What is Euro 4M? Caltex answers questions regarding new RON 97 petrol grade and Techron

Caltex Euro 4M RON 97

With the mandated introduction of Euro 4M RON 97 petrol in stations across the country yesterday, September 1, there are bound to be many questions by the public regarding the new grade, which replaces the current Euro 2M fuel but retailing at RM2.35 per litre – 10 sen cheaper than Euro 2M RON 97 last month – as part of the new September fuel prices.

Chevron Malaysia Limited, which markets fuel and lubricants under the Caltex brand in Malaysia, recently held a media workshop explaining the finer points behind Euro 4M petrol, roping in product engineering lead Greg Engler to give an insight into the specifications and benefits of the new Caltex Premium 97 with Techron.

First things first – Euro 4M fuel is a bit of a misnomer. The European emissions standards, as its name suggests, only concern the stuff coming out of your vehicle’s tailpipe, and have nothing to do with the stuff that you put in it.

Instead, European fuels are regulated through a separate set of standards – EN 228:2004 in the case of “Euro 4” petrol. These allow vehicles equipped with the proper emissions control equipment to meet the emissions standards they were designed for. Among others, EN 228:2004 calls for a sulphur content of 50 parts per million (ppm) – 10 times less than Malaysia’s current “Euro 2” standard of 500 ppm.

Caltex Euro 4M RON 97 Q&A 3

The low sulphur content is important, as the combustion of sulphur-rich fuel produces sulphur dioxide, which reacts with water and oxygen in the atmosphere to create sulphuric acid and sulphurous acid, components of acid rain.

Cars with catalytic converters have issues with sulphur, as well, as it can cause catalyst poisoning. The element tends to coat the precious metals of the catalyst – used to convert harmful carbon monoxide, nitrogen oxides (NOx) and unburnt hydrocarbons into carbon dioxide, oxygen, nitrogen and water – compromising the component’s effectiveness over time.

This is a particular problem with the advent of newer emissions standards, which have strict durability requirements – cars designed for Euro 4 regulations must be still be able to meet the standards for harmful emissions at least 100,000 km or five years from when the vehicle leaves the showroom. It’s clear to see, then, how the right fuel will go a long way towards helping cars achieve these stringent requirements.

Apart from sulphur content, Euro 4M fuel also calls for the amount of benzene, a carcinogen, to be reduced from 5.0 mass percent to 3.5 mass percent. Reid vapour pressure (RVP) is also down, so fuel volatility is lower too – this reduces the likelihood of the fuel vaporising, particularly in our blazing climate. In turn, this reduces the evaporative emissions that can cause health problems and air pollution.

Caltex Euro 4M RON 97 Q&A 14

The massive reduction of sulphur and benzene present a problem, however, as the removal of these components – particularly benzene – affects the octane rating of the fuel. To raise the octane rating back to RON 97, the additives that increase the octane rating in petrol have to be further reformed.

Why no Euro 4M RON 95? Well, Chevron’s refinery in Singapore – which exports Caltex fuel to Malaysia – doesn’t yet have the capability to produce low sulphur fuels in the volume required for such a big market like us (it can for the Singaporean market, which is a fraction of the size). The conglomerate is investing in the plant to build up its capacity, not just for Malaysia, but for other countries like the Philippines that are also moving towards cleaner fuel.

And no, Engler assured us that Euro 4M fuel is not in any way inferior to Euro 4 fuel used in Europe and other regions, merely one that has been localised to Malaysian climate and driving conditions, something other countries do as well. Certain nations even have different fuel types for different seasons, as what fuel works in colder climates will not necessarily work so well in warmer ones.

With that out of the way, Chevron moved to something proprietary to its own fuels. Techron is a patented fuel detergent additive that is exclusive to Caltex – as well as Chevron and Texaco brands also under the Chevron Corporation – and is incorporated in all grades of fuel.

