GALLERY: 2016 Mazda MX-5 – output figures revealed

mx-5 01

The global first drive of the 2016 Mazda MX-5, which took place at a Mazda Corporation event staged in Barcelona, has offered new live photos of the fourth-gen open-top sports car, which was unveiled last September and which made its first public showing in Paris.

Aside from the new photos, the output figures for the 1.5 litre high-compression direct-injected SkyActiv-G petrol four-pot, one of two normally-aspirated mills that will feature on the fourth-gen open-top two-seater, have also been revealed.

The unit, derived from that found on the Mazda 2 but given bespoke treatment for use in the roadster, puts out 129 hp at 7,000 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,800 rpm (on the Mazda 2, 114 hp at 6,000 and 148 Nm at 4,000 rpm), paired with a specially-tuned SkyActiv MT six-speed manual. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic will also be available.

In terms of power, it’s slightly ahead of the 126 hp from the outgoing NC’s 1.8 litre MZR unit, but has a little less torque (167 Nm on the MZR). The latter deficit is of course countered by the fact that the new ND is more than 100 kg lighter than the third-gen model.

The other mill, a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G, is reportedly set to offer 168 hp and 200 Nm – the unit will be offered in the US as standard, but is expected to be available as an option in other markets when sales begin in the second half of 2015.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:22 pm

malaysia needs the 2.0 as standard….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • chinacar on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:46 pm

Only 200Nm? China 1.5 tebu can make much more, hahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
      • GT3 (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:57 pm

If power output matters so much to u, then u’re not the target buyer of this car.
        Just go get those American muscles with massive superchargers that only go fast on straight line.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • Obviously (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 2:10 am

The new Ford Mustang will prove you wrong about the straight-line part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:22 am

You can’t go wrong with sushi cars.

But with price tag of RM250k, people rather buy the 86.

Better handling, boxer engine, and more importanly: solid roof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Looks really good! Modern, but unmistakable design lineage to the originals. Other magz have hailed this car as a wonderful steer and very natural controls despite the EPS.

Just (as always), a slight issue is that it – They haven’t announced one with a retractable hardtop. Which would be a dangerous proposition in Malaysia.

I know, I know, just use valet etc. The miata /mx5 models are meant to bring driving pleasure to the masses. It ain’t affordable if you gotta use valet to park all the time….

• Looks really good! Modern, but unmistakable design lineage to the originals. Other magz have hailed this car as a wonderful steer and very natural controls despite the EPS.

Just (as always), a slight issue is that it – They haven’t announced one with a retractable hardtop. Which would be a dangerous proposition in Malaysia.

I know, I know, just use valet etc. The miata /mx5 models are meant to bring driving pleasure to the masses. It ain’t affordable if you gotta use valet to park all the time and worry if people slash your rag to out of spite….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 10:25 pm

there will be a removable hardtop….and hardly anybody going to open their roos anyway….btw, i havent heard of any case where malaysians with soft tops kena slash their roof…..which is also harder than u think (its not made out of ur cheap zara cotton)

• If only Alfa would release a new Spider.

• slumber on Feb 03, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Current generation MX-5 listed price in Mazda MY site = RM220k for 2.0.

Please bring in the 1.5 and price it ard RM140K so that I can afford an entry level roadster with all the basic amnesties….. I don’t need anything fancy….

PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!! I BEG YOU!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 11:14 pm

with a manual gearbox also….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • thepolygonal on Feb 04, 2015 at 1:46 pm

I second that! I just need the 1.5. As long as affordable. An example of a success which shows people buy for what it cost, how it looks and drives rather than performance… CRZ (during the tax exemption times.)

• AH SENG on Feb 03, 2015 at 11:39 pm

oh come on.. mazda should CKD this model…
    this car looks like it’s sitting between mazda 2 and mazda 3..
    if CKD for 100K.. i will definitely buy it..
    this is poor man’s gateway to entry level sportster.. oh yeah…

by the way, how much a brand new one cost in japan?

• Staple on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:44 am

The price is approximately same with the total of 9 semester fees for their IPTA.

• Obviously (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 2:11 am

The car looks really smart in white. That took me by surprise.

• Macromedia on Feb 04, 2015 at 6:31 am

That engine output. Heard sky actin is tough to mod too. Any comment on this guys?

• hail mazda on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:36 pm

2 liters with just 168hp…subaru 2 liters NA squeze much much more than this..just swap brz engine in this, would become perfect for me…

• I will take this over nissan z and toyota 68

• nabill (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:52 pm

the rear looks alot more like the F-Type which is not a bad thing…mx5 is always made for US and European market in mind,its even friendly priced there…
    mx5’s were never about outright power anyway , its all about light and being nimble ,so some will complain abt the teeny wheeny engines which means this car is not for u!
    last gen was priced rm230k here if i remember correctly,which is very retarded…

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 1:36 pm

I’m gonna laugh so hard if Mazda Malaysia price this 1.5l roadster over 200k.

This car is so small that the 2.0l engine is optional. There is a lot of good word about the 1.5l engine and the best part is you get to work it hard to push the car to its limits….nice.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:23 pm

once upon a time, there was a really stupid cabrio called the volkwagen eos….it was expensive and people bought it….so i think with the right specs…this mx-5 can sell

• blaster88 on Feb 04, 2015 at 3:42 pm

50/50 weight distribution at only about 1000kg and with a low centre of gravity? For those that have not driven a car with this kind of set up, please do so…..it would change your perception about what driving is all about – even with a puny NA 1.5lit engine.

• elson on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:52 am

that would be more wonderful if they can take off the handbreak

• FISHERM4N on May 31, 2015 at 5:06 pm

that would be more wonderful if they dont break hand.

• FISHERM4N on May 31, 2015 at 5:07 pm

that would be more wonderful if they don’t break hand