Volkswagen presents trio of engines at Vienna – new 6.0 W12 TSI, 3cyl 1.0 TSI with 272 PS and 2.0 TDI 4V

Volkswagen Group presented a trio of new engines with fresh tech at the recent International Vienna Motor Symposium, an annual event hosted by the Austrian Society of Automotive Engineers. The new motors range from a 12-cylinder engine for flagship cars to a new TDI unit for commercial vehicles.

6.0 litre W12 TSI engine – 609 PS, 900 Nm

Big one first. The new 6.0 litre W12 TSI engine that’s set to move flagship cars from Volkswagen, Audi and Bentley is said to be the most tech-dense engine in the world. Two combustion methods that have to date been used in parallel – Audi’s FSI direct injection and Bentley’s TMPI multi-point injection – were combined for this new engine together with other new or optimised systems and components.

New tech include cylinder bores with APS coating, an oil circuit suitable for off-road use (Bentley Bentayga?) with a switchable oil pump, a cooling system with integrated temperature management, dual fuel injection with high pressure direct and low pressure manifold injection, twin-scroll biturbo charging, individual cylinder bank deactivation (on the left in the direction of travel), engine management with two controllers as well as a start/stop system that reduces fuel consumption and emissions.

bentley mulsanne speed blue train

As this motor will be used in top luxury models, adaptive engine suspension with hydraulic basic damping, which uses electromagnetic actuators to counteract vibrations induced by the engine with phase-shifted counter-vibrations, is a significant addition for refinement.

VW says that this giant mill is the most economical 12-cylinder engine in the segment, with CO2 emissions of less than 250 g/km in the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC). Vital stats include 608 PS at 6,000 rpm and 900 Nm of torque from a low 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. Depending on the host vehicle (picture a large two-tonne limo), the W12 TSI is capable of 0 to 100 km/h acceleration in less than four seconds and top speeds of over 300 km/h.

2.0 litre TDI 4V engine – up to 204 PS, 450 Nm

On the opposite end of the scale is the new 2.0 TDI 4V engine. Plenty of innovations, but different goals.

Based on VW’s modular diesel component system (MDB), the new motor makes its debut along with the new Multivan and Transporter from Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles. The development focus was on a significant reduction in fuel consumption (by 14%, on average) while meeting strict new Euro 6 emission standards, as well as a “traction capacity oriented torque curve” with a noticeable increase in driving performance for the load luggers. The top engine in the family features a new dual-stage turbocharger layout.

To undercut the EU6 requirements for NOx and particle raw emissions, the 2.0 TDI 4V uses not only a commonrail system with 2,000 bar injection pressure, but also a new low-temperature/high-pressure exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system and a water-cooled charge air cooler.

In addition, a variable intake manifold guarantees the necessary flow swirl when running at partial load. Before exhaust gas is spewed out, it passes an oxidation catalyst with a downstream combination of diesel particulate filter and SCR catalytic converter.

Currently, four versions of the engine cover a power range of 84 PS to 204 PS and a torque range of 220 to 450 Nm. With a specific torque output of over 225 Nm per litre of displacement, the new Transporter’s engine is hailed by its maker as the benchmark in its segment. The starter engine’s torque has also increased significantly, demonstrating the advantages of the variable turbine geometry (VTG) high-pressure stage within the biturbo charging unit. For the top-of-the-range unit, the old two-stage charging was redesigned and augmented by another VTG in the high pressure stage.

1.0 litre three-cylinder TSI EA211 – 272 PS, 270 Nm

Lastly, VW offered a preview of a high-performance three-cylinder TSI based on the existing EA211 engine. Touting the genes of the Polo R WRC’s rally winning engine, this power unit is capable of generating 272 PS and 270 Nm of torque from just one litre of displacement, thanks to a monoscroll turbocharger and e-booster. Yes, 272 PS from a 1.0 litre three-pot. “A nice example of just how much potential combustion engines still have in them,” a smiling Dr. Heinz-Jakob Neußer said.

Neußer, a member of the board of management for the Volkswagen brand and Volkswagen Group Head of Powertrain Development, insists that the good old ICE is not going to fade away anytime soon.

“The optimisation of the internal combustion engine is still an important field of innovation. High-efficiency TDI and TSI/TFSI engines – ideally in combination with DSG – will remain indispensable for the foreseeable future. The reduction of CO2 emissions from internal combustion engines is pure high-tech nowadays. Examples of this are our high rpm diesel as well as the high-performance three-cylinder TSI engine.

“Climate protection is an integral part of our responsibility towards people and society. Moreover, customers demand models with reduced consumption and lower emissions and politics also makes high demands on the automotive industry,” his noted in his concluding presentation, underlining the paramount goal of VW’s powertrain development.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• thepolygonal on May 12, 2015 at 3:36 pm

If only Honda have that 1.0 L turbo 272hp from WV to be put inside their s1000. The power of dreams or keep dreaming… hmmm…

• Same L0rrrr on May 12, 2015 at 4:44 pm

You don’t need 12 cylinders on Malaysian road, but you definitely need a reliable car to avoid garage.

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with Japanese cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
      • tsipower on May 12, 2015 at 5:30 pm

This is downsizing lor, unlike Camry with 2.5l engine 4 cyl. TSI can do more with only 3 cyl.

• Same L0rrrr on May 13, 2015 at 11:27 am

Pay so much for a 3 cylinder? LOL

A few more years you will feel the vibration here and there. It is a 3 cylinder anyway. You can change the car look, engine output but you can’t bend simple physic laws.

May the force be with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • You read review or not? Modern 3 cyl is not vibrate as much as as your old 4 cyl engine.

