Subaru BRZ STI Performance Concept – full catalogue

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Subaru has unveiled the STI Performance Concept at the 2015 New York International Auto Show. This sexy showcar, based on the BRZ a.k.a. twin sister of the Toyota 86, signifies a plan for US-expansion of Subaru Tecnica International (STI) in three core areas; aftermarket parts, STI-tuned cars and motorsports.

The expansion of Subaru’s performance division has already begun, with STI-engineered parts replacing Subaru Performance Tuning (SPT) aftermarket parts in the States, and with STI’s increasing engineering presence in Subaru of America’s Global RallyCross team.

In the future, more STI-tuned models will be available in the US, with more extensive mods from the factory such as in the suspension, performance, braking, chassis and aerodynamic departments.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“At STI we know from our racing that to win, it is important not only to have high power, but also that all aspects of performance are balanced over the whole car. When we achieve this balance, the driver feels that the car is easy to handle and reliable, and he can use it fully to the limits of its performance. Our plan is to produce cars and accessories that drivers can really enjoy,” said Yoshio Hirakawa, president of STI.

Not quite a preview for a “BRZ STI” (sorry to have got your hopes high!), the STI Performance Concept acts as a showcase for the engineering prowess and tuning capability of firm, featuring a race engine developed by STI for the BRZ GT300 Super GT racecar, suspension and chassis components and aerodynamic upgrades. The full STI catalogue on one car, basically.

Complete cars with extensive tuning by STI, and performance parts, are available in Japan for the WRX STI, Forester and BRZ models. In its home market, the nomenclature “S model” (for the WRX STI) and “tS” (BRZ and Forester) are used for JDM cars that have STI components, but a naming convention for future US models has not yet been established.

The STI brand has value, and Subaru is milking it for what it’s worth. We doubt that many would complain.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Looks-wise, I like.

• Jimmy on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Have the same feeling like you.

Kura-kura yang cantiq.

• Kura-kura? Much faster than your Plotong R3

• If 205Nm then it is nothing, same with Preve, only faster because of hp and much lighter

• Brian O Connor on Apr 04, 2015 at 1:01 am

BS! Come race with my Subaru and i guarantee you’ll eat my smoke. All these “Kampung” fellas think their “Jaguh Kampung No.1” is unbeatable, haizz…

• Gajen on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Beautiful! Subaru has always been underrated

• Same L0rrr on Apr 02, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Even Subaru want to copy Lexus LFA. This shows Toyota is the king in the automobile. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 32
    • Jasjos on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:03 pm

U don’t know Subaru is partially owned by Toyota?

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:38 am

Mr Toyota salesman here conveniently forgets his Toyota 86 is powered by a Subaru flat 4.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 05, 2015 at 9:07 am

Dhuh! They (Toyota’s 86 & Subaru’s BRZ)are technically the same car. The early concept from Toyota was essentially derived from the LFA whilst the engine technology’s mainly from Subaru. I guess you don’t know.

• Same Lorrrr Lingerie on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Anybody buy this car I give them free discount on lingerie.

• Alamaklah on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:37 pm

what’s the point of releasing the news and concept, then tell everyone it’s not for sale? -___-

• sepul on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Which is why it is called a concept. It is meant to gather public interest.

• Don Juan De Marco on Apr 02, 2015 at 5:44 pm

The upgraded exterior, especially on the front & rear lamps & bumper as well as the increased horsepower have definitely bring this car to another level. I’m sure the interest would be high from the public that the production could be possible.

• Jimmy on Apr 02, 2015 at 10:27 pm

To steal sale from T-86 you need to add turbo. Please improve your century sprint.

• rizal on Apr 02, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Hate stupid subaru. Ur wrx sti concept was such a beasty beauty. But the production turn out ugly.
    Look what have u done to me? U’ve made me bought A250

• hasyim on Apr 03, 2015 at 8:48 am

Does it come with manual transmission or automatic? Because i noticed there is a paddle shifter on the steering wheel, am i right?

• From the info stated that ‘this road-racer’s 0-100km/h dash could easily drop below 5.0 seconds with that sort of pepper under the bonnet.’

• cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2015 at 9:31 am

COncept only.
    No point discussing.

• seeme55run on Apr 04, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Dream car updated.