Infiniti Q70 facelift launched in Malaysia, from RM295k

Infiniti Q70 Facelift Msia 2

Teased last month, the Infiniti Q70 facelift was officially launched in Malaysia this morning at the Infiniti Center on Jalan Tun Razak, KL. The refreshed Q70, first seen at the 2014 New York show with a new long wheelbase body, arrives here in standard 2,900 mm wheelbase form.

The curvy Q70 – formerly known as the Infiniti M and sold as the Nissan Fuga in Japan – gets new clothes to not look so out of place next to fit younger sister Q50. The nip and tuck is pretty convincing, we must say.

Up front, the Q70’s ‘eyes’ are the most visible change, now with LED headlights and ‘eyebrow’ daytime running lights that work well with the new and bold double arch grille, which has a ‘more 3D’ look and a mesh back. The front bumper with integrated fog lights is also new. Prior to this, we’ve only seen the optional sport bumper, which all the official press images show.

Infiniti Q70 Facelift Msia 82

The new tail lamps, now with a double-curve LED signature, are the most visible change at the back. The boot lid edge has been flattened while the rear bumper has been slimmed down. A long chrome strip bridges the tail lamps – it now houses the Infiniti script that was originally tiny and tucked under the logo. The big sedan rides on 18-inch alloys with 245/50 tyres.

Infiniti says that the new Q70 is quieter than before, thanks to extra noise insulation materials, increased sealing and stiffened wheels. Active Noise Cancellation monitors cabin noise levels and generates sound from the door speakers to ‘cancel out’ the noise.

Three engines are on the menu – a 3.7 litre V6 VVEL (Variable Valve Event & Lift) unit with 320 hp and 360 Nm (0-100 km/h 6.2s); a more road tax friendly 2.5 litre V6 with CVTC, 218 hp and 253 Nm (0-100 km/h 8.5s); and a 3.5L Hybrid. No downsized turbo engine for the Q70 yet.

Infiniti Q70 FL 1

The Q70 3.5L Hybrid model features a one-motor, two-clutch parallel ‘Direct Response’ hybrid system that generates a combined system output of 360 hp and 350 Nm. The 67 hp/270 Nm electric motor, powered by lithium-ion batteries, is a performance enhancer much like a traditional supercharger, and Infiniti calls it a “driver’s hybrid”. 0-100 km/h takes just 5.5 seconds.

The smooth naturally-aspirated six-pot units are paired to a seven-speed torque converter automatic gearbox with downshift rev matching and manual mode, and drive goes to the rear wheels, just like with rivals Lexus GS, BMW 5 Series and Mercedes-Benz E-Class. Weight distribution is 53:47 front-rear.

A Drive Mode Selector (on the centre console, behind the gear lever) allows one to choose from Standard, Sport, Eco and Snow modes, which adjusts throttle sensitivity and transmission mapping.

Standard equipment include LED headlamps and DRLs, keyless entry and push start, auto headlamps and wipers, tyre pressure warning system, reverse camera with front/rear parking sensors, sunroof, 10-way powered front seats (with memory and entry/exit assist for driver), ventilated front seats, quilted leather and the White Ash wood trim with silver-powder that Infiniti is very proud of, and rightly so.

Also standard are safety kit that includes six airbags, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) and Isofix child seat mounts.

Available in Hermosa Blue (new), Malbec Black, Liquid Platinum, Graphite Shadow and Moonlight White with premium pearl finish; the Infiniti Q70 is priced at RM295k for the 2.5L, RM375k for the 3.7L and RM420k for the Hybrid.

Sport Premium package nets one a different bumper, 20-inch wheels and a Bose sound system

There are optional packages for all three variants. The 2.5’s Sport Premium package adds on the sport look (sport front bumper with gloss black trim, lower rear bumper painted in dark grey), 20-inch wheels (245/40 tyres) and a 10-speaker Bose sound system (which comes with an eight-inch hi-res touch screen with navi, as opposed to a seven-inch non touch screen) for RM35k. The 3.7L and Hybrid’s RM25k Sport package adds on the sport bumper and 20-inch wheels (Bose system already standard on these two).

