“Don’t speed and end up paying hefty fines, use the money on your children this Hari Raya” – IGP

Cop shop

Inspector General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar has told motorists to drive safely and to not rush in making their journey home this festive season, The Star reports. They might end up paying for traffic fines that could otherwise be used for better purposes.

“People are just rushing, not being patient, trying to cut queues and running red lights. Every year it’s the same. They are careless and drive like they have to be the first ones to arrive back home. Instead of forking out money to pay traffic fines, use the money on your children this Hari Raya,” he said.

Khalid said that there have been 7,274 accidents and 86 fatalities reported nationwide since Ops Selamat started a week ago. Federal roads accounted for the highest number of fatalities at 47. The death toll was 35% higher than last year’s figure during the same Hari Raya period. Most of the accidents happened because people disregard traffic laws, he said.

He added that police had issued 1,880 summonses to those driving on emergency lanes and cutting queues. He stated that summonses issued during the Ops Selamat period will not be given any reductions.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• donkey J on Jul 16, 2015 at 10:30 am

During a raya season , most route back to hometown is massive jam, hardly imagine after a long hours stuck in traffic, it irresistible to foot the accelerator – selamat hari raya, have a safe journey everyone.

• Open Letter to IGP on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Tuan, this is good advice. But nearly all your PDRM officers, especially the Trafik Polis always ask for money to make the saman go away. Can you please sort this out. This is a bigger problem than your advice to use our money to buy gifts for our children Raya.

And the worst part, your officers are not even shy to ask for money and state the amount. They try to scare us all the time saying it is fixed strictly at RM300 and it is cheaper to settle RM100 on the spot ie duit kopi. Most people get scared and go for the 300% discount and pay the RM100.

I do not condone corruption but nearly everybody who has been stopped by polis has been asked for money.

Tuan, what are you doing about this?

• Tuan will say, if u din do anything wrong theres no reason to saman u. And even if u did wrong, just man up and ask for the saman. If he ask for kopi, just take down his number and politely insist on the saman. Dun hav to escalate and incite any racial tensions about this.
        If u think u din do wrong, just take the saman and then go to court to fight it. Normally if u not wrong and they only wan kopi, wont go so far to issue u saman cuz of this possibility.
        During operasi saman is fixed RM300 and it should be that way. No discount bullshit. U do the crime, u pay the dime.

• rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:43 pm

But many times I lodge report when officer ask for money. Nothing is done. How? Buat apa?

• Continue to report. Get the report number from the front desk and seek the investigating officer’s name. Then get a copy of the report.

If no action after 3 months, send it to MACC. Then get a report number and copy of the report from them.

If no action after 3 months, send both copies to major newspapers. I will guarantee you it be major news.
            Continue to do if you think ur right. But if ur wrong, do pay the saman in full.

Its when you think theres no options that you give up easily and think theres no hope.

• azrai on Jul 16, 2015 at 10:36 am

Instead of forking out money to pay traffic fines (which in turn will bail-out 1MDB), use the money on your children this Hari Raya,(or pay your PTPTN loan)” he said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Doesnt matter as long as the message to stay safe, keep within the limits, and dun pay unnecessarily, is received by the road users.

• I disagree on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:10 am

I wonder why, but what he said is correct, don’t speed. But when it’s said by the IGP, I’ll automagically think whatever he’s saying is stupid and moronic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Maybe its cuz its such a simple and obvious message that a 3 year old can tell you that. If you speed you pay saman, if you pay saman then less money to spend.
      And yet the rakyat dun heed this common sense, so much so that someone of the level of IGP need to tell them dun speed.
      Its stupid and moronic but if the rakyat wants to be treated like 3 year olds, then somebody’s got to do it.

• samsengvalid on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:48 am

in the first place, he setup this ops to get duit raya for his children

• I’d already witnessed those cars which cut queues by using emergency lanes along the stretch of Kuala Lipis – Padang Tengku… Sadly no police was in sight to control the situation.

• selamathariraya on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:50 pm

For this, I agree wit IGP. Safe journey everyone! 2PCs Saman u can simply get a good quality child seat already, just an example.

• 三哟可森蒂日 on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:28 pm

No reduction on the summon my ass, this is malaysia, double or even triple standard is the norm.

• Sentero on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:35 pm

At least he is not so strict on the reduction… so that u can pay less later. If he is so strict on the reduction or ‘kawtim’ sure u will blame him. Its a simple msg… u dont flout the law… there will be no summon. Unless ur those speed on the emergency lane jumping queues… double parking… then ur just a keyboard warrior. Haha…

• SAM VHL Loo on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Anyway, my message and advise should be read like this:

DON’T DRIVE LIKE AN ASSHOLES OR ELSE YOU’LL END UP IN ICU WARD OR WORSE, INSIDE CASKET.

• kambingku on Jul 18, 2015 at 9:17 pm

1. Put a fish in front of a cat
    2. Ask the cat not to eat the fish
    3. Wack it ass if its eat the fish
    4. Justice is restored.