperate lane at city road and main roads.
    3. Implement minimum driving speed at less congested road to avoid user drive too slow and reduce overtaking.
    4. Maybe someone can invent a device that able to check vehicle safe distance between car according to their current speed. Useful during overtaking and during highspeed driving.

Just my 2 cents..Tq

• Carrer (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Good to know that Malaysia has one of the most intelligent ministers in the world in solving road accidents. Countries like USA, UK, Japan and other first world countries are still struggling to come up with this idea. Congrats Malaysia, you have the best minister.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • visitor on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:48 pm

How about tyre rethread? Last time I almost felt of my bike because of stupid lorry tyres on the hiway.

• why complaint motorist cause these accident???!!
    While government didn’t maintain a lot of ill conditions road. Rakyat suffered! even though speeding 50km/h also will cause accident!!

• Lanhb on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Shud go for long term effective sustainable solutions…

• Kuinosan on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Someone can get killed even when travelling at 60km/h. It’s not the speed but the attitude of the driver that causes accidents. To reduce the number of accidents, drivers must be educated from young the dangers of not keeping their eyes on the road while driving. People are looking at their handphones more often then talking over the phone while driving nowadays. This is a very dangerous habit that needs to be curbed and the best solution is to ban handphone usage whilst driving. If a driver must use the handphone, only hands free are allowed. No direct contact with the handphone is allowed during driving.That’s my 2 cents on the issue!

• Speed will not kill anyone. Road condition in malaysia is very terrible. Nowaday highway is under construction and it is not well manage too. The road suddenly become narrow, suddenly wide. Just imagine, when all maintain the speed at 110km/h, is it the accident wont happen? It will happen too. Come on, try to think clearly first before you come out with a suggestion. You all have guard. When you pass by us, your speed actually more than 140km/h. You will not get accident not because you not driving fast but you have guards. So you are also the one who causing accident to others also.

• Road user on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Dumb ass….

• gachaponlaa on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:04 pm

1)Fix the overload lorries and trucks and reckless bus drivers
    2)Do a proper SOP for the lorries by transporting goods in a proper way so that no foreign objects drops on the road.
    3)Abolish kopi license.

• carazy on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:06 pm

I vote for speed camera, but it must be place at “Real” dangerous places. I dont see any of these speed camera where the “corner maut” is, where most of daredevil drift happily through it. Instead what I always see it speed camera is place in the most straight line of the road, so that G can make most money out of that (eg: AES between Kajang and B.B Bangi on KL-Seremban highway). Other place that G should put AES is on the trafic light.

• johny on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:06 pm

its not about speed that kill that about our driving discipline,arrogant awareness, not to say those who drive expensive cars.

• submarine on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Being a CARELESS padestrian kills, so are being careless drivers, cyclist, paraglider, and it goes on. Putting a hard cap on speed limit literally means limiting freedom of movement, and in this age and time I don’t think it goes around well with PEOPLE. So if you have a relative who happens to be a diatributor or seller of these speed limiter devices (and another relative who’s able to disable it for a fee), pls keep it for yourselves and try to work hard to sell it. We your rakyat have a lot more to go thru for a living, so please LEAVE US ALONE.

• Limbo on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Want to reduce accident rates in malaysia ? Why not come up with a policy that provide full refund on taxes including excise duty back to the Registered owner of the vehicle if it hasn’t involve in an accident of their fault in say….5 years ? Most Malaysians will drive more carefully to qualify for the cash back incentive that way ! simple yet effective …

• donno on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Annual inspections is viable if only the inspectors are not a monopoly like what the puapakom now is. Let any competent people run an inspection station like in UK or Japan, and then we talk about annual inspections.

• Ken Chan on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Seems like most of you is running away from the topic keep suggesting other ways of doing things, but so far no one dare to say limiting speed to 110km/hr is still consider one of the good option. (in that way less chance for you to get speeding saman right)

• L.Raj on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:23 pm

Well , its better to improve road conditions as our roads are all screwed up
    Look at your neighbourhood no lines, stagnant water, patch up and list goes on.
    Zero safety even the highways are not safe today!!!
    So what the heck reduce speed!!! Real Silly and absurd idea.

• donno on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:27 pm

And could someone install a stupidity limiter on Professor Madya Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah’s head…

Keep some of that stupidity to yourself please…

• Brain dead on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Why do we have to listen to these ministers (????). My IQ dropped a couple of points already.
    If it comes out, I won’t install, no matter what. Too dangerous. Imagine you press accelerator….. and nothing happens!???
    The last thing you mouth looks like is “O”, right before a bus speeding 160km/h swipes you from the right lane.
    I think he has a limiter – in his intelligence!

