2016 Mazda MX-5 on sale in Japan, priced from RM75k

image_011

Mazda has announced that the fourth-generation of its iconic small roadster, the 2016 Mazda MX-5, will officially go on sale in its home market of Japan – where it’s badged as the Roadster – starting today.

The ND’s sole engine option in the Land of the Rising Sun is a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-G direct-injected four-cylinder engine, producing 129 hp at 7,000 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,800 rpm. Sending power to the rear wheels is a standard-fit six-speed SkyActiv-MT manual gearbox, with a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive auto available as an option on the higher-end S Special Package and S Leather Package models.

Under the skin, an increased use of aluminium and high-tensile steel (from 58% to 71%) has helped shave of over 100 kg compared to the previous NC. Mazda quotes a kerb weight of between 990 kg and 1,060 kg for the JDM models – meaning that the lightest base-model S is only 50 kg heavier than the original 940 kg NA – as well as a 50:50 weight distribution.

image_016

Standard equipment on the 2,494,800 yen (RM74,600) base model S includes LED head- and tail lights, 16-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, leather-wrapped steering wheel, gear knob and handbrake handle, fabric seats, a simple radio unit and stability control.

Moving up to the 2,700,000 yen (RM80,800) Special Package nets you an MZD Connect system with a seven-inch touchscreen, auto lights and wipers, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, automatic climate control, a six-speaker sound system and side airbags (optional on the base S). The automatic version with standard i-ELOOP energy regeneration and i-stop (optional on the manual variants) costs 3,034,800 yen (RM90,800)

Specify the 3,034,800 yen (RM90,800) Leather Package and you’ll receive leather upholstery (obviously), a glass rear window, heated seats, a DVD player with digital TV tuner, adaptive headlights, High Beam Control (HBC), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) with Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) and a nine-speaker Bose sound system (with headrest speakers, just like the original).

interior_S_Special_Package

The last six items are optional on the Special Package; a CD player, an option on other variants, is also standard here. Ticking the auto ‘box option will set you back 3,142,800 yen (RM94,000).

Over here, local distributor Bermaz is looking to bring in the 2016 Mazda MX-5 sometime in September or October. Malaysian-spec cars will arrive with the larger 2.0 litre mill making 155 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm at 4,600 rpm; unfortunately for those of a three-pedal persuasion, it’s auto-only for us lot.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Burong on May 21, 2015 at 9:29 am

It should be a fun car to drive around. I am working to make this as my weekend car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Pro Tongkat on May 21, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Thanks to protection, we can only buy Proton at the same price, which shows how overpriced is Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
      • IrizX on May 21, 2015 at 3:45 pm

People in Japan buy MX5 for RM75k but people here buy Iriz for the same price. Really sohai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
        • Same L0rrrr on May 21, 2015 at 6:38 pm

Toyota 86 in Japan: RM66k
          Toyota 86 in Malaysia: RM250k

Mazda MX5 in Japan: RM75k
          Mazda MX5 in Malaysia: ??

You can figure it out by simple calculation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • so i guess if its sold here, it will be rm150k and above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Dont think so. old one was circa 225k. Ours will be 2 L and auto, so… Around 200 to 215k.
      I do wish they bring in manual. But they won’t listen as usual…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • JB_KIA on May 21, 2015 at 9:33 am

yes, start cursing….

• JB_KIA on May 21, 2015 at 9:35 am

not even enough to buy a Thai-built Mazda2…

• Francis Keng on May 21, 2015 at 9:35 am

You guys just had to mention the price don’t you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • BigBalls on May 21, 2015 at 9:37 am

Price gonna be approximately times 3 here

I reckon its gonna be 200k whereabouts

-BigBalls-

• donkey J on May 21, 2015 at 9:40 am

In the mean while, u can get proton suprima ass in same price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Andrew_sow on May 21, 2015 at 9:41 am

From 75k in Japan to a >200k in Malaysia.. Wth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • George Abdul on May 21, 2015 at 9:42 am

When reach Malaysia triple tax system (Govt tax + AP + GST) aka bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • 1Mahal on May 21, 2015 at 9:49 am

Sampai Malaya jadi rm300k…sekian

#dreamon #dreamon #dreamtillyourcomestrue

• Macromedia on May 21, 2015 at 9:51 am

Should be rm200+++++ k here. Good da luck

• sammy on May 21, 2015 at 10:06 am

I like the new look, but why it has reverted to the fabric top rather then the more practical metal roof??

