Toyota most valuable car brand despite airbag recalls

2015_Toyota_Camry_008

The BrandZ Top 100 Most Valuable Global Brands study, released by market researcher Millward Brown, has found Toyota to be the most valuable car brand in 2015, in spite of a recent wave of airbag-related recalls, reports Automotive News Europe.

The Japanese giant’s brand value actually fell 2% to US$28.9 billion, the study found, but it remains ahead of BMW’s US$26.4 billion and Mercedes-Benz’s US$21.8 billion. The study has been carried out for 10 years, and Toyota has been number one in eight of them.

“When you look at the trust the Toyota brand generates from car owners, there is little dent from the airbag issues. The customer experience, the good value, and the quality that customers trust see the brand through,” Millward Brown global BrandZ director told ANE.

bmw-330e-edrive-0019

Honda and Toyota are the only top 10 brands to see value drops. Honda’s brand value fell 5% to US$13.3 billion, as it also tackles issues surrounding airbag recalls.

BMW, in second place, saw its value jump 2% to US$26.4 billion, while third-ranked Mercedes enjoyed a 1% boost to US$21.8 billion. The fastest riser was Audi, who leapt a significant 43% to US$10.1 billion, overtaking parent company Volkswagen for seventh place.

“A lot of Audi’s success has much to do with what the brand stands for and what it means to consumers. It really stresses in a consistent way and communicates what is different and special about the brand: technology, safety, and the benefit to consumers, with good advertising supporting it,” Walshe told ANE.

MY16_Range_Rover_Evoque_EXT_LOC103_PR

Second-fastest riser Ford increased its value by 11%, while Land Rover overtook Chevrolet for ninth place. Walshe attributes Land Rover’s performance to its catering to customers’ demand for SUVs, and success in China.

“Land Rover is not worried about being worth the premium price it charges, because that is what makes the brand desirable,” he said.

Lexus passed Hyundai to take 10th spot. “While Lexus is oriented towards the US, the brand is about absolute quality and complete differentiation, leadership and being very well managed,” Walshe told the publication.

NYIAS_2016_Lexus_RX_350_F_SPORT_016

Collectively, the top 10 car brands have grown more slowly by 3% to US$143.6 billion, compared to 2014’s 17% increase. “Because of the high quality and technology involved required to raise brand value, it is harder to be differentiated (amongst carmakers),” he said.

Top 10 most valuable car brands in estimated worth

1. Toyota – US$28.9 billion
2. BMW – US$26.4 billion
3. Mercedes – US$21.8 billion
4. Honda – US$13.3 billion
5. Ford – US$13.1 billion
6. Nissan – US$11.4 billion
7. Audi – US$10.1 billion
8. Volkswagen – US$9.3 billion
9. Land Rover – US$5.0 billion
10. Lexus – US$4.3 billion

[scribd id=266775244 key=key-fMqq5gH4RHIxbLhWn63y mode=scroll]

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 27, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Toyota Rules!!!!

And this statement is coming from a used kimchi car dealer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 53
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on May 27, 2015 at 8:29 pm

You people need to work hard in order to be able to own a luxury Toyota like me. I am rich although i only stay at flat. i spend my money wisely on luxury car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 63
      • Beng P1boy on May 27, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Comfirm no 11 are Proton.

DrM promise to make global so he didn’t lie !!! Just support Proton and don’t ask !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
        • Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 27, 2015 at 8:50 pm

And so happens 11 is Jibby’s favorite number too no…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • coero on May 27, 2015 at 11:11 pm

LOL valueable car for money don’t translate to most safety one.

You cannot buy soul with money.
            Hint: Takata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • why is it ur son pakai proton???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Loo's friend on May 28, 2015 at 9:43 am

Don’t just accuse without knowledge. His son pakai Lexus CT200h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • samloo neighbourhood on May 28, 2015 at 3:01 pm

You must be the one who came by saga to look for his son ? Both your saga and Sam Loo 25 years old son saga park outside Cheras Flat.

