VIDEO: Lorry drops driveshaft, hits car on the NKVE – drivers, always keep a safe distance to vehicles ahead

More troubling incidents involving poorly maintained lorries in Malaysia have come to light. After a 30-tonne lorry with apparent brake failure smashed into 24 vehicles in Kuala Lumpur last Tuesday, yet another one popped its driveshaft in the middle of the NKVE highway earlier today.

Paul and Harvinder were present as it happened, and had to manoeuvre around the bulky metal driveshaft that came to a stop in the middle lane. We posted the incident on our Facebook page, which prompted reader Looi Wing Huat to send us the video above.

The short dash cam clip shows the exact same thing happening ahead of him, but with a far bleaker outcome. In this case, the lorry’s driveshaft joint rolled across the highway and hit his 2010 Toyota Vios dead on, causing significant wreckage to the car’s underside.

Worse yet, that particular lorry only had a third party insurance coverage, which would incur a lengthy claims process. Not willing to wait that long, the victim decided to bare the repair costs himself – about RM4,000 to fix the front bumper, grille, radiator, engine oil cooler, gearbox oil pan, air-con coil and exhaust system.

While there’s nothing much that we as road users can do about these poorly maintained lorries, there are ways to minimise such risks. For starters, we should always keep a safe distance to the car(s) in front, so that you have enough time and more importantly, sufficient space to make evasive manoeuvres if necessary.

One should also be aware of his or her surrounding at all times when behind the wheel. Check your mirrors, all of them, so that you know where you can or cannot turn to in case of emergencies. Lastly, speed. Going just that little bit slower will give you more time and space to react to unexpected scenarios.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:36 pm

That Proton Iriz nearly missed it….

As for the reader, I seriously think you should go and get the company who owns the lorry to cover it, the more we let these guys to get away with it, that’s when they don’t care.

Puspakom, just please, do us all a favour and close up. Tbh all you guys do is collect cash. Nothing more. I shudder to think if this hit a motorcyclist.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 3
    • Corruption is the MAIN problem on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Don’t blame the lorries, blame the polis. I have had a gas cyclinder fall on my car and smash my bonnet and windscreen.

Another time, I had a flower pot from a lorry flying onto my car, lucky I avoided.

Don’t blame the lorry drivers nor their irresposible companies. Blame the polis and JPJ. 9 out of 10 times they catch these guys, the lorry driver always give ang pau to settle the matter.

9 out of 10 times, the polis officer also accept the ang pau. Infact, it has got to a point where now the JPJ and Polis officers are so brave, they actually ask the offender for money.

Until the JPJ and Polis officers start enforcing the law and stop taking money, problems like this will go on and on.

Oh btw, the gas cyclinder incident, the lorry fellow lari and I had to pay like RM5000 in damages.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 19
      • Semua Milik Menteri dan Crony on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Malaysia has lorries and bas sekolah Made in the 70s. These are owned by super rich crony companies who refuse to buy nor upgrade to newer vehicles.

They emit thick black smoke, causing us all sorts of lung cancers.

But nobody can touch them. They all are GLC or crony connected companies.

So, the Government will NEVER touch these companies who have lorries Made in the 70s.

In 2020, just 5 years time, we are supposed to be developed status country. But we still have lorries Made in the 70s.

No where in the developed world you have lorries tak ada pintu. Only in Malaysia, you got lorries that have no pintu.

But nobody dare touch. All owned by crony or Minister related. So, we all suffer in danger.

Bear in Mind, if something is made in the 70s, it is nearly 50 years old and yet it is still running.

The same with school busses. That day, I saw school bus with number plate WA xxxx. I think that is like 1980. Yet, it was happily carrying young students.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 4
        • Former Lori Driver on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Last time I drive lori, I got to sogok so many JPJ officers. Everyday also must give money.

But no problem. My company allow to claim. They pay every single saman. Even if it works out to few hundred a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • sudonano (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Damn.

