SPYSHOTS: Peugeot 408 – RHD units spotted in M’sia

P408 spy 01

More spyshots of the new Peugeot 408 in Malaysia have surfaced, this time sent to us by reader Albert Lim. Two units of the C-segment sedan have been spotted roaming in Bayan Lepas, Penang, wearing some attempt at camouflage and Kedah trade plates. CKD Peugeots roll out of Naza’s facility in Gurun, Kedah.

These two mules differ from the previous unit spotted in Cameron Highlands. That car was a left-hand drive unit, probably brought in from China (the 408 was launched in China last year) for early testing. The cars you see here have been adapted to right-hand drive, and wear sporty blade-style five-spoke wheels as opposed to the Chinese-market 408’s multi-spoke items.

Despite having centre caps removed, the wheels are distinctively Peugeot, and the rear bumper design with integrated rectangular exhaust tips leaves one in no doubt that this is the new 408.

Just like how the outgoing 408 was based on the previous T7 308, this new one shares PSA’s EMP2 underpinnings with the new 308, the 2014 European Car of the Year that was launched here in April. The proportions are smarter, and the 2,730 mm wheelbase is 20 mm longer than before. It should be significantly lighter too, if the new 308’s 140 kg savings is anything to go by.

It was revealed to us in March that the new 408 could launch sometime in the second half this year. Under the bonnet should sit a direct-injected, turbocharged 1.6 litre THP engine with a six-speed automatic – China also gets 1.2 litre e-THP and 1.8 litre CVVT mills.

Chinese market Peugeot 408

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jemah on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:05 pm

cannot wait for this car…i’ll buy 1 ..better than new silphy,altis,elantra,cerato and civic!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • shawal on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:09 pm

The outgoing 408 is a very good looking sedan without the awkward booted hatchback looks…

The new looks rather sedate but at least thr interior is a special place to be in

• Peugot 408 spyshots? No one cares.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
  • pemandu kereta on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Peugeout? Hurm… resale value nearly nothing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • Peugeot , Citroen , VW , which one better

• not hybrid ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Golfer on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Since hardly anyone would buy this lousy car, it is a rare car on the road. Therefore, the driver can feel a bit more “special” driving it around. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Of course its rare it’s not sold here yet. If you’re talking about the 1st gen 408 then my question is, are you blind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Golfer on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:25 am

1. You must be dumb/stupid to be asking whether is it the 2nd gen 408.
        2. If you claim that u often see the 1st gen 408, my question to you is, are you staying next to a Peugeot SC or are you a Peugeot Salesman? I cannot brain why would ppl bother with such a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Joesatriani on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Jgn jual mahal sgt…nanti tak laku

• Bought a 408 2.0 for my wife 2yrs ago. Everything ok with the car. The only problem is the resale value. I paid 100k for it 2 yrs ago. Now can only sell for around 40K. Hmmm …..

• Really? on Jul 14, 2015 at 7:53 pm

The resale value of the 408 2.0 that’s the same age of which you stated,and even travelled 77k km,can be sold at RM 66,500,hmm and I wonder what went wrong with your car..maybe the problem is your wife didn’t maintain the car properly..

• RM66,500? that’s bullshit. I will sell my wife’s car to you for 60K if you want. it is maintained by Peugeot glenmarie with full service record. I got to know the price when I wanted to trade it in for a Honda at global amity bangi.

• “can” be sold …. there’s always HOPE. LOL.

• I beg to differ, the current 408 is a franken,
        the new 408 have classier lines, looks more proportionate and purposed-built. More business, less sporty.

• Jakim on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:39 pm

That model is haram lah. The skirt is way above knee level

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Jpbless on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:13 pm

The poblem when u buy these kinda of cars is that the models chg quickly and u r stuck wit one of a kind on the road wit little or no resale value…mostly older generations brought in and midified and after tak laku they either give steep diskon or bring in new model (which btw aleady 1-2 years old laun hed in oter countries) example is the 206 sedan