A convoy of four Isuzu D-MAX pick-up trucks successfully completed a journey from Bangkok to Singapore in a single tank – that’s 1,809 km on less than its fuel tank’s capacity of 76 litres of diesel to be exact. The new record shatters the previous one where the D-MAX completed a 1,600 km journey from Bangkok to Melaka.
The convoy consisted of a pair of 2.5 litre models in manual and auto as well as a pair of 3.0 litre models in manual and auto. All were equipped with the 4X4 drivetrain. Air conditioning was turned on. Additionally, the trucks ran on Thai-sourced diesel and a commercial vehicle speed limit (pick-ups are considered as such in Thailand) of 80 km/h meant that the cars averaged between 70-80 km/h during the drive.
The journey flagged off from the Isuzu Ung Nguan Tai dealership in Bangkok and ended at the Singapore Discovery Centre. The drive was supervised by an Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) officer who also verified that all the vehicles were according to manufacturer’s specifications.
Although the Isuzu D-MAX shares a platform with the Chevrolet Colorado, it doesn’t share engines – Isuzu uses their own iTEQ range of engines for the D-MAX. It’s fuel efficiency must be one of the reasons why!
- DCIM102GOPRO
- DCIM100GOPRO
Good Morning Paul, working on a hols? :) Thanks for the effort so far contributing the local automotive industry scene to us . thumbs!
morning.. yup some of us have to work today
Isuzu D-Max should be granted Zero Duty car price for its proven fuel economy.
As long as its not a kimchi, it will not break down
As I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.
Your son saga also a good choice. Good RV and as good as sushi good fuel consumption.
Wow… this means is it more fuel efficient than the W212 Mercedes-Benz E 300 BlueTEC Hybrid?
Not really, the E300 has a total mileage of 1968km when it did the UK-Africa challenge.
See http://paultan.org/2014/06/30/mercedes-benz-e-300-bluetec-hybrid-diesel-africa-uk/ to know that it had an effective range of 2129km per tank – using a 80l tank which has 4l more than the D-Max.
E300 is hybrid..and well this Dmax is not..
Hybrids only would have the fuel efficiency advantage in city driving where it’s mostly stop-and-go traffic.
For long distance, what matters most would be the vehicle’s weight and the efficiency of the powertrain as well as the wheels’ rolling resistance. Hybrid systems also add on more weight.
UK- Africa has a different Road conditions & fuel used. If there is some more fuel, don’t you think E300 will push more further maybe like Melaka or Johor? They end in KL because almost run out of fuel.
If you read till end of the posting, it mentioned the E300 computer show it has 497km (I cant remember the exact figure) estimated available mileage which could cover from Bangkok to Chiang Mai or Kuala Lumpur to Singapore anytime which equal to Isuzu Bangkok to Singapore challenge.
So what? My hilux can easily do 2000km per tank.
So what Hilut? My toyota LE can run even more than you per fuel tank bcos it is running NGV!
Toyota Hailat can go from JB to Bangkok in one tank lor. That is 1800km even more!
nowadays cars and even trucks are getting more fuel efficient. the best part is that it helps us to cushion the rising cost of living.
and i’m hoping we can adopt having diesel engine in a consumer car soon. the previous Focus with it’s TDCi engine…..diesel really is the fuel for the future. gone are the days when we still think diesel to be a “dirty fuel” mentality.
Meanwhile Paris and London is going to ban diesel car.
Not when the diesel quality in Malaysia is poor. We need at least Euro 4 diesel then only we can seem more diesel cars come into our market
What is the average speed and fuel consumption?
so save fuel,is that hybrid or half way toll on trailer?could not believe saving
please disclose the average speed.
The whole trip wont be REALISTIC to consumers or potential buyers, if the test made from thailand to singapore under average speed of, say 60km/hr?
Yeah,
I believe the previous model was tested at 60km/hr!
Who would want to travel long distance at that speed.
The latter model was also tested at 60km/hr which to me was not realistic.Who would ever want to travel over long distance with that speed!
this hailat sales man seems to believe JB to BKK is further than BKK to Spore.
with his 1 camry a month sales commission, i m surprise IRB has not come after him.
What was the travelling speed?
Average travelling speed is 20km/h, you know la like you stucked in traffic jam in KL for hours
*sarcasm*
Yeah, so what, my proton iriz can do it too with my modified 150 litre fuel tank.
Yeah, so what, my p2 axia can do it too with my modified 1500 litre fuel tank.
*fixed*
that’s really impressive!
Isuzu came from behind and kicked Merc right between the legs. Ouchh!!
such a bluff for a cheap promotion..
hi Paul, can I know those D-Max use diesel fuel from Thailand (euro 4) or diesel from Malaysia (euro 2)
No wonder north south highway so jam. Because of this pickup road hoggers playing tree hugger economy game.
Yeah disclose average speed and also, kindly share the fuel type. V power shell diesel are Euro4 spec, you can’t get it here in bolehland.
The convoy consisted of a pair of 2.5 litre models in manual and auto as well as a pair of 3.0 litre models in manual and auto. All were equipped with the 4X4 drivetrain. Air conditioning was turned on. Additionally, the trucks ran on Thai-sourced diesel and a commercial vehicle speed limit (pick-ups are considered as such in Thailand) of 80 km/h meant that the cars averaged between 70-80 km/h during the drive. Read the article please.
This article UPDATED the info, only after many readers posted their questions….
So, you are actually outdated.
Great win for Isuzu.
A practical pick-up which is not only cheaper but more fuel efficient that most vehicles out in the market.
What were the conditions for this drive? Speed, routes, traffic, stops, etc?
The latter model was tested at 60km/hr.Who would ever want to travel over long distance at that speed.
“The convoy consisted of a pair of 2.5 litre models in manual and auto as well as a pair of 3.0 litre models in manual and auto. All were equipped with the 4X4 drivetrain. Air conditioning was turned on. Additionally, the trucks ran on Thai-sourced diesel and a commercial vehicle speed limit (pick-ups are considered as such in Thailand) of 80 km/h meant that the cars averaged between 70-80 km/h during the drive.” Read before you comment.
To the lazy people who didnt read the article. ==” “The convoy consisted of a pair of 2.5 litre models in manual and auto as well as a pair of 3.0 litre models in manual and auto. All were equipped with the 4X4 drivetrain. Air conditioning was turned on. Additionally, the trucks ran on Thai-sourced diesel and a commercial vehicle speed limit (pick-ups are considered as such in Thailand) of 80 km/h meant that the cars averaged between 70-80 km/h during the drive.”
Going super slow, like 20km/h or 50km/h as some have suggested, is not the most economical way to go. You need to be in the tallest gear at the minimum revs that the engine can maintain without struggling. In the real world, that works out to around 70-80km/h for modern diesels.
Come on, anyone with sane mind who would do 70-80km/hr at highway???
Even kapchai motorbikes do 90km/hr these days at highway….
The isuzu test and result is highly questionable.
Who are you to question? r u questioning AAM?
ya..for the first 6 month , isuzu engine will deliver tremendous fuel saving performance,after that the fc will be disaster and a nightmare…nothing will last forever my friend
Because you don’t know how to maintain a car.
couldnt agree more,own a car wihout proper maintenance is spell disaster.
Penipu…sib baik tak beli. Boleh baca review owner2 dmax di facebook. Paling jauh pun 900km je… Lebih separuh mana nak dapat tu????? Aku baca byk review dah…ranger 2.2 lebih jimat dan power dari dmax