Mercedes-Benz CLA Street Style art car by rapper CRO

Mercedes CLA by CRO-03

You should be pretty familiar with BMW’s Art Cars by now, but here’s one from rival Mercedes-Benz. The premium carmaker has teamed up with German rapper CRO to create this CLA Street Style car, which stands out with a coat of graffiti.

Billed as an “imaginative” and “expressive” example of street art, the compact four-door coupe was painted by CRO freestyle with aerosol paint cans, paint pens and traditional paint. “I paint and draw almost always, no matter where I am or what I’m doing. Nothing is safe from me and, indeed, not a Mercedes-Benz,” the man himself said.

CRO, real name Carlo Waibel, is a rapper, singer, producer and designer under his clothing label Vio Vio. Also famous for hiding behind a panda mask, the 25-year old calls his music raop, a mixture of pop and rap. Both rapper and carmaker share the same hometown, Stuttgart. The above info is gleaned from Wikipedia, as this writer is way too unhip to have heard of CRO. I do however, know a little bit about the CLA, and you can read our review here.

The one-off Mercedes-Benz CLA Street Style car will go on tour across Germany along with normal-skinned compact siblings A-Class, B-Class, GLA and CLA Shooting Brake before eventually being sold. So, a work of art or a waste of a car?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Such a waste. Kesian that poor CLA getting tortured like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • Do you know the meaning of art? I guess you are living in a cave with no appreciation for arts and creativity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • If the ‘art’ ruins the natural aesthetics of a car, I think it’s better to just dump the car and the artist in a cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Nissan on Jun 02, 2015 at 9:24 am

Work done by the famous = Art, but in the hand of others = shit.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:55 am

JPJ lepas or not like this?