2015 Shelby Super Snake – 750+ hp, 300 units a year

Shelby Super Snake-14

Ford Mustang not bad ass enough? Shelby American has unveiled the latest Shelby Super Snake based on the 2015 Ford Mustang GT. With the option of over 750 hp and enhancements to the Mustang’s handling, braking and cooling, it’s as fierce as the name. The first Shelby Super Snake to be also available with an automatic transmission, the latest serpent will be limited to 300 units per model year.

“When Shelby American introduced the 605 hp Super Snake in 2007, the car became an instant sensation. The new Super Snake is even better because the all new Ford Mustang is such a terrific platform for the iconic muscle car. By working closely with our partners at Ford Performance, Weld Racing, Michelin, Carbon by Design and Whipple and Kenne Bell superchargers, the 2015 Shelby Super Snake is an amazing car with world-class performance,” boasted Shelby CEO Joe Conway.

Each Shelby Super Snake begins as a Mustang GT with a 5.0 litre V8 and Ford Performance supercharger, connected to a six-speed stick or auto. Shelby also adds Ford Performance suspension components, a throaty Borla exhaust, Weld Racing Super Snake 20-inch wheels with Michelin Pilot Super Sport rubber and six-piston Wilwood brakes. 650+ hp not enough? Options include a more powerful supercharger, as well as a better performing intercooler and heat exchanger system, all designed for over 750 hp.

Aesthetically, the car has Super Snake striping and a carbon fibre hood with a forced-air scoop no one will miss, plus a larger rear spoiler. Inside, the Snake has special badging, upgraded badged upholstery, floor mats and a three-gauge dash pod.

Shelby Super Snake-03

“The first generation Shelby Super Snakes are among the hottest collectible cars in history. And now that we’re offering an automatic transmission option, we expect even more people to be able to enjoy the Shelby Super Snake experience without needing to be bothered with a stick shift. Carroll would have loved this car,” said Shelby American VP of marketing Gary Schechner, referring to the late Caroll Shelby, the company founder who died in 2012.

Looks and sounds great, but the Super Snake is not cheap (in the US). The 300 units will be offered at a starting price of $49,995 (RM187,289), not including the from $32,300 (RM121,016) base price of the Ford Mustang GT. So, do you prefer this or the track-ready Shelby GT350R?

The S550 Ford Mustang is of course coming to Malaysia, as a proper right-hand drive for the first time. Previewed in March, the muscle car is set to arrive early next year. Read our review of the Mustang 2.3L EcoBoost and 5.0L V8.

Ford Mustang GT in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gaviny on Jun 17, 2015 at 12:55 pm

lulz, americans and their failure to drive manual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:50 pm

If i own this Monster,where should i service my monster for oil change and etc?

If somebody can answer me, i will buy this monster.

• LeJohn on Jun 18, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Left hand drive only . Unless you’re the Sultan of Johor , no matter how much money u have also cannot get it in Malaysia

• It does look cheap in Malaysia….RM187K

• shelby on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:00 pm

front face immediately reminds me of Lancer Evo..

• Ahmad Kamal on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:48 pm

They are not interested to sell this in Malaysia because our steering is on the wrong side. Thanks to the British occupation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Same L0rrr on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Never buy Americans except burgers and fries. Come get our 86 can tapau this anytime. Toyota/Lexus is well known worldwide for its racing DNA. You will never go wrong with sushi cars, good RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14