Toll rates for 20 highways are not planned to be increased next year, but the government is expected to pay RM558.69 million in compensation to highway concessionaires as a result, Bernama reports.

The 20 aforementioned highways are:

  • Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH)
  • Western Kuala Lumpur Traffic Dispersal Scheme (SPRINT)
  • New Pantai Expressway (NPE)
  • Kajang Dispersal Link Expressway (SILK)
  • Storm Water Management and Road Tunnel (SMART)
  • South Klang Valley Expressway (SKVE)
  • Sungai Besi Expressway (SBE)
  • Senai-Desaru Expressway (SDE)
  • Butterworth Outer Ring Road (BORR)
  • Guthrie Corridor Expressway (GCE)
  • Kajang-Seremban Highway (LEKAS)
  • Duta-Ulu Kelang Expressway (DUKE)
  • Maju Expressway (MEX)
  • Damansara-Puchong Expressway (LDP)
  • New North Klang Straits Bypass (NNKSB)
  • East Coast Expressway (ECE1)
  • Kuala Lumpur-Karak Expressway (KLK)
  • Cheras-Kajang Highway (Grand Saga)
  • KL-Kuala Selangor Expressway (LATAR)
  • Shah Alam Highway (LKSA).

“An allocation of RM458 million has been approved to the ministry to pay the compensation. An additional allocation will be sought in mid-2015,” deputy Works minister Datuk Seri Rosnah Abdul Rashid Shirlin said, adding that 17 highways will get their compensation next year; the rest in 2016.

The compensation amount is based on a formula stipulated in the concession agreement, and the actual amount will only be determined after the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) completes its traffic verification process, she said.