Toyota M’sian sales target revised lower to 90k units in 2015, Perodua to go up; UMW to diversify business

UMW Holdings is expecting sales of Toyota vehicles to be lower this year amid strong competition, while Perodua – of which it owns 38% – will see an uptick in sales in 2015, according to a Bernama report

“We have revised downwards our sales target for Toyota vehicles this year from about 103,000 units sold in 2014. This year, we expect our Toyota sales at around 90,000 units,” said chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin after the group’s annual general meeting.

He added that UMW is looking to diversify its revenue streams in the current financial year to reduce its dependency on its automotive business, which contributed around 80% to its total revenue in the previous financial year, driven by Perodua’s strong sales.

Perodua_Myvi_10th_Anniversary_ 002

“If the automotive business continues to do well, we don’t want to reduce anything, in fact we want to grow the automotive business. But if you rely only on one sector and that sector goes through a difficult time, you’ll have nothing to go back to.”

“We are currently in talks with several partners on the diversification plan and will make the announcement at the appropriate time,” Asmat said, adding that it will either expand its four current businesses – automotive, equipment, oil and gas, as well as manufacturing and engineering – or venture into new segments.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express disappointment over Toyota’s lack of safety features like VSC in Malaysia, criticizing UMW for stripping safety to cut costs, which has led to declining sales and low customer trust. Many highlight that Toyota cars in Japan have high safety standards, but Malaysian models are under-equipped, affecting brand reputation. Several comments claim UMW’s arrogance and unethical practices—selling heavily stripped-down vehicles at inflated prices—are damaging Toyota’s image. There is widespread belief that competition from Honda and Hyundai, along with smarter Malaysian buyers, is contributing to Toyota’s sales drop. Some comments also mock the company’s marketing and sales strategies, suggesting that UMW’s focus on cost-cutting and ignoring safety features will lead to further decline. Overall, the sentiment is negative, emphasizing safety and value concerns.

• Strip off more safety features. .. get ghost to buy ur vehicles

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 2
    • Not bec strong competition la dey!
      bec buyers nowadays are smarter and not easily fallen to sam loo trap

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrrr on May 29, 2015 at 2:11 pm

We no need con ppl like “Betul2 Onz”. I will tell my customer straight to face that my Vios has no VSC and 2 airbags. But they still buying… why?

It is the quality! You (especially Proton and kimchi) will never understand it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 53
        • goturbo on May 29, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Is the quality is about safety? NO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 29, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
          • Rokuth on May 29, 2015 at 5:20 pm

“1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh)” and “VSC VSC Where are you?” don’t know their facts. If you go to Toyota USA website you will not see the Toyota Altis anywhere on their website. Why? Because they don’t SELL the Altis in the USA. How to believe anything else they say when they cannot get their facts straight.

And the Toyota Camry is MANUFACTURED in the USA. 80% of the parts in a US built Camry is American. No CBU Camrys sold in the USA.

Come on, with the internet anybody can find out the so called “Facts” you are spouting are pure fiction. Your prices are also about ten years behind.

• Cortanut on May 30, 2015 at 9:44 am

@Rokuth
            You are talking about facts and here you made a huge mistake about Altis not being sold in the states. The fact is over there it is marketed as the Toyota Corolla. In the Asian region we get the Corolla Global model while the states have a different variant of the Corolla. However essentially it is still the same car and monthly sales figure is over 30k units of Corolla/Altis sold in the states. So please get your facts right.

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 30, 2015 at 11:33 am

Rokuth, talk so much. But all rots. Altis is the Corolla. This is the problem with people with nothing in their heads, they talk to much. How to believe you also?

• Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh on May 30, 2015 at 12:09 pm

People with Internet access become more stupid in time. Altis is Corolla la bang! Too much of nasi lemak make you sleepy.

• steven see on May 29, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Not your vios, you are only a junior uncle salesman. You are employee of UMW only.

• 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on May 29, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Toyota also very bad RV nowadays. Camry 2.5 2014 July model, accident free and only done 22k km now selling for RM98k, down RM82k. Original price is RM180k.

In 10 to 11 months, the car can lose RM82k. That is how bad Toyota RV is.

• Low Budget on May 29, 2015 at 3:07 pm

You do not performing well as Toyota rep. lately don’t you? Sales are being overtaken by Honda and now your employer needs to depend on sales of ‘kei’ car to survive.

• VSC VSC Where are you? on May 29, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now for UMW salesman and their arrogant attitude of their company just giving 2 airbags and no VSC.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The previous Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars on higher end models but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 10 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC on higher end models). But the RM150k Camry still got no VSC and only 2 airbags.

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have. Now with this Mazda 3, confirm mati Altis.

UMW Malaysia will get this Altis car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.
            In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM139,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.
            Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.
            Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.
            How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.
            Sam loo(ori1) and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k. Now people say can even get the Camry 2.5 2014 model for even RM98k. Wah! drop RM80k in 11 months!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Gargantia on May 29, 2015 at 10:02 am

UMW instead lowering selling price they choose to lower sales target ?!!!

