ETC at PLUS Batu Tiga, Sg Rasau tolls from Nov 22 – SmartTAG, PLUSMiles and Touch ‘n Go only, no cash

kuang-toll1

The start date was initially set for September 1 before it was postponed – now the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) has announced in a statement that full Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) will begin at PLUS Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau toll plazas at noon on November 22.

Only SmartTAG, PLUSMiles card and Touch ‘n Go card transactions will be accepted at these toll plazas – no cash. Rebates of 30% during off-peak times (10.00 am to 3.59 pm, 10.00 pm-5.59 am) and 10% during peak times (6.00 am to 9.59 am, 4.00 pm to 9.59 pm) are being offered to Class 1 motorists who pay electronically at both toll plazas, up until December 31.

TnG SmartTag

As incentives to migrate to cards, PLUS is offering one million units of RM5-preloaded PLUSMiles cards at a promotional rate of RM5 (so essentially the card itself is free). Also, 100,000 units of SmartTAGs are offered at a promotional price of RM99 (provided you top-up RM30) until September 30. These can be obtained at the reload lanes and customer service centres at both toll plazas.

PLUS MD Datuk Noorizah Abdul Hamid told us at a media briefing in August that printed receipts can be provided on the spot at the two left-most booths at both toll plazas, in both directions. Transaction statements may also be printed out through e-Penyata.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• old dog on Nov 04, 2014 at 9:53 pm

bolehland is more communist than china..and become cronism…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
    • This toll should CLOSED long time ago. Over 20 years operation, then didnt get return their profit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Correction! More than 30 years ago.

• Black Dog on Nov 05, 2014 at 3:07 pm

just use the Sprint highway. they’re going backwards!

They have just 1 smart-tag lane, the rest are touch’n’go and cash lane. Thus congestion at the smart-tag lane.

• abahaku on Nov 05, 2014 at 5:42 pm

average 255k per day for both toll, 365 days, they will collect 102 mil…thats a big chunk of money man!
          What a business!

• Rahman on Nov 05, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Federal highway oldest highway. Should be no toll. Like the one at Eastin PJ. One fine day, one UMNO crony decide to collect money, he just builds a toll booth and collects millions per day.

Eastin Hotel is fine example how our Government cheats us. For 20 years I use that road, no toll. then one day, still same road, they put a toll.

That is why the UMNO crony is eating at hotels and holidaying in London while we eat chap fan and holiday in Taman Negara Pahang.

• OMG…dear users, pls be ready for the massive jam…Dear Plus, pls make sure every lane got ur staff there to solve the problem to avoid long jam.

• concerned citizen on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:01 pm

so what would happen to those who is not aware of this (for those coming from outstation or first time through the area) once the promotional period is over? They will drive their car to the toll, block the way, oblivious to the modernization, and wait for someone, presumably a toll staff after a couple of minutes, not before being honked and humiliated by the other not-so-patient drivers, to explain to them that it’s now cashless?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • Annoymous on Nov 05, 2014 at 2:57 am

This is why the responsible party has to do their job to educate and create enough of awareness and info about this implementation.

Your described case would just be a short-term problems that may gonna happen initially but soon in the future, the traffics at the area would somehow improve, I believe a lot.

Tak kan you want all these kampung people (sorry no offense) to obstruct this implementation which could lead to smoother flow at the toll plaza?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • ThePolygon on Nov 05, 2014 at 11:13 am

I guess they have to go to “Tambah Nilai” lane where they can pay for a new card. Of course to be more evil they could have 1 dedicated cash lane charging extra 10 cents from the normal rate.

• paulshaun on Nov 04, 2014 at 10:25 pm

what happen if I reach the toll without smart tag or plusmile card?..cannot pass through?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • DonkeyKong on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:55 am

If you commute daily through tolled roads and don’t have TnG or SmartTag, you’re one of the idiots who regularly cause extreme congestion at toll plazas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • kairi on Nov 04, 2014 at 11:25 pm

MyKad can use as TnG, no excuses

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:21 am

no money…just crash through la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • PLUS should permanently give 10% to all electronic payment method because we help PLUS save money by eliminating the need to hire toll collectors.

In other countries, the toll rates reduces every year because there are more cars on the road and more traffic using the highway.

In Malaysia, the toll rates keep getting higher even when there are more cars on the road. WHY? Because our Government do not know how to sign/negotiate a contract.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Wrong! Our g damn good at signing contract. To the benefit of who, you guess it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Nov 05, 2014 at 12:27 pm

They become richer and richer while the middle class are slowly becoming poor. Last time can eat in restaurant once a week, now only can eat in McDonald once a week, in few years time can only afford to eat at mamak stalls.

• wassini on Nov 05, 2014 at 1:35 am

Kebanyakkan tempat kalau nak top-up touch n go dia akan kenakan charge. Fuh… kiri kanan makan duit rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
    • DonkeyKong on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:56 am

Top up charge 50 sen pun nak complain, lagi baik jangan bawak kereta dan jangan pam minyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • NasiLemak on Nov 05, 2014 at 11:05 am

kedai tu yg mkn.. so rakyat jugak yg mkn duit rakyat..

• nabill (Member) on Nov 05, 2014 at 2:00 am

Thy should atleast have an emergency lane that accepts cash…thn slowly frequent users will resort to touch n go or smart cards…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • NasiLemak on Nov 05, 2014 at 11:07 am

they will sell la that TnG card the toll booth.. haiiyaa so easy kan kan kan

• Black Dog on Nov 05, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Probably some idiots 5 ringgit also don’t want to buy the card

• kapchai on Nov 05, 2014 at 8:43 am

I supposed it has to happen sooner or later. If you drive into S’pore and you don’t have an electronic ERP tag, you will get a fine. No excuses. I guess it will come to that soon. Question is are we ready yet? And if not, when?

• DonkeyKong on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:58 am

Malaysians are largely uncivilized and immature. We’ll need to have things rammed down our throats because if we’re given choices to progress or not to progress, chances are Malaysians will always choose to remain backwards.

• I don’t know if malaysian are immature but i know you an idiot and a sohai and a pariah. Support the g and insult every rakyat’s comment.What is your advantage?

• azizktc on Nov 05, 2014 at 8:58 am

Need an extra lane or booth for those,who forgot to bring their cards or forgot to top up…..

• sajer on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:13 am

we already have it here in JB … no problem at all…no cash? no worries la…they will sell u the T&G at the toll booth…or top up using yr ic..

• So simple, discounted rate for those who use TnG and SmartTag and exhorbitant rate for those who pay cash. Same philosophy as Singapore fining those who don’t use the ERP.

My second question is how they are going to give the rebate of 10% and 30% to those using smart tag. On the spot deduction?

• hafiz on Nov 05, 2014 at 10:58 am

There should be no Batu 3 toll plaza in the first place. Abolish it. How many donkey years they have been collecting money from users? 20years? 25years?

• Sam Lee on Nov 05, 2014 at 6:16 pm

How about those people travel form kampong to visit their family in Shah Alam once in a blue moon? do thrie need to purchase a touch n go card??? I really don’t understand it?

• really sohai, i have my right to pay in whatever form i want, tats the poblem when u let monopolies rule