Malaysia vehicle sales data for August 2015 by brand

Driven_2014_ep6_Ford_Fiesta_EcoBoost_vs_Honda_Jazz_Hybrid_vs_Mitsubishi_Attrage_ 008

While the sales of vehicles for the month of June and July signalled fluctuating sales, it seems the automotive industry in Malaysia is now heading towards a slump. Despite that, total figures for the month of August has still fared better than April (45,187) when the GST was first introduced.

Sales figures for the month of June showed a total 57,437 vehicles sold, while July posted an increase with a total of 58,646 vehicles sold – August showed a decline, with a total of only 53,452 vehicles sold. Most passenger car brands are down for the month of August, though sales of commercial vehicle sales have increased slightly (6,150, from 6,010 in July).

Once again, we’ve compiled MAA’s sales data in the table below, sorted by the top performing brands in August 2015. The numbers show a decrease of 8.86%. Both national brands’ sales, Perodua and Proton have fallen – the former sold 1,368 vehicles less (16,589), while the latter decreased by 1,827 in August (9,040) – a percentage drop of 7.6% and 16.8% respectively. Emerging strong is Toyota, showing a 10.9% increase in August, where it managed 8,101 vehicles combined, over 7,308 vehicles sold in July.

Brands that dropped in sales numbers for the month included Honda (6,853 units, -18.8%), Volkswagen (663 units, -27%), Kia (231 units, -29.4%) and Audi (103 units, -48%). Sales of BMW vehicles however remained unchanged, with the German brand managing a similar number of 700 vehicles as it did the month before.

Not all was gloom – some brands registered increased passenger car sales, the list led by Volvo, which saw a huge jump with a total of 60 cars sold in August as compared to only 23 vehicles sold in July (+160.9%), Suzuki (321 units, +10.7%), Chevrolet (39 units, +18.18%), while MINI and Renault moved 68 (+6.25%) and 45 (+21.62%) units respectively.

Click on the table below to view an enlarged version.

Aug 2015 passenger and commercial data FORMATTED (1).xlsx

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Thank you Red Shirts. on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Of course. Moody also want to make Malaysia into junk status. Same as Brazil. Now KL also on alert by US embassy and Australian embassy of riots.

Ringgit also dropping like crazy. thank you Red Shirts. Thank you for causing panic. Who will buy new car? Car and house are your 2 most expensive items in your life. Nobody dare to buy a car now or this year

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 14
    • nabill (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:28 pm

you mean those sponsoring red shirts …and the main culprit now is in NY giving grand speeches about how racism and corruption dont exist in his country…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
  • 22k sohais bought rubbish car at August 2015, let us see September 2015 how many sohais again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Game changer konon on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Looks like Proton may not achieve target 130K units.

Perodua actually achieve 140K units faster than last year (they achieve 140K units in September 2014 or a month ahead).

Sales in September 2014:
      Perodua = 140,317 units
      Proton = 90,749 units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • I can see the chart, no need report to me. Among 9k at August 2015, maybe 50% they still bought the unsafe car like Saga and Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • Albert on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Protong will probably only hit 105,000 units this year.
        Can they make even Rm1 in profit? Definitely and obviously NO.
        Protong needs to sell 180-200,000 units cos of heavy development cost of Suprima and Iriz.
        They will be staring at half a billion Rm in losses again,when corporate earnings are announced come April 1 , 2106.
        Perhaps,they have to beg the Middle East Santa to donate for a CURSED CAUSE.
        PROTONG HAS NOT BEEN A RUNAWAY SUCCEESS.IT IS A RUNAWAY FAILURE WITH NO CHANCE OF A TURNAROUND.The only solution to this energy and financial sapping venture is CESSATION OF BUSINESS.
        Nilai memorial Park….you got another customer now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
        • frossonice on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Then what? You expect other car prices will come down? Not a chance la with current gomen

• Bijan on Sep 26, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Thanks to Proton and Red Shirt. Price go up

• Ollie on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Who cares on either?