Caltex Euro 4M RON 97 Q&A 7

First introduced 20 years ago, Techron consists of polyetheramine that is claimed to prevent deposit formation at a molecular level. Contaminant build-up happens when fuel is caught in places it’s not supposed to be, such as in the tiny fuel injector holes, on top of intake valves (when fuel sprayed onto the valves dries up from the heat of combustion) or in the combustion chamber itself as a byproduct of an explosion.

Over time, these deposits gradually accumulate and decrease the engine’s efficiency, reducing power, affecting drivability and increasing the risk of knocking. Techron is claimed to clean vital engine parts of these deposits, ensuring that the engine runs at its best.

To test this, engineers took a borescope and ran it through the fuel injector and spark plug holes to evaluate the cleanliness of the valves, ports and piston tops of over 100 vehicles in Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand, from both Caltex users and those of competitive fuels.

Caltex Euro 4M RON 97 Q&A 10

Engler showed us one car he was particularly proud with: a beat-up 1999 Proton Satria with 440,291 km on the clock, belonging to a proud Caltex user. When the boffins peered into its 1.8 litre engine, they couldn’t believe what they saw – intake valves and piston tops said to be “immaculate,” with a average intake valve deposit rating of 9.6 out of 10. While the engineers took the owner’s word (that it had never been overhauled) for it, the results were said to be par for the course for the Caltex users surveyed.

A similar assessment was done in the United States, using two Ford Focuses to test three fuel types – one with no detergent additives, one with a lower quality additive and one with Techron. The cars were run 24/7 for 80,000 km, with a borescope inspection conducted every 16,000 km. Again, the petrol with Techron aced the test, scoring intake valve deposit ratings of nearly 10 for the duration of the evaluation.

So, that’s the new Caltex Euro 4M RON 97 petrol with Techron for you. Have you given the new, cleaner high-octane petrol a try yet? Sound off in the comments section below.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• T owner on Sep 02, 2015 at 7:49 pm

For me, Caltex is the best followed by BHPetrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
    • RM2.6 Billion Dollar Man on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:10 am

Our bodoh Gomen, should give us immediately Euro 5 for RON 95. Already haze choking us to death, now, we have to wait for cleaner Ron 95.

Hello bodoh Gomen, majority use Ron 95 lah. This is the problem, Gomen people busy stealing RM2.6 billion and got no time to think about their rakyat safety and health. In EU, Euro 2M is considered poison level. It is so hazardous, it is categorized as POISON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 12
      • Curi Curi Malaysia on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:22 am

That is when the tupai got caught. What about the other times the tupai was happily jumping from tree to tree collecting nuts the past 10 years? Surely about 100 billion.

Taib from Sarawak alone has RM80 billion in wealth.

If there is no corruption in Malaysia, cars can be cheap in price and our GDP Per Capita pay will be as high as Singapore. Buying an E class will be like paying RM100k for a car if our GDP Per Capita was high and our Ringgit was high

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Gargantia on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:47 am

When will ever Govt really help Rakyat, please stop adding taxes on everything daily life !!! Why Ron 97 needed to be taxes at the first place? Where transparency that been promised?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • In B4 this is only wayang. The gweilo was hired by Najib to tipu us with his baloney ‘data’. How can our pitiful EURO4M is on par with real EURO4? Immposibru!

We, the rakyat, demand RM1.00 RON81 like in US now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Sorry to say this, but there are a few fuel rating system can be used. In US, they are using AKI, anti knock index. While here we are using RON. There is also MON. AKI = (RON+MON)/2

• Why Must we BEG? on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:30 am

The people of Malaysia should not beg for clean air. To breathe clean air, it is our right. All over the world, governments are moving to hybrid to give their people cleaner air and already given clean fuel.

