BMW Malaysia has introduced the BMW 2 Series Active Tourer in Malaysia at the BMW World Malaysia 2015, which opens its doors to the public tomorrow – Munich’s first compact people mover makes its debut here in a sole form, as a 218i variant.
The front-wheel drive five-seater, which measures at 4,342 mm long, 1,800 mm wide and 1,555 mm tall (with a 2,670 mm-long wheelbase), is powered by a three-cylinder 1.5 litre TwinPower Turbo petrol unit, which premiered on the BMW i8.
Here, the unit develops 136 hp at 4,500-6,000 rpm and 220 Nm from 1,250 rpm t0 4,300 rpm (with overboost to 230 Nm available for short periods). It’s paired with a six-speed Steptronic auto transmission, and performance specs include a top speed of 205 km/h and a 0-100 km/h time of 9.2 seconds.
For the Malaysian market, the 218i will be available in Standard guise, but a higher Luxury Line trim can be specified. General equipment includes auto start/stop, LED headlights with LED DRLs and cornering lights, a six-speaker audio system and 6.5-inch colour monitor as well as a rear view camera. Also on, auto air-conditioning, an electronic parking brake and sports leather steering wheel.
The Standard variant’s interior features Sensatec artificial leather upholstery and black high-gloss interior trim finishers with chrome highlights, while the exterior is dressed in Chrome line elements and 16-inch Turbine Style 472 wheels with 205/50 profile rubbers.
The Luxury Line version, as you’d expect, adds a number of items into the equation – the wheels get bumped up to 18-inch Y-spoke Style 484 units (with 225/45 tyres), and the variant gets Comfort Access, Park Assistant and an auto tailgate.
Inside, the seats are finished in Leather Dakota upholstery, and the cabin is dressed in what is called a Fineline Stream fine-wood trim scheme with pearl chrome finishers to provide contrast. Also, the audio gets bumped up to a 205-watt, seven speaker system in the Luxury Line. Incidentally, despite the lack of it in the display vehicles, we’ve been told that the Malaysian-spec 218i Luxury does come equipped with steering audio controls.
Safety equipment includes front, side and head airbags, the last running front-to-rear and covering the entire window, Isofix mounts and the usual raft of three-letter acronyms, DSC, ABS, ASC and DBC among them.
Price-wise, the BMW 218i goes for RM218,800 in its Standard variant form (on-the-road without insurance), and opting for the Luxury Line package will add RM30,000 into the mix. The 218i comes with a two-year/unlimited mileage warranty and a three-year/60,000 km BMW Service + Repair Inclusive package.
At the BMW World event, there was also a number of accessories mentioned for the 2 AT, and the list includes roof rails (RM2,987), roof racks (RM1,424), a 460 litre roof box (RM3,759) and rear window sunblinds (RM943). The complete accessories list can be seen here.
BMW 218i Active Tourer Standard
BMW 218i Active Tourer Luxury
Very nice to match the B200
Get Exora better! Proton now same good as BMW.
Why would someone buy a car that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.
BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.
All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival Mercedes have upped their warranty to 4 years.
Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, and facebook postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.
That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts after the warranty expires. That is why you see so many 1 year old BMWs for sale in the 2nd hand market.
Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia.
To those sour grapes BMW salesman who will say I am a Mercedes salesman, don’t be jealous. I am not. I am a BMW owner fighting for the rights of all BMW owners in Malaysia for longer warranty. You BMW salesman should be telling your management to give longer warranty to us BMW owners.
Facebook and forums don’t lie. Go and see for yourself what happens after the 2nd year and read all the forums. The saying Banyak Masuk Workshop is not a myth. Even the company themselves so scared to give you more than 2 years warranty so that alone speaks volume!
How do they make sure the handling & drivability is still excellent with that FWD?
Sensatec. That is a rather surprising move. Have heard lots of people saying how sensatec isn’t that bad, and tbh the Dakota leather feels like leatherette anyway.
Standard line gives the B200 a run for the money, I would probably go for the BMW over the Mercedes since it has a normal auto instead of a dual clutch one.
But having said that, this is sacrilege. A FWD BMW. Oh god why.
It’s sold RM155k in Taiwan (with 8 airbags) and RM132k in Korea.
But comes to bolehland become RM230k with insurance and 2 airbags.
Taiwan and S.Korea is smaller than bolehland and their purchasing power and average salary pay is 2-3 times that of Malaysia.
I’m not even taking Australia or New Zealand into the picture.
All thanks to Dr M and the failed Proton!!!
Six, instead of 7, and far from 10.
Luxurious vehicles above 350k should have 10 airbags at the very minimum.
http://paultan.org/2015/04/16/f45-bmw-218i-active-tourer-introduced-from-rm219k/bmw-2-series-at-my-12/
GUYS. IS THAT WHAT I THINK IT IS?
A MANUAL!!!!!! A MANUAL TURBO FAMILY WAGON! HOT DAMN!
The appeal of this car has just gone through the roof!
Take this anytime compare to B200
dear bmw, there’s already a thing called the citroen grand c4 picasso which does the job better while looking way better
Pricing ok or not ok 219k ? For that price isn’t it better buy for 316i at 209k no wonder 316i is in great numbers …. all over the place. Of course they will different segment but size wise same same ….
what a joke that you dont get audio controls on the steering wheel
on another note, is that a manual?
if i’m in the mkt for a lux 5 seaters mpv, will opt for merc B class instead of this beemer. the Merc longer 4 years warranty vs this beemer very short 2 yrs warranty just plain too ridiculous to ignore!
But B-class has an ugly exterior and interior, not to mention jerky tranny…
“The 218i comes with a three-year/60,000 km BMW Service + Repair Inclusive package”
when you buy any BMW car (except for entry level 116i) you will get 3 years/60 thou km package called BSRI in which you will get free maintenance program including disc brake rotors if and when they are due. during this period, warranty is also somehow covered.
the prospect buyer can also opt to extend the BSRI for 5 years/100,000km package. and that is one level better than 4 years by Mercedez. cost is reasoanbly low can it comes from BMW AG/Malaysia and not some insurance jokers.
The Luxury line does indeed look better with those rims but the add on price tag isn’t. I’ve also seen the 16 inch rims design and lets say it doesn’t look all that nice…
Wonder if BMW Malaysia will bring in the 7 seater version later?
is it me or does the screen thing look thicker and less attractive on this 2er?
Does this guy has a rear-wheel drive or front-wheel drive?
Front wheel drive.
Thanks Paul. It will be more interesting if it’s a rear-wheel drive. But at least it’s safer, it won’t kill the children inside. :E
did I just saw a manual gearbox? and buttonless steering wheel?
will be a hard sell in malaysia.
Because thousands more ppl get ripped off on those Flammable Cars (Kereta Mudah Terbakar) like Alza and Exora…
As if you see 1000000000000 those cars on fire everyday. Get your logic right
Man oh man…is this the same company that makes the iconic M3? FWD BMW? And the low specs and low power powerplant? Only soccer mums and aunties that wear the white coats back to front (remember those?) need to apply…
Uncles rejoice!