Peugeot Vision Gran Turismo – 0-100 km/h in 1.73 sec!

peugeot-vision-gran-turismo-7

We sorta’ knew it was coming when Peugeot teased an impossibly low-slung supercar/GT/prototype racer just over a week ago. Now, revealed here in full, sits the Peugeot Vision Gran Turismo concept – the latest addition to the growing stable of virtual race machines developed by carmakers to commemorate the 15th anniversary of one of the most popular driving simulator franchise.

Aesthetics wise, it’s hard to place a finger on such a wacky-looking concept but Peugeot designers have apparently rallied together with engineers from Peugeot Sport to create “an outstanding supercar” which boasts “a striking monolithic silhouette.” Clad in a stealthy shade of grey and offset with red highlights, the concept also boasts 22-inch alloy wheels up front and 23-inchers at the rear.

At just 1,040 mm tall, the Peugeot Vision Gran Turismo is so aerodynamically-honed that it doesn’t require additional addenda, the shape itself “is enough to effectively stick the car to the road,” according to Peugeot. And stick to the road it will need to do as this bat out of hell goes from nought to 100 km/h in just 1.73 seconds! The Porsche 918 Spyder was clocked doing the same in 2.2 seconds in an independent test.

peugeot-vision-gran-turismo-14

Motivating the car is a mid-mounted 3.2 litre turbocharged V6 engine producing a total of 875 hp and an unspecified amount of torque. Sending the power to all four wheels is a six-speed manual transmission while stopping power comes courtesy of four ventilated Brembo carbon brake discs – measuring 380 mm in front and 337 mm at the rear. The car weighs in at a featherweight 875 kg.

Yes, that was not a typo. Aside from the Koenigsegg One:1 (which is an actual production car!), the Peugeot Vision Gran Turismo is one of the few vehicles to possess a perfect one-to-one power-to-weight ratio – 875 kg gets propelled by 875 hp. All of a sudden, the aforementioned 0-100 km/h time sounds just about right.

Gamers will have a chance to pilot this piece of French insanity soon as the car will be featured as part of a free update for Gran Turismo 6. Six colour variants will be available when the Pug hits the virtual showroom.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam L0rrrr on May 07, 2015 at 11:24 am

Come on. That’s in dream ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Peugeot 208 T16 0 – 100kph in 1.8 seconds
      Only for Toyota its a dream

• CY Lok on May 07, 2015 at 11:38 am

Oh my, just wondering how does it feel that 1.73sec rush….. is it like a jet?

• There are plenty of drag cars that can do that, unfortunately tires are the limiting factors for most production cars to do less than 2 seconds to 100kph.

• If not in the virtual world, is it possible 0-100 km/h in 1.73 sec?

• Anonymous on May 07, 2015 at 1:10 pm

With manual transmission, I don’t think that’s gonna be realistic.

• are you forgetting the 208 T16 Pikes Peak? That had exactly the same power to weight ratio and went from 0-100 in 1.8sec with a 6 speed sequential manual.

• If you can afford to pay (to the game company), you can have your kancil hit 0-100km/hr at 1.72s, making it the fastest car ever!

• Sam Loo Ori on May 07, 2015 at 3:52 pm

1.73 seconds? haha. My Hilux or Camry easily smoke the shit out of this sui kwan no RV crap. You know why? Coz the peugeot never made it till 100kmh and then it broke down and waited for tow truck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Snobs on May 07, 2015 at 4:50 pm

By the time your Hilux or Camry reach 100km/h, the Peugeot is already out of your sight. Not to mention when cornering, your Hilux or Camry can’t even go faster than 100 km/h without overturning because of poor stability and no ESC. So you better save the tow truck numbers for your own use when your Hilux ‘hug’ a tree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • 308 turbo on May 14, 2015 at 2:15 pm

If you never own a peugeot car, then shut up.
      If you worry about the RV, you better don’t buy a car.

• Forza 4 driver on May 07, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Hah! My Nissan Skyline GT-R R33 can hit 0-100kph in 1.5s, 0-160kph in 3.2s, and flat out at 398kph. All done with a RB26DETT stroked to 3.0, and produces 985hp, and weighs much heavier than this Peugeot… In Forza 4 at least