MG3 launched in Thailand with eco car price – Malaysia next stop for the Thai-assembled hatch

MG3 Thailand-03

It’s not an eco car, but the MG3 hatchback has been launched in Thailand with prices starting from just 479,000 baht (RM54,002), matching eco cars with tax breaks such as the Toyota Yaris. The Rayong-assembled MG3 is the second MG to be introduced by SAIC Motor-CP Co – a joint venture between Shanghai Automotive Industry Corporation and Thailand’s CP Group – after the MG6.

Three trim levels are available, the base C, 509,000 baht (RM57,360) mid D and 559,000 (RM63,023) range topping X. There’s also an SUV-inspired Xross (no, that’s not a typo) variant going for 595,000 baht (RM67,082), undercutting top-spec variants of B-segment classmates Honda Jazz and Ford Fiesta.

The MG3 Xross sports chunkier bumpers, body cladding and roof rails for a crossover look – à la Volkswagen CrossPolo and Hyundai i20 Active. It rolls on 16-inch alloys, an inch bigger than the D and X hatchbacks. The base C gets 14-inch steel wheels.

Making its local debut (China, not England) in late 2010, the MG3 is slightly larger than a Fiesta. It is powered by a “DOHC VTi-Tech” 1.5 litre engine with 106 PS and 135 Nm of torque, mated to a five-speed “SeleMatic” AMT gearbox. Dual airbags and electronic stability control are standard.

Now that it’s launched in Thailand, the next destination for the five-door hatch is Malaysia. SAIC Motor-CP plans to export the MG3 to right-hand-drive countries within ASEAN, starting with Malaysia in 2016, Bangkok Post reports.

Back in April 2013, Volvo dealer Federal Auto and SAIC entered into a memorandum of understanding (MoU) as a first step towards reviving the MG brand in Malaysia, with a view of CKD local assembly. No update on that front, so we’re guessing that both parties didn’t manage to strike a deal.

With the Proton Iriz and Perodua Myvi as benchmark, how do you think the MG3 will fare here?

UK-spec MG3

MG3 at Auto Guangzhou 2010

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alahaihai on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:27 am

I know what people will say. It that IRIZ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • if shared the same parts as Iriz then it will be good, wondering how many mechanics in Malaysia knows how to fic MG cars.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 19, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Can’t afford a MG? Get the Iriz then.

There is common the driver is dreaming they are driving other car in their Proton. I also saw Saga modded to be like Impreza, Civic, GTR, Polo.

THe power of day dreaming man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Everyone can afford an MG today. It is now a China brand if you didnt know

• Golok on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Gen2 kahwin Iriz = anak MG3

• Stanley on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:30 am

AMT gear? The last AMT gear in Savvy had gave a very bad impression

• jemah on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:48 am

mak jemah ingat Iriz

• Fairuz on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:56 am

Anything other than proton shit and garbage is good.

I’ll buy this Continental brand and quality over the proton garbage junk quality and lousy service anyday!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
    • kenot on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:41 am

Don’t worry. Nobody will stop you to buy this car.

BTW, after you buy it, please don’t forget to share your experience here especially where to find the SC, sparepart price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • verse on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:16 pm

VW is continental brand but here it’s junk compared to p1, what say you?

• the fighter on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Conti brand? U re from ancient? Wake up la bang

• Fairuz on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:58 am

Anything other than the garbage proton is good.

I’ll buy this Continental beauty and quality over the sick proton shit garbage junk anyday!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • This no more continental Brother. Its Chinese ! you are better of buying Proton than buying this junk !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Don’t you dare strap the Union Jack. It is exclusively meant for MINI. MG is just a disgrace to GB. *Snobby*

• sick&tired on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:00 am

i hope they bring it here to malaysia and price it competitively (around the 60k region). I am really sick and tired of seeing perodua myvi’s, viva, iriz, axia,etc. we need more variety on our roads! the more the merrier!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • bullockcart on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:19 pm

106 PS and 135 Nm of torque

Output so low, so no, thanks.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:02 pm

It will take some time before Malaysians trust Chinese car companies. The first highly successful Chinese car was the Chery Eastar MPV, which was locally assembled in Johor Bahru. Chery sold a few thousand of them, but after a few years, people started complaining about a host of reliability and quality issues. Now, it’s hard to come by a Chery Eastar, and used models are worth peanuts, despite being no more than 8 years old.

The Great Wall M4, so called ‘Perodua and Proton killer’ disappointed too. There’s no other way to put it. I only ever saw one in my whole life, and it’s been some time since it was launched. However, just because it didn’t sell, it doesn’t mean the car is bad. The Nissan Sylphy is also a good car (especially with regards to safety), but it’s not selling. The same is true for the Renault Latitude, Chevrolet Malibu, Proton Suprima S, Mitsubishi Attrage etc.. They are all good buys, but too few people are buying them.

It takes more than big numbers on paper to win hearts, and it takes no time at all to lose them. Chinese car companies are on the right track, but they will have to continue on that track and not stop or deviate halfway. Complacency is the silent killer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Jonn Dol on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Except that this MG is fully designed & engineered by the MG British team based in the UK, even though ultimately SAIC is the Paymaster. Expect the reliability to better than most of the Chinese car brands. The quality might not match the best marques from Europe, but at least it’s still decent & well -kitted entry level car. And the AMT gearbox adds up a more sporty character to this car.

• sohhai on Mar 19, 2015 at 6:53 pm

True true. The new Sylphy or Teana are very hard to spot on the road even though they have been in the market for some time. Seeing more and more HR-V that was just launched recently. Iriz is as rare as a Hummer. I’ve spotted more Panamara than Iriz. Axia is everywhere….just saw 3 full truck loads carrying Axia on the NS highway today

• Facelifted New myvis are even harder to find. Some say its easier to find a dodo than to get a glimpse of the myvi

• Lanhb on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:05 am

MG brand is China owned…same like Volvo…

• kapchai on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:06 am

I didn’t know that MG was sold to a China company ?

• They just stole the front of 2015 renault twingo..

• tokmoh. on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Dun want, sked AMT.

And Msians will comlaint 16″ too kiam sup. Must give 22″ then only they like and approve.

Then, when come time to change tayar, they get cancer see the bill. Takpe, janji rim besar.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 19, 2015 at 12:55 pm

emmm… Federal Auto?

er…No.

Looking at how FA has basically ruined Volvo here, there is little hope for these Chinese MGs.

• CyberPatrol on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:37 pm

How is it fare against local national car makers, MG branding is important and it’s price at national cars price bracket. Rakyat have a choice of a continental brand now. I read MG3 is still design by UK design team and assembled in Thailand. Maybe CKD by Federal Auto later.

More feedback, or user experience (UX) can be given after test drives. If price priority and it standout in a crowded national cars on the road. I would buy it (manual version) with custom British RAF signature.

• Colin Spencer on May 24, 2016 at 3:00 pm

SAAIC motor corporation is China’s biggest producer of motor vehicles. Around 4 million units last year. Joint ventures to produce VW also with General Motors producing Buick based models. If they make the MG, they will perfect it.