I have had a crane on the road nearly swipe me off. The crane was parked at the road side, but they didn’t close the road, so everyone can go through. Suddenly the thing starts to turn without being extended vertically. Holy shit luckily managed to stop in time. Boy was I pissed, I would have wanted to stop and tell the site manager off.

And yes, one of the LRT construction sites. Bodoh mentality = mishaps.

• Yes yes. Its always the police fault. No doubt about it.

Its never the stingy tauke’s fault for unscrupulous and dishonest drivers.

Its never the unscrupulous and dishonest driver’s fault for sending the vehicle to his friend’s under the tree bengkel cuz his boss too stingy.

Its never the friends fault for not being capable and only work under the tree cuz if he’s good he would have a proper workshop and not ripoff his fren with substandard parts.

Its never the substandard parts fault cuz the manufacturer was forced to make them substandard.

Its never the manufacturer’s fault cuz the bad quality of the part was due to the kompeni tauke was stingy and keep pressuring to cut costs, manpower, material, machines, processes, and to accept substandard quality.

Yes yes. Its always the police and Gov fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
      • Old dog on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:39 pm

The police and JPj are protecting these cronies companies, just check out everyday from Sg Buloh tol till cyberjaya tol and you will see how many lories running and crossing the left 2 lanes….police and JPj my ass as they have no shame and dignity of their job…

• Samang on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:34 pm

So you think it is asking too much for the typical lorry owner to value your life and not think of making maximum profits only and voluntarily make sure his lorries don’t pose any danger to the public? It’s always other people’s fault, no.

• This car actually kept a distance to the lorry but he just unlucky that hit him. Just imagine is motorcycle he could have dead when hit him.
    Report to police and claim it from the company who own the lorry. But with our police force sure ask you to bare your own cost. This is Malaysia with tidak apa attitude!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Exactly. He was far away enough from the lorry but the driveshaft looks like it was aiming at his car specifically. It was hard to gauge the initial trajectory since there was a bit of smoke but looking at the video, the only recourse he could take was brake hard to avoid it since there was a lorry to his left. It was traveling very fast as well (or I should say slowing down very fast; because relative velocity). Even if he avoided it by braking, the driveshaft might ricochet off the guard rail posts and hit something else or, even worse, traveled to the opposite side road where drivers have less time to react if they can see it coming at all.

This Looi Wing Huat is a hero. Took a (figurative) bullet like a man. *slow clap*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • patrol on Jun 11, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Where the police traffic? They should patrol the highway (keep the road user safe ) all the time with acceptable low speed. But Normally most of them prefer patrol for their own pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Jun 11, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Make Police report when the guilty party ‘lari’ and hoping the Police take action against them is also useless-lah unless of course it involves serious injury and death, the Police officer taking your report will frequently just track down the culprit and will discuss private settlement!
      To report to Police to get a report for insurance claim should be our priority and not hoping the Police charging the culprit.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:29 am

The title of the article is misleading. The driver was far away, and not even on the same lane. He might as well have been in another country. The person at fault is the driver and the company/person owning the lorry. Wouldn’t the driver not have felt something unusual just before the driveshaft gave way, and perhaps should have stopped and get it checked.

• hassanabu on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:55 pm

My son last mont hits a bus driveshaft that falls on plus highway kl seremban. Luckly only tyre and sport rim damage. Make a police report and also at plushighway office. Claim what damage from the bus company and everything settled. Its easy make sure you must know the bus or lorrry or whatever company .

• zuchie on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:57 pm

That why this is M’sia. DUMD!

• Horny Ah Beng on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:47 pm

In malaysia you finger fucx ppl till pregnant also no need to go jail. But if you show dbkl or tnb officer finger and say fucx only , you will be jailed up to 5 yrs. True story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • BeemerFreak on Jun 11, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Change the government to get a better police force that takes care of our needs and safety. Khalid is a hybrid of a joker and a incompetent fool, he talks and tries to be funny but gets nothing done.

