SPAD to make Uber and Grabcar illegal, says report

uber-x-car

According to a report by Kosmo, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is in the process of making amendments to the Land Public Transport Act 2010 that allows them to take direct action against ride-sharing app providers like Uber and GrabCar.

Currently, ride-sharing apps are deemed a legal service by the Malaysian Communications And Multimedia Commission (MCMC), while those providing the service without valid documents are not.

A source within SPAD told Kosmo that the commission is studying the Act closely before bringing their mandate to the Attorney General’s Chamber. From there, the amendments will be handed over to the Government, to be proposed in Parliament.

The source claims that the amendments to the Act is just, in order to curb the operations of ride-sharing apps or what is referred to as teksi sapu. “The Land Public Transport Act 2010 only allows enforcement against unlicensed vehicles and not against the ride-sharing app. This makes it difficult for the SPAD to combat against this illegal service as a whole.

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 268

“If the Cabinet approves the amendments to the Act, it allows the SPAD to take action against the app providers that offer these teksi sapu services, and I believe it will provide an impact against this illegal operation,” the source said.

Continuing on, the source says that the Uber and GrabCar service needs to be banned as it invites risk to its passengers. “Even though all private vehicles have their respective insurance and road tax, those used to provide Uber and GrabCar services are registered for personal use and not for commercial purposes.

“This inappropriate use of the vehicle can result in insurance companies denying any compensation in the event of any vehicle damage/loss, or injury to the driver and passenger,” the source added.

As of current, the report states that SPAD has taken action against 144 vehicles (97 from GrabCar, 43 from Uber, three from Easy Taxi and one from Black Lane) since October last year that were believed to be used for ride-sharing duties. From that figure, 110 vehicles were impounded while the remainder are in the process of undergoing investigation.

Malaysia-Taxi-01

The source said, “SPAD will request the court to strip the vehicle rights of the 110 impounded car. Action will be taken against them after it was discovered that they failed to operate within their licence class, prepare proper permits or documents, unauthorised licence transfer and operating without a permit.”

This report comes merely a week after taxi drivers held a protest in Kuala Lumpur, demanding for ride-sharing services to be banned, and for SPAD’s leadership to be “reshuffled”. The taxi drivers also threatened to block several main roads in the city if its demands are not met.

Keep in mind that nothing is set in stone for now, as amendments to the Act will take some time. What do you think of SPAD’s plan to ban ride-sharing apps like Uber and GrabCar entirely?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• George Abdul on Nov 24, 2015 at 10:54 am

SPAD is just useless, can’t even benefit the customers/users and taxi drivers both way…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
    • What ride-sharing? People take full-time job as illegal drivers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 50
      • Kamal on Nov 24, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Your comment is not popular because Malaysia needs a Communist government. Democracy fails us because law is not respected by the leaders themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Moving Forward on Nov 25, 2015 at 12:17 am

This is subjective…

Say if you have a legal wife who never take care of family and mess herself up and other

Now you feel upset and you found a mistress aka illegal wife but she cleared the leftovers and uphold the family.

But now somebody declared death penalty to the illegal wife and let the legal wife to ruin the family once again?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 25, 2015 at 10:41 am

Or you could divorce the legal wife and marry the mistress?

So when can we divorce SPAD and taxi companies?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 25, 2015 at 11:37 am

Since donation is NOT illegal, then can just donate to any friend that is willing to fetch you anywhere. Nothing illegal about using private car to fetch friends or for you to accept a donation from a friend. The taxi can continue to fetch the public. Situation solved.

• SPAD is the Problem on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:16 am

Actually, the big problem is SPAD. SPAD is allowing all this protest to go on. Why? Very simple.

SPAD’s chairman Albar’s wife owns many teksi companies. When Uber and Grabcar came into Malaysia, her companies lost a lot of money and is losing a lot of money.

So, SPAD, as any husband who is scared of his wife would do, quickly ban Uber and ban Grabcar.

You see, in Malaysia, there is no such thing as CONFLICT OF INTEREST. Government also cool about it, they say, “their fellow UMNO ex-Minister got contract, so what?”

SPAD is now closing an eye to all this violence and protest because Albar’s wife is not happy with slow business.

All these violence is approved by SPAD. Infact, it is indirectly sanctioned by SPAD.

Don’t forget, besides Albar’s wife, ALL the licenses for companies running cabs are all owned by UMNO big boys.

Nobody can touch them la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
      • Wife punya ka wife punya nama saja?

• Albert on Nov 24, 2015 at 2:40 pm

The botak should ban the current bunch of MOGOK taxis and licence UBER and Grabcar.
        It is so sad the botak is wayang saja for so long.
        Ptui….SPIT is more fitting than SPAD.
        R u willing to go inside a cab operated by these unruly bunch of bastards ?

• hondaman on Nov 24, 2015 at 5:44 pm

still copy paste the same comment is it? Btw misleading headline from Paul Tan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Pariah get a life la!

• BigBalls on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:02 am

It just shows that SPAD is out to protect the interests of the taxi permit holders, not the consumers.