Is the BOD lost of mind to greed and arrogant over marketing and Toyota motive “moving forward”.

UMW truly “moving backward” !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on May 29, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Maybe my sales commission is not enough for a Lexus this year. But at least we don’t BEG from the government.

You don’t buy Toyota, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia/Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
      • samelorstpd on May 29, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Huh? That’s a promise, not mere begging
        Get your fact right

• biggbro on May 29, 2015 at 10:06 am

Serves UMW right…all those years of cheating and skimping off safety equipments finally caught up on your sales. Hope this will be a lesson on other car distributors not to take customers on a ride.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
  • Same L0rrrr on May 29, 2015 at 10:06 am

Can buy Toyota ah? I scare I will lose my job. I give you discount and high value trade in. Come, don’t shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
    • tokmoh. on May 29, 2015 at 11:38 am

Go sell lingerie better sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Bra and Panties Promoter on May 29, 2015 at 3:42 pm

ha Ha ha ha. Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) the lingerie salesman!

UMW salesman by day but bra and panties promoter by night!

• meaning no new model this year and still two airbags and no stability control.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • vincent on May 29, 2015 at 10:10 am

Sam Loo can start his bra business liao.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • StillSleeping on May 29, 2015 at 10:21 am

Market sentiment indeed very low due to GST, but your other competitor ie, Honda overtake your sale, you should go think about what strong with your car and strategy in local market. Not just lower your sales target, and diversify your biz. Betul- betul tidur lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • joejambol on May 29, 2015 at 10:25 am

umw willing to reduce target sale then put measures to increase sales volume…man that is totally sucks!. ppl in umw mentality..absolutely 3rd class.u wont put vsc n add more safety to toyota cars rite. i guarantee u if put vsc as standad, ur sales will double. i am very curious y n y umw reluctant to add vsc as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Edmont on May 29, 2015 at 10:44 am

UMW is a disgrace to Toyota worldwide..

remove more safety features and lower your sales target.. an ultimate insult to Toyota..

pls remove moving forward from your slogan.. lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on May 29, 2015 at 3:12 pm

UMW now is now depending on Perodua car sales, may be next year they will put the Vios engine into the new Perodua sedan model to survive.

• Honda on May 29, 2015 at 10:54 am

sam boo, ask u to work but curi tulang skodeng people at paultan.org. No wonder toyota no sales!!!

• dodgeviper88 on May 29, 2015 at 10:58 am

At the end of the day, cronies like UMW, DRB etc still untung if you buy any new vehicles.

• say something on May 29, 2015 at 11:11 am

Apparently UMW Toyota still dont understand what is their problems.
    It is not a matter of expensive or what, it is about the sincerity of your product, by not stripping off the specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 11:16 am

Sam Loo how now?

First time in history I think this is happening….

• WaJib on May 29, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Sam Loo will apply for Honda Salesman..Padan muka..

• Sam Loo (ori1 ) on May 29, 2015 at 2:16 pm

I already make enough money from the sorhai RM25k trade in of Kimchis every month.

I can now enjoy holiday at Langkawi and Pulau Ketam.
      My EPF already got RM100k at my age of 54. Dont be jealous, work hard, you will one day be the same like me.

• normal_user on May 29, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Well so many claimed to be sam loo.. looks like they r just trolls. Laughable comments. Doesnt make sense that u r real umw salesman.

• Bra and Panties Promoter on May 29, 2015 at 3:54 pm

I am the genuine Sam Loo. I am better known in this forum as either Same Lorrrr or Sam Loo (ori1).

My Toyota sales are oficially ZERO. Whatever UMW sells is actually to Government departments. We salesman now got no money.

Selling bra and panties at night quite hard to survive alone. Please ask all your wives to come to Parkson and help me out.

• Umw_s on May 29, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Cuti-cuti malaysia only??? Come on sam boo…

• Balls on May 29, 2015 at 11:23 am

All toyota sales man makan kangkung liao! Sales drop. So much for all the RV tokok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Cheah on May 29, 2015 at 11:44 am

Myvi celebrating 10 years anniversary with a lot of blood on hand. Throughout the 10 years there are many Myvi users died on the road due to the lacking of the safety features.

• mythbuster on May 29, 2015 at 11:52 am

As a current toyota owner i’m really shame on u UMW. Even, simple the thing that why your cars recently not selling well also u cannot understand. Definitely, u will going down in Malaysia automotive arena. People smart ready, not simply fooled by UMW oudated roadtour, free ticket tricks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Anti-pati on May 29, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Keep it up! Pretty soon they’ll see the error of their ways!