Severe penalties should be dished out to such lorry companies and JPJ should also shoulder the blame for failing to check on such vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • vapeon on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:00 pm

nasib baik iriz ada traction control….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
    • Ah Beng hailat on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Its proves Iriz has better handling than vios. Time to ditch that moving coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:10 pm

This is also a good reminder that you should buy a car with stability control when buying a new car.

Imagine you’re driving on the highway at 90 km/h, following a lorry. You keep a safe distance. Then this happens. You see it, you react to it by trying to quickly change the lane to avoid hitting the driveshaft. But you don’t have stability control, so such a fast maneuver leads to your car spinning. Then anything can happen, maybe there’s another car driving faster on another lane that hits you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • simon on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:11 am

yes, then when you swerve out, you hit the car on the left side of your lane causing accident also.

or

you swerve out, no accident, but you cause the poor fellow in the next lane to jam his brake to avoid hitting you, then he kena langar belankang, and you drive away scot free.

• RicoT on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Malaysia has this unspoken motto: Got money, many problem become no problem; no money, no problem but still give you problem. So you know how that lorry pass inspection.

• TheDuh on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:30 pm

That’s not a drive shaft, Paul/Hafriz.
    That is a propeller shaft.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Every Malaysian should consider investing in a dashcam. It’s not expensive, a decent one will cost only 200 to 300 ringgit… but try explaining this to your insurance company or the police. That money well-spent has saved this driver much hassle and unnecessary work in claiming his insurance, and it also paints a clear picture for the police to work with. An example of a good value dashcam would be the G1WH, around RM250 if bought online. Please think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Jun 11, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Very good idea, it can also use as proof of road bully case.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:20 am

Funny thing, in Germany dashcams are illegal (well, the use of them, especially to collect evidence). Privacy reasons. I hope that bloody judge gets into a situation where a dashcam would have saved him… and instead it bankrupts him.

• irizbodh on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:39 pm

lol stupid irizz. should crash iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 11, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Pure bad luck for the Vios driver…even with VSC he will have no way of avoiding it as there was another vehicle on the left so he had no choice but to drive over that drive shaft.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 11, 2015 at 9:43 pm

In a day, maybe tens if not hundreds of incidents like this happened in Malaysia. If u report to polis, the report will go straight to tong sampah and no investigation will take place because no one die ma.. If u report to LPKP, it’s the same as u report to a cat at pasar malam. SMS aduan LPKP sticker at the back of the buses and lorries is purely for business purpose, nothing more than that. Printing ma.. Satu sticker RM10, satu Malaysia ada berapa banyak bas lori? Both examples above are typical BN mentality. Even Hisham Mudin Tone Whose In also got lorry permits that are used to transport pasir haram in Selangor.

SSDD- Same Shit Different Day.
    SNTB- Say No To BN.
    BSMB- BN Supporters Memang Bodoh/Buta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • Richard Woo on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:47 pm

With so many incidents involved heavy vehicles and leaving the other innocent poor road users to bear the cost whom to blame? Every time when accidents involved heavy vehicles the excuses is brake failures.How many times we read about it? Every 6 months they gone thru inspection with PUSPAKOM..The MACC been sleeping also or too busy involved in the country’s politics..

• DonkeyKong on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Guys, do you know that if a public transport like an express bus or a taxi hit your car, you can’t claim insurance from them?

Check with anyone who has experienced it before and tried making a police report. The police will actually tell you that you only need to make the report if you want to claim from your insurance policy for the repairs because the current law does not allow victims to claim from public transport companies.

Whose fault is it for such corrupted law to be in place? And is it any surprise that buses and taxis drive like total assholes because they simply can’t care less about other road users since they don’t have to compensate for anything?

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:08 pm

at the rate we’re going, might as well keep your car at home and use taxi. But then I hear cases of smashed windscreen from lorries passing by residential area…….

• Ainon on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Said it before all unroadworthy lorries should be scrapped from our roads. Problem is once the authorities want to enforce this all the lorry owners association, the ngos, the tontos all protest and act like gangsters. Police can surely act if they’re allowed to arrest or even shoot these people.