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Regardless what you say/think in personal. Something that is prohibited or not authorized by law is still ILLEGAL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
      • ismail jam on Nov 24, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Stupid reply.
        There is no Act at the moment that deems Uber as illegal so why are you barking ?
        John aka Father Augustus Chen from Utusan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • Oh…that chicken above is father augustus chen, the umno butt licker…apa pasal dia tukak nama pulak??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Kamal on Nov 24, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Your comment is not popular because Malaysia needs to a Communist government. Democracy fails us because law is not respected by the leaders themselves.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:41 am

Why government don’t want to give us alternative to dirty stinking dishonest cabs?? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get cab drivers who are dirty, stinky and sihonest because our guardians and leaders are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe public transport that are also reasonably priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Painter on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:13 am

Sometimes, media misquotes the authority. Take this news with a grain of salt.

Anyway, maybe it’s time to legalize and regulate the teksi sapu category. It’s good if authority just issue another permit to those who want to operate their private cars as teksi. Take all the necessary insurance to protect both driver and passenger. Get the private car cum teksi sapu to issue the special permit. Get them to undergo all the training. If Uber drivers were as good as everybody claim them to be, then get Uber to train the normal teksi drivers as well. Talk about transfer of knowledge for mutual benefit.

It is up to the taxi drivers if they want to switch to their own cars or stay with taxi service.

Ultimately, consumer will benefit from healthy competition.

All is not lost. Just have to work extra hard and think smarter on how to make everybody happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Ex-taxi passenger on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:29 am

Just the other day i was at Mandarin Oriental for dinner and was heading back to office after. Saw a few taxis around the area and decided to give them another try. Thinking that with all the passenger and income lost claimed by them, their taxi service would improve. I approached 3 different taxi drivers and still none of them wants to use the meter while quoting an exorbitant amount for the trip. Immediately requested for Uber an enjoyed a comfortable ride. This was the last straw for me, taxis have no intention of improving themselves. And to think of it, all they have to do is use the meter.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • many Questions... on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:31 am

i’m not very well versed with such regulation but there are a few questions which i don’t understand, which i hope more people can inform me.

1) if uber and grabcar is illegal, what happens to the group of office colleague that wishes to car pool? don’t they all chip in and pay the car owner/driver? is that legal/illegal?

2) if its legal, then how is uber/grabcar illegal, as SPAD says the insurance doesn’t cover in the event of an accident, but i didn’t read which insurance clause it violates.

3) if uber & grabcar is illegal, then will car-pooling be illegal as well? how does SPAD differentiate the two?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Carlos Jesus on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:44 pm

SPAD can’t even prove that uber/grabcar is categorized as “public transport”, therefore the Land Public Transport Act is not even applicable in this case. It is all private arrangement – I wish to take a ride in someone’s car, I arrange with him privately on where to pick me up, I accept the risks of traveling in his car and afterwards I reimburse him for his efforts. I don’t see how this scenario falls into the “public transport” categorization.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • macromedia on Nov 24, 2015 at 3:03 pm

It is a grey area. Who’s to say it is illegal if it is based in TIP AS YOU LIKE way? Sure there will be some losers that gives ZERO, for those we can always BLACKLIST them as driver, right? They (SPAD) are stuck, simple as that. Unless the higher ups wanna get involved, which I doubt so, as this will look very very bad on an already very very bad rep government.

Heck, one only needs to tweak the system and you are good to go and launch the APP. Catch me? We are only car pooling, isn’t that what the government’s been preaching to help with the JAM and TOLL and ENVIRONMENT? Note: UBER already have launch such a function now in beta testing in certain parts of the world.

Is UBER and GRABCAR that great? Not really to me. But it makes us happy as rakyat. It is our way of saying SCREW YOU! We rebel at the audacity of taxi drivers in general. Cheaper ziggies, hell yea. CHeaper FUEL, damn ight we should have it!

• BrainWasher on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:37 am

“… the source says that the Uber and GrabCar service needs to be banned as it invites risk to its passengers…”
    KAH KAH KAH KAHHHH!!!!
    As they care for us all this while..idiot SPAD.

• Instead of killing Uber Grabcar, why dont remove the model of monopolization in Malaysia and welcome more competitors to make it more competitive? Each taxi driver now has to pay huge rental and the rental goes to how many bosses?

• cobra on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:47 am

Oh no….no uber no grabcar….now must sit in junk and smelly taxis…pui

• komarad on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:52 am

have you being offered free mineral water by uber driver? can you asked uber driver to change radio station or better gave your cd/mp3 to be played in the car? now try ask these from a taxi driver, what would you get….

• Susahppl on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:54 am

In malaysia, we are still living in stone age, dont think malaysia is moving forward for wawasan 2020, a country will always be whats in the leaders head. we will be pushed back and live like miserable and those gov will continue to enjoy our duitrakyat with zero effort to build a better nation for people.

