Over 100 motorists fined for speeding on East Coast Expressway 2 (LPT2) – fastest clocked at 165 km/h!

speed limit

A total of “over 100 speedsters” were fined for exceeding the 110 km/h speed limit imposed on the East Coast Expressway 2 (LPT2) during a recently conclude special operation, the New Straits Times reports. The two-hour operation was conducted along KM 255.2 by 22 officers “from the federal police headquarters.”

Since 2011, the highway has seen a total of 1,991 accidents with 85 fatalities. Throughout the operation, the authorities recorded motorists speeding away at up to speeds of 165 km/h. “Even we are concerned of the safety of the motorists who have been booked,” said deputy superintendent, Mustaffa Bakri Salleh.

“I hope they realise what they are in for by driving at such high speeds which not only endanger themselves and the occupants of their vehicles but also other road users,” he added. Additionally, the authorities issued a further 22 summonses to motorists for other offences including the display of non-regulation registration plates, malfunctioning brake lights and expired driving licenses and road taxes.

Earlier, it was reported that about 20% of the LPT2 highway required immediate rectification with some areas identified as “critical” by the Works Minister, Datuk Fadillah Yusoff. However, Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon has gone on record to state otherwise.

LPT2-highway-report-03

According to him, while there were certain stretches that contained traces of soil erosion and water retention issues, said issue will not pose a risk to motorists should they drive according to the speed limit. Aside from that, the long straightaways have also been identified as one of the factors behind said accidents as drivers tended to doze off and/or become bored, prompting them to speed up.

Research has shown that only about 30% of motorists who ply the LPT2 adhere to the speed limit – a further 50% were recorded speeding above 140 km/h. “This attitude of speeding is a major contributing factor for accidents and fatalities at LPT2,” commented Yusoff.

To help curb the issue, Yusoff has stated that the police are indeed in the midst of working with the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) to install more speed traps along with highway. Additionally, more R&R stations will be established to encourage motorists to take a break after long hours behind the wheel.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• 165 km/h ???! Is that a joke ?
    Nowadays cars averaging 200km/h on highways.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
    • Top-speed of Myvi and Vios already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
      • George Abdul on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Dont forget your Waja aka “BMW asia” and Saga (Ncap scandal)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • If 100 fined that means, 900 kena lepas after PDRM makan duit kopi. that is how Malaysia works. 9 give duit kopi and 1 is given saman to show statistics department PDRM is doing their job

• Vios easily 180km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • kinda agree with u.. i think the majority will goes to Myvi and vios..

• Funny how it seems on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Not really no. Your 200kmh average is a joke. Get a new statistician.

• the old myth say..
      above 180km/h failed to be capture.

• John Doe on Nov 02, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I’ve done 220 as max on the johor highway. Plus if you notice most people average 120-140 one the fast lane for intercity highways.

• John Doe on Nov 02, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I’ve done 220 as max on the johor highway. Plus if you notice most people average 120-140 one the fast lane for intercity highways.

• Quadexhaustmyvi on Nov 02, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Why so slow? My quad exhaust myvi average 250kmh. Even sport cars give me way liao. That’s average you read it right

• E46 325i on Nov 02, 2015 at 12:47 pm

most of the buses are now averaging 110km/h on highways. To overtake the buses, cars need to go beyond that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • We should reduce the bus speed by 10%..
      1 bus accident can kill alot, isnt?

• all future Lewis Hamilton clones

• xxxxxxx on Nov 02, 2015 at 12:58 pm

165km/hr normal la, mat rampit superman style also 165km/hr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • SAM VHL Loo on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Most of the Myvi ‘Lagi Bahlol’ are now averaging 160 – 180 km/h on highways (as a result of tagline ‘Lagi Power Lagi Bahlol’ – powerful engines with that kind of toufu chassis strength, skinny 14″ inch tyres and rear drum brake plus absence of VSC is suicidal). To overtake them, you are following them to graveyard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
    • kipas angin on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Byk myvi camtu..
      Bawak 160 dah perasan best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • SAM VHL Loo on Nov 02, 2015 at 6:47 pm

… lps tu terus buat tajuk ‘myvi turbo’ sambil layan lagu

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YNDGnTN8yM

• SBelt on Nov 03, 2015 at 7:34 am

the best part is seatbelt didn’t wear…. typical myvi speeding mentality + no seatbelt video making style.

• syioknya on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:16 pm

that syiok sendiri driver must have recorded 180kmh and about to post the video to youtube or Club FB and proudly claims can do 180kmh wasy-easy, but police recorded only 165kmh …………….

