2016 Infiniti QX70S – dark look, purple stitch, cheaper

2016 Infiniti QX70S Black 1

This is the 2016 Infiniti QX70S, currently on display at the Bangsar Shopping Centre. It’s essentially the QX70 with the sport package from last year, but with some model year changes that add to the sporty flavour.

Looking like a member of Bruce Wayne’s fleet in black here (not everyone’s cup of tea, other hues are available), the latest QX70S comes with dark highlights on the headlights, front grille, fog light surrounds, side air vents, lower side sills and tailgate. All these elements were previously in chrome or tinted chrome.

The silver roof rails are now in black, and completing an all-black appearance are the six-spoke 21-inch wheels, which are now in gloss black. The huge rims with 265/45 tyres (20-inch on the GT) and red ‘S’ emblem are unique to the Sport pack.

Inside, the all-black cabin is now accented by stitching in Infiniti’s signature purple colour, just like Sebastian Vettel’s old company car. The new threads can be found on the steering wheel, door grips, door cards, gear gaiter, armrests and quilted leather seats. The cabin stitching was previously in a much less striking bronze-like colour. These changes are only for the QX70S; it’s status quo for the GT and GT Premium.

The Infiniti QX70 is powered by a 3.7 litre V6 engine with 320 hp and 360 Nm. The naturally-aspirated VVEL engine is paired to a seven-speed auto and there’s AWD. 0-100 km/h is done in 6.8 seconds while top speed is 235 km/h.

As the range topper, the QX70S gets all that the GT Premium has, which includes an 11-speaker Bose stereo with 10 GB Music Box, HDD navi with eight-inch touchscreen, voice recognition, Around View Monitor, Intelligent Cruise Control, Lane Departure Warning with Prevention and Intelligent Brake Assist with collision warning.

2016 Infiniti QX70S Black 3

Besides the above-mentioned exterior cues, Sport pack exclusive items are active dampers (Infiniti calls theirs Continuous Damping Control) with Auto/Sport modes and sport seats with adjustable side bolsters and thigh support.

Interestingly, the price of this CBU from Japan crossover is now listed as RM470,000 on-the-road without insurance. That’s RM30,000 lower than the RM500,000 previously quoted for the QX70S. A check at Infiniti’s website shows reduction for the other variants too, from RM435,000 to RM390,000 (RM45k less) for the base GT and from RM470,000 to RM435,000 (RM35k less) for the GT Premium.

2015 Infiniti QX70S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azure on Sep 04, 2015 at 5:16 pm

that’s a really ugly steering wheel

• US47k - RM500K on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Can someone tell me how this car, sold for US47k can be sold for RM500k in Malaysia?

• Sam L0rrrr on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Still a Nissan. Better get Toyota for better RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • UMW Mampus on Sep 05, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Still a Nissan? LOL.. when people say your Lexus is still a Toyota you cry like a baby defending all the way like you own the company.

Go back and eat your Lexus biscuit la

• Any car in Malaysia cheaper than US? Do u really need ppl explain to u? Thanks to ur gov lah!

• Malaysia Car on Sep 05, 2015 at 10:01 am

need ask Malaysia Leader.Our Proton Car also sell cheaper at England than our own country

• cendol (Member) on Sep 05, 2015 at 2:29 pm

we have to ‘help’ Malaysia by buying expensive car.
          If not, we will not have money for development and betterment of people.

• Gold Avanza on Sep 05, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Proton stopped selling in england for sometime already. No fresh and competitive product to re enter market.

Nak tolong proton DONATE la. Beli Iriz kesian tak laku.

• movingcoffin on Sep 06, 2015 at 10:20 am

I’d rather buy Safe Iriz than moving coffin myvi

• hasyim on Sep 07, 2015 at 8:41 am

exactly! that’s what I thought.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 04, 2015 at 5:38 pm

They just need to change that Infiniti logo into Batman logo. That’ll complete the look.

To be honest, the black shiny rims with the black body colour look is quite sporty.

• Jimmy on Sep 04, 2015 at 5:45 pm

1. Who designed the interior and who approved it?
    2. Service to be done by whom?

• fugleey on Sep 05, 2015 at 9:48 am

Let me guess ….. kindergarten kids!

• exterior looks great. inside looks damn fugly. typical so called luxury japanese car makers.

• Malaysia - ZERO investors on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Rm500k for a Nissan? You must be joking. this what happens when we have corrupt leaders who are too busy stealing that they have no time to put controls on pricing that are non sensible.

• UMW robber Sam loo put his lexus biscuits at RM500k and above you dun complain. Topkek betul

• dugongx on Sep 06, 2015 at 12:13 am

You haven’t seen people paying 1.5 million for a toyota landcruiser aka lexuslx570…now that is sohai tai lan ngong of the century…

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Wow the new prices goes to show how much Nissan/Infiniti/TCM is ripping its existing customers off. Thank goodness I’m not one of them!

• Superglue on Sep 04, 2015 at 7:51 pm

this car look like an angry turtle….

• shawal on Sep 04, 2015 at 8:55 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/08/28/infiniti-qx70s-sport-package-rm500k/infiniti-qx70s-showroom-24/

470k …?

• HRV BRV CRV on Sep 05, 2015 at 2:08 am

400+k? wtf, i would go for a lexus NX which only cost around 200+k. This 400k infiniti is going to GG in malaysia. Who wants to buy? U got the money why don’t you add 200k more and go for a s class. Or go for a new harrier for 200+k or a new vellfire which priced around 300 to 400k.

• fugleey on Sep 05, 2015 at 9:49 am

Only oldies go for T

• nosushi on Sep 05, 2015 at 9:51 am

Only oldies go for Lexus biscuit because they belive when macais said,”You won’t go wrong with Toyota.”

• Malaysia Car on Sep 05, 2015 at 10:04 am

US47k but Malaysia RM500K,Same as England sell our Malaysia Proton Car also cheaper than Our own country.Pls ask Malaysia Leader

• Kristoff on Sep 05, 2015 at 10:13 am

Wah.. reading your guys comments tak masuk akal.
    Retarded at the highest level. Comparing with apple and papaya….haha

• I liked the word “cheaper”….until i saw the price tag.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 05, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Buy a new Tucson instead

• cendol (Member) on Sep 05, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Malaysia economy is very good. That’s why we can afford ‘expensive’ cars.