The standard three-year or 100,000 km factory warranty applies.

Infiniti Q70 2.5L

Infiniti Q70 2.5L with Sport Premium package

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Aaron on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:32 pm

It’s a beautiful car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Wait let me get this right…the bigger engine siblings are a lot pricier and the only difference between them and the base 2.5l is the Bose sound system and a bigger engine?

Wow, I would have thought the more expensive models will get better kit like surround view cameras, keyless entry and what not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • P2 macai on Jun 09, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Very good try Infiniti Q70, but still not at the level of GS, 5 series and E class, should have no problem to compete with A6 and S80.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Sam Teh on Jun 09, 2015 at 1:15 pm

300k for japs made ? No thank you meh, I’ll go for German’s for that money..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • kington on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:28 pm

You’d be surprised how much these luxury Japs have caught up with the Germans, especially Lexus. The GS is one heck of a car, especially in F Sport trim as it gains 4 wheel steering. Cabin space is short compared to the E but the boot is a golfer’s favorite, you could easily load golf bags into the boot without having to turn it horizontal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Sam Teh on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Tell that to my kiasu in-laws…I got to sleep with their daughters thanks to my dad’s old W210 I’m driving now..

• tishaban on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Given that most people want space either for their family or for the owners to be chauffered around I’m surprised Infiniti didn’t launch the long wheel base Q70L instead.

Overall it looks ok, wood all over isn’t to my taste however.

• Same L0rr on Jun 09, 2015 at 2:53 pm

This is a piece of joke compared to Lexus ES. I can’t brain why anyone will want to buy this. No clas,s no image, no prestige.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • Snobs on Jun 09, 2015 at 3:41 pm

You are referring to yourself when u said no class, no image and no prestige.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Full Value on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:03 pm

It’s not a bad car but bad pricing.

Infiniti has no brand heritage in this part of the world.

If you want to pinch sales away from the established German giants you need to start with a lower price point and more kit to attract customers.

With these sort of marketing, I don’t think Infiniti has any chance of selling their vehicles in significant numbers.(same goes to Lexus which aren’t selling very well in this country, reason being overpriced!)

• amonrei on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:12 pm

What could’ve been the new Perdana…

• yummy on Jun 09, 2015 at 5:35 pm

E300 hybrid vs Q70

• a good car as you all can’t compare with BMW 5 as very poor interior design and vs E-Class just CKD and this is fully import. very attractive car you all can see at the light system and interior design :)

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Is the pricetag missing RM70k or is this a pretty good deal? Cos the equally CBU Lexus GS250 costs RM70k more. Even the locally assembled 520i costs RM75k more.

• potat on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Q70 lauched at 2010, uses the now outgoing VQ engines instead of Mercedes Turbo engines, also using Nissan Automatics instead of Mercedes G-Tronic Plus, also most driver assist features add-on in Q50 is not available in the Q70, no doubt it looks better than Q50, but in terms of technology Q50 is way ahead of it, this explains why there’s only 50k difference between the 2.

Still, better than A6.

• sammy on Jun 14, 2015 at 9:50 am

The GS250 was launch in 2011.. nothing fancy in the engine.. not fuel efficient.. and yet cost much more then Q70.
    Personally I quite like the old school luxury of this infiniti… that ashwood has to be seen to believe how beautiful it is.

• Matts on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:42 am

Japs same price with German? Sorry……. Japs……
    You are just selling a gold price tag of a silver material only…

Please go back to your japs price for 5 years then, only compare first then only see how…….

• Matts on Jun 21, 2015 at 11:47 am

This car too japs!!!!!!! Not recommended at all !!! Sorry japsssssss