• Citizen on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Good suggestions Hafriz but in Malaysia, here’s how it will be implemented:

1. Improving the road network
    – Come out with a closed tender and give the projects to a crony companies to improve/upgrade roads which will end up a shoddy work. Back to square one!

2. Installing traffic lights at dangerous intersections
    – Again closed tender approach.

3. Having a better enforcement of speed cameras at accident-prone locations
    – AES version 2. This time the public or opposition better not complain.

4. Promoting the importance of active safety features in vehicles
    – Closed tender for a media campaign on promoting defensive driving paid for by tax payers.

5. Introducing an improved driving test syllabus
    – setup a committee that travels the world on study tour to improve driving in malaysia. after a few months come up with “new test syllabus”, which when you analyse it a form 5 student could have done it for a small fee.

6. Enforcing rules on the mandatory use of rear seat belts and child seats
    – under table cost -RM50 for rear seat, RM100 for child seats. that’s enforcement for you in malaysia.

7. Implementing a mandatory scheduled vehicle inspection system
    – set up a crony company, monopolize this service and start printing money. you get the idea!

• Potong Hero on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:36 pm

8. Mandatory for all cars to install dvr recorder. Suspicious driver can send to JPJ to “take notice”

• Jacques on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:31 pm

OK. Let’s start by putting the speed limiter on heavy vehicles (killer machines on the road) such as buses and trucks. Highway users will understand what I mean.

• Izhar on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:34 pm

We need aes back fully employed hihu

• david on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Foresee all the car manufacturer will wind up & Tata Nano car will benefit. Thousand will lose their job & all foreign company will relocate to Thailand. Imagine the car industry will suffer and even Proton can’t survive. Whoever thought of this idea isout of his mind.

• areos on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:36 pm

(i) Dont blame Singaporean cars for speeding …chances are they not Singaporean after all..they are Malaysian working n residing in S’pore (ii) In Germany Autobahn..you will be fined if drive below 150 in fast lane (iii) Change police mentality ..they think that drivers can be educated in fortnightly by conducting ‘ops sana sini’ whreas they let drivers ‘free for all’ for the rest of the year..

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:46 am

That’s not true. In Germany you’ll be fined for driving on the center or fast lane when you are not overtaking. What speeds you drive doesn’t matter. And of course you’re not allowed to take minutes to overtake, overtaking should be done in say 10 seconds.

• alldisc on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:11 pm

and only certain stretch of the autobahn has unrestricted top speed. other parts there are still speed limit, of course higher than we get. but then again, look at how disciplined german drivers are. a porsche cayenne will still have respect to a 1990s honda civic driver.

can malaysian do that? in general, NO.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:39 pm

It’s about 50% of the highway that is unrestricted… and usually when it is restricted it’s for a reason.

As for respect… well, you noticed that cars have become much more aggressive looking front ends? Blame ze Germans. The reason is that when you want to overtake in Germany, people are more likely to give way when your car looks aggressive. Of course they do stick to the right, and only go to the faster lane when overtaking, however they may think you’re driving slow if your car doesn’t look aggressive/fast. There are stories of owners of highly modified cars that look stock and slow, but can go very fast, and how they keep getting underestimated.

That being said it is so much better than driving in Malaysia.

• kusochon on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:41 pm

AES is the better way. Only limit the speed at certain area (school area, dangerous area like downhill, sharp curve, etc.). Drive above speed limit? Just keluar saman. Senang cerita. But of course lah whatever (BN) government do also will get condemned. If still need to install speed limiter device, please do it on the f*cking bus or lorry first.

• Allen on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Majority of the accidents are not due to over speed ! They are mostly caused by careless and idiots. Some people are just not suitable to drive. Average drivers don’t crash at 110 km/hr or even 200km/hr. Good drivers never crashed at 300km/hr by themselves on the road. These statement only applies to practically good road surfaces.

• Wow, very great business = RM500 x 22 Million Cars

• Germany is a great example. Most sections of the German autobahn have no speed limit and only have 100kmh or 120kmh limit when approaching a slight curve or a tunnel. The highways are also just 2 lanes wide and jams are rare and accidents and death are definitely no more than in Malaysia.

So I guess drivers’ education is priority, and of course road conditions. Setting the 110km speed limit is just our govs’ lazy(aka cheaper) if not useless way of “solving” this problem imo.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:48 am

Have to correct you… highways are 2 or 3 lane usually. The speed limit can be anything from 40 to 130 on them, reasons for limiting is tunnels, road works, bad road condition (potholes), curves, confusing situations (say the highway is splitting up in different directions), …

Jams are not rare at all, sometimes people are stuck in traffic jams for days… then helpers will try to get through the cars to distribute water and food.