• Razak on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:20 pm

My son few months ago just showed me up how he could handles 240km/h on LPT2. . Thanks golf r.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • Quadexhaustmyvi on Nov 02, 2015 at 7:59 pm

240km/h that’s so pathetic
      How Bout 250km/h average? Can do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
      • Razak on Nov 03, 2015 at 1:37 am

No thanks. My son golf r doesn’t race with myvi. I mean yeah, you know. Once your myvi crash ahh, you cannot retry OUR RACE. Everything will total lost ah. Unlike VW, I got custom carbon VW inside ah. Like cockpit you know. Nah, I’m sorry just saying the truth cuz it’s about life and death. It’s illegal racing. But come and see me if you want at Paddock Sepang every Sunday with my son golf r. I don’t think myvi will hold long enough 5hrs racing non-stop. It will burn you know. .

• Malam Jumaat on Nov 07, 2015 at 8:39 am

Why talk about your son car.. Talk about your potong saga lar.. You syiok sendiri daydream your saga suddenly become golf r.. But at least saga don’t have emission scandal mah..

• jobless on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:33 pm

165 kmh is just warm up practice session..wait till u see the actual race even the speeed sensors cannot detect Lagi Power Lagi cpt Bungkus

• jobless on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:39 pm

These ah bengs thought other drivers think very highly of them but let me tell u in their minds they pobably laughed at their stupidity and useless pitiful life cannot afod REAL MAN’s CAR (New not 20 year old Rm10k BMW)

• jobless on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:42 pm

As long as not p1p2 or god car city car the world will knw u a real man made it.even god car city car is noting

• Konasan on Nov 02, 2015 at 8:44 pm

I bought 20 years old civic less than 40k. My griend got preve turbo 72k. I am real man?

Gimme your break

• jobless on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Most ah beng drive p1p2 godcity car nazak celaka and elaktra

• Are Malaysians out of their mind!!!! They think that Malaysian can built Hi Way as good as the autobahn ?!?!!! What a joke

• Batusejam on Nov 02, 2015 at 1:54 pm

165MPH!! Thats more i like it..

• no wonder LTP2 1 year 500 accidents.
    opened since 2011, up to date almost 2000 accidents recorded.

• gaviny on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:06 pm

165 is the fastest RECORDED, those that unrecorded add another 20km/h to it

• mr_em on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:14 pm

huhuhu…. may be those who did more than 200km/h all got away… you all know how our enforcement works right? catch the small fishes and let off the sharks…

• Mr.Snitch on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:15 pm

this guy do 200Km/H on 110Km/h highway… Plate Reg. WA 9038 E Police/JPJ careful ya.. this Tan Sri Son so he got license to drive Super fast :) x

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rG2TRh49h7E

• Honesty on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Most of the cars out there over-showing the speed beyond 100kph. I’ve tested my fren’s car(saga flx) n myvi doing 170kph on speedometer only clocking 155+kph in gps..so most of the drivers here actually syok sendiri doing 180, 200 bla bla..nevertheless, some high tech cars show the reliable speed

• lightning on Nov 02, 2015 at 3:10 pm

MIROS wake up!!!do some more proper research…Speeding not the only reason causing fatal accident.

You should focus more on negligence, tiring, lost focus, as well as sleepy driver.

Just imagine folks, my personal experience, driving a Toyota Camry on LPT highway cruising speed 110km/h (Auto Cruise) at 2.30pm where the out side temperature are 36’C while inside are 22’C after 1.5hours, I couldn’t focus on my driving and almost to fall asleep twice.I accelerated up 160km/h and its getting better. STUPID MIROS Proffesor WITH CHEAP DR Tittle!!! causing people’s death!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • “the long straightaways have also been identified as one of the factors behind said accidents as drivers tended to doze off and/or become bored, prompting them to speed up”

Reading comprehension failed.

• Apala… dah tau ngantuk rehatlah.. plss lah..

• ben yap on Nov 02, 2015 at 4:41 pm

i’m going to beat that record of 165km/h. be sure to highlight my success ya!

• Kakaka on Nov 02, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Yep. Will get highlighted on newspaper : driver died, speed kills.

• “This attitude of speeding is a major contributing factor for accidents and fatalities at LPT2,”

speeding + bad road condition
    or
    speeding + road hog swap lane without signal
    or
    speeding + sleeper driver
    or
    road hog + sleeper driver

all this can consider main factor that cause accident

• Why so many arrogant people telling the whole world like they are fast driver, that 165km/h is slow, MyVi can do 200km/h? No need to show off lar. This article just state the facts only. Up to all of us whether to drive fast or not. Please lar. Be more civilize.

• izham on Nov 03, 2015 at 10:57 am

looking at the comment, no wonder there many stupid driver in Malaysia.