• Sore loser will be very jealous when he see people drive Lexus……until tak boleh tahan, his brain quickly shift to denial mode and when see the Lexus but call it as Proton. What a pity!!!!

• less one important data, Toyota brand life span only 20 years!!! Meaning after 20 years no more value!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • PreveLover on May 28, 2015 at 9:59 am

hahaha…no Korean cars in the top 10 ??? waaa….i thought the Korean cars are good enough to compete with the Japanese car manufacturers but unfortunately not….

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 28, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Hyundai cars are really good for the used car market

• rider on May 28, 2015 at 3:33 pm

But toyota cars doesn`t have RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on May 27, 2015 at 7:01 pm

And guess what, no kimchis in the list.

Also, Both Lexus and Toyota are in, along with Nissan & Honda.

But for those sorhai tai lan ngongs, would strongly encourage all to buy new Elantra or Sonata. Need them 12 month later for export

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
  • Aero (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Global Toyota has always been a great company… but UMW Toyota… No. Sorry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo Sucks on May 27, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Meaningless study. Only proves that Lexus is lousy compared to toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • UMW President on May 27, 2015 at 7:03 pm

While Toyota global is moving forward, I want to make this brand a little bit special by making Toyota Malaysia moving forward (to coffin), thus we only offer two airbags for most of our models. Even the Camry, there is nine airbags in some other markets, but we made it seven only because it will not achieve our scope (moving to coffin). The airbags still supplied by Takata which is specifically available in our markets only. Thank you for you all support. We will continue and try hard to further reduce the safety specs and deliver top quality products to our valuable customers.

Sekian, terima kasih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 9:33 pm

7 airbags? Most Camry come with 2, and some even without VSC. Where in other markets 7 or 9 airbags and VSC are standard on even the most basic model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • heynekko on May 27, 2015 at 7:06 pm

What number is proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Beng P1boy on May 27, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Proton still No1 in Malaysia… DrM comfirm global brand Now to 2020 !!!

Pass 30 years management were testing market so not count !!!

So don’t complain just buy Proton lousy P2 owner !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • bro just honest advise, may you pls stop commenting? bcoz i believe you make ppl hate the brand more

• Not Same Lorrr on Jun 01, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Actually Ah beng is toyota’s salesman he purposely come here to support proton but in fact he just want to make ppl hate proton so that ppl will take out proton as a consideration in purchasing new car. it similar to same lorrr support toyota actually same lorrr himself hate the brand of toyota most! he just wan to spoil toyota name. That’s why he always be so supportive to toyota. Also, he used to talk bad about other product cars. In fact, he just want to hlp others brand car to see how many ppl will come out and def for the brand. Actually, both of thm is a really kind person so stop bashing two of them :)

• Beng P1boy on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Why you jelly are P2 lousy owner !!!

• Not Same Lorrr on Jun 05, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Chill bro, we all know that you hate proton much. haha

• spongewai on May 27, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Toyota 1st then Lexus 10th

what’s the different??! hmm

• das auto on May 27, 2015 at 10:15 pm

It means toyota is branded while lexus is pariah like biscuit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
      • policeman on May 28, 2015 at 8:21 am

Butt hurts because Toyota and BMW beat your VW and Audi like mashed potato? Start to call people “pariah” when you lose is no class.
        And sorry you can in denial mode all your life but the fact remain VW will never be on par with Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
        • das auto on May 28, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Both VW and Audi beat the shit out of Lexus. Cock eye policeman better see properly la…don’t always bz collect duit kopi and rogol chicks in lockup only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
          • policeman on May 28, 2015 at 10:25 pm

I said Toyota and BMW beat your VW and Audi like mashed potato. Now you mention Lexus? Do you know how to debate or not? All your wording are douchebags, I do not know how your parent teach you, maybe they are like you good in talking trash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • das auto on May 29, 2015 at 1:00 pm

I think you spend too much time is jail raping indon. Come out more in the open la. Do you compare perodua or proton with lexus? Is it the same standard? Do you even know what is luxury? You probably think vios is a luxury car like ah beng. Obviously ppl compare luxury category which is audi vs lexus….and it beats lexus here.
            I don’t know why you like bring ppl’s parents in the picture. I think you must be a orphan that’s why you hate your parents for throwing you in the dumpster. Pity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • fireman on May 30, 2015 at 10:40 am

das auto, you are one seriously butt hurt Audi fanboy. BMW and Mercedes crash Audi like a Char Koay Teow is the fact. Why you suddenly bring in Lexus for what?