• drMpower on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:49 pm

u make it worse – who ever wrote this article – by making it sound like abu bakar mat diah said it himself. he wasnt saying it is the best solution. he merely saying the government is mulling to install speed cut for vehicles in malaysia. thats all.

stuffing words into his mouth are so … sick. distasteful.

speed cut works, whether u like it or not, thats entirely your problem. and of course u can stick it onto ur backside, really. because japan got that installed years ago, mercedes, bimmers, all got the cuts installed despite the cut is limited to 155mph. so from technical point of view, speed cut WORKS. unless u got something else, u better off saying it isnt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • How can you compare our 110kmph speed limit against Japan’s 180kmph speed limit? The difference is so big!

• drMpower on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:58 am

thank you for saying speed cut works.

now the next question is at what speed should the speed cut mechanism to be imposed

• Ed Couture on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:50 pm

I was an accident investigator in Massachusetts, usa, for 30 years. Massachusetts had a reputation for most accidents per driver in the usa. Many drivers were under age of 25, hence the insurance rates for drivers under 25 wasvery high. Snow and ice contributed significantly but you dont have that problem here. My observations here in malaysia, poorly designed roads ( merging traffic closely to an exit ), drivers signaling but failing to look first, total disregard for stop signs and red lights. Need more enforcement of traffic laws, a good point system. Any moving violation means an increase in your insurance premium for 5 years.

I find the pavement conditions are very good compared to Massachusetts. But I find signs mis-leading.

Limiting the speed with a controlling device is not the answer, it will not work. Most accidents happen in the city at low speed, within 5 km of home.

Air bags should be mandatory. I cannot emphasize enough how many wrecked cars I looked at and the driver sustained only minor injuries because of the air bags. But, you must also wear the seat belt.

Better enforcement of laws, education, media blitz on safe driving etc..

Ed Couture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Speedster on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:51 pm

“Speed doesn’t kill you, noticing a policeman with speed trap or an AES camera, while you try to slow down, kills you” – Mahatma Gandhi

• It’s just useless.Accidents normally cause by careless drivers and those who drive and text or using social network at the same time.Even after installing the speed limiter,same problem will still occur.Besides that,traffic here isn’t that good.Always jam for nothing.After installing that,the traffic condition will go from worst to terrible.

• The sAint on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Pakailah kereta lembu, sure safe!!

• J Foo on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:53 pm

You left out improving on highway and traffic engineering. Our traffic engineers have pea brains. The rightmost lane leads straight into the right turn lane, 2 lanes turning into one lane at intersections, left lane ends suddenly with no filtering or merging lengths, horizontal curves which have sudden changes in radii, confusing lane markings, very closely spaced exit and entry lanes to divided arterial roads, inconsistent kerb heights all over the country….you get the idea.

• choky on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:56 pm

“…Speed doesn’t kill, sudden stop shopping kills…” – Rosmah Mansor

• superbird #43 on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:02 pm

imo, it will provide an unfair advantage to the owner of the smaller-sized vehicles such as viva, axia, kancil and etc. why? because they cant go any faster than that.
    now, driving past 110km/h at some particular areas will allow the carbon buildup to be burned off inside the engine and to facilitate acceleration ascending the challenging hill.
    fyi, im driving diesel. and any east msian will know and agree with my writing.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Some premium cars even have accident prevention controls, such as the use of radar cruise control that hits the brakes for the driver if the driver reacts too slowly to someone in front who has slowed down. Or some systems that even turn the steering wheel so that the car moves back into your own lane if the radar or camera detects that you have strayed across the lane without signalling. These cars literally allow the car to move autonomously with minimal driver input (well the driver still has to turn on the engine, select destination, and switch on the electronic nannies that keep the car on the straight & narrow). These are very good accident prevention controls – at a huge cost. But at the end of the day, they can’t help you much if other road users drive recklessly – ppl who swerve in between lanes dangerously or distracted driving. We have to target these road abusers.

Prevention is better than cure, as the saying goes. You have to get to the root cause, and resolve the real issue at hand. Speeding is not the root cause if the car, driver & environment (dry, not raining, no other cars around) are ready & suitable for speeding. You could drive slowly too, yet still cause an accident if you are distracted, like trying to text an SMS while driving.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:50 am

These functions are also available in C segment cars, sometimes even B segment (the latest Polo for example). It is up to the importer to specify the car with those options, he will do so when he thinks they will increase sales.

