Faster, lighter Honda Civic Type R variant possible

Civic Type R Pan-European launch

The 2015 Honda Civic Type R is mighty fast for most people, we would assume. With a pre-production mule lapping the Nurburgring in 7:50.63, the Civic Type R now holds the record for the fastest front-wheel drive vehicle to have ever gone round the Green Hell. Well done, chaps. Now, go get some rest. Right?

Wrong. According to project leader, Hisayuki Yagi, a faster, lighter Civic Type R variant will be developed should a rival hatch rob Honda of its Nurburgring title. “At the start of development we set the target to be the fastest front-drive hatchback around the Nurburgring Nordschleife. And we are. If someone takes our record, we will take it back,” said Hisayuki to Motor Trend.

Stripping the car down and adding power was the only option left, according to Hisayuki. “We didn’t leave ourselves any margin of safety in that lap,” he added, further reinforcing the notion that the current car has been driven to its absolute limit. Should said variant come into existence, just how much more power will be added and weight removed, you ask?

Civic Type R Pan-European launch

An addition of around 20 horsepower coupled to a weight cut of approximately 20 pounds (9 kg) is the rumoured target, according to Hisayuki. “You can feel there is headroom for more power from the engine. It’s all about power to weight ratio,” he added.

Hisayuki also revealed that the pre-production mule that lapped the Nurburgring was equipped with the same unmodified engine, suspension setup and tyres as that of the production variant. The only difference is the absence of an air-conditioning system which Honda claims was offset by the inclusion of a roll cage – the latter was reported to play no significant increase in rigidity as it was mounted via rubber blocks.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam Loo Ori on Jun 08, 2015 at 12:59 pm

As long as the car is sushi, it will have RV !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Obviously (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:29 pm

I gotta say that this is the most Ah Beng looking production road car to come out of any automaker’s factory. I personally find it distasteful but I’m certain that many would dig it. Saves Ah Beng’s the trouble of ricing it up AND it has race potential.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • ae101 on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Cant wait to see best motoring taiko test this on tauge

• jinggo on Jun 08, 2015 at 3:36 pm

sembang pasal kete yang tak akan dijual di malaysia.. apa hal?

• Sam Loo, yo momma is so stupid to forget the doctor’s appointment to test your brain.
    SAKAI.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 08, 2015 at 11:17 pm

It looks a bit fussy and a bit over-the-top for my liking. The outgoing one is more sleek.

• csteoh7828 on Jun 19, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Sadly, the Honda Civic Type-R is not available in Australia until the launch in 2017.