• dbklman on May 30, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Aiyah. Fireman and policeman is the same person. Butthurt Lexus fanboy. Hahaha

• andrewlee on May 28, 2015 at 4:15 pm

how many year Toyota existed in Malaysia… cannot be compare.. as VW just comein to our market…
          If VW marketing strategy continue and service improve VW… this brand can beat Honda and Toyota anytime.. it is just the matter of time.

• policeman on May 28, 2015 at 10:30 pm

This market research is done world wide not Malaysia alone. Read and understand the article before making statement, if not you will look like a fool.

• Megaman on May 29, 2015 at 6:04 pm

yea, now VW ady make a lot of improvement. Example, TSC, 4S dealership and all the new car models performance are highly improved.

• fireman on May 29, 2015 at 6:00 pm

yea, only in valuable lol. Toyota can never ever beat the VW in performance. haha try and go to view the car sales volume on April in Malaysia. Only vw’ sale is rising, many others is dropping including your toyota lol.

• Arone Box on Jun 04, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Different car brand have different problem.. neither Toyota also got problem la! why must keep attacking vw leh?

• It actually means Toyota command greater tech know-hows and overall strength in development.

Whenever Lexus grows stronger, the credit automatically goes to Toyota; as the tech, this and that, all come from Toyota. With Lexus trying to differentiate itself from Toyota more and more now, Toyota’s next secret weapon to boost brand image and value is fuel cell. Experts stress on renewable energy, green tech and recyclable parts a lot.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Of course this is global perception of value. Not actually whether the cars are any good. Kudos to Toyota for the #1 spot again. And even better,their luxury brand, Lexus, has sneaked in into #10.

• kipas angin on May 27, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Same lorrr will like it…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 27, 2015 at 11:22 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA, start thinking about your will

• drMpower on May 27, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Hahaha
    Despite allllll the jokes on sam loo and driven also poking fun as well toyota is number one

Poor on ur kids

• bujingyun on May 27, 2015 at 8:30 pm

sam loo will be more arrogant with this..and say that the RV of toyota cars are unbeatable..sigh..

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 27, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Toyota top brand despite massive airbag recalls… Hmm…

BMW 2nd in line, and value went up 2% despite offering only 2-year warranty, after that Banyak Masuk Workshop…? Hmm…

Sounds fishy here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 9:32 pm

You understand the concept of global? I wonder if they even bothered to check about Malaysia…

• Beng P1boy on May 28, 2015 at 8:44 am

This P2 kids still live in jungle or jamban.

Never understand Global? Go Google or look for dictionary before comment.

• das auto on May 27, 2015 at 10:17 pm

BMW offers 4 yr warranty almost globally. Only in bolehland shit happens

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 27, 2015 at 11:00 pm

Takata Airbag issue not only affects Toyota.

Read a little more and you will buy sushis.

I need sorhais like you to buy Hyundai. So please continue to read less

• Jimmy on May 27, 2015 at 9:51 pm

It seems like everybody starts to know and understand the meaning of ‘most valuable brand’. Do you, really?

Where are Rolls Royce, Bentley and Jaguar?
    Where are Ferrari, Lamborghini, Aston Martin, Porsche, etc?
    Aren’t all these much more desirable compared to all the top 10 nominees?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • dugongx on May 28, 2015 at 12:06 am

Yup. Its so stupid. Any tom dick and harry can afford a cheapo toyota. Its no value.

