International College of Automotive granted uni status, now DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia

icam-campus-official-2

The International College of Automotive (ICAM) has been conferred university status by the Ministry of Higher Education and will henceforth be known as DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia. With university status, DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia now finds itself amongst the first few institutions in the ASEAN region to provide bachelor, master and doctoral degree programmes in the automotive field.

“This elevation into becoming a full-fledged university marks a significant milestone for its growing stature as a leading institution of higher learning in the region,” remarked Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil, managing director of the DRB-Hicom Bhd Group.

“What makes us different is our balanced approach to education; similar to the dual training concept, widely practiced in Germany where nearly 60 per cent of its workers are trained as apprentices,” he added. This would ensure that the nation has a consistent supply of trained individuals in the local automotive industry.

“This combination of theory and practice gives our students a head start in their careers as they would have accumulated the required technical knowledge together with hands-on experience in their jobs,” said Khamil. DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia boasts a 16.9-hectare campus located in Pekan, Pahang. The campus is situated within the vicinity of DRB-Hicom’s automotive assembly complex.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• wiwiwiwiw on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:37 am

What local automotive industry? The industry is dead bro

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Don’t worry, this University will get billions in grants although under private hands of DRB Hicom.

the same with Proton. Kononnya under private hands of DRB Hicom. But every year Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money kononnya for grnts, research, EEV car, hybrid car etc.

This University is like a Trojan Horse, like Proton, another Trojan Horse to suck more of our money from the Government for DRB

• Just like you can create alot of cheap ‘A’ students with trashy syllabus standard.

• camtakpro on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Not dead yet, just those graduates (from this U) probably no suitable vacancies available since chief position already reserved for relatives.

End up go Japan become gearbox chief engineer?

• hazzif on Nov 12, 2015 at 11:43 am

no offence but get the place sorted out for diploma first.
    nice place but a lot more to improve.

• LOLOL on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Hope they teach tech outside of proton and VW……

• iampro111 on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:37 pm

worst uni title now taken over lol.

• olio benzina on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:27 pm

“Automotive” is an adjective. It should be “Automotive Engineering” or “Automotive Technology”. Don’t leave the adjective dangling. At worst call it “Automotive Things”. Oh My England!

• xxxxxxxx on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:47 pm

The cert can recognize oversea or not?

• Aero (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Is it MQA accredited ? I assume they’re offering mostly Engineering programs, and if so, are they IEEE certified ? I think it’s good that DRB-HICOM is spending so much on an automotive university, it’ll probably become a big name… in 20 or 30 years time. But today, I think you’d be risking your career joining a brand new uni like this one.

If you ask me, it’s better to just graduate from a reputable university with full accreditations than a new, specialized uni with limited recognition. A lot of companies don’t offer jobs to graduates from small-time unis because they know that these graduates have likely been spoon fed and pampered, because small-time unis cannot risk setting high or difficult standards. It will just scare away their already small student population. Not to mention, many of the lecturers from small-time private unis come and go anytime, it’s hard to find lecturers who are genuinely well-versed and experienced in their field in small-time unis, the best lecturers have migrated and the remaining few have been snapped up by the bigger, more established unis here.

This is me speaking from my experience. If you want to know what Engineering is really like, avoid universities like Taylors, Sunway, KDU etc.. Go for gold with MMU, UM, UTP etc.. Or better still, go abroad.

• letstorque on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:16 pm

The fee are expensive. Even for a private college far away from Klang Valley.
    They offer special price on tuition fees to staffs’ family members. But still dont attract much interest.

I’ve involved in the setting up of this ICAM years ago. Crazy. Setting up a college i n less than a year. All construction of early facilities within.3 months. Converted from old assembly lines and warehouses.

• hei, this is the only university that provide the fastest track for students to get employed in the sector.

• Nancy on Nov 14, 2015 at 12:51 am

I wonder what qualify us to establish an International Automative College? Did they spell correctly?? Should it not be International Automati College?? I bet international students are queueing to learn automotive technology from us!!

• sohboongee on Nov 14, 2015 at 10:34 am

Give them a trust. Wish them the best. Our young generation out there needs opportunity to advance themselves.

Be fast in updating intake information.TQ

• Ootai on Nov 16, 2015 at 11:27 pm

Does Thailand has a similar International Automotive University?? Their automotive industry is km ahead of our bolehland.