• Hardtop on May 21, 2015 at 10:29 am

They may introduce hardtop later; some parties have studied the schematics of the car and looks like it may accommodate a hardtop.

• Will patiently wait for the Honda S660.

• Anti-pati on May 21, 2015 at 10:14 am

Technically with taxes the car shouldn’t be more than RM 169,000 (excise 75%, import 75%, GST 6%). Anything more than that is pure profit for Bermaz.

• Stop this silly xx car in japan cost rm xxx title, will you pal? If you really care, please show us the total ownership of owning this madza in Japan vs Malaysia. In japan you can buy car cheap cheap. If car price not cheap cheap, no Japanese will afford to own. Why? Because Japan do not tax the car, but the government put heavy taxes and charges on other parts of ownership. Have you heard the notorious SHAKEN compulsory inspection in japan, this one will make your leg shaken every 2/3 years. Do you how you have to RENT a parking space on Japan? In malaysia, you buy condo, cw your own parking. In Japan, you buy apartment without parking. How much is parking cost in Japan, go figure your monthy car loan instalment… In addition there are other taxes and fees includes for the ownership. So this car in Japan selling rm 75000, in 5 years Shaken cost you rm 80,000, and then parking cost you rm 120,0000 (rm2000/month). Do not consider other additonal cost, just this two item enough, total cost comes up to rm275,000. If include all, can come up to rm300,000 or more. So same same lah. Ok lah, japanese standard living higher than malaysia,.? japanese salary higher than malaysia, etc. etc reply will come up. i malas to jawap. There is something called google. Try search “cost of living in japan”. FUL STOP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 43
    • tinmilo on May 21, 2015 at 11:11 am

People here talk about car you go and talk about property and whether condo come with parking??
      You go jilat lah ketiak kau… Go google how.. SEMICOLON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Miata on May 21, 2015 at 1:20 pm

If you buy a car in Japan you must prove that you have a parking lot for your car. Of course you have to rent a parking lot if your house have no parking lot. My relative stays in a landed property, he don’t need to rent any parking lot at all. The car inspection thing is something like Puspakom over here, I don’t see why you should feel shaken unless your car is poorly maintained.

Their average salary is 300k yen and 100 yen is like RM 1 to them. A lot of things are sold at 100 yen and 380 yen can get you a beef bowl in Yoshinoya. Even chicken rice at local food court can easily cost you RM6!

• Well waddaya know, a lot of people here perasan they are economists apart from car enthusiasts. They will bark and squeal all they want without knowing the reality. I blame the degrading education system for that.

• JB_KIA on May 21, 2015 at 2:16 pm

if u r earning Y300k a mth, what is Y380 for a bowl of noodle? Remove 2 zeroes, so it is 3k versus 3.80, OK what? Here in JB. How much ppl here earning? Say on avg RM2k but a bowl of noodle? RM5!

• mmmmmmm on May 21, 2015 at 9:13 pm

if you ask too much, you can’t afford it. nothing wrong buying other cheaper car. no one owe you an explanation.

• DPCraft on May 21, 2015 at 10:46 am

Acura NSX looks better

• thepolygonal on May 21, 2015 at 10:47 am

Nice car. Well, the 2.0 previous model didn’t sell that well here… pretty obvious it’s the price. Now they are bringing in 2.0 for this model too. I do hope they consider this 1.5 as the price will be hopefully lowered than the previous RM 225k 2.0 version.

Honda s660… is priced around HRV price in Japan.

• dodgeviper88 on May 21, 2015 at 10:59 am

I estimate the price to be at RM185k. If not just wait 1 or 2 yrs and hope grey imports will come in from japan

• ae101 on May 21, 2015 at 12:35 pm

It just a roaster and not performance car. Bermaz if you put price tag above 200k, sorry to say you can keep it in the store room for another 10yrs. Iconic car like gt86 already rip long time back due to the price. What makes miata can sell better?

• Danny on May 21, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Must be because we high income nation. Our cars are produced by highly paid individuals. Our minimum wage would put Japan to shame. That’s why our Proton products are priced higher. Japan labor laws must be nonsense. How can pay the salary high if wanna build roadster for RM75k.

If not must be the old saying. Cheap things no good. Good things not cheap. Hence our Proton is priced high lo.. Good things ma!