• jay loo on May 28, 2015 at 12:54 am

Most value as in monetery value, worth of the company and the brand. Means the brand can sell most cars and generate most profit in returns. Means people have confident in the brand generally and want to buy Toyota. Used to be 20 years ago, my dad bought me a Honda EX5. I hated that bike as it was already an uncle’s bike at that time. 20 years later and with the advancement of technology, I wish I can buy an EX5 with exactly that kind they offered 20 years ago and willing to pay more than what is offered on the market today, say RM 5500 also i am willing to buy….so you see how peopke perceive value???

• bltzr on May 28, 2015 at 6:41 am

Something’s fishy going on

• “Brand Value” doesn’t necessarily means desirability, how much they charge or the amount on their price tag.

Brand value is more towards the sustainability, amount of tech possessed, patents in hand and long term development of a certain brand. Generally, companies which always lead to mass produce certain ground-breaking tech would excel in brand values.

Toyota grew massively when the hybrid trend took off; but its value has stopped growing that rapidly as hybrid is already something quite common and “old school” now. That is why they’re banking on fuel cell now.

BMW has been doing really well as they’re always the first to rush to introduce new and geeky tech in the industry. Things like the iDrive, joy-stick-like gear lever, laser light and others all help to add a bit into the brand value. BMW’s i-series electric car, its recent move to mass produce CFRP and brought down its price by 90% are also positive stimulus.

Look at Audi and you’ll understand why. The brand, as a whole, is perceived as cool, geeky, trendy etc. These are core values to boost brand value.

Lexus, improved greatly because it has successfully transformed itself from a boring car maker to one that produces rivals for M, AMG and RS. Its recent makeover in styling also worked quite well.

• Accordana on May 28, 2015 at 8:14 am

These are car brand that sell expensive but low in value, now we talk about value not car price.
      Do you think Coca-cola is more expensive than Blue Label? Go and learn your economic.

• Toyota and BMW post are the most bashing by the haters. But the are no 1 and 2.
    So all those keep attack Toyota and always mention BMW 2 year warranty/Banyak Masuk Workshop are basically loser and in denial mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • OMG….you must be blind that p1 and p2 also being bashed by haters. They are also basically losers and in denial mode?

• p1 and p2 in top 10 or not, use your brain could you?

• OMG..who cares about that list, p1 and p2 still no.1 and no.2 in bolehland.

And for your brainless head who cares about money, it cannot resurrect died people. Safety first.

• Beng P1boy on May 28, 2015 at 8:48 am

Those preferring to Malaysia UMW and Auto Bavaria = Bolehland policy or BN cronies right.

• Brand value is the perceived value of the company.
    Toyota might be number 1 among the automotive companies but it is not even in the Top 25 global companies.
    That honor belongs to IT companies and Apple is nearly 10x more valuable than Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • tiffany on May 28, 2015 at 12:34 am

boys.. we all know IT is a much bigger industry..
      in Paultan, we discuss about CAR industry.

for your next comment, do compare apple to apple.

• qwerty on May 28, 2015 at 7:53 am

Oh dear, where did you get that piece of info? Toyota is 8th in overall ranking, among the top 500 companies. And Apple is only around 5 times as valuable.

http://www.forbes.com/powerful-brands/list/

• Wow! Never realized Sam’s family is spread out over the four corners of the world!

• sammy on May 28, 2015 at 8:42 am

When you see brand like Ford and VW in the list, that list then becomes questionable…

• rally_fan (Member) on May 28, 2015 at 9:26 am

its brand value. if you have to make that statement, you probably need to look up what brand value means.

• there are so many market researcher.. diff. researcher come out with diff. result..

• as a comparison (according to Forbes), Toyota is valued at USD 35,017 million while Proton is at USD 237 million.. see the difference?

• The jongos on May 29, 2015 at 12:10 am

U see. It happen to my proton saga iswara 2007. Bila nk jual balik used car berani amik rm3k je..beli mahal2 last2 itu rupanya value kereta aku..jual kat pembeli luar cuma rm5k je..sedih aku..beli harga kereta dkt rm28k

• Ignoramus on May 29, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Paultan should explain what “brand value” means before giving the top ten list. Judging from the comments here, most Malaysians (or maybe just Paultan readers) know very little about what the term means.