In Malaysia, government blackmails us to get clean air. One day tax incentive is on for hybrid, then another day, tax incentive is off for hybrid. 10 years ago, told us clean petrol is on its way. Now 2020 comes, they will say 2025 or 2030. Majority use Ron 95

The Government of Malaysia blackmails its people for the right to breathe clean air. They should have given clean fuel 10 years ago like how Singapore did.

The whole purpose of a government is to look after the well being of its rakyat and provide the rakyat security. That is the definition of a government. A government collects taxes from the rakyat, in return, they provide a safe, secure country for its tax paying rakyat.

In this case in Malaysia, Malaysians have been suffering with dirty fuel and higher emissions for over 15 years when all over the world they have upgraded their fuels to give their people cleaner air. They also promote cleaner hybrid engines to provide cleaner air and they give their rakyat cleaner petrol and diesels that emits very low Co2.

Don’t talk about cars now. Lets talk about the health of a nation. Because of the dirty petrol and diesel and not promoting hybrid cars, the air pollution is so hazardous to the rakyat, it is the result of countless of cases of lung infection, cancer and respitory illnesses. All our hospitals are full daily mainly because of respitory illnesses. Older people suffer most because of polution by the low grade fuel given by our government.

Have you seen your old mother and father pant and gasp for air?

That is because the government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat giving them cleaner air to breathe. They don’t care for the 30 million people suffer and the environment. They want you to use more dirty petrol and fuel and pollute the environment.

The Environment Ministry and the Minister has no balls. His job is to ensure a cleaner environment.

All over the world, the oil companies are so scared of the governments and they comply with all the Euro5 regulations imposed by their caring governments. But not in Malaysia.

Government does not care at all about the Environment at all. Besides Hybrids, government must ensure all companies come out with Hybrids to promote lesser emissions into the environment.

The Government of Malaysia has failed its rakyat in giving a clean environment, safe and secure country for the rakyat to live in. The government takes the tax payers money in vain here. It is not doing it job. It is as bad as some African war torn country. Don’t be fooled just because Malaysia has no war and is supposedly peaceful. The dirty air and environment itself is war on your lungs and respitory system and this war is far worse than your physical war of guns, mortars and tanks. It is a silent killer. The dirty fumes emitted from vehicles because of the dirty fuel and non hybrid promotion kills more people per annum than any war will.

Our government has time to play a chess game with people’s lives and health in Malaysia, gambling their lives away with their lalang attitude towards clean fuel. Clean fuel should be given immediately NOW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • In simpler terms pls. Which one is better?

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Yep I just fueled up on the V-Power Racing fuel and noticed the engine vibrates a bit lesser than before. I’ve yet to push the engine hard nor have had the chance to see if the fuel takes the car further.

• tishaban on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Jonathan, which new petrol cars that are sold in Malaysia today are designed for Euro 4 or better emissions?

• irizturbo on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:01 am

CFE is ady Euro5 compliant engine since ages, meanwhile Toyota…..LOL

• kzm (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:40 pm

between Euro 2 and Euro 4..of coz Euro 4 better

• intermilan on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Whatever it is, the latest paultan.org website, either mobile or not, to put it bluntly.. sucks.

Lots of user friendly ‘features’ e.g. search function, voting were removed.

And dont remember any announcement or explaination given also.

This ‘upgrade’ is a regression not progress.

Why la wei?

If any of you out there feel the same, please voice out also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • nabill (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 1:27 am

couldnt agree more..the mobile version specially is just messed up , even the browser , every few days i have to log in as member n it wdnt save my details once and for all…

need a major tune up…and unlike our G , hopefully the site will listen to us !