• Oliver on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:14 pm

yes, get the commercial vehicles to do it before anything. But yesterday i was stuck in a jam cos a lorry was going way too slow..

• Josh Ling on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:21 pm

any good policy will be compromised if the one who implements or enforces it is racist, biased, injustice, selfish, abusing his/her position and power etc.

and yet, all the government is trying to do is “fixing” the people, when they are the one who need some serious “fixing”.

• Rosul S on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:21 pm

It is better to educate the drivers. N by education, it is back to driving lesson at every 5 years, with advanced driving modules. And please enforce and uphold the law. I could rant on and on and on…

• Mihir on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:23 pm

I support. Good. But must be every car, don’t care it’s luxury car or viva all must follow. Good.

• jack sparow on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:01 pm

so you’re telling me that I have earned more and contributed more to the country in terms of tax money but I can’t enjoy the luxuries that comes with it. So we’re all going back to communism?

• WhatIThink on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Many motorcyclist drive like as if they don’t care about their life. They suka suka change lane without signal, try to cross a junction even when it’s red light (this apply to motor n cars). The fact is… you can’t put the responsibility of ur own life on others! You can’t drive recklessly and expect others to be careful not to hav a collision with u. And the rule that always side the motorcyclist is totally unreasonable if u ask me.
    Ur own life is ur own responsibility.

Treasure ur life. Drive safe.

• Paul Si on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:56 pm

The biggest cause of accidents is bad drivers.
    The best way to reduce accident rates is to produce good drivers.
    The best way to produce good drivers is to provide good moral education from a young age, good driver training, reinforced with strict law enforcement.
    The biggest obstacle to the above is corruption.
    Back to Square One.

• jack sparow on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:59 pm

This limitation is for high end cars too?
    Imagine if you buy a Ferrari and it can’t go any faster than a myvi. Or even in smaller case….a 7 series bmw which is as fast as a myvi. What this would mean is that no one would buy any expensive cars anymore. Hence our economy would be further crippled.

• Nagatomo on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Kerajaan fikir mereka pandai dan tahu semua tetapi tidak boleh terima pandangan rakyat. Apabila rakyat menyuarakan pendapat, dilabelnya rakyat ni pembangkang.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Speed Kills, so does kimchis

• Darel on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:21 pm

I believe the government should educate the drivers while they were trying to obtain a driving license. I don’t mean any disrespect to the motorcyclists out there but they certainly drive like as if they own the road and expecting other drivers to make way for them. The government should enforce a law that motorcyclists must drive on the left lane.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:22 pm

People still can drive 110km/h on 60km/h road and so on. So they are still speeding.

Best is install a lot of AES!!!

• Annoynimouse on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:36 pm

The guy who suggested it probably doesn’t even drive a car and doesn’t have a drivers license. Let’s investigate the idiot.
    He should not even be taken seriously in the first place… what a joke. How stupid can you get…

• KarTiN (Member) on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Speed limiter have been tried and tested by the oil on gas industry in the Middle East, guess what, does not work and actually puts drivers in danger in overtaking situation.

Why not do enforcement and collect lots of money for the government, there are so many countless infringements everyday, what traffic light, no need to stop, kids standing in front seat, lists goes on.

Or we just ban all vehicles and get on public transport, when we get a good one or camels?, it is slower than horses.

• STOP BRIBING WHEN TAKING TEST

HOW MANY OF YOU HERE HOLIER THAN THOU DRIVERS BRIBE THE UNCLE WHEN YOU WERE 17? HAH! YES BE ASHAMED.

AND HOW MANY OF YOU PAY FOR YOUR DAUGHTER AND SON’S BRIBING FEE? HAH BE ASHAMED! I TOOK THE TEST TWICE BUT DID NOT BRIBE.

• jqlow on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:42 pm

I think the minister totally missed the point either he never drives his own car or totally ignorant of real facts. Nowadays you can see motorcylists carry not one rider but two or three and when pass by policemen they never take any action either they are blind or get use to the fact as part of light then thete are people beat traffick light or go against the traffick light, double parking etc with no enforcement at all. We have many laws but lacking enforcement so what is the use to have laws and rules qhen no enforcement ? one such case is rukun tetangga it just like a fashion only for a while.

• Gracke on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:44 pm

What a stupid way to avoid it, slow even more accident!!! Train more serious driver, not ‘kopi license’ driver!