• karipap basah on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Just another day in Malaysia….

In order for the authorities to take action, just have politicians themselves to be involved in the traffic accident…..surely the director of the dept will take action….

Let the politicians suffer, get injured, maybe traumatized, etc….then action will be taken against the errant traffic offenders….

• das auto on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:01 am

IT will never happen. They have police escorts all the time to clear the path 500m ahead.

• Road user on Jun 11, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Last year, my vw ran over a brick…yes red building brick that fell of a lorry from the opposite highway. Broke my rims tearing up the half of the frontal view of the left rim…..thnk god i saw and manage to avoid towards a full impact on the rim if i did not i would have end up crashing the divider at 140km/h speed

• Yea, yea. Just blame the police, JPJ and The BN government. You are never at fault.

• Jimny on Jun 12, 2015 at 1:44 am

Years ago, my 4wd was approaching a single lane small bridge. Opposite lane, entered a concrete truck charging from a curve. From a distance, saw its back dropping and hurling concrete stones. Being trapped at the narrow bridge and nowhere to run, I came head on with the stones. It shattered the windscreen. Lucky I wasn’t hurt, but got small cuts from the glass shards. Damn truck!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:23 am

Windscreens shouldn’t shatter. They are made of 2 glass panes with security tint in between, so that in a crash no glass parts fly around.

• Most of lorries and bus in Malaysia are very old. So my question is, if Vehicle End of Life policy be introduced will it be including Commercial Vehicle as well?

• Thank god u had it all recorded..this car camera seems like a necessity nowadays..

• azrai on Jun 12, 2015 at 8:30 am

The JPJ are too busy to make sure rakyat wear proper sarong.

• W3car3 (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:42 am

myself driving kenari 8 years ago hit by drive-shaft too, on SILK (outside hospital Serdang), seriously company should check their truck without failed, along with me at least 3 cars involved, my bumper, rim and tires totally damaged. Hope no more such thing happening

• Low Budget on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:22 pm

I am pretty sure it won’t be the last time.
      Another thing is the re-thread tyres came off (detach) under high speed causing the lorry driver to lose control or the re-threaded part came off flying on to your vehicle causing you to also lose control of your car.

• akulesapelagi on Jun 12, 2015 at 12:08 pm

how did they pass inspection at Puspakom? where JPJ with super fast Fortuner not doing a random checking? there is a lot of heavy weight vehicle on our roads with bad condition but still can senyum2 manis when JPJ come and then lepas. keep busy hunting car with fancy no plat, car with darken tinted but for safety checking… mmmmmm boleh laaa….

• car driver on Jun 13, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Puspskom check will not guarantee everything. The lorry can ‘ borrow’ part from other lorry. After pass the inspection, old part will be reinstalled. it is common “trick”

• Lorry or Truck? on Jun 12, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Lorry breaks down, traffic Jam.
    Lorry accident, traffic jam.
    Lorry overtaking slowly, traffic jam.
    Lorry overtaking slowly during uphill when there’s a sign saying no lorry overtaking, traffic jam.
    Lorry turn over and block the entire road, traffic jam.
    This is the thing people usually see on the road, but nothing is done by truck owner, JPJ, PUSPAKOM, Polis. Nombor Aduan LPKP my arse, I tried to call twice, no one answered. Why is there so many rules and regulations and yet no one is enforcing them?

• wuttaheck on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:34 pm

“Not willing to wait that long, the victim decided to bare the repair costs himself”

*bear :)

• Sampai bila bila semua lori jadi raja di Malaysia…
    JPJ buat buat operasi ke atas lori >>> Rakyat bising jln jem, Masyarakat tepuk tangan tengok JPJ officer kena hentam, TONTO kacau/ugut JPJ, Tokei lori kacau JPJ >>> JPJ stop, buat operasi ke atas motorsikal lagi bagus…
    >>>> Lori terus jadi raja… overload / poor maintenance / drive dangerously