Honda BR-V – budget seven-seat SUV to debut soon

Honda BR-V 01

We now have two design sketches of the upcoming Honda BR-V – a seven-seat budget SUV that will be unveiled at the inaugural Gaikindo Indonesian International Auto Show 2015 in August. That BR-V for Bold Run-about Vehicle, in case you’re wondering.

While details on Honda’s high-riding people carrier are sketchy (geddit?), it will likely be heavily based on the Mobilio MPV, just like how the HR-V is based on the Jazz. From the sketches, it appears the BR-V will retain the Mobilio’s notched shoulder line too, among others.

Honda BR-V 02

Honda says the BR-V will represent a “new generation of crossover utility vehicle,” with a tough and solid exterior design matched to generous ground clearance. Under the hood will be a 1.5 litre engine, which, Honda claims, will offer “sporty performance” and “great fuel efficiency.”

Not quite sure of what type of vehicle this will be? Simply put, this will be Honda’s direct answer to the seven-seat Toyota Rush, in the same way the Mobilio is an alternative to the Avanza. So, like what you see so far?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• karam singh on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Nice Honda the Power of Dream,
    Making the dream came true.
    this looks good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:49 am

As I always said, you can’t go wrong with sushi cars. Among sushi cars, people prefer Toyota more, Honda Nissan Subaru Mistubishi Suzuki Daihatsu also good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
  • karam singh on Jun 29, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Hope this BRV comes with all new Vtec Turbo engine here.
    with good power,fc and safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:17 am

Turbocharge is of no use if this car is specifically meant for Indonesia. First, the capital city Jakarta is super packed with serious traffic jams – one do not need the extra horsepower other than to show off the turbo decal.

Secondly, Indonesia trunk roads hardly allows anything more than 3,500rpm in normal drive which makes turbocharged power engines kind of useless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • vtec please on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:52 am

just let you know that Indonesia does not contain only Jakarta.

And we will welcome the VTEC Turbo of course, for hill climbing and two-way single carriageway overtaking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • non-dreamer on Jun 30, 2015 at 8:14 pm

Turbocharge doesn’t mean aiming purely for power. Turbo engines have good amount of torque at lower rpm. You can use a 1.0L 3 cylinder turbo to replace a 1.5L NA easily. For Indonesia market, it means lower fuel consumption as you cut down 1 cylinder and lower displacement.For Malaysia market you save on roadtax too.

• shawal on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:02 pm

smaller engine than the HRV means it could carry around less weight, which would mean it’ll have lesser padding and sound insulation , ergo , less refined….

a 7 seater based on the HRV would’ve been nicer tho….

but I’m keen to see what this BR-V would bring to the market ,if its good enough, bring it here as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Snobs on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Anything is better than the hideous, outdated and overpriced Rush.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • DPCraft on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Nice front a bit like CR-V, rear looks futuristic, looking good..Honda !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 29, 2015 at 10:52 pm

BRV = Bagus Resale Value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • Nathan Ferdinand on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:00 pm

BR-V was designed for Indian & Indonesian market.
    But I rather like it more than a Toyota Rush which is a dinosaur spec and build quality macam tin biscuit raya.
    It’s impossible to have a smaller engine. Honda Mobilio in Indonesia was using Freed engine, same outputs. Better if Honda bring a diesel option like India does. And don’t be overpriced. Honda Mobilio in Indonesia was priced RM55k-RM78k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • this BRV having FWD.
      will be underpowered to carry even 5 people if come only with 1.5 V-tec engine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • karam singh on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:19 am

not if it using 1.5 vtec turbo .. ;)
        yummy

• Nathan Ferdinand on Jun 30, 2015 at 5:17 am

BR-V was introduced to fill the market gap between Mobilio and HR-V.
        If L15Z1 isn’t enough, the best solution is diesel. 1.5 EarthDreams i-DTEC got enough power.

• Famili Ceria on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Honda, we are waiting here..hope the price is not too high.. around Toyota Innova price would be very good and affordable..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Sorry Malaysian for coming here, I’m Indonesian and i just wanna say that i hope with the release of the BR-V it will ease the indent of the HR-V (which in here currently have a waiting time of 3 – 4 months! and if you go with the highest trim level you got your car in 2016! freakin crazy!). and i hope the BR-V got a higher quality interior than the Mobilio.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • AmbassadorK on Jun 30, 2015 at 8:16 am

No need to apologise,bro. Welcome. We are pleased to hear more from you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Jun 30, 2015 at 1:25 am

what kinda stupid name BRV.

From CRV to HRV and now BRV.

Better honda name their upcoming crossovers as ARV till ZRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
    • BeemerFreak on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:13 am

Then what kind of stupid name is Ben Yap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • ben yap on Jun 30, 2015 at 6:12 pm

if you still yet to know, ben yap is your father’s name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • BeemerFreak on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Wow luckily it’s not real in life. It is difficult to imagine having to call such a retard “father”. The mere thought gives me goosebumps

• Cantona on Jun 30, 2015 at 10:14 am

So by your logic Mercedes should not use A-Z class and BMW should stop 1-9 series and Peugeot for its 208,308,408,508 since its following the same naming sense.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 30, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Blame it on Malaysians (ok maybe just Sam Loo) and their RV mentality. Thats why Honda are now naming their cars with RV. Hahaha,

• Troll Driver on Jun 30, 2015 at 4:19 pm

It’s just a name bro, as long as they don’t named it as Rosmah or Najib still fine with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • GoGoBRV on Jun 30, 2015 at 7:04 am

Exterior looks stunning to me (at least no vampire fang), in fact much better than HRV.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 30, 2015 at 7:58 am

The Mobilio isn’t sold here. So chances are, neither will this. Which seems like a missed opportunity for Honda Malaysia, as I am sure there are many families who would like to buy a “relatively cheap” 7 seater (an Odyssey is out of reach for most Malaysians).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • I second that. Brio and Amaze were introduced long time ago and not sold here. I would be really surprised if Honda bring this to our shore.

• It would be good if Honda could also bring in the new Jade here as a 6 seater MPV

• USDfan on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:47 pm

I saw Mobilio with SG no plate live already…very ugly..i rather pay little bit extra for tis BRV.

• not my problem on Dec 04, 2015 at 4:18 pm

it will, i had a meeting at honda’s development office and someone gave me a breif talk of the brv coming to malaysia in 2016 maybe january or febuary, the parts are already in fabrication. so yay, expect something other than a disemboweling 10 year old ladder chassis toyota

• Sell this at below 140k it will tapau the market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • mohsin on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Rush’s price not too much lah kawan
      should be price at RM120k sudah la

• I was thinking to get A HRV but this 7 seater will put a stop on my purchase.

Good work! Honda. Please improve your sound insulation for this one as the HRV is a bit noisy from the tyre roaring.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:49 pm

A fully spec kimchi (<12mths) is worth less than a 10 year old Toyota/Honda of equiv. category.

My 10 year old Hilux can sell to used car dealers for RM30k, about the same pr more than the trade in price of a 1 year old Sonata/K5 or elantra

• Allroadquattro on Jun 30, 2015 at 2:23 pm

i’m curious. is it a SUV or crossover? it looks so Audi Allroad from the side.

• Lamborghini Gallardo Owner on Jul 01, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Seriously everyone know Honda is the best in Asian Car, Great design, culture and performance…Toyota always overpriced and not reasonable and the design can’t stand for 5 or 6 years , easily outdate…same as nissan :-) if anyone keep defending toyota, nissan or etc. Just two word for you “bo – taste”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • ah sang on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:42 am

Evoque copy?