• Diesel Power!!! on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:03 pm

It is better to start limiting speed on commercial vehicle first…

Coz most of them really dun follow the speed limit..even though they hv a sticker stick on the rear stating 80/90kmh.

I encountered many bus, lorry(big-small), driving more than 110kmh overtaking other vehicle, some even tailgating passenger car..

Secondly, is motorcyclist, they also need to limit their speed, and also gment need to build motorbike lane at all road..so this will reduce accident between vehicle and motorbike.

Thirdly, increase minimum age of getting a license, 21yrs old for bikers & motorcar..this is to make sure they have more maturity and logic thinking to handle those machine.

Lastly, improve road condition and better enforcement. Gment must make sure that enforcement must be carried out & road must be in perfect condition..

• Ady Evans on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Simple.. For those who suggest the limited speed those are not really want to study properly… many other GOOD example especially from Europe and Modern Asian Country (Japan for example) that we can follow and copy. MOT by some Europe country (thank for the User came out with it) and handsomely fine is what the other alternative. I’ve been living in UK for some years and saw the incredible fine happen and it took a toll of our income and THATS teach people a lesson in hard way. Our summons fine are cheap.

Our road is not that bad compare to other country (dont compare SG, they are small country). Just need well maintenance from proper subsidiaries or pointed company need to do proper job. PROPER JOB. Oh yeah… i just knew there is a GRED road. I dont know what Gred road we are, but in some part of England. M1 & M2 road has a Gred A road where the composition is somehow high quality road. Thats count for longevity of the road and proper speed.

We heavily spend other things (not going into that) but we cant spend much on Camera properly… UK/England is too much Camera.. hahahhah ok… Proper High Speed Camera is expensive but it work well.. with handsomely summon. HANDSOMELY!!

Not paying high speed camera… there so many other things.. such as.. Point A to B calculation time. Example. Point A to Point B (not less then 15 minutes drive. Approx 80KM per hour) : if you drive from Point A to Point B less than 15 minutes.. meaning u speeding. If you drive more than 15 minutes meaning u drive not more than 80KM per hour. YOU GET IT GUYS??? i am not saying Oh Europe is good and better. They went to hundreds of experiment and stuff… they see better.. GET IT?

Zero Tolerance Law. This one is kick off for those who are not suppose to be in the road. Cleaning up the mess and shit! A driver bus in Europe consume an alcohol while or stop over or less then 48 hours… POFF license gone. Job gone and probably JAIL! Simple isnt? But are we ready for this? NooooooOOOOooo…

Apply all this basic rules can change alot the way we drive, our road and the best… SAFE YOUR MONEY too DUDE

Peace Out! Ady Evans

• kobealex on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:25 pm

“we will become the FIRST country in the world to limit vehicle speed based on speed limits in accordance with national law”

First in the world? Now you wonder why wouldn’t have anyone actually thought of that? BECAUSE IT DOESN’T FREAKING WORK JUST LIKE THAT…

I myself have just came out from an accident, lucky to be able to drop a message here. My car was hit while crossing a junction where the other car was driving at almost 90-100km/h, shooting the red light and crashed right at the left rear of my car.

Why not improve the driver obtaining licensing process, educate better drivers and also the safety of all vehicles on the road?

And btw, what happens to sports or luxury cars? Now tell me why do people pay those exorbitant prices again?

Do these people even analyse and rationalise their ideas before they go public?

• wulan on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Limit the speed for heavy lorries and buses. They are like WMD. Can kill many peoples in 1 accident.

• elektron on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Several scenarios for the authority to ponder if 110km/h speed limiter is introduced:

1. Balik kampung journey will take longer, kids will be impatient, driver will feel sleepy.. and possibly cause an accident.

2. People who are unintentionally late for work or appointment but have to abide by the speed limit even if they urgently need to get to the destination on time. Think about the consequences – i)the person will be reprimanded or given a warning by his boss for being late ii) the person will create a bad impression on the client for being late; worse still if the person is to deliver a very important presentation iii) some fussy client will not entertain such tardiness and cancel the appointment which might cause the person his job. (In the scenarios described above, if the person is not slowed down by the 110km/h speed limiter, he might at least have a chance of making it and the outcome would have been different and he might still have a job)

3. There might be a sudden emergency at home, eg. your wife suddenly collapsed or have a seizure and you have no time to call the ambulance and wait for it to arrive but to rush her to the nearest hospital ASAP. Since your car is not an ambulance, which is exempted from the speed limit, you still have to stay within the 110km/h limit. TIME is crucial in these emergency situations, EVERY SECOND COUNTS. It’s the difference between life and death – the faster she gets urgent medical help, the better her chances of survival!