• Albert on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Ollie,dont tokok.
          Middle east santa donates to an individual,I forgot.
          For Protong,they will have to beg for another gomen grant of at least 1Billion Rm..your bladdy tax dollar..dont your inefficient brain realise?
          You mean you dont care if your taxes are used to finance some screwed up shithole project?You must be a bastard,sad to say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
          • Ollie on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Chill, I was referring to the above comment, on sales for Perodua and Proton, not your comment.

• Not even pay tax want to talk kok about where it goes

• Less sohais buy rubbish Proton

• Mighty Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:13 pm

can anybody explain why Toyota sales ahead of Honda? Since all toyota model are look Awful and cheap materials quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Farah on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Because Toyota got Commercial Vehicle like Hilux while Honda got non….if you see passenger vehicle, Honda sold more than Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • U read wrongly, Honda sales higher

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Thank you Red Shirts. on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Now see the country collapse. The stupid red shirts still want to tolerate their leader stealing RM2.6 billion?

Mat Salleh pulling out their money big time la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
    • Whats wrong with you? The real fact is that the economy slump because of people like you who like to fan hatred. If its not because of bersih, there wouldnt have been red shirt at the first place sohai! Its the sohai yellow shirt intention at the first place to make the economy looks bad so that they can make najib looks bad. Thats cold hard facts! Sadly, they r succeeding!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 67
      • George Abdul on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:15 pm

This’s why real fact Najib can easily brain waste u people’s, blame others for their own wrong doing !!! Shame on you like your boss !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
      • Ollie on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Wow. I didn’t know this level of ignorance existed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Sohai Leo on Sep 25, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Ya blame on everyone except your own bloody self coz u r so bloody smart and full of wisdom yea…then do nothing and wait for luck to come…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • kept a suspicious money is wrong but cheating to get info of a wrongdoing of ur enemy is not a divine act.. both are liar and cant be trusted and people like u hoping them to be a savior is a big joke..

• alldisc on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Waiting for toyota bashers in 1, 2…. Err, none?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Honda sales still higher than Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • alldisc on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Toyota 8,101 honda 6,853 . this month honda lost to toyota.

• Lawson on Sep 26, 2015 at 8:02 pm

Read carefully my dear!. Toyota sold 5634 units of passenger vehicles. Honda sold 6853 units. Pick up like hilux is not catergorized as passenger vehicle.

• alldisc on Sep 27, 2015 at 8:02 am

Doesnt matter. Toyota still above honda as In the chart above.

• Year to date, Honda 58892, Toyota 54205

• Perodua sales still higher than Proton

• camtakpro on Sep 26, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Honda sales drop 1.6k.
        Toyota up .7k.

Let’s wait and see subsequent months. People starts to afraid of the EarthNightmares CVT.

For VW, just sell your American diesels CBU here with halved of each segment’s average price. Or sell your Polo same with Iriz price. Confirm win.

For Hyundai/Kia, sell the car price one segment lower.

For Toyota, give us freaking VSC/TC, 6 airbags and more cogs on auto.

For Honda, shut up and give 4 disc brakes, DOHC engines and 6 spd auto.

For BMW, stop selling to asshole drivers.

• Aaron on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:11 pm

BMW’s July and August sales I’m dying

• Crasher7 on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Slump, “thanks” to our efficient governance of our economy!

• Crasher7 on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Slump, thanks to our “efficient” governance of the economy!

• jobless on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:31 pm

who want to invest here nw?? even data on monthly vehicle sales by individual models are charged and top secret..the dumbos at mycc tink it can threathen national security

• Boy Cot on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Everyone complains about the price of cars. Just defer buying a car for a few months and lets see how this shakes up the industry. Lets push the balance of power back to the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Albert on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Same Loor,up to Aug 2015,resurgent Honda has overtaken Toyota by 21,000 units..not taking into account Toyota has commercial vehicles,and slow deliveries of HRV.
    What happened?
    I think the bladdy chief fella sitting in his air con room must REDUCE PRICEs KAO KAO and be less arrogant.
    It is time for the public NOT TO BUY NEW CARS unless they are sufficiently cheap..or go for preowned ones .

