Highway concessionaires not aware of new toll hikes

RON_95_vs_RON_97_Fuel_Test_Malaysia_ 045

The news of impending toll hikes, reportedly as much as 30%, has not reached major highway concessionaires. Litrak (operators of the LDP and Sprint), Evokest Bhd (DUKE), Besraya, Plus Malaysia and Anih Bhd (ECE) have all claimed that no official instruction regarding toll increases has been sent out.

The highway concessionaires commented that word of an impending toll hike would usually come from the Public Works Department (JKR) and the Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) first. As of yet, no such announcement has been made, according to Bernama.

This doesn’t mean that a toll hike is not happening, however. Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof told the news agency that “an official statement would be issued soon.”

The ministry, according to media reports today, has apparently tabled a proposal for an increase in toll charges for Cabinet approval. It’s reported that several tolls in the Klang Valley, the Kulim-Butterworth Expressway and the East Coast Highway 1 may see hikes of between 20 sen and RM1 from August 2015 if the table gets approved.

Late last year, it was reported that the government would be expected to pay RM558.69 million in compensation to highway concessionaires, if it decides to postpone previously planned toll hikes for 20 highways. We’ll know more soon.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Jimmy on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Advertise plan of 30% price hike, then give discount 20%.

Eventually, price increase is reduced to 10%, everybody is so happy, because I am considerate, thinking of the welfare of you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
    • BNaik on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 129
      • Everyone that criticizes the govt has to be PR supporters?!
        What kind of mentality is this?
        And what are you? A hired keyboard warrior?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 3
        • BNaik on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:02 am

Normal Rakyat won’t complaints much, but PR troopers will keep blaming Govt and BN?

And sure you’re 1 of them.
          BN only need support others not needed enough say.
          Keyboard Warriors anot? not your problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 96
          • BNaik cb on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:15 am

@ Bnaik . You must be the rich guy so you don’t complaint. Mind to share how much you make per month so you live in comfort lifestyle!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
          • BNaik on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Just a normal Govt service, at least I won’t make blaming as a stupid habit !!!

PR troopers just stop making excuse to blame Govt !!! Support just the word…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
          • LIAR TIPU BOHONG on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:11 pm

This is nothing but pure lies. Each and every of the Highway concessionaires are an UMNO member and crony. They are at the high levels of the Government.

Infact, many of them are direct relatives of Ministers and Members of Parliament. Anything to do with Toll in Parliament is ALWAYS lobbyed and strings pulled by the Highway concessionaires.

In this case, the Highway concessionaires and Toll Operators know about this 30% move. With the backlash in Social Media, these chickens became scared and decided to say that don’t know anything about it.

Hello, we are not stupid. In the first place, for you to get such big lucrative contracts, you guys all got DIRECT link to Parliament and the Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • UMNO Untung Lebih on Jun 13, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Tak Payyah tipu lagi BN Cybertrooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • CronyHiway on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:19 am

why DUKE ? because c0-owned by Haris Hussein Onn?
          Brother of Hisammuddin, cousin to Najib razak ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • Vengeta on Jun 14, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Then only complaint after the decision to raise toll have been finalized?

• lugzan on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:08 am

The lopsided toll deals were all designed by BN to screw itself and make rakyat to suffer. Only toll owners are real winner.

Better scrap the deal and hand over the highways to JKR after recoup the cost. Why keep renew the deal and let toll owners enjoy insane profits for another 30, 50 years?

For the maintenance part, it can be done via open tender and surely far lower cost than those charged by current toll owners.

No such thing as any deal cannot be reviewed or abolished. Govt should not bow to such lopsided deal any longer. It is either BN wanna help rakyat or help toll owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Nancy on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:15 am

Sinking Malaysia… Sooner or later I no longer can afford a bra. To show my protest, I am going bra-less from today.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • Sam bra sales man on Jun 13, 2015 at 8:56 am

One day if you change your mind, you can get bra from Sam Loo previous umw.junior sales man

• Dude, to protest, no need to be just like those Farah Ann criticizers. Everything must revole around sex and women’s bodies?

Some more guys need to wear bra, “Nancy”?

• Nancy on Jun 13, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Don’t worry, I still have my shirt on. They cannot criticize or catch me because I am not nude. Soon u will see men swimming event need to wear bra & the gymnast wearing sarong. Malaysia is really sinking.

• go panty less also….

• no need panties also…

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:50 am

Minyak naik, tol naik, barang naik. Tetek Rosemah je yg turun.

First announce want to increase toll. Then surely would announce kenaikan ditangguhkan kerana faham masalah rakyat. Then puji diri sendiri kerajaan prihatin.

Memang sah! Key mark betul!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
  • Nazgul on Jun 13, 2015 at 12:58 am

Meanwhile PR is busy fighting each others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • sepul on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:29 am

I don’t see the benefit of increasing toll rates to begin with, seeing how the services and traffic condition never really improve over the years.

