Ops Hari Raya Aidilfitri now in full swing, nationwide

jpj roadblock-2

Ops Hari Raya Aidilfitri is now in full swing. The first day of the nationwide operation saw 170 offences and 1,030 vehicles inspected by authorities. The police, Road Transport Department (JPJ) and Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) were involved.

Bernama reported that among the offences were expired road tax, driving without a valid licence, illegal vehicle modifications and licence plate numbers that are not according to specifications. Seven people were also made to undergo urine tests, suspected to be driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

“The joint operation with various enforcement agencies was carried out to ensure road safety during the festive season,” JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad said after an operation at the Duke Highway’s Batu toll plaza on Saturday night.

In Johor Bahru, state JPJ director Johari Yusof warned express bus drivers to be careful during the Raya season, as they are being watched by undercover officers.

Cop shop

“The officers will be in plain clothes and will buy their bus tickets before boarding like everybody else,” he said after launching an operation at Plaza Angsana. Johari added that some 160 personnel and 50 Skuad JPJ volunteers are on standby at 30 accident-prone areas in the state daily until July 25.

In addition, JPJ personnel as well as those from the Road Safety Department will be stationed at rest stops to engage the public on road safety issues.

Johari reminded that heavy vehicles were banned on the roads on July 14 and 15, and July 24 and 25. “These are the days where high traffic volume is expected for the balik kampung rush. This will ensure the comfort of other road users,” he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:40 am

It is that time of the year ago.
    Time to get some pocket money for Eid Mubarak. Sorry, Hari Raya.
    Pardon my Arabisasi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • donkey J on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:35 am

sarcastic but true, Remember last year North–South Expressway massive traffic during balik kampung peak season, wondering will do break last year record?

• dontlikethatlaa on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:41 am

They are just doing their job. Let them be. If you do no wrong, and offer no bribe, there won’t be pocket money.

Such comments are unnecessary.

Drive safe everyone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 13, 2015 at 1:21 pm

My god…what type of person would say such a thing…you people simply love to provoke the Malays/Muslims and say all the nasty things about them…and when they retaliate and become abusive then you would say it is their fault when in fact you started it first…im surprised that Paul Tan let all these racist comments about the Malays/Muslims be printed here…shame on you…

• which part of his comment do u disagree with ? the part where pdrm accept bribes , or the part where malays are increasingly following arab customs ? because both parts as I see it are not untrue.

• Why do road block at this time, just make the traffic worse…… or want some pocket money?
    The should enforce earlier…..now everywhere i see police make road block… all want money…go chase the illegal worker better for more peaceful malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • BNaik on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:02 am

Go away politics comment we BN only needs support and no complaints.

Stop making rumours and just balik kampung Penang !!!

• Aren’t you the kinda macais that bash Gov for no enforcement? Then when do operasi like this oso u bash?

Like dat u winliaolor!

• nabill (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 7:16 pm

full swing , full wallet

• Add-A-Comment on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:03 am

Drive safe my fellow Malaysian. Follow the law and offer no bribe. Ignore those stupid comments. Don’t let anyone affect your feeling, these people – regardless of their race, as long as they put stupid comments, they are plain stupid. Salamat Hari Raya…

– I have just Added A Comment –

• Generic comments means nothing. If they stop you for an offence and summon you, it’s your fault. You know the rule and yet choose to break the law, you responsible for it.

If they summon you for an offence that you sure not commit, then challenge in court. If the police ask you for money, don’t give. No giver no taker.

Nonetheless, I found it very not practical to do roadblock and operations during peak session. It will contribute to more traffic jam. None the less, Selamat Hari Raya, Drive safe, be safe.