• Ollie on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Very interesting to note.

1. Honda is killing Toyota right now. With nothing new from Toyota as usual (still stuck wt 4-speed and 1.5 dvvt from 15 years ago), finally people are getting tired.

2. Compared to Aug 2011 (earliest I could find):
    *Ignoring commercial vehicles.
    Perodua – +30k (+25%)
    Proton – -45k (-40%)
    Honda – +100% double sales
    Toyota – -20k (-30%)
    Just looking at the big 4.
    Yayy, Proton is gonna die.. finally.. I’ve been saying for years now, continue pumping money to keep it alive, and it’ll be MAS 2.0. Anyone still supporting Proton should be considered public enemies. National pride in failure is not ‘pride’, its delusion. Support the auto industry by encouraging competition and opening the market. That’s patriotic.

3. All the lower-volume brands (for Malaysian market) i.e. Kia, Hyundai, Ford, Peugeot all down by half.
    Exception? Mazda – more than double sales! If ppl were not hung up on Toyo/Honda, shd be way more.

4. BMW and Merc used to be equal, now Merc almost 2x BMW. CLA, CLS, new A-class. Nice. Audi – from 500 to almost 1k units now, but still tiny compared to BMW/Merc. Ppl want cars that excite, not stale, can’t-see-the-difference 3-series/A4.

5. VW – 3,500 to 4,800 now. Super desperate sales tactics and general public not realising that the Polo and Jetta sedans are overpriced for the specs.

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • olliepoorkid on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Who are you to say Proton is gonna die or Proton supporters are public enemies or not?

*Spit*

• Cancel on Sep 29, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Jetta and Polo is having promotion right now, for now it’s not a big issue.

• BN hater on Sep 25, 2015 at 6:03 pm

30k tax average per car , a month sold around 50k car
    30k X 50k = 1500k

Where does the 1500k tax money gone every month for the passed ?

• pearjai on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Toyota hilux now give rm10k discount +many free gift ++++….that why toyota commercial sales increase !….bravo for honda ! Seem their hrv seem the hottest choice right now ! Honda now can consider their ridgeline with their diesel idtec to our bolehland….

• old dog on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:41 pm

there comes a time no need need to bash protong anymore since their sales will be pick up by Toyota/Honda/Nissan…what a pity..

• Ali Mumcu on Sep 25, 2015 at 10:05 pm

I bet we won’t be seeing this data sheet. It’s seditious ;)

• Sammy Loo on Sep 25, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Even the continentals are ahead of kimchi brands.

You will never go wrong with sushi cars, it is proven with the amount of sales including Perodua-Daihatsu.

• HL Ling on Sep 26, 2015 at 4:46 am

The table too simplify, shall breakdown to respective model then only useful guide for purchaser

• Kesian Lexus. Despite the rabid fans on paultan their sales never quite match up

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 26, 2015 at 9:02 am

Yes, continue to buy less cars. Let the price drop to near global market price. The Govt has been living on inflated prices for far too long. Many times, the car companies submitted a lower launch price only to be rejected by the Govt. The Govt will only approve if the price is marked up so that the Govt can reap a higher percentage on tax.

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Sep 27, 2015 at 1:57 am

Woohooo! Sam Loo just gave me 10k discount for my new vios TRD. I know its just an unbelievable deal. Can’t wait to add quad exhaust and turbo so I can smoke ferrari.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:19 am

The Fluence facelift seems to work!

• xoxox on Sep 28, 2015 at 8:50 am

you can see from the list, the lux cars sales are not much affected compare to normal cars…so, who suffers most after the GST?

• kampung peghak buih jdm... on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:50 pm

ahmengolie..bos kurumar panggil basuh kereta.jgn asyik main hanfon kereta banyak x jual lg.lagi satu u punya wira rotex xdak tu alih…lori sampah mau lalu.