• Anak Malaysia on May 13, 2015 at 4:23 pm

No need few more years lah, my new vios already vibrate like hell.. just 2 months old. Should have not listen to people comment here, regret buying my vios. Then they check it is the engine mounting, but after change on warranty basis, 1 mth later, the vibration comes back. When driving at 120km/h, car topsy turvy, should have gone for the polo zero interest and zero downpayment. those toyota salesman ar, because your comment.. i potong stim

• Purchasing a car is the second most expensive thing for most of us. Might as well buy something you will love and enjoy since you’re spending so much money. So why would you get a boring white T-shirt car and wear the same white T-shirt car for the duration of owning that car which can be 5-10 years.
        Why not go for something that is a niche and stand out in the crowd? It will be easier to find your car in the parking lot, that’s for sure.

• Danny on May 13, 2015 at 10:12 am

Because most people rather wear plain white T everyday than having one suit. Which means there are days which the suit will need to be laundried and they go naked.

I’m sure being naked also sticks out better than plain white T in a mall. :)

• Sawwie on May 12, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Proton should showcase their Campro VVT engine. Sounds like Toyota, spells like Toyota, but it’s not a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • kapchai on May 12, 2015 at 3:50 pm

I luv the 1 ltr 3 cyl engine. Reminds me of my Daihard Charade. The Japanese must be way ahead of their time in the 1980s. LOL

• VW Still stuck on TSI concept with DSG.
    Never learn to combo with ZF…stuck on “2nd Gear” forever. Can C VW heading “Potong” way in South Africa= CLOSE DOWN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
    • Hello Joey, either you live in a cave with fellow nomadic tribes or you dont have access to internet, newspapers, tv and magazines.

Every car manufacturer is moving towards Direct Sequential Gearbox, dual clutch or DSG. Honda, Toyota, Hyundai has joined in aleady. Even the new M cars from BMW are now dua clutch. In future all cars will be DSG. Use of CVT and conventional automatic gearbox will be reduced drastically in the distant future. Even ZF is creating dual clutch systems for the future.

So in future even your Myvi will be driving on dual clutch. So thats the way to go, Joey. Embrace it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • DonkeyKong on May 12, 2015 at 11:21 pm

DSG adoption is growing, but the torque converter will not be going away anytime soon. It’s already been around for half a century and has almost reached the peak of its efficiency. Torque converter gearboxes do not have as much frictional wear as DSGs, even when compared to wet clutch DSGs. The creep performance is still smoother no matter what. To think that DSGs will be the *only* transmission technology available in future is pretty unrealistic. CVTs are here to stay and, like the torque converter, they’ve also been around for decades and their efficiency have also been steadily rising.

• BeemerFreak on May 12, 2015 at 6:06 pm

VW will never close down, that’s because you don’t even get your facts right.

• intermilan on May 12, 2015 at 4:23 pm

They conveniently forget to explain what is e booster and how much power come from it and for how long.

• sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2015 at 4:26 pm

DSG with such high power? Possible, under one condition – it uses a wet clutch and not a dry one.

Or, they could always introduce a torque converter DSG – similar to the Honda dual clutch transmission used in the Acura ILX and if I am not mistaken the 2016 NSX as well.

• The Honda system is like a hybrid. Double clutch with torque converter. Seems like an even more expensive set up than a wet clutch though.

• Sam L0rrrr on May 12, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Toyota VVT-i is the best engine in the world!
    20 years ago, we give you single VVT-i solution. No monkey knows what that is;
    10 years later, monkey started to evolve, so we give them VVT-i X 2 (Dual VVT-i);
    Now, because of IT and the monkeys grew so fast. We are now selling the ape VVT-iW (Wide);
    In next 5 years time, maybe, monkeys will abandon their Camry to buy VVT-iT (Turbo).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
    • being frank on May 12, 2015 at 4:37 pm

If memory serves me correct, no Toyota has ever won World Engine of The Year Award. Nissan has with its V6, Ford with its 1.0l 3 cylinder, VW more than 6 times with its TSI.

Maybe because no monkey inside Toyota Motor Corporation knows how to make a good engine, ha, ha, ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • VW_rocks on May 12, 2015 at 4:54 pm

The 1-litre really a beast by itself. Rocks!

• All please go back to your run-of-the-mill Japanese reliable engines and stop commenting here. These are obviously too high tech for you.

• Jimmy on May 12, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Climate protection is of course good, what about ‘acclimatisation’?

• Das Autar on May 12, 2015 at 9:10 pm

So what? even VW can develop the best engine in the world, but it still end-up getting fixed by a bunch of incompetent monkey$ in your service center and end-up sleeping in the workshop “again”. Your own manufacturing warranty also dare not covers more than 2 years and yet you are asking an insurance company to cover your ass for another 3 years and market it as “5” years “warranty”.

• Whatsup on May 14, 2015 at 4:29 pm

different car have different manufacture for the warranty also lo… most of the car have 2 to 3 years warranty, vw offer 5 years worr.. far far better than others lo..

• Whatsup on May 14, 2015 at 5:25 pm

imho… different car have different manufacturing.. of course for the warranty also. as i know, most of the car have maximum 2 to 3 warranty but Volkswagen gives you 5 years warranty worr… this is far far better than other brands what…

• Dr heinz,do you know why one of my cylinder loss of compression and need to replace the whole engine? Maybe you should stick to selling ketchup..

• Gracke on May 13, 2015 at 12:24 am

Bring in the 1.0 three pot engine like the Polo R WRC hurry!!! or match it in Golf, CC, Scirocco, Tiguan…. :-)