Woman claims to be victim in SS15 road rage video

The woman seen in a recent road rage incident that was caught on video and went viral on social media, has now revealed her side of the story, claiming she was the victim instead. During the October 28 incident, a 17-second-long video clip showed her using a steering lock to repeatedly hit a Toyota Camry following a dispute over a reserved parking lot with the driver.

According to The Star, the woman said, “the video made me look like a crazy woman when all I was doing was protecting my family and my property. The man took my reserved parking lot and when I had nowhere else to go, I parked in front of his car at around 9am.”

Two hours later, the man in the Toyota Camry sounded his horn to indicate to the woman that he wanted to vacate the parking lot. The woman continued, “I was on the phone and it only took me about three minutes to end the call and grab my car keys. As I was walking out of the office, I saw him reverse his car and then accelerate forward, hitting my Volvo.”

Following the impact, the woman’s father then went out to speak with the Camry driver, who started shouting profanities and shoved him, causing the 67-year old to fall and hit the Camry’s wing mirror in the process. It was then that the woman lost her cool and grabbed her steering lock and began hitting the front of the Camry. “This is the scene that the man recorded,” she said.

The woman also added that the Camry driver threatened her by saying he knew where she worked and would come looking for her. “What I did was an act of self defence,” she said, worried that the man might hurt her family. According to Selangor police chief Comm Datuk Abdul Samah Mat, the authorities have completed their investigations regarding the incident.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dua-dua bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • David on Nov 03, 2015 at 1:10 pm

I see this kind of action is a trend that shows the pressure of life is getting to everyone. Rise of living costs, lack of proper town planning, lack of packing spaces, traffic jams, police reputation, rise in crime, etc.

• Orange on Nov 03, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Heard the Camry driver got off with just a slap on the wrist; a small fine for assault and damaging property. Everyone should start carrying a weapon of some sort. You just cannot trust the authorities to defend your rights and interests anymore.

• if u retaliate to provocation than u r no better than them. in this case both side is the problem. i read her side of the story claiming she waited for the police to arrive but on this end proves that she damage the other’s property. the main problem here is the morality of our ppl. we have no respect to one another, it stems from our own upbringing. this could be a avoided if we were thought good ethics and respects to one another in the first place. else this incident would not have happen

carrying weapons with reason to defend urself is acceptable, but if police found u carrying one in ur car then prepare urself. plus, if everyone start carrying one, road rage gonna be a trend around here. there will be no end to violence

• SubangGuy on Nov 03, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Camry driver has a criminal record and is a “gangster” in the area. He threatened the lady and her father citing things like I know where you live and I know where you work, I will come and get you. If I were her, I will do the same thing.

• I don’t judge just based on one side of the story the woman posted. Definitely salt and sugar were added into the story to make protect herself.

• Julian on Nov 04, 2015 at 7:37 pm

At one point in the video you can see that she chickened out and tried to hide the steering lock behind her back when she saw she was being recorded. And that gave her away.. like they say always 2 sides to a story.