• Annonymous on Nov 24, 2015 at 11:56 am

SPAD and the Police should put all those who threaten behind bars… this is the typical acts of terrorist..
    Should never respond to threats..

If this threat works, next time the taxi drivers or anyone for that matter will use the same tactics and hold the citizens of KL at ransom.. morons..

• Satumii on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Our taxi driver very bad ah – provide lousy service, cheating customer and drive like Mat Rempit gangster. Taxi drivers blame SPAD, UMNO, UMNO Cronies, DAP, JPJ, Najib, Mahatir, Allah, Bank etc – for forcibly them into semi-slaves to taxi companies monopolising taxi permit. The owner of taxi companies and permit (SPAD Chairman, Rafidah, Mahatir, Zahid etc) will not want competition from Uber & GrabCar lah. Taxi drivers has the option to switch to Uber & GrabCar but did not do so. Because – taxi companies want Uber & GrabCar to die not the taxi drivers. Those taxi drivers are just slaves of taxi companies – claim to represent taxi drivers – aiyahhh only 200 out of 200,000 taxi drivers – not even 1% leh

• azrai on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:14 pm

It is known as ‘prebet sapu’.

• Ravi Kumar on Nov 24, 2015 at 12:25 pm

I used GrabCar in Singapore recently and I would say it was WAYYYYY better than our tin milo Proton’s we use a taxis.

• GrabCar in Singapore is those normal taxi driver. It’s benefit you if you use apps to “call” taxi.

• Stop complaning and go find better job! Get a life dude.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Nov 24, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Taxi companies owned by cronies sure give pressure habis habisan..biasalah…

• Husairi Abdullah on Nov 24, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Similar practice of Uber or GrabCar has been long operated in London since nineties. If our current taxi service is good and for the them to make their living and no other people benefiting from their hard works, we all Malaysian should give them full supports. But what actually happen on the ground are worst than we what we can think off. Taxi drivers must be defended but not the taxi operators.
    What is wrong of letting Uber or GrabCar to operate with their creative business model if their customers could get add-value for their money being spent ?
    We are working towards globalizing world of thinking and practicing.. By end of this year ASEAN market will be open..and is going to be bigger the American and European Markets..
    What wrong with our leaders..Please wake up all Malaysians!

• Kelso on Nov 24, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Well, we just can’t let a good thing be

• normal citizen on Nov 24, 2015 at 2:21 pm

1. taxi driver’s attitude of not using meter should be prohibited.
    2. the fundamental of the problem is the permit system, imagine paying rm40 to rent a taxi a day not including your petrol expenses and maintenance is killing.

what Malaysia need is a revamp on taxi system and better as it is. Banning Uber and GC or whatsoever ride sharing apps doesn’t solve the problem, it makes us Malaysian more like an ostrich who hide their head whenever problem arises.

• ben yap on Nov 24, 2015 at 2:37 pm

” Uber and GrabCar service needs to be banned as it invites risk to its passengers.”

How many riders died in an accident for sitting in an Uber or Grabcar?

Our government talk cock again.

• nononini on Nov 24, 2015 at 3:22 pm

why i choose grabcar and uber service because they charge me much better than taxi especially during peak hours. grabcar and uber cost me around 20 ringgit but taxi charge me around 40ringgit and refuse to use meter.

• Nasi lemak managed Spad on Nov 24, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Grabcar and Uber is LEGAL. Spad purposely stressing Uber n Grabcar drivers by impounding their vehicle for inspection purpose only. Anyway, they cant charge the drivers and they will release the cars after few weeks. Since Its legal now they trying to make amendments to law to make it illegal. The stupid comments stating that no insurance coverage for passengers is invalid. Do you think you covered under permitted milotin taxis? This SPAD only want to cover their back since most of the taxi permits hold by cronies and their good relatives and friends. I think we(consumers) should protest the same as what this gansgter teksi 1 malaysia did before. And definitely the Spad will ignore our protest. In short, our gomen oni care abt iwn s…!

• Same L0rrr on Nov 24, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Use bus/LRT better..

• What if uber or grabcar changes the term to ‘cost sharing carpooling’?

• Jobless on Nov 24, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Taxi are often driven recklessly and involved in accidents with other cars as they stop as they like and chg lanes without amy warnings.. Seen one overtuned in front of Sunway last year and today another rammed from the back at Bdr Utama Sg Ara Shell station ..they are oso aggressive and as if looking for a fight, one taxi tried to purposely speed and ram into me once when i was crosiing the road to slowly..the fact that they rather continue to be slaves paying daily rental rather than joining UBEr etc speaks of their mentality

• These parasites have already tarnish the name of the country, being the WORST taxis in the world. Yet our bozo authorities still wants to protect them. Let Uber and others help to redeem our pride.

• Go To Ampang on Feb 27, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Dude go to Ampang. Theres a lot of old fellow who are facing a really hard time regarding SPAD changing the buses route. Most of them now have to take 3 buses instead of 1 before and theres no proper waiting area. SPAD did this to the bus service. Now we want to listen from them for the Uber matter?