VW UK says V6, V8 TDI and all petrol engines are safe

Volkswagen_Golf_GTI_Mk7_Driven_033

Amidst the on-going dieselgate scandal that’s turning the Volkswagen Group’s world upside down, here, finally, is some good news to come from the German manufacturer.

Volkswagen UK has just confirmed that all of its petrol-powered cars, and those equipped with V6 TDI and V8 TDI turbodiesel engines have not been fitted with the now infamous “defeat devices” that were used to manipulate the results of official emissions tests. The news also clears all Porsche models of any involvement in the dieselgate scandal.

Following an internal investigation, Volkswagen announced that only its EA189-powered vehicles (Euro 5-compliant 2.0 litre four-cylinder diesel engines) were equipped with the “defeat devices.” Cars equipped with the engine type include the Mk6 Golf, the seventh-gen Passat and the first-gen Tiguan. Vehicles with the newer Euro 6-compliant engines aren’t affected.

Out of the 11 million vehicles belonging to the Volkswagen Group, we know that five million of them were Volkswagen-branded vehicles. The remaining were made up of 2.1 million Audis as announced recently, 1.2 million Skodas, 700,000 SEATs and around 1.8 million commercial vehicles collectively.

Volkswagen has also announced an action plan to fix its affected vehicles, and will provide further technical solutions to the German authorities this month. Customers will also be kept informed via dedicated websites soon to be created by each brand involved, in their respective nations.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• xxXxxxXxxx on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:01 pm

VW, i don’t believe you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • George on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:11 am

Kids don’t understand. Buying car just waste of money. Is why I never plan to buy another car and still driving that 1997 Camry.

I’m debt-free for more than 12 years already. Literally I’m just paying RM20 everyday to own that damn car.

• boleh on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:19 pm

but they have 5 million other believers

• VGM Big Big Liar on Oct 02, 2015 at 11:45 am

Cannot trust VW, especially VGM. For years VGM was lying about their DSG and they are still lying about it even today.

Somemore, Malaysia got no accountability. they can do anything they want and get away with it. not worth paying RM200k to a company that lies lies lies

• Comment on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:39 pm

VW group have admitted the Dsg issue long time ago and they even recall it to fix. What do you mean by lying?

• waichun on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:32 pm

I really dun understand what sort of lie you referring to VGM about? DSG issued? it is very very old time story. Further more VGM did admit over the DSG issued and recalled all their affected units for repair. My Passat still working fine currently

• Yeah, most of the VWs have something even worse fitted.

A DSG gearbox.

• albag on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:19 pm

somehow the statement is skeptical

• cikgu cumi on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:20 pm

sorry VW…..you guys are caught red handed, with your pants down in America, for so long.

No more confidence with you…..

• Guest on Oct 01, 2015 at 7:49 pm

I don’t get what the big deal is. Yes, they did something illegal and they’re now paying for it, rightfully so.

But it’s just falsifying emissions results, it’s not like they’re compromising on safety and putting their customers at risk. I don’t own a VW, but I believe it doesn’t take anything away from the overall quality of their cars. I know people who are very happy with their VWs’ ride and build quality and I don’t see this as something to even bring up second thoughts if I ever wanted to buy a VW car.

• america big country bos. if they lose reputation there, then they lose lots of potential buyers.q if malaysia yang complain, different story la

• superbird #43 on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:04 pm

diesel engine belonged to heavy duty vehicles, not cars.
    thank goodness diesel vehicles are not being heavily promoted in msia just like in america because of our crappy fuel.
    if not, the chance of me getting lung cancer is very high as well.

• xoxox on Oct 02, 2015 at 9:01 am

the question is how much % of your words is true right now?

• Josh Ling on Oct 02, 2015 at 10:08 am

“we don’t have any issue with our DSG.” no thanks, i won’t believe any crap that came out from VW personnel’s mouth anymore.

• cheerful on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:09 pm

I really dun understand people still commenting on DSG issued? My Jetta v DSG 1 year still working fine with me.

• dvaycarau on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:29 pm

it very depends la! But I really dun have any issued with my Passat on DSG issued since after I changed to mineral oil.
      Why? u still have DSG issued still with you car?! Hm…

• Levin on Oct 02, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Safe? VW mind to explain how their MK7 Golf GTi caught on fire last Tuesday (29/09/2015) along Sg Besi highway during midnight?
    Anyone else saw the wreckage please share your thoughts here.

• lenova on Oct 05, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Where you got such information from? I am totally not aware off. I believe many of them had over modify their vehicle that cause the problem. Sometimes couldn’t blame VW themselves, but owner have to bear responsibility for over modify their car.