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2015 at 6:19 am

Actually we encountered some severe server performance issues because of the previous mobile site implementation. We were forced to switch to a new one. I am in the midst of restoring the functionality that the previous mobile site had, but in the middle of it I had to leave for the 7 Series international media drive. All the features should be back by the end of this week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • intermilan on Sep 02, 2015 at 9:36 pm

opss.. my earlier comment should only applied to the Paul+ app and mobile browser version only.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:22 pm

I tried the primax 97….im nt sure if im getting any more power, bt im definitely getting smoother engine… Not by much though, bt can feel…. Probably need another refill to really clean up the whole fuel system…

• shaunD on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:36 am

yeah first fill up wont feel much yet. second and third onwards after so-called clean-up then you can feel improved acceleration and smoother engine… at least that’s what happened to my car.

that was petronas primax 97. now i wanna try techron. I’m still waiting for bhp’s actually… the 800ppm thing macam best. plus i got that line coupon that I haven’t used.

• Desperate Citizen on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:15 am

Definitely smoother but the mileage is not improving despite trying my best to save fuel.

• Ahmed on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Now all we need is the G to revise the road tax based on CO2 emission. That way no matter how big your CC is as long as your CO2 emission is low, you’re paying low road tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • So ur suggesting the ah pek with 150cc kapcai should pay RM3000 road tax while the rich ah beng son with tesla should pay RM0?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Ahmed on Sep 03, 2015 at 3:41 pm

How much do you think a 150cc kapchai emit co2? It’s about 89g/km. According to the number he won’t even need to pay the road tax. Sigh pity you

• Nasi lemak 4.0 on Sep 03, 2015 at 5:05 am

Nasi lemak mentality.. Thats why many malaysian still living proton n perodua

• klguy on Sep 02, 2015 at 10:34 pm

euro whatever, come month end almost every single petrol station will run out of Ron97…thanks to the cunning petrol station owners.

• MyDear on Sep 02, 2015 at 11:04 pm

Dem.. the odometer of the satria that Caltex test is unbelievable.. hahahaha

• Rannntt on Sep 03, 2015 at 12:21 am

So compare to primax ron 97 with this caltex which is better?

• I tried both. Caltex provides more power and more mileage with my 2006 vios 1.5

• “a beat-up 1999 Proton Satria with 440,291 km on the clock, belonging to a proud Caltex user. When the boffins peered into its 1.8 litre engine, they couldn’t believe what they saw – intake valves and piston tops said to be “immaculate,” with a average intake valve deposit rating of 9.6 out of 10. ”

This have to do with high quality manufacturing & assembling and not with pertrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • suspicious on Sep 03, 2015 at 9:42 am

Question, when does proton has got a 1.8 Cc engine?

• thedoc on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:05 am

The 1998 Proton Satria GTI has a 1.8L engine.
        Source:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proton_Satria#Satria_GTi

• It’s like a BIG shot for the euro 4M launching in Malaysia. Other neighbour had been using it for quite some times. Many European countries already using 6M.

• at least we have it know..better late than never..but ofcoz i hope euro 6 implementation to come sooner

• PTEnthusiast on Sep 04, 2015 at 9:10 am

So?Euro 4M Ron97, so what? Its not like each n every Msians are pumping that grade of fuel. I don’t blame ‘anyone’ for bringing in Ron95,in fact,its a better substitute for the then Ron92. But then, somebody started saying it is compatible with most vehicles when the same most are using the Ron97 or the green Unleaded fuel. For the time being,lets not debate on the issue of fuel price but lets talk abt fuel quality. Sometimes, Ron97 will always be Ron97 which means by right, be it a Msian Ron97 or Bruneian Ron97,they r both the same giving the similar performances n fuel consumption. So why is it that 2 of my cars, tests after tests, tank after tank gave me a conclusion that Bruneian’s Ron97 yielded better mileage?
    I’ll tell u why it is, somebody’s playing hanky panky in this fuel business n thought we’re dumb enough to be able to tell the differences.

• Telperinor on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Had severe engine knocking during acceleration with RON 95 (BHP), which just happens to be EURO >2 compliant. But the new Euro 4M RON 97 has ended that issue. More power, no knocks. No evaporation. Pretty awesome to open the tank and not have a gaseous release sound.

VOLVO S80 T5 2014