When public transportation becomes second nature to people, toll rates should have been non existent already.

• Samad Jain on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:39 am

Can’t believe what the current BN govt says.

Last time promise car prices down, the prices went up higher than before.

GST. Govt says many items will become cheap for the sake of rakyat. Anything that show lowering of prices? No! Almost all items up their prices. Everything becoming expensive, even baby food.

BN govt and the cronies gang cakap tak serupa bikin….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Barang Naik.. on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:18 am

Do this apply Profited Act ? Before n After GST 18months cant hike rate?

• ben yap on Jun 13, 2015 at 10:27 am

our government only knows how to count how much they paid or spent. they never count how much the rakyat has given to them.

with 6% GST, we’ve given the government more than enough until it is enough to feed those corruptions.

• Edmont on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:31 am

sigh toll increase..

GST = Gigit Sampai Tulang

• badman on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:50 am

‘rakyat already angry with current issues like 1mdb,gst,fuel price structure.how about we add a bit with toll price hike? we can give ‘sweets’ to the potential volks when GE is around d conner’ . said a minister.
    ‘Damn..we’re doomed..!~’said fu**ed up volk.

• W3car3 (Member) on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:51 am

Please increase my than 30%, please keep naik come, then Rakyat can choose more wisely and understand how much BN had DAHULUKAN Rakyat.

• Diesel Power!!! on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Ok, since u wanna raise the toll, can we have a no motorbike toll roads?
    Or please charge those bikers 50% of the toll fee if they wanna use toll roads..

• karipap panas on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Since the BN govt so desperate for money….I suggest they collect money from bikers as well.

BN, Ada berani?

• ae101 on Jun 13, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Hmm May article says no plan to hike http://paultan.org/2015/05/07/llm-says-no-planned-toll-hike-in-august-refutes-report/
    Less than a month say plan to hike. Jib ko and machai apa lu bikin kat opis? The only government in the world with otak udang. BN supporter please open your eyes big big and see your so call leader lead your country. Failed x100

• BungaRaya on Jun 13, 2015 at 2:59 pm

All Malaysian, stand up and fight these blood suckers! Hapus Aedes, Hapus Denggi!!!

• Later gov will say: Sebagai jasa untuk rakyat, kenaikan toll akan kami batalkan.
    Then everyone be happy.
    At the same time, millions RM penalty will be transferred directly to toll operator pocket.
    Rakyat happy, cronies happy, gov happy, everyone happy. Why not?

• policeman on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Stop complaining. If it affects you, do something about it.

Why do you need to use toll roads? Because you want convenience? Don’t you think it is reasonable to pay a little extra for your convenience?

Average monthly toll usage is around RM100, now it becomes RM130. RM30 per month is too much for you?
    If you’re spending more than RM100 per month on toll expenses then there are bigger issues to address – such as why are you spending that much? Why are you traveling that far? Why do you live in Puchong or Shah Alam and work in Kuala Lumpur? Isn’t that idiotic?

No accountability for your actions. Sendiri cari pasal pastu salahkan kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
    • mango on Jun 15, 2015 at 12:11 pm

The concern is never really 100% directly about the toll hike. On a macro level, the issue is more on the impending price increase of other essential goods and services just like how petrol affects them. So a 30% increase in toll may just be additional RM30 of toll expenditure a month, but when you factor in prices of other essential goods and services, it would easily balloon to more than a few hundred

• Samad Jain on Jun 13, 2015 at 6:41 pm

concessionaires not aware of new toll hikes???

Or buat tak tau oni?? Buat buat bodoh oni ka?

They have learnt this trick from the the dungu minister that only announce price increase (petrol) the last minute….

Last minute announcement so that consumer cannot protest mar….

• PuckingGomen on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Just increase car insurance 100k Per year, road tac 100k per month… No ppl will complain or our nation will come best in the world :/

• Rangers on Jun 13, 2015 at 9:57 pm

There is only 1 way, BN way or highway, both way Rakyat also no way to survive.

• jim labu on Jun 13, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Aiseh…ini macam kalu, lari budget ni..tak jadi la aku nak ambik GLA 45 AMG or RS Q3…curse you Najib! Curse youuuuuu!

• tinmilo on Jun 14, 2015 at 8:15 pm

All the petrol subsidy peri mana??
    Those are billions in savings annually… just how deep the hole is for 1mdb? ?
    Collect new revenue in GST somemore,can’t the government foot the bill?
    Even the MRT project is being finance by issuing new retail bonds…
    Tell me, just where all the tax money go?
    Road we pay, MRT we pay, petrol we pay, quality education we have to pay,
    All we get is a Tun Razak Exchange own by 1mdb which has been an empty waste land

• swee swee on Jun 15, 2015 at 11:59 am

Thanks to our lousy government and the telur takde PM