• What top valuable brand, sell bullshit technology, I told already Toyota brand life span only have 20 year from now. After 20 years Toyota no more value. At that time Sam L0rr eat bullshit

• drift on May 29, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Hi UMW, who know you will announce again to lower your sales target again if not 70k then 50k?
    Toyota wear a top automotive brand in world but could not believe this happen in Malaysia.
    Could not deny Toyota designed a good engine until it good for production so many years until today (eg: vios’s 1NZ engine since 1997).
    Then come to safety feature, a lot people bashing you due to no VSC. This is valid, please don’t assume Malaysian are all super drifter that not wear VSC + traction control. We are normal road user which need those safety feature to help protect our life.

• james on May 29, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Remember Nokia? UMM, soon u will be another Nokia…can’t read market needs..

• Just want to buy a new car but after doing comparison, seem like toyota is stingy in safety features some more, Your car isnt cheap.Nowadays, ppl get smarter.They can do survey.There are alot of choices now. You can not hold your old marketing strategy over here anymore.Go and Get your MBA.

• wiwiwiwiw on May 29, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Toyota cars that is made and sold in Japan are impressive. High technology, first rate safety equipments, well built on quality and reliability. These cars aren’t sold here but can be purchased via grey importers.

The ones that are sold here are the opposite of what the Toyota cars are sold in Japan. Old chassis Dinasour engine and power trains, low safety features, with stupid body kits, stupid chrome handles and colored carpet mats or boot tray.

If it is a real Toyota. Try and sell Vios, Avanza, Rush, Altis 1.8, Fortuner, Innova to the Japanese market. Do you think they will buy? Hell no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • ben yap on May 29, 2015 at 2:45 pm

lousy product features sure enjoy lousy sales…. rip what u sow UMW.

• Apparently in a Toyota showroom somewhere, whenever potential customers come asking S*m L** if vios come with vsc, tc and 6 airbags, he told the customers:
    “Go away! Dun bother me with useless question! U wan safety I ask u go for altis toppest kek with overpriced safety package but u poorfag! If u dun cannot afford to buy, then vios is good enough for ur devalued lives!
    Told u the T badge is almighty and will protect u and giv u prestige but u dun believe me! Who do u think I am! I am S** ***! Wat I say about Toyota is true cuz it godcar!
    Ada godcar ada amoi! Wave ur hand at pak guard oso will let u in not like Proton!
    U wan Proton features and safety, u go buy Proton lah! Dun waste my time! U dun like u kluar! Go buy ur sohai Proton!”

Thats how the sales drop.

• autosense on May 29, 2015 at 8:14 pm

In most countries Toyota is passenger vehicle sales leader. Even if they are not they are neck and neck with the leader. In Malaysia toyota is so far behind honda on passenger vehicle sales.

Time of Toyota to find a new partner and ditch UMW cos due to its arrogance toyota is lagging far behind in malaysia.

• I’m still driving the last gen altis equipped with vsc…am not planning to downgrade to the latest with no vsc.

• Yam Cha OK on May 29, 2015 at 10:41 pm

Erm, despite UMW T kena hantam kuat kuat..but how about Nissan Almera ? also without VSC. but the price of Almera was significantly cheaper compare to Vios. that’s why no complaints.

i was surprised as UMW revised their Toyota sales target instead of reduce the selling prices to gain some market share back..does TMC will not get angry about this ? losing their sales target because of UMW ! i feel that soon or later TMC will pull back the distributorship from UMW as UMW shame the TMC selling low safety specs cars at high price ? let’s imagine this… i believe TMC rather pull out from Malaysia market rather than let UMW tarnish the TOyota brand.
    But for UMW T, really shame on you as losing to Honda. Honda only has limited models, but Toyota has broad range from passenger, MPV, Van, Pick up. and yet still losing.. PUI!

• Nancy on May 30, 2015 at 6:39 am

Hey guys…
    Stop blaming this car or that car strip off this & that whenever comes to Malaysia. Don’t you know that all this while the high import duty by the Gov. force the manufacturer to do so to suit Malaysian appetite in term of purchasing power. It is very unfortunate that most Malaysian are still retarded supporting this kind of Gov who don’t care about their safety. Remember that..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • autosense on May 30, 2015 at 9:19 am

Dont make sweeping statements. How come other car manufacturers like honda, nissan and hyundai can give vsc for same segment car and similar price? This has nothing to do with government.

• Same Lorrrr on Jun 01, 2015 at 9:09 am

hahahahaha…I am the real Same Lorrrr

• sammy on Jun 01, 2015 at 10:07 am

Just look at the current product line up.
    Rush??
    Avanza??
    Innova??
    These are not even global models. Old technology.
    The product line up simply is incomplete. Where is B segment hatch to compete with Jazz? don’t tell me is the Myvi.. Where is a proper SUV to compete with CRV and CX5? Every year goreng the Altis and Camry which are underspec and overprice, not to mention look like uncle.
    Go diversify and sell pisang goreng lah.