4. There’s no joy in owning a car anymore! What for? In today’s modern cars, doing 110km/h feels like driving at a snail-paced 60km/h! Might as well set the speedometer of future cars to show the top speed ending at 110km/h… I’m sure major car manufacturers in Malaysia have something to say about this!

5. 110km/h should be the MINIMUM speed limit, not the maximum. I have many incidences of nearly bumping into cars that drive slowly and hog the highways and i drive sensibly, not speeding recklessly. The slow pokes are, for me, the ones that should be taken to task, and not simply put the whole blame on speeding as the major cause of road accidents.

6. If this move goes ahead, Malaysia will surely be on the net under the topic: Weird and ridiculous rules implemented from around the world.

7. Malaysia will be the laughing stock of the global car industry and the international community!

That’s all, for now.

By the way, what are the studies (if any) that have been done and verified to indicate that speeding is the main cause of accidents in Malaysia?

Will there be a survey or involvement of the public with regards to this matter as the public are also car owners and are, therefore, directly affected by it?

Have the brains behind this speed limiter initiative thought about the scenarios that i have outlined above.. but then again, i’m sure they have took and thought about all the possible safety scenarios and outcomes, right.. silly me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Concern on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Having speed limiter might even make things worse , more accidents.
    Imagine what would happen if you are making a overtake maneuver and don’t have enough speed !!!!!!

• Rakyat on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:06 pm

MR PAUL TAN FOR TRANSPORT MINISTER!!!

• Holofanboi on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:41 pm

I think you mean Hafriz.

In anycase if Hafriz were to be transport minister it would be bad either way, since the only car one can buy in malaysia is a manual miata once he gets into power ._.;

• Old dog on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:03 pm

The only country to waste time raising such stupid idea then improve the country competitive edge against others in quality, services, and performance….

Hopeless minister all target for cronies suppliers for all initiatives…

The non highway road has been tar again and again in one year tells how shitty the work been carrying out and continuously in wasting people’s money..

• Freddie on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Our gov should set higher requirement on new car just like EU did to car manufacturer min 4 airbag, ABS, TRC, BA & etc…. this will cut down acc dead case, also reduce car tax so that driver can get better car control system for avoid acc, also road condition need lot of improve……cut down speed cant stop acc because not all acc happen in high speed.

• Pakai Kereta Lembu saje la…

• 1btgnaik on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:27 pm

I will pledge to drive at 60km/h with a bunch of volunteers on roads leading to Putrajaya daily for a month during rush hour traffic if the speed limiter plan is implemented.

As some people commented that following the speed limit is good, we will follow the speed limit on all 3 lanes on equal speed with no room for overtaking.

• We advocate for speed limiters on buses and trucks but vehemenently oppose doing the same on cars. While a bus accident would definately put more lives at risk, a bad car accident can do the same kind of damage.
    If we want to be fair, we should install on all vehicles.

• Well done Hafriz.

Good article.

Yup potholes!!! Indeed hazardous to motorists and cars as well.

For the speed limiter,not a bad idea, but not for private cars.

Implement it on commercial vehicles such as bus and lorries.

• all “rakyat” cars are limited…but not Govt cars

• For a SMARTER Government on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:41 am

Refer to http://www.economist.com/blogs/economist-explains/2014/02/economist-explains-16

and

http://www.livescience.com/43462-countries-crash-death-rates.html

I hope our government will take a DEEP study of how those countries were doing with lower crash rate, rather than such idiot proposal to WISH to have the same outcome. Those countries (eg: Sweden) is doing a great job in reducing the car crash rate and it is PROVEN (in figure) in which their government is really doing the PLAN well.

From police traffic, law enforcement, license examinations, on the road tests, road conditions (width, potholes, maintenance, road turning angles, black areas, clear signboards, etc), car conditions (scheduled maintenance, simple inspection, safety features, etc) to driver’s conditions. It is everyone’s responsibility as well to have this outcome.

If your proposal is just for adding a “special device” with an additional cost (need GST?) and become the FIRST country in the world to reduce road accidents, I was thinking why no other country was doing this at FIRST?!!!

We all can list out so many issues on the road in this country for you to solve (but you NEVER do it well). I hope you can read our comments according to your proposal MR Science and Technology Minister (hope you have a smartphone with internet access and know this popular site). Please be SMART!!

• Why this would not be implemented?
    1. If to install this feature is a chargeable item. Meaning the government will only earn “1time sales”. No more repeating “sales” from speed trap.
    2. If it is free to install, the government is even more stupid, coz they are paying for no sales in the future.

