GrabCar drivers assured that they will be taken care of

Grabcar_1st_Visual

Current or prospective GrabCar drivers have been told they need not worry about continuing to provide the services. The ride-sharing app developer has allegedly given its assurance that it will provide these “partners” with financial and legal assistance should they encounter any trouble with the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD).

The Sun Daily recently attended a briefing for new GrabCar applicants, who are only required to bring along their MyKad, valid driving licence and their vehicles insurance cover note. During the hour-long briefing, the organiser explained to participants how the GrabCar service operated, and what to do should they bump into a “SPAD brick wall.”

“If you are issued with summons (fines), we will pay for it. If you have to go to court, we will provide you legal assistance. We will help you financially and legally. That’s our promise to support GrabCar drivers,” he claimed.

Additionally, the facilitator also provided the participants with tips on how to identify a genuine customer from an undercover SPAD officer, when receiving a booking through the app. “When you see a customer with an ID of ‘0001’ from the last four digit, it means the person is a first time user and it is a high probability it is a SPAD officer. You can request full details of this customer by calling our customer service,” he said.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

On the other hand, should the customer be a lady requesting to ride into the vehicle alone, “then it is safe to accept booking.” The facilitator continued by detailing the modus operandi of undercover SPAD officers seeking to nab GrabCar drivers.

“They would get in your car with one sitting at the back and the other person would sit as the front passenger,” he said. “The moment the front passenger asks you a lot of questions about GrabCar such as how much you are earning as GrabCar driver, since when and how you get involve with the service, who’s your boss and many other questions, this is surely an undercover officer,” he added.

The officer at the rear seat would remain quiet and record the entire conversation by using a mobile phone as evidence, explained the facilitator. At the end of the trip, should the driver suspect that his/her passengers are SPAD officers, they should not accept any cash. “But if the officers just kept quiet during the journey, follow with the cash transaction and later if you are arrested, that is still okay,” said the instructor. GrabCar drivers should not resist arrest and must cooperate.

“Just uninstall the app in your mobile phone before you are brought to SPAD headquarters in Subang. Your statement will be taken and SPAD would only impound your car for a while because there is still the court process. Don’t worry, we will take care of you,” guaranteed the facilitator.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• taboogen on Dec 10, 2015 at 10:57 am

sound like tonto lah..

• No to MY Teksi! on Dec 10, 2015 at 11:29 am

Hmm… I’m pretty sure SPAD will be executing their Plan B really soon. The Sun Daily just exposed too much which doesn’t concern much to the public but more to alerting SPAD to change their “operasi” strategy.

Although I don’t give a damn of any cab drivers, but still I really hope to see with Uber & GrabCar existence will give a healthy competition and will improve the current pathetic “red-white” cabs to be more professional in their service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • SPAD should just get a working viable frame work out ASAP with the help of other countries. Screw the “Gua sudah tension” shit because the world is moving forward in a direction that we, a small little country, either move with it and get totally swallowed up and then drown later.

If insurance is a problem, then SPAD just make sure these sharing ride companies get their insurance done. Whats the issue here? Insurance only right? Unless there is a power play going on between taxi mafia/cronnies and government departments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Dec 10, 2015 at 12:53 pm

nop more than that eg the car is for private use, puspakom inspection n the driver dont have proper permit/licence.. Many country resist to Uber like service..eg Uber France just been fine 50k euro. I do prefer Uber and the likes just follow the rules. If they follow the rule those taxi driver or SPAD cannot do anything to them.

• ben yap on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:04 pm

uber, so what u gonna do to protect your drivers?

• Those Taxi Drivers is really a rubbish, these rubbish actually act like gangster, certain area the rubbish need to pay another rubbish gang for certain fee for them to take customer from area like shopping centre, pavilion, sunway pyramid, DU and others, hope rubbish can burn them self each others.

• Anonymous on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:50 pm

“Just uninstall the app in your mobile phone before you are brought to SPAD headquarters in Subang.”

Does GrabCar is of a standpoint that its app is definitely infringing the law? Is this the way GrabCar teaches its drivers of being abiding citizens? Anyway, isn’t that disposing of evidence..? Or is it illegal only when caught in possesion of its app? If GrabCar thinks its not against the law, why are their actions akin to teaching their drivers to be dilinquents and lawbreakers?

Well, so much for GrabCar to work with the authorities. GrabCar will never adhere to current public transportation rules and regulations anyway. Just another glorified ‘kereta sapu’. It’s now clear that they are also championing their drivers to flaut the laws.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Jackson Chan on Dec 10, 2015 at 10:16 pm

Are you one of the scrub gangster taxi driver? You’re just being selfish and ignorant. Grabcar did a good job briefing them, I salute their responsibility in taking care of their employees and clients.

• Jackson Chew on Dec 10, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Are you one of the scrub gangster taxi driver? You’re just being selfish and ignorant. Grabcar did a good job briefing them, I salute their responsibility in taking care of their employees and clients.

• Rosmanzahri on Dec 10, 2015 at 7:51 pm

In my kampong this is call taxi sapu.

• Arnold on Dec 10, 2015 at 8:38 pm

I don’t think SPAD have a plan B to execute cause they have already decided in their plan A to regulate GrabCar and Uber.

• Kenny on Dec 11, 2015 at 12:36 pm

How does Grabcar intend to help the driver if their cars are confiscated by SPAD? I’m all for Grancar and Uber but at the moment earning a bit of income just isn’t worth the risk of losing your car.

• Jerry on Dec 11, 2015 at 2:47 pm

The taxi drivers in KL Malaysia i have to ask for a price before i jump in, about 2 yrs ago I was in KLCC and it was raining and i ask how much to go to my hotel which is just 10 mins walk away? The price quote from the 3 different groups (Asian, Malay & Indians) was about $80 bucks is the cheapest and none of them would want to start the meter.

Now everytime i go to Malaysia i used Uber and it have never ever let me down even during busy times and heavy rain and i don’t have to ask the price.

In Penang i still have to ask them to start the meter when i was there last year, the price i get quote at 9pm from 3 taxi drivers was $100 bucks to go from Georgetown to Perai? Uber needs to be in Penang to create competition so this would not have happen.

• leong0406 on Dec 14, 2015 at 4:43 pm

what should i do if wanna be a grabcar driver???

• leong0406 on Dec 14, 2015 at 4:46 pm

what should i do if wanna be grabcar driver??anyone can tell me??