Those who proposed these to be impletemented are either couldn’t think far(financially) or really love our life and put our safetiness on top of everything. Which I doubt the possibility of the latter.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:19 am

The reason why Malaysia would be first in the world to introduce this system is because everyone else thought about it and then said… haha, what a stupid idea.

Driving school is one thing… better education is necessary. But what happens then? When you start driving alone? I always stick to the slow lane when overtaking. Then some uncle and aunty sitting in the car said “stop changing the lane so much, you make me seasick. Stick to the center lane.” Or “driving in the center lane is safer, got more space to both sides”.

What is needed is cops actively patrolling roads and highways, looking out for offenders (and they have to be equipped with cameras to record proof… no proof (which is automatically uploaded to the server once hitting record, so they can’t take bribes), no need to pay). Looking for people on the phone without a handsfree set. People not wearing their seatbelts, not using child seats etc. People cutting Q. People driving on the center or fast lane without need. Each of these things should have a fine of, say, RM 200 for bikes and cars above 10 years or local brands, C segment below 5 years RM 400, D segment below 5 years RM 600, … premium brands below 5 years RM 1200.

Germany is a perfect example that speed doesn’t kill. It’s much safer than Malaysia, even though people drive A LOT faster. But they pay attention to the road, stick to the rules (apart from speed limits…). Only overtaking on the fast lane is followed religiously, they will tailgate you instead and try to bully you off the fast lane if you block it. And it works, Germany is a very safe country to drive in/be a motorist. Even as safe as it’s fellow European countries which do have a speed limit and strictly enforce it.

• Citizen on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:34 am

1. Who bear the cost to install these speed limit device?
    2. Training for JPJ and traffic police to validate on car owners meet the requirement, who paid for it
    3. C and D segment cars basically pointless, sales drop as you can’t have it.

Talk and execute always different. Minster should think whether feasible to be implement before share to public. Everyone was puzzling about the implementation and impact.

Impact
    – Corruption
    – Additional cost to car owner
    – Resale value (due to higher CC car) no longer high demand. I’m talking about those 1.8 and 2.0 on same model

They can’t even fix those express buses but now talking about private cars. I doubt this is feasible to be implemented. DRB Hicom, Naza, and other distributor will screaming.

Imagine Ferrari with 110 kmph. What a joke !

• Increase the summon amount and most important no more summon settlement on the spot. U get what I mean?

• Andrekua on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:34 am

I dont think there is anything to worry about.

We just have to sit and watch their puppet show. After all, we had nothing to worry about. This only affect traffic police force financially. They will be the one voicing out against it, instead of us.

• This guy Deputy Minister must be smiling at himself thinking why on earth no one have ever thought about this all these while and he is the smartest.

• ayooo on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:48 am

Since 110kmh only pertains to highway driving, the best way is to scrap the speed limit and make a 5 lane highway. The lorries and busses can takeover each other on the first two lanes. The slower cars can drive on the other two lane and the last lane is for the crazies to race.

If this is implemented I dont mind paying extra for tolls

• Andrekua on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:30 am

Well, I dont think I would agree with that. After all, most of our highway ain’t really highway. You might as well just called it tolled road.

• Arell on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:04 am

Go and impose speed limit on Malaysia Airlines first..

• Myvi Se 2014 on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:31 am

How about having a FREE driving test for every 5 or 10yrs ?

For those drivers not following rule on road (cut queue without signal, double line over take) when test it will be disquallified , and to retake have to pay for exam fees.

So that everyone is following rules on road will be more effect that having speed limit at 110kmh.

even govmt having speed limit on 110kmh drivers driving attitude is also a cause of accident .
    40kmh also can accident la .

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:56 am

…..putting on the limit is just as stupid as saying that since motorcyclist constitute the bulk of traffic fatalities, lets just ban motorcycles.

• john joe on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:58 am

what a bunch of nonsense. trying to patch up for their own shortcomings and incompetencies. believe you me, with the limiter on board, accidents will still happen.

• Cannot understand on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:08 am

I cannot imagine this scenario, when you need to overtake a car at 110KMPH and your neighbouring car is travelling at 100 KMPH but suddenly there is a lorry approaching you in the opposite direction and you dont have enough “umph” to complete the overtaking. So what happens? Have a think about it.

• foxtrot on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:23 am

they should implement fines for road hoggers instead

• s.h.tsu on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:34 am

stupid idea try overtaking a newer bus at 110 kph chances is that you never make it. buses and trucks are reaching top speed of >120kph sometimes a litle more speed maybe illegal but think of the safety.like getting out of a situation.

• Mataempat on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:01 am

Spot on and well written article. Pity those up top are too dumb to think about this themselves.

• Danny Chan on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:12 am

Should implement the limiter for a trial period like 3 to 4 years n see the results to justify future plan. Support!!!

• Cadbury on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:23 pm

The only right rules in “Bolehland” is their own rules.

No speed limit, no AES, no enforcement and etc. Later also complaint G dont do their job.

Typical Malaysian.

• bootupjoe on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Speed kill or driving attitude ?

• Controlling Speed limit at 110km/h is more dangerous because when you want to overtake lorry u need speed to overtake if not more fatal accident will happen.

• veteran on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:48 pm

We need to change the mindset because we are dealing with human. Respect and tolerate is very very very important among drivers otherwise when u loose your temper.. U r same like the roadbully..or mat rempit.

• Souya Tempe on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Cammon la. Singaporean already look down on us while driving their lambo, ferrarri, maserati, etc. At least give us a chance to cucuk angin. 110km/h? we stuck to the left and center lane. Right lane for fast singaporean car only. Rubbish.

• one more AES project
    Due to AES fail and very fast the government come out the new idea to suck our money
    First which company appointed to distribute the speed limit device?
    Second will this implementation 100% reduce accident?
    obviously this doesn’t help to reduce the accident, but this will profit the company who distribute the speed limit device.

• shinshin on Mar 11, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Instead of blaming the drivers, how about the government?

Poor signages
    Poor road conditions (lobang everywhere)
    Poor road designs (bottlenecks etc)

• Too slow on Mar 11, 2015 at 4:03 pm

How about people who drives too slow on the highway? Police should saman those who drives at 60km/j on plus highway. They are the one who cause accidents.

I support the idea to lock up guys who take over from emergency lane and running over red-light on purpose.

• Darryl on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:55 pm

All the while people been thinking about punishing who broke the rules, why not we reward those who follow instead? Like giving discount to roadtax for those who had not been fined for the whole year, that would seem more encouraging to me…

• How about banning trucks/commercial vehicle other than taxi during rush hour?

• Rush hour on Mar 12, 2015 at 3:09 pm

I thought that is already in place? Heavy trucks are not suppose to be on bandaraya road during rush hour.

• Malaysia is a hot weather country, so it produces dumb, lazy and stupid people, emotional and dramatic 3rd world mentality, look on the road around you, look how stupid they are on the road, drive recklessly, tailgating, u ingat nyawa u i nak kena jaga? Remember folks, all these laws won’t change anything, stupid government rule the stupid people, it’s vicious cycle and nothing can be changed in this moronic nation. For educated and smart good people out there, take care of yourself and always keep in mind that people are stupid around you, they can cost u your life, danger is inevitable, people remains uneducated, they don’t have common sense. But alas, Malaysia is a hot country, we can’t change it forever.

• Adlan on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:57 am

I second to the idea of revising the syllabus.
    This is a fresh one among the others suggested, I guess?

Well please do include how to deal with an accident. I did have one alone, (yes I had couple times before when I was smaller and my father dealt with the situation) and I was clueless on what to do.

You feel me? Right.

• BioHazard on May 04, 2015 at 11:36 pm

Go ahead and install limiters. Theres are more than a way to override your stupid Siemens ECU speed cuts.

• the taker on May 05, 2015 at 12:00 am

Good Suggestion. So Paultan can become better tranport minister than the current one lol.

• lordchoon on May 05, 2015 at 12:10 am

Reduce car tax so that Malaysian can but a better car

• Billy Sohan on May 05, 2015 at 12:18 am

Having been in practice for 10 years I can tell you with a certainty that speed is NOT the major cause of accidents. Sudden lane changes,weaving in and out of traffic,faulty brake lights,exiting a junction recklessly( See accident in Kampar where UTAR student was killed last month),dangerous and reckeless overtaking when unsafe,tailgating a vehicle,illeal U-turns..the list can go on and on. Speeding in and around major cities in the middle of the nigh? Yes,definitely. Enough peole have died in drink driving. Speed itself in today’s vehicles is generally safe( note: I am not talking about Myvis and Kancils). When are the stupid ministers going to realise this?

• Audiences on May 05, 2015 at 7:39 am

Paul tan for PM?

• onanimouse on May 05, 2015 at 9:28 am

I see yellow myvi..

• 110kmh speed limit to Merc/Bmw/Audi-Safest car on the road. Even 150/160kmh still safe.
    110kmh speed limit to Myvi? – already a killing machine.
    It’s the attitude that matters.